Stats: 3,153,333 members, 7,819,143 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 11:54 AM

Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? - Religion (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? (18611 Views)

Nigerians In UK Engage In Praise And Worship On The Street Of Cannock (video) / Why Do Christians Worship Jesus And Then Say They Don’t Practice Idolatry / Opinion!!!!! Any Christian That Goes To Work On Sundays Will Not Make Heaven.... (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Banjoramos(m): 11:23am On Nov 28, 2021
nairavsdollars:
Why do Muslims worship on Fridays

Surah Al-Jumua, Verse 9:
يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا إِذَا نُودِيَ لِلصَّلَاةِ مِن يَوْمِ الْجُمُعَةِ فَاسْعَوْا إِلَىٰ ذِكْرِ اللَّهِ وَذَرُوا الْبَيْعَ ذَٰلِكُمْ خَيْرٌ لَّكُمْ إِن كُنتُمْ تَعْلَمُونَ

O you who believe (Muslims)! When the call is proclaimed for the Salat (prayer) on the day of Friday (Jumu'ah prayer), come to the remembrance of Allah [Jumu'ah religious talk (Khutbah) and Salat (prayer)] and leave off business (and every other thing), that is better for you if you did but know!

Surah Al-Jumua, Verse 10:
فَإِذَا قُضِيَتِ الصَّلَاةُ فَانتَشِرُوا فِي الْأَرْضِ وَابْتَغُوا مِن فَضْلِ اللَّهِ وَاذْكُرُوا اللَّهَ كَثِيرًا لَّعَلَّكُمْ تُفْلِحُونَ

Then when the (Jumu'ah) Salat (prayer) is finished, you may disperse through the land, and seek the Bounty of Allah (by working, etc.), and remember Allah much, that you may be successful

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by mrvitalis(m): 11:29am On Nov 28, 2021
sotall:

Jesus didn't promote any old laws nor reject them.

Remember in the old testament that it is required to offer burnt offerings when anyone go against the law.

But now no one does that today.

It doesn't make those laws invalid but we simply dont do it anymore.
All I'm asking you simple what makes tithes above all the other old rule u rejected ...what makes tax above the one of the ten commandments
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by FRANKOSKI(m): 11:31am On Nov 28, 2021
Solofresh2:
Hello Nairaland Christians, have you for once wondered why you christains worship on Sundays and not the Sabbath day.

If you study your Bible well, you will realize that when GOD was done with his creations,he rested on the Seventh day and blessed it saying we should keep it holy.

Now, looking at the days of the week, the
seventh day of the week is Saturday and not
Sunday.Sunday is the first day of a new week.
So,why do we worship on Sundays and not the seventh day of the week?
Are we really following God's commandments at all or we are just deceiving ourselves?
WHAT'S THE NAME OF YOUR OWN CHURCH ?
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Emedu(m): 11:38am On Nov 28, 2021
swhiss:

After God brought His people out of Egypt and through the Red Sea, the Sabbath day took on even more significance as a covenant sign that God sanctified His people (Ex. 31:13). On that day, the saints celebrated the reality that God had created them and that their rest was rooted in His rest: "For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day" (Ex. 20:8-11). As well, the Sabbath signified that God had redeemed His people (Deut. 5:12-15). Finally, the annual Day of Atonement fell on a Sabbath (Lev. 16:30-31), so the Sabbath also celebrated God's forgiveness of His people.

Under the old covenant with Israel (Ex. 19; Heb. 8:6, 7, 13), the Sabbath day was extremely strict. Not only was no work to be done by the Israelites and their children, they also were to give rest to all in their households—servants, livestock, even sojourners (Ex. 20:10). God even gave regulatory laws over what could and could not be done. For example, if one even went out to gather sticks on the Sabbath in order to kindle a fire (Num. 15:32-36; Ex. 35:1-3), he was to be put to death (Ex. 31:14-15; 35:2). All this strictness was a part of the tutelage of the law, which was meant to lead Israel by the hand to Jesus Christ (Gal. 3:24), who is the final sacrifice ending the old covenant (Heb. 7:11-12, 18-19; 8:7, 13).

