Stats: 3,151,822 members, 7,813,704 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 04:47 PM

Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy - Politics (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy (23051 Views)

PDP Peace Talks Collapse, Wike, Makinde, Ortom May Meet Tinubu Again In London / Atiku Writes Biden, Lists Nigeria’s Challenges, Seeks U.S Intervention / Tribunal: Atiku Writes Open Letter To Nigerians (2) (3) (4)

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Erons2000(f): 11:00pm On Feb 25
ElSudani:

Big and small folks like you created the problems with dishonesty, lying and unbridled greed.
Trying to pin it on one particular person is stupid. We have seen what bankers had done with the exchange rates while folks like you were shouting Buhari as if Buhari alone is the government.
oga Ur talk no make sense.....good character starts from the head....when Ur leaders are corrupt the whole system becomes corrupt,small Nigerians cannot destroy the economy based on corruption,only elite can,so stop dat cap

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by bitbillionaire: 11:02pm On Feb 25
Well done Atiku. I like the fact that you don't just criticize for criticism sake; you offer sound useful advice.

To be honest, Atiku was the most prepared of all the previous presidential candidates even though most of wanted Obi for a change.

God bless Nigeria

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by ElSudani: 11:09pm On Feb 25
Erons2000:
oga Ur talk no make sense.....good character starts from the head....when Ur leaders are corrupt the whole system becomes corrupt,small Nigerians cannot destroy the economy based on corruption,only elite can,so stop dat cap

"Your leaders" that is the key word here. It will make sense to you when you realize "your leaders" doesn't refer to one person.
By the way, ordinary Nigerians are not immuned from corruption. In fact, we need to change our ways just as we demand from our leaders.

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by J3susFr3ak: 11:11pm On Feb 25
nairalanda1:

Discovery of oil did not necessarily ruin NIgeria, though it messed things up. It also did not wreck regionalism. The regions were on their way out once the Mid western region was created in 1963. BY 1965/6 many minorities in the North and east were agitating for more states. Gowon listened to them and gave them states. If there had been no coup, there might have been a MIddle belt region created before 1970. And even eventually states. OJukwu wanted to divide, and infact divided BIafra into several provinces.

Nigeria's problem has always been resource dependency. Our revenue is basically based on selling stuff like cocoa, cotton, palm oil. THe problem was as prices for those things fell in the 1970s, we got lucky we had oil. But the MAIN PROBLEM...is that we do not set the prices of whatever we sell. Prices are controlled by others.

Ghana recently tried to raise the price of its cocoa...main export. Failed misreably.

Mali and Burkina, among many other cotton producers, have been fighting a long war with the USA over cotton prices. USA produces so much cotton, the price for cotton internationally remains low . Other cotton producers cannot compete.

Same with oil. NIgeria needs oil at 130 dollars per barrel. Problem is, if we unillaterally raise it up to that price, we would be shut out of the oil market, as people go to cheaper priced countries for cheaper oil.

If we wanted to be a strong nation, we gotta industrialize and export manufactured goods and services.

You have valid points there and I quite agree with you. It kind of reminded me of this YouTube video I watched a few months back about how Latin America was the richest part of the world in the early part of the 20th Century to the point that even poor Europeans thronged in ships and moved there. But the point of the video referenced below was to emphasize that the reason for Latin Anerica's early wealth was because of their reliance on their primary resource industries (both agro and mines). The Economist in the video was arguing that the fortunes of the Latin American countries took a turn for the worst when their elites met in 1947 in Havana to chart a new industrialisation course for the continent with a bent to be less reliant on primary resources towards competing with Europe and America.

The core of the video's thesis was to emphasize on how these protected socialist oriented industries could not really compete with similar ones making similar products from abroad. Other places like the Asian tigers of the Far East knew well enough that the Government had no business running industries and protecting them from outside competition could severely limit technological transfer. The Government can initially fund these industries by purchasing shares and encourage these firms to take risks and innovate. Over time, as the company proves itself in the competitive international markets, the Government fully sells its shares and help funds newer RandD and other ventures out to prove themselves.

