Stats: 3,153,356 members, 7,819,266 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 01:32 PM

Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget (11480 Views)

PanamaPapers: Jose Manuel Soria Resigns After Links 2 Offshore Deals / Panama Papers Expos; Iceland's Prime Minister Resigns. / BREAKING! UK Minister Resigns Over Gaza Policy (2) (3) (4)

Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by stepo707: 1:23pm On Jul 04, 2012
Canada’s foreign aid minister is resigning from politics after coming under fire for extravagant spending, including a $16 (10.1 pounds) dollar glass of orange juice in a luxury London hotel.

Bev Oda, the minister for international cooperation, said in a statement on Tuesday that she advised Prime Minister Stephen Harper two weeks ago that she will step down as a member of Parliament on July 31.

She gave no reason for her departure.

“I am grateful for the support of the members of my staff and colleagues in the House of Commons and Senate. I wish to express my appreciation to the prime minister and his cabinet for their outstanding leadership,” she said in a statement.

Harper, who was widely expected to demote Oda in his next cabinet shuffle, praised her work on humanitarian aid to various countries stricken by conflict or natural disasters.

“Through Bev’s leadership, Canada has also met, ahead of schedule, its commitment to double aid to Africa. This is a record to be proud of,”
Harper said in a statement.

Oda, first elected to Parliament in 2004, came under attack from the opposition after it emerged that she had upgraded from a five-star hotel to an even pricier one while attending a conference in London last year.

Her travel expenses also included a 3,000 dollar limousine charge, but what seemed to resonate most with the public was a 16 dollar orange juice at taxpayers’ expense.

Under pressure, Oda paid the extra expenses out of her own pocket.
http://pointblanknews.com/pbn/exclusive/canada-minister-resigns-after-buying-16-orange-juice-outside-budget/

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by acetee: 3:08pm On Jul 04, 2012
Choi! shocked
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Reference(m): 3:08pm On Jul 04, 2012
Ms. Otteh and SEC take notes. Let the debate begin.

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Ogbodavies(m): 3:09pm On Jul 04, 2012
not here in naija,infact it is d beginning of their tenure,lootin,stealin and co cheesy
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nobody: 3:10pm On Jul 04, 2012
not in africa cry cry
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nobody: 3:10pm On Jul 04, 2012
What about that former GMD of NNPC?
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by akereconfi: 3:11pm On Jul 04, 2012
*****smh****** naija LegisLOOTERs i hail thee
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by trigar12(m): 3:11pm On Jul 04, 2012
This is so damn funny mehn. LAUGHING VIA MY NOSE
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by hok4u(f): 3:13pm On Jul 04, 2012
THESE CAN NEVER HAPPEN IN MY COUNTRY,HOW I WISH NIGERIA WILL BE LIKE CANADA

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nobody: 3:14pm On Jul 04, 2012
So then let lawan resign...or watch him in 2015 declare 4 president.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by OAM4J: 3:15pm On Jul 04, 2012
When will Nigeria/Arica get to this level?
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by DAY12(m): 3:18pm On Jul 04, 2012
OAM4J: When will Nigeria/Arica get to this level?

The level can only change when you and I change!.. sad

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nobody: 3:18pm On Jul 04, 2012
OAM4J: When will Nigeria/Arica get to this level?
Honestly, not in our life time. We should be realistic.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by coolgb(m): 3:19pm On Jul 04, 2012
Did u mean $16k, i laff lik farouk.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by mrman2(m): 3:22pm On Jul 04, 2012
The a Nigerian official does this, i will dance nakid in jankara market.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by dasparrow: 3:22pm On Jul 04, 2012
hok4u: THESE CAN NEVER HAPPEN IN MY COUNTRY,HOW I WISH NIGERIA WILL BE LIKE CANADA

Nigeria can't be like canada because the mindsets of the average Nigerian is skewed, corrupt and too greedy and materialistic. This is the sad truth. Moreover, our looting politicians will rather die than willing resign or step down from their posts.

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nobody: 3:30pm On Jul 04, 2012
haba! There is something else she is hiding from coming to light thats why she is resigning over $10.1 to keep controversy going. I might be wrong, dont quote me.

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Reference(m): 3:33pm On Jul 04, 2012
DAY11.:

The level can only change when you and I change!.. sad

The short answer. Its an atmospheric thing. As the climate decides what you wear. So conditions permit or restrict certain acts. So the clue is creating the environment.

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Reference(m): 3:36pm On Jul 04, 2012
blink182: Honestly, not in our life time. We should be realistic.

Perhaps. But we all decide that as well.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by babseg(m): 3:41pm On Jul 04, 2012
What if the amount is $16k what would she do?
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Afam4eva(m): 3:44pm On Jul 04, 2012
Which way Nigeria?
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by lacasa: 3:44pm On Jul 04, 2012
Oteh, Diezani, otedollar n ϑ oda rogues past n present dey laff in canadian french wyl dancing azonto cool
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by ronnyfam(f): 3:45pm On Jul 04, 2012
I weep for my country , wish this can happen in my country. If police can tell us that their is no evidence against Lawan to prosecute him.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nextworldnx(m): 3:46pm On Jul 04, 2012
This is imporsicant lipsrsealed in NIGERIA!
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by mrphenomenal(m): 3:47pm On Jul 04, 2012
Reference:

The short answer. Its an atmospheric thing. As the climate decides what you wear. So conditions permit or restrict certain acts. So the clue is creating the environment.

I couldn't agree more.. Canada is a place where you can go to work and leave your doors unlocked without fear of burglary.. hence the mentality of accountability.

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Reference(m): 3:50pm On Jul 04, 2012
lacasa: Oteh, Diezani, otedollar n ϑ oda rogues past n present dey laff in canadian french wyl dancing azonto cool

If these guys were handling similar positions in say Canada the story will certainly have turned out different from what it is at the moment. What makes this country so.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by wellmax(m): 3:55pm On Jul 04, 2012
babseg: What if the amount is $16k what would she do?
I will answer you like this.
When my friends here read about corruption in Nigeria, they ask, are these people minister of Finance? Or how come they have access τ̅☺ so much money.
Canada is not like Nigeria where everyone has access τ̅☺ so much money.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nobody: 3:56pm On Jul 04, 2012
It starts with the removal of the immunity clause in the Nigerian constitution of those in power.
Your very constitution was founded on the values of corruption and unaccountability.
Unless the whole nation rises against it like they rose against fuel subsidy removal your plight will continue.

Sitting and wishing to be like X and Y is not going to help you.
You have been sitting and wishing for several decades now and no change has happened.
Continue and you will quickly find another decade has met you again, and another, and another yet in the same sorry state.

White man will not come and change your constitution for you.
Your leaders will not one day "use mind" to change your constitution for you because it is in their favor and supports their looting ways.
No. This is something the people need to really give a damn about.

The events of January 2012 showed you people THE POWER that comes when a whole nation rises up against evil rulers.
Because a stone sits at the top of a mountain, it should not think it is more important than the stones that form the base of it, lest they remind it on whom it stands on.
It was only through a nationwide strike, grinding to a halt the economy of the country, were the rulers moved to listen to the people and AT LEAST reach an acceptable compromise.
Without further shows of strength by the people, I tell you, your situation will not change in a hundred centuries.....unless Christ comes.

Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by jpcomrade: 3:58pm On Jul 04, 2012
a beg wetin be d name of d wrist wacthes wey smbody buy for around 180 million without due process
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Reference(m): 4:01pm On Jul 04, 2012
wellmax:
I will answer you like this.
When my friends here read about corruption in Nigeria, they ask, are these people minister of Finance? Or how come they have access τ̅☺ so much money.
Canada is not like Nigeria where everyone has access τ̅☺ so much money.

Another angle to this. This relates to the structure of our country viz our government and its finances. Primarily the budget - allocation syndrome. But is access the reason for corruption. Or is there something else.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Reference(m): 4:09pm On Jul 04, 2012
2buff: It starts with the removal of the immunity clause in the Nigerian constitution of those in power.
Your very constitution was founded on the values of corruption and unaccountability.
Unless the whole nation rises against it like they rose against fuel subsidy removal your plight will continue.

Sitting and wishing to be like X and Y is not going to help you.
You have been sitting and wishing for several decades now and no change has happened.
Continue and you will quickly find another decade has met you again, and another, and another yet in the same sorry state.

White man will not come and change your constitution for you.
Your leaders will not one day "use mind" to change your constitution for you because it is in their favor and supports their looting ways.
No. This is something the people need to really give a damn about.

The events of January 2012 showed you people THE POWER that comes when a whole nation rises up against evil rulers.
Because a stone sits at the top of a mountain, it should not think it is more important than the stones that form the base of it, lest they remind it on whom it stands on.
It was only through a nationwide strike, grinding to a halt the economy of the country, were the rulers moved to listen to the people and AT LEAST reach an acceptable compromise.
Without further shows of strength by the people, I tell you, your situation will not change in a hundred centuries.....unless Christ comes.

But the immunity clause is off scores of our leaders at all levels from 1960 till date. Yet. Infact you see them attend very public functions organised by all levels of society including law enforcement and the judiciary. Whereas Sarkozy just out a month ago had his house searched by police yesterday if I'm not mistaken.
Re: Canada Minister Resigns After Buying $16 Orange Juice Outside Budget by Nobody: 4:12pm On Jul 04, 2012
Reference:

But the immunity clause is off scores of our leaders at all levels from 1960 till date. Yet. Infact you see them attend very public functions organised by all levels of society including law enforcement and the judiciary. Whereas Sarkozy just out a month ago had his house searched by police yesterday if I'm not mistaken.

Sorry sir didn't get you.
Grammar check?

Evidence Continues To Emerge MH17 Is A False Flag Operation / Duterte To Jail Those Who Refuse COVID-19 Vaccines / Israel Plans Nuclear Strike On Iran

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38