Stats: 3,151,115 members, 7,811,135 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 02:02 AM

How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? (15622 Views)

Christmas In Nigerian Languages: Cultural Diversity / Which Of The Major Nigerian Languages Would You Love To Learn? / Languages Spoken In Each Of The 36 States In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply) (Go Down)

How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 8:38pm On May 26, 2023
There's this popular woman in the community were i stay here in Yenagoa, omoh.... This woman can speak almost 9 different dialects..

She came to the restaurant were I was eating this afternoon, and she was speaking Hausa with one hausa keke rider.... Ino knw wen i ask her" madam abeg were u 4rm? and she said, i'm a patrotic Nigerian..

The guy sitting next to me was lyk "madam u get beta ear ooh....i never even sabi speak my own dialect finish bt u dey hear/speak almost all nigeria dialect, no body fit sell u for dis country ooh.....she jst laff..

So guys, apart from your native dialect, how many other Nigerian languages can speak?

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by hadjipapiey(m): 8:38pm On May 26, 2023

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Alexandersantos(m): 8:41pm On May 26, 2023
How i wish i can speak hausa.,that language dey sweet me no be small

112 Likes 10 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by chatinent: 8:44pm On May 26, 2023
Igbo, Hausa, and,Yoruba.

48 Likes 4 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Malory: 8:48pm On May 26, 2023
chatinent:
Igbo, Hausa, and ,Yoruba.
Oya mention your father in Igbo, your mom in Yoruba and your wife in Hausa.

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 8:49pm On May 26, 2023
chatinent:
Igbo, Hausa, and ,Yoruba.
omoh.......una get beta ear ooh,even to speak my native urhobo slf nah war.

17 Likes 4 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Onyiiobi7735(m): 8:53pm On May 26, 2023
I can understand Hausa and Nupe to an extent,as I did my Youth Service in Nupeland in Niger state.
But preferably,I understand and read French and Spanish, and focus more on them, because of their great value internationally.

56 Likes 6 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by illicit(m): 8:56pm On May 26, 2023
Languages

Not dialects....

Pls correct your title

smiley

31 Likes

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Boogyman557: 8:58pm On May 26, 2023
Holly Gram cool the 1st day way I smoke MAMA KELECHI WEED in 2003... Chaiii!

NaSo I begin see WHITE ANGELS..

Me and doz ANGELS begin speak in TONGUE..

As I drag the WEED again.. NaSo i begin see Chinese people..

E come be like say me and doz Chinese people day inside MARKET de price garri and beans..

I miss P.H ooooo! chai..

LITE UP my WEED in peace

WTF MAN!

13 Likes

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 9:01pm On May 26, 2023
Boogyman557:

Omoh........the Boogyman himslf,boss man were u discharge leave ur guys go nah..

i jst dey talk abt u dis evening,omoh...ur guys dn miss ur gist..i swr down.

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by isan(m): 9:04pm On May 26, 2023
I can only speak Yoruba

31 Likes 5 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 9:04pm On May 26, 2023
Onyiiobi7735:
I can understand Hausa and Nupe to an extent,as I did my Youth Service in Nupeland in Niger state.
But preferably,I understand and read French and Spanish, and focus more on them, because of their great value internationally.

omoh......dats great

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 9:06pm On May 26, 2023
illicit:
Languages
Not dialects....
Pls correct your title
smiley
omoh.......done.
tnx for the correction

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Onyiiobi7735(m): 9:07pm On May 26, 2023
Illegal1:

omoh......dats great
I have an affinity for languages.

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Boogyman557: 9:07pm On May 26, 2023
Illegal1:

Omoh........the Boogyman himslf,boss man were u discharge leave ur guys go nah..

i jst dey talk abt u dis evening,omoh...ur guys dn miss ur gist..i swr down.
Holly Gram cool

My Gee!

EKELEBE arrest me again ooo

Na yesterday I come back.

WTF MAN!

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 9:10pm On May 26, 2023
Boogyman557:
Holly Gram cool

My Gee!

EKELEBE arrest me again ooo

Na yesterday I come back.

WTF MAN!
omoh.......onto which mathias nah?

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by illicit(m): 9:12pm On May 26, 2023
I speak only Yoruba and English (Nigerian and Queen's English)

I teach English

16 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 9:13pm On May 26, 2023
Boogyman557:
Holly Gram cool the 1st day way I smoke MAMA KELECHI WEED in 2003... Chaiii!

NaSo I begin see WHITE ANGELS..