When Jesus rose from the dead on the first day of the week, things changed. Christ, the second Adam, "finished" (John 19:30) the work that the first Adam failed to do (Rom. 5:12-19). Because of that pivotal event, the church determined that for Christians under the new covenant, the day of worship and celebration of the Lord's grace in Jesus Christ was to be the first day of the week, Sunday: "From the beginning of the world to the resurrection of Christ, [the Sabbath] was the last day of the week; and, from the resurrection of Christ, was changed into the first day of the week, which, in Scripture, is called the Lord's day, and is to be continued to the end of the world, as the Christian Sabbath" (WCF, 21:7). On this day, we are reminded of and participate in the glorious reality that we have already entered God's rest (Matt. 11:28; Heb. 4:10) and that we await the experience of the fullness of this rest in eternity in the new heavens and new earth (Rev. 21-22). We now assemble corporately for worship and enjoy a foretaste of our eternal rest, then go out into the kingdom of this world to work for six days.

So why do we worship on Sunday and not Saturday?

•The first day of the week was the day on which our Lord rose from the dead (John 20:1; cf. Ps. 118:24).

•The first day of the week is called "the Lord's day" (Rev. 1:10; cf. 1 Cor. 16:2).
The first day was the day on which the Holy Spirit was poured out on the church (Acts 2:1-36).

•Just as on the first day of creation God made light and separated it from the darkness, we gather on the first day of the week to celebrate the light of the gospel in Jesus Christ, who has separated us from the world of the darkness of sin (John 1:5, 9; 3:19; 8:12; 2 Cor. 4:1-6).
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Ensquare(m): 11:39am On Nov 28, 2021
Ask them ooo
Solofresh2:
Hello Nairaland Christians, have you for once wondered why you christains worship on Sundays and not the Sabbath day.

If you study your Bible well, you will realize that when GOD was done with his creations,he rested on the Seventh day and blessed it saying we should keep it holy.

Now, looking at the days of the week, the seventh day of the week is Saturday and not Sunday.Sunday is the first day of a new week.
Are we really following God's commandments at all or we are just deceiving ourselves?
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by chosen4now: 11:42am On Nov 28, 2021
tiswell:
Sunday is a day the Romans worship their sun god.

The Roman calendar and Roman Catholic,during the Roman empire changed the mode and day of worship for Christianity.

This is the truth.... However we are free to worship God any day of the week..... The day to hallow and keep holy by enternal word of God that no man or tradition can change is the seventh day being Saturday...
And may I tell you that a time will come when every one will chose either to obey God's word of keeping holy the seventh day or man's tradition of Sunday as holy day.... For emphasis... No man or sect can change the word of God.... for it is written forever oh lord your word is settled.... Am a Christian having submitted under the lordship of Jesus Christ... Shalom..

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by sotall(m): 11:42am On Nov 28, 2021
mrvitalis:

All I'm asking you simple what makes tithes above all the other old rule u rejected ...what makes tax above the one of the ten commandments

You are the one talking about tithes not me.
I never mentioned tithes in any of my response to you.

Seems you are one of those looking to verbally attack pastors collecting tithes.

Sorry i dont promote nor reject tithes payment or collection.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by VULCAN(m): 11:48am On Nov 28, 2021
The irony of a person condemning hypocrisy who chose to give himself the moniker "Toto too sweet" can't be lost on me.

A hypocrite condemning hypocrites. What can be more hypocritical then that?

Tototoosweet:
Honestly I gave up when I see the so called acclaimed people calling themselves Christian indulge in so many ungodly acts and they occupy prominent and sensible positions in the church...
And those positions requires holiness but no they are polluting that specific area hereby taking away God’s presence from the church..
This is not a once issue but a continuous act
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by brosom(m): 11:51am On Nov 28, 2021
PointZerom:

Saturday is not the 7th day God rested. But the Jews chose it as their Sabbath day.
The Bible is silent on the day God started Creation though He rested after 6 days.
Genesis 2:2-3 And on the seventh day God ended his work which he had made; and he rested on the seventh day from all his work which he had made.
And God blessed the seventh day, and sanctified it: because that in it he had rested from all his work which God created and made.
Genesis 2:2-3 And on the seventh day God ended his work which he had made; and he rested on the seventh day from all his work which he had made.
And God blessed the seventh day, and sanctified it: because that in it he had rested from all his work which God created and

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Asorite(m): 11:54am On Nov 28, 2021
Christianity is a religion of confusion, up to 100 pple make comment on this post and am yet to see 2 pple with the same answer.