Capital in Nigeria is still controlled by analog self serving politicians. Capital in Nigeria is not smart.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6kyjf3ZCm0?si=7CDMeo3dpmhCbI-C

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Yusufisraelj(m): 11:29pm On Feb 25
Putindbutt:
Atiku is a failure, Argentine oppositions are not sabotaging their new president like Atiku and Obi are doing. Argentina president dissolved and dismantled the Central Bank of Argentina due to corruption. Imagine Tinubu wanting to put an end to central bank and adopt another country's federal reserves, will Atiku and Obi not instigate crisis against him?. Argentina people are patriotic and do not wish for the downfall of their country, things are still very very hard yet they support their president.

Winner's win, stop complaining. You asked for the job, put naysayers to shame period.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by grandstar(m): 11:35pm On Feb 25
aribisala0:

How do you know this?

With an inflation rate of 150%, you'd be miserable.

Your economy's a mess.

Poverty levels have skyrocketed.

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Yusufisraelj(m): 11:37pm On Feb 25
Erons2000:

Words on marble.

If they even steal to circulate within the country, then the money works within the country, they steal to export or even keep the money dormant; How stupid, anyways evil was not designed to bring holistic success and have the best interest of people at heart.

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by aribisala0(m): 11:37pm On Feb 25
grandstar:

With an inflation rate of 150%, you'd be miserable.

Your economy's a mess.

Poverty levels have skyrocketed.
So you don't know it then? You just assume?
What you should say is
I'd be miserable
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by PARADIZEPRIEST: 11:40pm On Feb 25
All the talkers are sabotuers,bad loses of election,muroons,generator racketeers who don't want naija to have stable electrical power.God burn you all from Nigeria we don't want yylu again,you sabotuers IFSHA angry

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by VeeVeeMyLuv(m): 11:42pm On Feb 25
Min wage in Nigeria is $20 monthly 🙊🙀 grin grin grin

Min wage in Argentina is over $200 dollars monthly

Na human beings dey Nigeria? I no sure say na human beings.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Erons2000(f): 11:54pm On Feb 25
ElSudani:

"Your leaders" that is the key word here. It will make sense to you when you realize "your leaders" doesn't refer to one person.
By the way, ordinary Nigerians are not immuned from corruption. In fact, we need to change our ways just as we demand from our leaders.

ordinary Nigerians don't make laws,don't have access to billions and country wealth,only the wealthy do,so let dem change first before so ordinary Nigerians can copy dem,U allocate billions to urself,wife and children,U have houses all over the world,but is ordinary citizens dat steals 5naira dat is spoiling the economy.....oga U funny
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by grandstar(m): 12:01am On Feb 26
aribisala0:

So you don't know it then? You just assume?
What you should say is
I'd be miserable

I have been a keen watcher of Argentina

In 1991, they pegged the peso at parity to the Dollar. That's how far back i go. This was under the leadership of Carlos Menem of the Peron Party. Carvalho was the economic minister then and it was called the Carvalho plan.

$1-1 Argentine Peso.

It is now $1-1,062

High inflation impoverishes people. By 2002 or thereabout, Argentina had to abandon the peg to the dollar. It also reneged on its external debt.

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by ElSudani: 12:08am On Feb 26
Erons2000:
ordinary Nigerians don't make laws,don't have access to billions and country wealth,only the wealthy do,so let dem change first before so ordinary Nigerians can copy dem,U allocate billions to urself,wife and children,U have houses all over the world,but is ordinary citizens dat steals 5naira dat is spoiling the economy.....oga U funny

Unfortunately, many who in the past claimed to be ordinary Nigerians also became thieves once in power. And in a very strange twist some like Peter Obi who stole Anambra money are now trying to assume the toga of an ordinary Nigerian!

