Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,156,145 members, 7,829,093 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 07:03 PM

Switching From Chemistry To Chemical Engineering - Career (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Switching From Chemistry To Chemical Engineering (16463 Views)

Switching From Account To Tech / Chemical Engineering Job Or Filling Station Manager Job? / Switching Jobs: Career Advice Needed! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Switching From Chemistry To Chemical Engineering by Dokiwa: 1:29pm On Dec 17, 2022
Lexiskillz09:
Good evening guys. I'm sorry for the long story. But it's serious Please
Please I need ur opinions on this issue bothering me. I am a Industrial chemistry graduate. I graduated last year and just completed my NYSC. I want to go for postgraduate studies but I am having difficulties in making a decision on what to do.

Someone advised me to switch to Chemical engineering, (this will require a 1 year postgraduate diploma course) though I wouldn't mind if there's a guarantee I stand a very good chance in the labour market after the PGD and MSC. On the other hand, 2 bros in my area I respect so much discouraged me about switching. Both of them were of the opinion that it would rather keep me confused instead of helping me. That recruiters will consider a candidate with B.Eng Chemical engineering without a masters over me, while chemistry field will consider a chemistry msc holder over me also.
Bottom line, it's almost a waste of time especially here in Nigeria that I should just do msc in industrial chemistry.

I'm still young though. I Will be 22 on 27th of this month.

I sent you a dm...Cheers
Re: Switching From Chemistry To Chemical Engineering by 9icetoo(m): 1:31pm On Dec 17, 2022
PrettyBolu:

Do not do it. I repeat, do not do it if your goal is to stand a good chance of getting a job.

Switch from Chemistry to Health Sciences instead.