My question to u guys is that, where in Bible did Jesus referred to his followers or himself as Christian??
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by akinwale701(m): 11:55am On Nov 28, 2021
Solofresh2:

Now, looking at the days of the week, the seventh day of the week is Saturday and not Sunday.Sunday is the first day of a new week.

Christians worship on Sunday in reckoning with the Day Jesus was resurrected, being Sunday. Jews, however, worship on Saturday according to the Divine Law of the Torah.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by lomprico(m): 11:55am On Nov 28, 2021
Solofresh2:

After Jesus, a lot of things dose not matter anymore. any day can serve as a day of worship.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by olamycin: 11:56am On Nov 28, 2021
The scripture is clear, some people are just good at turning things upside down
Solofresh2:

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Elsueno: 12:03pm On Nov 28, 2021
Asorite:

My question to u guys is that, where in Bible did Jesus referred to his followers or himself as Christian??

That's a very good question
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Nobody: 12:10pm On Nov 28, 2021
Because FG declarys Sunday work free day if not...
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by genkins(m): 12:11pm On Nov 28, 2021
Moved by Constantine to the day which they worship the the sun God. Rah.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by genkins(m): 12:12pm On Nov 28, 2021
Asorite:
Christianity is a religion of confusion, up to 100 pple make comment on this post and am yet to see 2 pple with the same answer.

It doesn't exist. Jesus himself was not a Christian. Infact he preached no religion other than love. All these Nigerian Christians don't know Jack.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by ifiokjohn(m): 12:12pm On Nov 28, 2021
Shehu30:
It's stated clearly in the glorious Qur'an(suratul- jumu'ah)that when you heard the call to prayer leave your business transactions and pray,then return to your transactions after prayers, where is it stated in Bible that Christian's should go to church on Sundays and where is it stated in the Bible that Christmas falls on December 25 of every year??
Oga they have told you they changed it to Sunday because Jesus resurrection was on a Sunday...... By the way, how do you know that Sunday is first day of the week, since there was no calendar doing creation?. What if, God started creation on a Monday? Or on a Saturday, or Friday?
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Tototoosweet: 12:18pm On Nov 28, 2021
If you never bleep Toto talk and make devil shame
See the hypocrisy all over you
VULCAN:
The irony of a person condemning hypocrisy who chose to give himself the moniker "Toto too sweet" can't be lost on me.

A hypocrite condemning hypocrites. What can be more hypocritical then that?

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by EllemGiggy: 12:18pm On Nov 28, 2021
swhiss:

After God brought His people out of Egypt and through the Red Sea, the Sabbath day took on even more significance as a covenant sign that God sanctified His people (Ex. 31:13). On that day, the saints celebrated the reality that God had created them and that their rest was rooted in His rest: "For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day" (Ex. 20:8-11). As well, the Sabbath signified that God had redeemed His people (Deut. 5:12-15). Finally, the annual Day of Atonement fell on a Sabbath (Lev. 16:30-31), so the Sabbath also celebrated God's forgiveness of His people.

Under the old covenant with Israel (Ex. 19; Heb. 8:6, 7, 13), the Sabbath day was extremely strict. Not only was no work to be done by the Israelites and their children, they also were to give rest to all in their households—servants, livestock, even sojourners (Ex. 20:10). God even gave regulatory laws over what could and could not be done. For example, if one even went out to gather sticks on the Sabbath in order to kindle a fire (Num. 15:32-36; Ex. 35:1-3), he was to be put to death (Ex. 31:14-15; 35:2). All this strictness was a part of the tutelage of the law, which was meant to lead Israel by the hand to Jesus Christ (Gal. 3:24), who is the final sacrifice ending the old covenant (Heb. 7:11-12, 18-19; 8:7, 13).

