Stats: 3,150,845 members, 7,810,258 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 03:11 AM

The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe - Politics (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe (12585 Views)

Why Are The Ibos The Only Tribe That Always Vote Correctly In Nigeria? / Why Are Igbos The Only Tribe Determined To Exit Nigeria? / RUGA: The Only Tribe Fulani Fear In Nigeria Is Igbo (2) (3) (4)

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by oyatz(m): 1:41am On Mar 15, 2020
The language (roots of many words), modes of dressings, traditional rites, traditional titles and certain customs practiced in Asaba, Agbor, Warri, Sapele, Uromi and Auchi have Bini origins.

maestroferddi:
It points to the fact that the influence of the Bini Empire was grossly over-stated and exaggerated.

Great/significant empires left cultural imprints in their wake wherever they existed.

You can easily see diffusion of Latin into English, French, Portuguese, Spanish and German because of the Roman Empire.

Where is the impact of Bini language roundabout the epicenter of the kingdom?

Let's we forget, Asaba, Warri and Sapele are all less than 300km from Benin....

How Bini influence on these adjoining areas range from minimal to non-existent?
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by selemempe: 4:17am On Mar 15, 2020
oyatz:
The language (roots of many words), modes of dressings, traditional rites, traditional titles and certain customs practiced in Asaba, Agbor, Warri, Sapele, Uromi and Auchi have Bini origins.

that is called influence not colonization
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by nowpresence(f): 4:31am On Mar 15, 2020
franchasng:
Urhobo wado grin
eeeee!
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by 0m0nnakoda: 4:35am On Mar 15, 2020
oyatz:

How do you know it is not the other way round?

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by Ayo8(m): 4:45am On Mar 15, 2020
SciLab:

The Dahomey colonized yorubaland after defeating their warriors with menstruating and pregnant women fighters.

Bini colonized and taught yorubas the kingship system.

Nupes also colonized yorubas.

Fulanis also colonized yorubaland and put an Emirate in it.

Facts and Factoids.

You have high fever
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by Tobrasky: 4:59am On Mar 15, 2020
The Yorubaa tribe, colonized by us the Fulani and their land now our extended terrace for more conquest. When we are finally done with them, our next target will be the stubborn Igbos.
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by lepasharon(f): 4:59am On Mar 15, 2020
Blue3k:

1st define what fully colonized is supposed to mean. I really doubt the fulani were the only people who were sucessful at conquring their neighbors. If they are somehow that's really intriguing. Bantu conquest of khoisan should count.

Bantu didn't colonise khoisan, they just killed them off.
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by 0m0nnakoda: 5:10am On Mar 15, 2020
lepasharon:

Bantu didn't colonise khoisan, they just killed them off.
You write with conviction as if you were there and have videos on your phone

How do you know?
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by lepasharon(f): 5:14am On Mar 15, 2020
0m0nnakoda:

You write with conviction as if you were there and have videos on your phone

How do you know?

You that was there, tell us
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by 0m0nnakoda: 5:17am On Mar 15, 2020
lepasharon:

You that was there, tell us
I no know book o
Na you talk am na?

You no get video?
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by lepasharon(f): 5:18am On Mar 15, 2020
orisa37:
The Fulanis are North African Arabs, Bedouin Tuaregs and Desert Trekkers got to North NIGERIA and found the Hausa with Cultures that are similar and very adaptable to theirs. They settled with them and described themselves FULANI Arabs and HAUSA Arabs. Later they launched The Caliphate for Ruga Islamisation Fulanisation and Anarchy everywhere in NIGERIA.

Yep, fulani are mixed
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by lepasharon(f): 5:21am On Mar 15, 2020
0m0nnakoda:

I no know book o
Na you talk am na?

You no get video?

You no sabi book and you wan argue ?
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by AmuDimpka: 10:16am On Mar 15, 2020
maestroferddi:
It points to the fact that the influence of the Bini Empire was grossly over-stated and exaggerated.

Great/significant empires left cultural imprints in their wake wherever they existed.

You can easily see diffusion of Latin into English, French, Portuguese, Spanish and German because of the Roman Empire.

Where is the impact of Bini language roundabout the epicenter of the kingdom?