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by seunayantokun(m): 12:08am On Feb 26
So was Buhari saying lots and lots until he got power. He got it and unleashed fulani herdsmen terrorists on every part of Nigeria. Stole and stole to put weapons in the hand of imported fulani terrorists and went after ethnic rights activists who were not making it easy for the fulani to overrun everywhere.

Atiku is now an economic adviser. Hmmm? Does he spend naira? Maybe a little, but the former vice president who oversaw activities of BPE when all national assets, companies, businesses, etc were being privatised has stolen more than enough to the extent that he could contest for president with millions - do I say billions? - of dollar to ease his way. If every one had stolen from Nigeria like he did, would there been any economy called Nigeria again? In what way is he better than Tinubu? They are one and the same in politics and pilfering.

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by aribisala0(m): 12:29am On Feb 26
grandstar:

I have been a keen watcher of Argentina

In 1991, they pegged the peso at parity to the Dollar. That's how far back i go. This was under the leadership of Carlos Menem of the Peron Party. Carvalho was the economic minister then and it was called the Carvalho plan.

$1-1 Argentine Peso.

It is now $1-1,062

High inflation impoverishes people. By 2002 or thereabout, Argentina had to abandon the peg to the dollar. It also reneged on its external debt.

I do not dispute any of this

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Erons2000(f): 12:43am On Feb 26
ElSudani:

Unfortunately, many who in the past claimed to be ordinary Nigerians also became thieves once in power. And in a very strange twist some like Peter Obi who stole Anambra money are now trying to assume the toga of an ordinary Nigerian!
oga am not talking about Peter Obi or atiku or tinubu,am talking about average Nigerians like myself,how does average Nigerians like myself spoil the country and cause economic hardships with the little we steal?cuz I know I can't get into politics,cuz I don't have the money,so I can't make laws to stop d elite from stealing,so how can I help change the economy or in your case,how have I destroyed it?
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by J3susFr3ak: 12:44am On Feb 26
seunayantokun:
So was Buhari saying lots and lots until he got power. He got it and unleashed fulani herdsmen terrorists on every part of Nigeria. Stole and stole to put weapons in the hand of imported fulani terrorists and went after ethnic rights activists who were not making it easy for the fulani to overrun everywhere.

Atiku is now an economic adviser. Hmmm? Does he spend naira? Maybe a little, but the former vice president who oversaw activities of BPE when all national assets, companies, businesses, etc were being privatised has stolen more than enough to the extent that he could contest for president with millions - do I say billions? - of dollar to ease his way. If every one had stolen from Nigeria like he did, would there been any economy called Nigeria again? In what way is he better than Tinubu? They are one and the same in politics and pilfering.

Hard sordid and sobering facts!

I suppose the ugly shame here is like using the analogy of the battered wife of a rich man to depict the Nigerian situation. The entitled rich man thinks he can always get away with brutalizing his wife because the delusional one thinks his money which brings with it entitled power is all the matters to the bedazzled wife and she will always endure.

There are limits to everything. Absolute cold hard limits.

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by EDOLUWA: 12:45am On Feb 26
Kukutenla:

Still blaming opposition
Stop being a zombie

YOU STILL DEY PLAY POLITICS !!! TINUBU GOT IT WRONG BIG-TIME AND NEED EVERYBODY TO ADVISE HIM..
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Anatolia: 1:14am On Feb 26
Our brothers from the south west would rather our country go to ruin than for an ibo man no matter how competent he is. We are not a country.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by dxter160: 1:23am On Feb 26
MY LETTER TO THE PRESIDENT. this administration is yet to provide HOPE for Nigerians, we can't see any future yet, even the politicians are hoarding dollars because they don't know what might happen tomorrow..... this admin should have a vision, take it step at a time, healing takes time. "lead by example as a leader and the citizen will follow", you can work on security and production thereby limiting a reasonable amount of the fx demand.....with this achievement alone you've made yourself a great hero of a great nation. thank you
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by ElSudani: 1:29am On Feb 26
Erons2000:
oga am not talking about Peter Obi or atiku or tinubu,am talking about average Nigerians like myself,how does average Nigerians like myself spoil the country and cause economic hardships with the little we steal?cuz I know I can't get into politics,cuz I don't have the money,so I can't make laws to stop d elite from stealing,so how can I help change the economy or in your case,how have I destroyed it?

