Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,152,139 members, 7,814,993 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 04:00 AM

Maize Intercrop With Cassava Farming. - Agriculture (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Agriculture / Maize Intercrop With Cassava Farming. (19750 Views)

My Cassava Farming Dairy As A Total Beginner / Why We Mix Hypo, Detergents And Potash With Cassava -fufu Producers | / My Potatoe Farm Mix With Cassava ... (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Maize Intercrop With Cassava Farming. by northbird: 6:59pm On Jan 02, 2022
@Farmerakinloye6. Some questions
A. How many ha. of maize did you plant?

B. How many tons of maize ( dry maize) were you able to harvest from the hectares of land?

C. Is it true that there is no marked difference between local variety and hybrid seeds in terms of yield /tonnage /ha.?

D. Can one achieve 4tons/ha, or it just experimental stuff. /on paper.
Re: Maize Intercrop With Cassava Farming. by Farmerakinloye6(m): 9:20am On Jan 03, 2022
folmus:
When is the time to start planting cassava?
after second rain... likely march.
Re: Maize Intercrop With Cassava Farming. by Farmerakinloye6(m): 9:32am On Jan 03, 2022
northbird:
@Farmerakinloye6. Some questions
A. How many ha. of maize did you plant?

B. How many tons of maize ( dry maize) were you able to harvest from the hectares of land?

C. Is it true that there is no marked difference between local variety and hybrid seeds in terms of yield /tonnage /ha.?

D. Can one achieve 4tons/ha, or it just experimental stuff. /on paper.
A. 3 hectare B. 1.4 (yield reduce because I intercrop it with cassava,space) C. personally grin I don't think we have hybrid seed in Nigeria cheesy, the so called OBA something is trash. D. in my eight years experience, I have never see 4tons per hectare Both in and out. It is or maybe possible though!

1 Like