Stats: 3,159,211 members, 7,839,119 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 02:04 PM

Babayoutoomuch's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Babayoutoomuch's Profile / Babayoutoomuch's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Health / Re: Drugs To Avoid When You Are Expecting by Babayoutoomuch(f): 3:31pm On May 06, 2017
Nice one OP.

A pharmacist once told me he has brown teeth because his mother took tetracycline during his pregnancy, so expectant mothers beware!

Only antenatal drugs all the way.

If you must take any other drugs see your doctor.
Health / