Stats: 3,163,382 members, 7,853,704 topics. Date: Friday, 07 June 2024 at 10:05 PM

By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana (20128 Views)

Court Declares 25 Rivers Assembly Seats Vacant / Edison Ehie Withdraws Suit Against 25 Rivers Assembly Members / 9 Imo State Assembly Lawmakers Defect To APC (2) (3) (4)

Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Gracefulman(m): 10:12am On May 13
The debacle in River State is that of personal ambition. Wike is fighting to be like the jagaban of Rivers politics and Fubara want to be a Wike in River State.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by walegon: 10:12am On May 13
Ofunaofu:
Those lawmakers seize to be members of the Rivers State House of Assembly right from the day their seats were declared vacant, followed by a judgment from a court of competent jurisdiction, the High Court in Port Harcourt, which has since barred them from gaining access to the Assembly complex under any guise or form.

Wike is merely leading them on and giving them false hope when they are already in a hopeless situation. 

INEC, on the other hand, is expected to conduct by-elections into those vacant seats so that the people of those state constituencies can have some representatives at the Rivers State House of Assembly. 
don't mind wike, he always leads people astray. The same thing he did with the G5 governors, where are they today ?
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by waziri4biz: 10:13am On May 13
Lanretoye:
Dem don pay you Abi?,so by law 3 lawmakers can take over the state assembly…make una Dey playwho employed them in this case?,did they resign as lawmakers or they decamped.Oga use your brain.interest of 25 lawmakers superseded that of 3 lawmakers as far as the state is concerned.they can prove at the court that it is in the interest of their state and the court will uphold it.
Wow see sentimental and emotional argument parading as logic of law and constitution
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by peleson1: 10:26am On May 13
Kukutente23:
It is a testament to Wike's lack of political sagacity and his belief in the rule of might over the rule of law that he made such an unforced error.
How lucky Fubara is!!
Just imagine if Wike had been calm and strategic enough to not make that blunder of defection. Probably, SIM will be out of the seat by now.
Wike forgot that Tinubu owes him nothing and can't fight his personal war for him using the presidency. The highest you can get is having the instrument of coercion on your side and that is proving to not be enough now.
You have said it all.

What did fubara do that warrant impeaching him under five months if not psychopath on Wike side.
Gra gra to show might .. forgetting he is just an ordinary man
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by blackmantis: 10:31am On May 13
superCleanworks:
Seriously when was the last time anyone heard news about YOBE state or JIGAWA.?

What of Gombe?
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by ViceGovernor: 10:32am On May 13
Eriokanmi:
Remember rivers is pdp while wike men are now apc. It will be a miracle for one among them to win , talkless of all. The pdp members in their various constituencies are already warming up to contest. I wonder what the inec is waiting for
Eye-neck is still waiting for oga at the top before they conduct fresh elections which shall be between the candidates of
PDAPC

Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by gold360(m): 10:32am On May 13
Putindbutt:
Did Ifeanyi Uba lose his seat when he left YPP to APC?, did Enugu lawmakers lose their seats when they left LP to PDP?, how about Saraki, Dogara, too numerous to mention. My friend, keep shut and let the court decide, slave boy of Abuja Landlord.
you call an elderly person like pa falana a slave BOY ?
may God forgive you

Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by BondRiv: 10:34am On May 13
It is not automatic. Stop misleading people. The speaker has to give effect to it and didn't. They remain lawmakers until the court says otherwise.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by LordKushmann(m): 10:45am On May 13
Putindbutt:

How about the gale of defections that has happened this year, how many state lawmakers has it affected?
Mention them. Only one i remember is the Plateau State incident and i reckon it's being dealt with.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Putindbutt: 10:53am On May 13
LordKushmann:

Mention them. Only one i remember is the Plateau State incident and i reckon it's being dealt with.
Enugu state lawmakers from LP to PDP
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Olichoke: 10:57am On May 13
Na so Wike deceived members of his integrity governors like Samuel Ortom etc into political oblivion

Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Oneday82: 11:19am On May 13
Righthussle:
INEC please do the needful, though I know Wike's men will still win the election.

I want to bet you that none of the 27 lawmakers (Noisemakers) will make it back to the house. You seems to underrate the power of incumbent . Wike have lost it , that is why they are fighting to remain relevant in the state. I dare them to come out and contest again. Gov. SIM is ready to empty Rivers State treasury to make sure they don't smell there again. And if Wike dares to go against this, he will be persona non Grata. Go and read about Sullivan and Chimaroke Nnamani. Whoever advised the 27 lawmakers, now seen as noisemakers to defect to APC did not advice them wrongly but succeeded in killing them and their political career. So, let them seek peace and look for a way to reconcile with the number 1 in Rivers State. Wike holds no powers again in Rivers State, The Governor control the resources. And if they try to impeach the Governor, Rivers State will burn. Yes it will burn, because nobody disturbed (Wike) him when he was the governor, so let him rest and allow SIM do his tenure in peace.

Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by FunkyAlhaji2015: 11:20am On May 13
Putindbutt:

How many lawmakers has it affected since it was enacted?, abi lawmakers no dey defect again?

It affected Dave Umahi. The court sacked him, he went to appeal and lost. Then proceeded to Supreme Court, before the judgement, his tenure finished. He lost the case there too but his tenure had elapsed so there was no enforcement.

That's why nobody is defecting like they used to do in the past. Have you heard of anyone defection in this new administration?? They all know what will happen. The Rivers former lawmakers were just stupid and I'll advised.

Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Betanaija42moro: 11:30am On May 13
Lanretoye:
Dem don pay you Abi?,so by law 3 lawmakers can take over the state assembly…make una Dey playwho employed them in this case?,did they resign as lawmakers or they decamped.Oga use your brain.interest of 25 lawmakers superseded that of 3 lawmakers as far as the state is concerned.they can prove at the court that it is in the interest of their state and the court will uphold it.
See how easy it's in your mouth. Sometimes some of you on this platform will be talking like illiterates.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Trustyourself: 11:34am On May 13
Putindbutt:
Did Ifeanyi Uba lose his seat when he left YPP to APC?, did Enugu lawmakers lose their seats when they left LP to PDP?, how about Saraki, Dogara, too numerous to mention. My friend, keep shut and let the court decide, slave boy of Abuja Landlord.

That you see people stealing and going Scot-free does not make stealing legal.

One day, you might be the one to be used to set example so as to serve as a deterrence to others in future.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Putindbutt: 11:40am On May 13
FunkyAlhaji2015:

It affected Dave Umahi. The court sacked him, he went to appeal and lost. Then proceeded to Supreme Court, before the judgement, his tenure finished. He lost the case there too but his tenure had elapsed so there was no enforcement.

That's why nobody is defecting like they used to do in the past. Have you heard of anyone defection in this new administration?? They all know what will happen. The Rivers former lawmakers were just stupid and I'll advised.
Who told you Umahi lost?, where did SC deliver the judgement?. stop making things up in your head.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by LordKushmann(m): 11:59am On May 13
Putindbutt:

Enugu state lawmakers from LP to PDP
Difference is it's not being contested and neither are they trying to unseat their executive. Nigerian laws are usually selective but rules are rules.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Lanretoye(m): 12:04pm On May 13
Betanaija42moro:

See how easy it's in your mouth. Sometimes some of you on this platform will be talking like illiterates.
an illeteeate like me is far better than a foolish person like you.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Lumarstone: 12:09pm On May 13
Putindbutt:

the Supreme Court has made this clear in the case of Ifedayo Abegunde and Labour Party. You cannot on your own decide that there is a division in the Party and it doesn't mean a division in the Local Government or in a State, it has to be an issue down the line, at the National level.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by obaidan: 12:25pm On May 13
Righthussle:
INEC please do the needful, though I know Wike's men will still win the election.
Pant dey wear u..all the times una dey call Fubara dummy. Man dey field dey do the grassroots job. Militants are for him, electorate are for him, ballot box hijackers are for him. Rivers senior godfathers are for him. The constitution is on his side.

Dey dere dey whine ur hero that doesn't know more than thuggery and hooliganism
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by obaidan: 12:31pm On May 13
Putindbutt:
This is the reason every Nigerian needs to have a copy of the constitution and read from time to time. Get one and read, you will understand why it's not the case with those people u mentioned
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Pecoleee345: 12:35pm On May 13
Mitsurugi:

And y'all keep dreaming that an illegallity will persist. Anyway we all deserve Nigeria. Have a great day

When it comes to Nigeria politicians it is better not to take sides cos they are all the same.

Fubara might do worst after 8yrs no ve obaseki una dey see so. ...abeg
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by FunkyAlhaji2015: 12:36pm On May 13
Putindbutt:

Who told you Umahi lost?, where did SC deliver the judgement?. stop making things up in your head.

Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by VULCAN(m): 2:31pm On May 13
The ONLY place you can abuse this man is online.

If you see him passing you will just be looking because your entire life is very insignificant compared to his.

A lawyer at the highest levels is expressing his legal opinion and you insult him because it's not to your liking.

Even if your parents didn't train you well- can't you train yourself?

Putindbutt:
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by danzaki63: 2:56pm On May 13
As a Lawyer, Wike f**ked up on this. He wanted to impress his new masters without taking the legal implications into consideration.he is shouting all over the place that he cant be stopped. Well maybe he will amend the constitution before the courts sits.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Lovenorth: 3:07pm On May 13
Putindbutt:

Shebi femi falana na judge?. The mumu four members have been suspended even before the 27members defected to APC. The Clerk of Rivers assembly did not recognize the four members, let's see how they wan win in court.
Falana is a known APC member, he is far better than you in APC and anywhere in the world
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Ezmans: 3:29pm On May 13
Righthussle:
APC has no chance in rivers state ele
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by YouAreNobody: 3:53pm On May 13
Lanretoye:

It seems Yorubas are the only ones supporting Wike in this issue. Could it be because he rigged Rivers state presidential election for Tinubu?
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by Lanretoye(m): 3:55pm On May 13
YouAreNobody:

It seems Yorubas are the only ones supporting Wike in this issue. Could it be because he rigged Rivers state presidential election for Tinubu?
the same way Igbos are suppprting fubar.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by YouAreNobody: 3:56pm On May 13
Emyogalanya:
Aboki iron condemm don steal their chair
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by YouAreNobody: 4:05pm On May 13
Lanretoye:
the same way Igbos are suppprting fubar.

Not only igbos. Men on ground in port harcourt are supporting fubara too. I'm currently here so I know what's happening.
Re: By law, the 25 Rivers Assembly lawmakers have lost their seats - Falana by ademo1: 6:27pm On May 13
Ategberoson:
Now anything called impeachment on Fubara is not happening until the court decide that the 27 lawmakers maintained that seat, na that time Fubara go see war, but if they decide the other way and the 27 law makers seat are declare vacant then Fubara should buckle up and make sure they don't win election because automatically APC will give those lawmakers direct tickets in their constituencies, so is left to Fubara to get grassroot politicians from PDP to counter them but if those APC guys win? Fubara won't spend 4 months as gov in Rivers state

You have forgotten that before they can function as a member of the parliament, they must be sworn in. If they refuse to align with the governor even after winning the election, none of them will be sworn in. I believe with this, Wike may lose some of these guys.

BBC Laments Over Nigeria's Fuel Scarcity As #End fuel crisisnow Trends / Security Operatives Vacate NASS As News Of DSS DG's Sack Filters In.. / Igbo Group Laments Over Osinbajo And Ajimobi

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69