Average Nigerians like you are in the police, in the ministries. They are in immigration, they are in the postal service. They are employed to manage the till in supermarkets. They work in the banks, employed to check in travellers at airports. They are in our markets selling fake and adulterated products to fellow Nigerians.
This is just to name a few of many places where ordinary Nigerians like you work and they steal just like your leaders.
If you don't believe it or if you don't think any of these things affect you or the development of the country then good luck to you and whatever you believe.
The change we want starts with us, that is all I can share with you.

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by sammytovic(m): 1:35am On Feb 26
Economic wise, Atiku is very cool. A lot do not know this
Malroux:
Even though Obi was the undisputed choice of Nigerians but Atiku would have done better than Ebola Tinubu.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by jogojogo: 1:52am On Feb 26
AllTheWayUp:

Atiku Abubakar
This is statesmanship
I love this
Mr President plesse invite His excellent Atiku and look at these together with your economic team
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by jogojogo: 1:55am On Feb 26
9japride:
My question is why does Atiku always spoil the chances for the country to elect the right ones?
I believe next election, he will come out again to contest just to divide the votes of the masses.
It's quite unfortunate that the country lost the opportunity get things right in this last election.
The good thing about the previous election, is that it really revealed the mindset of the Nigerians
Obi stand no chance
Na Obi spoil Atiku chance
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by idealogical: 2:00am On Feb 26
Be careful what you wish for..

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by skj1377(m): 2:33am On Feb 26
Tinubu is not doing well.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by tonyinfinity: 2:53am On Feb 26
And last I checked,
Same Argentinian president that Atiku here is praising has officially devalued the currency and cut subsidies ( just like BAT has done).
However, inflation rate in Argentina is still soaring while the Argentinian Peso is still falling yakata against the dollar,
The economy is still tanking....
Seriously, is that Atiku's model??
Does Seriki Dubai even read the trash he spews out at all

Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by 9japride(m): 3:18am On Feb 26
jogojogo:

Obi stand no chance
Na Obi spoil Atiku chance
[color=#006600][/color]

So you are expecting anything different from Atiku?
Keep voting funny characters.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by 9japride(m): 3:21am On Feb 26
Tareq1105:

Atiku and other political actors should take all their stolen money saved in dollars back to the banking system and Nigeria would recover. In Argentina, nobody is keeping dollars at home or spraying dollars at parties.
[color=#006600][/color]

That's a good idea. Also, we need to start exporting a lot I believe it will improve the naira
I wonder why the government can't take advantage of the intelligent ones who studied financing in the country?
Rather, na padi padi government them sabi.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by MEGAWATCH: 3:40am On Feb 26
StOla:
Was it written by Atiku or by Siddiq?

Let Atiku go and write his WAEC by himself before writing to the President.

If at this level of suffering you are still talking like this, i will not be wrong to say that YOU ARE BORN TO SUFFER AND DIE.

NOTHING MORE, NOTHING LESS.
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Glassysea(m): 4:07am On Feb 26
Oga that country has a lots in terms of manufacturing of goods you cannot attract investors where law cannot protect them, secondly you don't have anything to offer only oil. Others are in the hands of bandit
Re: Take Cues From Argentina: Atiku Writes Tinubu Again On The State Of The Economy by Munzy14(m): 4:17am On Feb 26
Malroux:
Even though Obi was the undisputed choice of Nigerians but Atiku would have done better than Ebola Tinubu.
Atiku is the best man for the Job.

Based on experience.

But urchins and their master think everything is politics...now look where we are...Struggling as a country.

Bauchi: PDP Wins Tafawa Balewa State Assembly Seat / Buhari Accepts Bible Gift At Meeting With Northern Christians / Buhari’s Appointments Are Not Lopsided Says Jonathan’s Former-aide, Omokiri

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63