Let's we forget, Asaba, Warri and Sapele are all less than 300km from Benin....

How Bini influence on these adjoining areas range from minimal to non-existent?

Benins are noisy ..they had no Influence...Agbor defeated them in war ..Benin are bunch of cowards with their kings that what they built moat around their village city ...scampering for safety when Igbo (Ika Igbo ) Vokes to attack them

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by AmuDimpka: 10:18am On Mar 15, 2020
oyatz:
The OP doesn't know what he is talking about.

The Binis colonized Urhobo, parts of Yorubaland, Parts of Igboland and the Eshan people.

The Igalas colonized Northern Igboland.

The Oyo Empire (Yorubas) colonized Dahomey

no..it was Dahomey women fighters that defeated the Oyo
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by AmuDimpka: 10:21am On Mar 15, 2020
0m0nnakoda:
Arochukwu was colonised by Akamkpa people from present day Cross River

Nnubi established the Akamkpa dynasty in Arochukwu after beheading Nnachi and they reign to this day
shut up!

It was the Igbo that cake and cause the lousy and lazy cross river tribes and Ibibio tribes away to establish the present day Arochukwu (Why Igbo) and enslaved the Efiks and Ibibio that was left as POW

stop revisionism

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by bolayei: 10:27am On Mar 15, 2020
selemempe:
The Hausa was the only tribe in all of Africa that was fully colonized by another African tribe

Much of the Hausa population had settled in the cities throughout the region and became urbanized. The Fulani, in contrast, had largely remained a pastoral community, herding cattle, goats and sheep, and populating grasslands between the towns throughout the region. With increasing trade, a good number of Fulani settled in towns, forming a distinct minority.

Usman dan Fodio, an Islamic scholar and an urbanized Fulani, had been actively educating and preaching in the city of Gobir with the approval and support of the Hausa leadership of the city. However, when Yunfa, a former student of dan Fodio, became the sultan of Gobir, he restricted dan Fodio's activities, eventually forcing him into exile in Gudu. A large number of people left Gobir to join dan Fodio, who also began to gather new supporters from other regions. Feeling threatened by his former teacher, Yunfa declared war on dan Fodio on February 21, 1804.

Usman dan Fodio was elected "Commander of the Faithful" (Amir al-Mu'minin) by his followers, marking the beginning of the Sokoto state. Usman dan Fodio then created a number of flag bearers amongst those following him, creating an early political structure of the empire. Declaring a jihad against the Hausa kings, dan Fodio rallied his primarily Fulani "warrior-scholars" against Gobir. Despite early losses at the Battle of Tsuntua and elsewhere, the forces of dan Fodio began taking over some key cities starting in 1805. The Fulani used guerrilla warfare to turn the conflict in their favor, and gathered support from the civilian population, which had come to resent the despotic rule and high taxes of the Hausa kings. Even some non-Muslim Fulani started to support dan Fodio.The war lasted from 1804 until 1808, and resulted in thousands of deaths. The forces of dan Fodio were able to capture the states of Katsina and Daura, the important kingdom of Kano in 1807, and finally conquered Gobir in 1809. In the same year, Muhammed Bello, the son of dan Fodio, founded the city of Sokoto, which became the capital of the Sokoto state.

From 1808 until the mid-1830s, the Sokoto state expanded, gradually annexing the plains to the west and key parts of Yorubaland.

Talking about hausas being colonized by the fulanis is old gist atleast they are now liberated.

Please what do we call the occupation of the Niger delta by the rest of Nigeria?

I believe taking control of people's resources is also colonization especially if they are suffering even though they are meant to be the richest region in Africa. Imagine if the income from oil and gas from the Niger delta is shared amongst only by the people of that region.

Truth is a part of Nigeria is being colonized
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by 0m0nnakoda: 12:03pm On Mar 15, 2020
lepasharon:

You no sabi book and you wan argue ?
I no sabi book today but I fit sabi book tomorrow
You no get sense today and you no go get next year

I asked a question. How do you know?
In your unintelligent head asking you to substantiate your foolish claims is "ARGUE"?

It is not an argument. You made the claim ,do you have evidence?
If you cannot answer then be quiet
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by oyatz(m): 12:33pm On Mar 15, 2020
Please read the History of Oyo Empire as written by seasoned Historians.

AmuDimpka:
no..it was Dahomey women fighters that defeated the Oyo
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by hammerT: 11:24am On Mar 24, 2020
Efewestern:

Bini didn't colonized Urhobo, Urhobo was a direct offshoot of Bini, a child of the Bini kingdom, not only Urhobo but so many tribes in the present day Delta, Edo and Ondo state.

If Bini had imposed their language on territories they conquered, it'd have been one of the major ethnic group in Nigeria.

Kingdoms rise and fall, so was the story of the great Bini empire.

hahahahaha!

My brother Efe is getting even more olodo these days.

Y Oba of Bini never visit his Urhobo children that he use for human sacrifice?

I doubt u are Urhobo.

Bini was never an Empire, it was a major point of slave collection for Europeans.
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 10:14pm On Jul 15, 2020
Ilaje of ondo state is ruled by binis not Yorubas till this day, Lagos is ruled by binis till this day , akure was once ruled by the binis, itshekiri a Yoruba tribe in delta state was founded by the binis and their descendant rule to this day .
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 10:16pm On Jul 15, 2020
See what the Oba of Lagos had to say

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 10:16pm On Jul 15, 2020
Here what this top chief from Lagos said

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 10:17pm On Jul 15, 2020
In details

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 10:19pm On Jul 15, 2020
See more details

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 10:21pm On Jul 15, 2020
The Yorubas are trying to change history because they are majority. If the Benin kingdom had imposed bini as the lingua Franca of its colonies then bini would have been the most spoken language in Nigeria today.

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 1:55pm On Jul 16, 2020
Sammy07:

Try to read history.
I might not say colonized but has influence
Agbor and the entire igbos in present say delta state was colonised by benin empire. Their rulers still pay homage to the Oba of Benin till today.

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by eagleu: 2:06pm On Jul 16, 2020
oyatz:
The OP doesn't know what he is talking about.

The Binis colonized Urhobo, parts of Yorubaland, Parts of Igboland and the Eshan people.

The Igalas colonized Northern Igboland.

The Oyo Empire (Yorubas) colonized Dahomey

Are you confusing boundary issues with colonizing a whole tribe?
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by jneutron4000: 2:15pm On Jul 16, 2020
Isinweke:

You people have been trying to create fake history.

Keep deceiving yourselves.

Bini is older than Yoruba
Benin Kingdom is older than all Yoruba empire.

Yorubas are Benis. Not the other way round
How is Benin older than Yoruba, when the person that started the Obaship dynasty is a son of Oranmiyan from Ile Ife and his son Eweka started the Benin Kingdom. All previous heads of the Oba of Benin are burried in Ile Ife till the last Oba of benin that was exiled to Calabar. undecided. Benin Kingdom is an extention of kingdoms created by sons and descendants from Ile Ife. The Binis choose to have their own identity and we said fine, but to prove that their first king father is from ife, some of the gods some worship in Edo state such as Ogun, Obatala, Oloku etc are Yoruba gods and religions conceive by Yorubas.
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 8:31pm On Jul 16, 2020
jneutron4000:
How is Benin older than Yoruba, when the person that started the Obaship dynasty is a son of Oranmiyan from Ile Ife and his son Eweka started the Benin Kingdom. All previous heads of the Oba of Benin are burried in Ile Ife till the last Oba of benin that was exiled to Calabar. undecided. Benin Kingdom is an extention of kingdoms created by sons and descendants from Ile Ife. The Binis choose to have their own identity and we said fine, but to prove that their first king father is from ife, some of the gods some worship in Edo state such as Ogun, Obatala, Oloku etc are Yoruba gods and religions conceive by Yorubas.
The benins had Kings before oranmiyan , they were called ogiso(rulers of the sky) even before yorubas started having Kings. Yorubas learnt the art of governance from Benin . I have prove.

Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by jneutron4000: 7:58am On Jul 17, 2020
prezeus:

The benins had Kings before oranmiyan , they were called ogiso(rulers of the sky) even before yorubas started having Kings. Yorubas learnt the art of governance from Benin . I have prove.
That is a lie, they were not kings, ogiso are seen as ruler of the sky, just a title because nobody was living in the sky and their dynasty was not that known except to only the people of Igodomigodo. Eweka the son of Oranmiyan introduced the Oba dynasty which is the proper and well known Benin Kingdom than expanded even beyond the geographical space of Nigeria and they had treaties with Portuguese. In fact the first person that rode a horse into the place called Benin Edo state was Oranmiyan from Ile Ife and his son Eweka put the Benin kingdom on the world map not any Ogiso. Eweka dynasty even had some battle with Ogiamen that they had to enter into a peace aggrement called the Ekiokpagha Treaty. The Oba in that place is a direct descendant of Oranmiyan from Ile Ife, but since they choose to have their own identity, we let them be in fact We Yorubas feel we should not mix with any descendant of Yoruba race whom has mixed deeply with other ethnic group in other not to dilute our homogenous language. The Benin kingdom has done well for itself to the exend that the Aborigines of the land Igodomigodo have accepted it even with the fake story of run away prince to gain their acceptance.
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by wowcatty: 8:39am On Jul 17, 2020
selemempe

Make that 2 tribes because Yoruba are not too far from Hausa right now.

Intelligent Yoruba know this but because they are just about 1% of the Yoruba population and know they won't have all the necessary support to free the land, makes it a difficult task.

Venezuela would have been free by now if Guaido had the support of the people or kept to his word when he told Trump that some top military are ready to stand by him but turned out that he wanted Trump to come and do all the heavy lifting for him. It doesn't work like that. The people have to start the fight first. The international communities would want to find out what the problem is and in Yoruba's case, it's as simple as "this is not what we signed up for at independence, we have lost everything and want to go back to the tried and trusted way of life that worked for our people." Yoruba's case is way easier because we are differnt tribal people with clear boundaries just like the Slovenia or Croatia in the former Yugoslavia that divided into 7 countries now. We can do the same peacefully and be good neighbors living side by side and growing at each other's pace.

https://www.iwp.edu/articles/2011/10/20/the-seven-states-of-the-former-yugoslavia-an-evaluation/
Re: The Only Tribe In Africa Colonized By Another African Tribe by prezeus(m): 11:17am On Jul 17, 2020
jneutron4000:
That is a lie, they were not kings, ogiso are seen as ruler of the sky, just a title because nobody was living in the sky and their dynasty was not that known except to only the people of Igodomigodo. Eweka the son of Oranmiyan introduced the Oba dynasty which is the proper and well known Benin Kingdom than expanded even beyond the geographical space of Nigeria and they had treaties with Portuguese. In fact the first person that rode a horse into the place called Benin Edo state was Oranmiyan from Ile Ife and his son Eweka put the Benin kingdom on the world map not any Ogiso. Eweka dynasty even had some battle with Ogiamen that they had to enter into a peace aggrement called the Ekiokpagha Treaty. The Oba in that place is a direct descendant of Oranmiyan from Ile Ife, but since they choose to have their own identity, we let them be in fact We Yorubas feel we should not mix with any descendant of Yoruba race whom has mixed deeply with other ethnic group in other not to dilute our homogenous language. The Benin kingdom has done well for itself to the exend that the Aborigines of the land Igodomigodo have accepted it even with the fake story of run away prince to gain their acceptance.
You yorubas guys are amazing. You want to tell Benin history to suit your ego but it doesn't work that way. You can't change the past. Before the oba dynasty in Benin , the ogiso's ruled for hundreds of years . It's a known fact !! Every history textbook on the Benin empire acknowledges that the ogiso's laid the framework for the system used by the oba dynasty. The guild system in Benin started with the ogiso, the progenitor system of transferring power from father to son started with the ogiso not the oba dynasty. This is basic history every Benin boy knows. It is taught in schools and colleges. As a 100 level student in the university of Benin ,we learnt all this in a course called Nigerian people and culture. So if this is not correct then I think you ( the omniscience ) should hold a debate with the university of Benin history department and challenge them to change the curriculum and teach the truth as you see fit . Thank you.

Senate Summons Hameed Ali Over Plan To Concession N3tn Revenue Collection / Femi Gbajabiamila: Nigeria Doesn’t Run World Most Expensive Legislature / Tinubu: Presidency About Ideas, Not Bricklaying Exercise - Omeiza Ajayi

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 59