When Jesus rose from the dead on the first day of the week, things changed. Christ, the second Adam, "finished" (John 19:30) the work that the first Adam failed to do (Rom. 5:12-19). Because of that pivotal event, the church determined that for Christians under the new covenant, the day of worship and celebration of the Lord's grace in Jesus Christ was to be the first day of the week, Sunday: "From the beginning of the world to the resurrection of Christ, [the Sabbath] was the last day of the week; and, from the resurrection of Christ, was changed into the first day of the week, which, in Scripture, is called the Lord's day, and is to be continued to the end of the world, as the Christian Sabbath" (WCF, 21:7). On this day, we are reminded of and participate in the glorious reality that we have already entered God's rest (Matt. 11:28; Heb. 4:10) and that we await the experience of the fullness of this rest in eternity in the new heavens and new earth (Rev. 21-22). We now assemble corporately for worship and enjoy a foretaste of our eternal rest, then go out into the kingdom of this world to work for six days.

So why do we worship on Sunday and not Saturday?

•The first day of the week was the day on which our Lord rose from the dead (John 20:1; cf. Ps. 118:24).

•The first day of the week is called "the Lord's day" (Rev. 1:10; cf. 1 Cor. 16:2).
The first day was the day on which the Holy Spirit was poured out on the church (Acts 2:1-36).

•Just as on the first day of creation God made light and separated it from the darkness, we gather on the first day of the week to celebrate the light of the gospel in Jesus Christ, who has separated us from the world of the darkness of sin (John 1:5, 9; 3:19; 8:12; 2 Cor. 4:1-6).
Sir, your quotes doesn't suggest that God replaced Saturday with Sunday but strictly done by man assumption of the day been the day Christ rose from the grave so therefore man choose it to that of God given day (the seventh days) but has man not disobeyed God? Hasn't he added and also removed from the Bible?
Please sir, show me even one verse in the bible that God, Christ or His disciple's directed man to keep the first day and not the seventh day. Just one verse is enough but if there is none sir please pray to God to redirect you
I am an Adventist and I do worship on Saturdays, mind you its not a guarantee to heaven but part of obeying God commandments found in exodus 20 vs 8.
Thanks.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by PROPHETmichael: 12:20pm On Nov 28, 2021
Solofresh2:

That's a very good question and now let me break it down for you.

It is written in the book of Joshua chapter 10 verses 12-13 that, "Joshua said to the Lord in the day when the Lord delivered up the Amorites before the children of Israel, and he said in the sight of Israel, Sun, stand thou still upon Gibeon; and thou, Moon, in the valley of Ajalon.

13 And the sun stood still, and the moon stayed, until the people had avenged themselves upon their enemies. Is not this written in the book of Jasher? So the sun stood still in the midst of heaven, and hasted not to go down about a whole day.

This battle took place on a Friday and Joshua did not want It to enter Saturday because it was their Sabbath day which they ought to keep it holy. This prompted Joshua to command the sun and the moon to stand still and it was so according to the word of Joshua the son of Nun.

So as you can see, the calendar was altered on that day and as a result of that "stand still" Sabath moved from Saturday to Sunday because the battle technically entered Saturday.

So therefore, Christians are actually the ones keeping the Sabbath day.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by franugo(m): 12:21pm On Nov 28, 2021
Xenry:
To some, Monday is the first day of the week. To others, it is Sunday. I believe it's Monday

Lol...that pic embodies righteousness89 perfectly
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by franugo(m): 12:24pm On Nov 28, 2021
PROPHETmichael:

That's a very good question and now let me break it down for you.

It is written in the book of Joshua chapter 10 verses 12-13 that, "Joshua to the Lord in the day when the Lord delivered up the Amorites before the children of Israel, and he said in the sight of Israel, Sun, stand thou still upon Gibeon; and thou, Moon, in the valley of Ajalon.

13 And the sun stood still, and the moon stayed, until the people had avenged themselves upon their enemies. Is not this written in the book of Jasher? So the sun stood still in the midst of heaven, and hasted not to go down about a whole day.

This battle took place on a Friday and Joshua did not want It to enter Saturday because it was their Sabbath day which they ought to keep it holy. That prompted Joshua to command the sun and the moon to stand still and it was so according to the word of Josua the son of Nun.

So as you can see, the calendar was altered on that day and as a result of that "stand still" Sabath moved from Saturday to Sunday because the battle technically entered Saturday.

So therefore, Christians are actually the ones keeping the Sabbath day.

I honestly couldn't understand where you're coming from...

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by ActuaRise696969: 12:24pm On Nov 28, 2021
Beyond the day, why do you worship any being?

The Ancestors that manufactured the species are just bioengineering experts, an intelligence humans have now mastered.

While at it, understand that all information studied in schools are cocktale of lies. All Religions were designed also by these ancestors we now call God as a collective.

God is just a word ascribed to embodied being capable of intelligence of creation and at this age many humans are capable of doing all that the Ancestor Gods did.

So can we now call Humans as God? YES. But should we worship them?

It is okay to be thankful but worship is for slaves and if you are at your level of understanding admitting that you are a slave of some being then so be it. Slaves.

Humans are conditioned to be stupid. That's why the world is so disorganized cos you do not even know you are Spirit beings in space suit designed to navigate Earth simulation
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by PROPHETmichael: 12:27pm On Nov 28, 2021
franugo:

I honestly couldn't understand where you're coming from...

That's because it is not given to you the ability to understand the mystery of the kingdom.
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by EllemGiggy: 12:27pm On Nov 28, 2021
IPDGP:
Sunday is the first day of the week.
God rested on the 7th day that's why sabbath was observe on Saturday during the Israelites time.
When Jesus came he dine with his disciples the day after sabbath day which is Sunday, Jesus also woke up on Sunday.
Jesus commanded us to gather on the first day of the week
Sir, understand very well who asked them to gather and to what were them gathering for
Also remember that Christ himself observed the Sabbath worship on the seventh day and never spoken of a change before or after death.
Remember what the Bible said about adding or removing even a dot from the Bible. Thanks
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by franugo(m): 12:28pm On Nov 28, 2021
PROPHETmichael:

That's because it is not given you to understand the mystery of the kingdom.

Lol...that's what y'all say when you know you're talking in the gibberish

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Ahmed4u1: 12:30pm On Nov 28, 2021
nairavsdollars:
Why do Muslims worship on Fridays

Muslims worship everyday
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Hotspotbro(m): 12:33pm On Nov 28, 2021
Maybe he goes partying with the babes too like us
Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by bobestman(m): 12:35pm On Nov 28, 2021
All of you in Religion are worshipping in Ignorance but don't know. You worship what you don't know
You complain that Christians worship on a Sun-god day aka Sunday. A day dedicated to Worshiping the Sun - True.
You fake Brews also worship on a Saturn-day/Satan-day/Saturday

You all use the fake, corrupted, whitewashed Gregorian Calendar not the original Hebrew Calendar. Do you guys even know that those who corrupted the true Hebrew Calendar (Daniel 7:25) gave you theirs and the names of days and months were named after their gods?

A Hebrew week is 8 days not 7. 4 days put together. The first 4days is the lower Sabbath while the other 4 is the higher Sabbath. The days for the Sabbath can't be gotten on a certain days like Saturday. They observe the moon to know which day is the Sabbath. So the Sabbath can't fall on a particular day. Many of you argue but know not the origin of these things and how and why they were corrupted. All your Religion ChrislamJew are in ignorance and created by one person from a certain lost way which will soon be restored.

Everything is corrupted untill the time for Restoration shall you all know the truth. You can worship any day you like. You can set a particular day for you and your Creator alone. Flee from Religion

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by JaffyJoe(m): 12:37pm On Nov 28, 2021
McBishop2020:
.Who made Sunday the first day of the week? Who made the calendar?
Was it the Almighty that made some months 31, some 30, and yet another either 28 or 29? Where is it recorded in the Bible that the Creator of the universe rested on Saturday?

What is the significant of 7th day and rest?
For those in a culture that counts a week by 4 days, which day is their 7th day of the week?
When was the days of the week, as we have them now, named and who named them: the Creator, Adam, or the created?

Finally, who is the Creator of the universe?

Answer these questions and stop raising stupid questions. Your question is meant for the gullible and uneducated ones.

Thanks.

You've said it all. People act like the Gregorian Calendar was there right from the Garden of Eden.

Re: Why Do Christians Worship On Sundays? by Pumpumking: 12:38pm On Nov 28, 2021
Solofresh2:

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

Meet MCGodwinFavour Who Started Singing At 10, Tours The Globe With His Talent / Pastor William Kumuyi Visits Wike (Photos) / Tithe In The New Testament: Who's Wrong Between Daddy Freeze & Nigerian Pastors?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 100