Me and doz ANGELS begin speak in TONGUE..

As I drag the WEED again.. NaSo i begin see Chinese people..

E come be like say me and doz Chinese people day inside MARKET de price garri and beans..

I miss P.H ooooo! chai..

LITE UP my WEED in peace

WTF MAN!

Omoh........hahahahaha..the boogyman himslf,u dn cum with ur funny gist...

any way sha,every were good...

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Boogyman557: 9:23pm On May 26, 2023
Illegal1:

omoh.......onto which mathias nah?
Holly Gram cool my Gee na WEED matters..

WTF MAN!

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by dododawa1: 9:26pm On May 26, 2023
Yoruba, English and Money language.

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 9:26pm On May 26, 2023
Boogyman557:
Holly Gram cool my Gee na WEED matters..

WTF MAN!

Omoh........tnk God say u dn bust out.

hope dem no take ur new/old kala frm u..

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Vijuchoco(f): 11:02pm On May 26, 2023
3; Igbo, Esan and Yoruba

15 Likes

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Evestar200(f): 12:45am On May 27, 2023
I can only speak my language URHOBO

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by internationalman(m): 1:36am On May 27, 2023
One thing I like about Igbo, Yoruba and Hausa is that you hardly see their tribesmen who don't know how to speak it. Even those that weren't brought up in their locality still know how to speak it..

But most of my my tribesmen can't even speak it including some that were born and brought up in their locality. I have many friends who have never lived elsewhere other than Edo State but can't speak the language..

It's only Edo State English (pidgin) is mostly used to communicate by the general public. But when I travel to other States, I can easily identify the State with my eye closed because they mostly communicate in their indigenous language...

Edo remains the heartbeat of Nigeria though.

44 Likes 1 Share

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Sonnobax15(m): 6:44am On May 27, 2023
Illegal1:

. grin. Nigha,are you an urhobo for real?

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 6:47am On May 27, 2023
Sonnobax15:
. grin. Nigha,are you an urhobo for real?

omoh........i be comfam ughelli boy ooh

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Sonnobax15(m): 6:49am On May 27, 2023
Illegal1:

omoh........i be comfam ughelli boy ooh
. grin grin. Make we end am for here, because we fit know each other.. because I be Ughelli boy too cheesy

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by Illegal1(m): 6:56am On May 27, 2023
Sonnobax15:
. grin grin. Make we end am for here, because we fit know each other.. because I be Ughelli boy too cheesy

omoh.......hahahahahahano be lie bro..

every were good sha..

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by sexymonkey(m): 8:30am On May 27, 2023
I can speak Pidgin, Igala, Hausa, Yoruba, and I understand igbo, Ibibio to some point. grin

23 Likes

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by marlow1962(m): 11:08am On May 27, 2023
Pigin and igbo (I'm not main igbo)

I love to learn Yoruba and Hausa too.

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by VinnyBaba: 4:01pm On May 27, 2023
Illegal1:

Bros, URHOBO is not dat difficult @all. smiley

I school @Delsu, Abraka and stayed at those Community/Indigene areas. 🙂

I now saw dat it is a very Simple language to Learn, though I was told that Abraka URHOBO is easy
Unlike Uwvie, Okpe and Ughievwen. 🤨

Re: How Many Nigerian Languages Can You Speak? by VinnyBaba: 4:06pm On May 27, 2023
internationalman:
One thing I like about Igbo, Yoruba and Hausa is that you hardly see their tribesmen who don't know how to speak it. Even those that weren't brought up in their locality still know how to speak it..

But most of my my tribesmen can't even speak it including some that were born and brought up in their locality. I have many friends who have never lived elsewhere other than Edo State but can't speak the language..

It's only Edo State English (pidgin) is mostly used to communicate by the general public. But when I travel to other States, I can easily identify the State with my eye closed because they mostly communicate in their indigenous language...

Edo remains the heartbeat of Nigeria though.

You Lie.🤨

Currently, there are many Guys who CAN'T those languages u mentioned. sad
I know Many of them.

While the ones who know how to Speak it do NOT teach their Children.
E.g. Wizkid and Davido. I wonder if their children know to speak Yoruba. undecided

In 30 yrs time, ALL Nigerian languages will DIE OFF from the face of the earth. 😒

11 Likes 5 Shares

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply)

The Fundamentals Of Odinani / Ondo Masquerades Arrested After Robbery Operation / Ézè Ǹrì gi gá Frontier Culture Museum | Nigerian king to visit FCM

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25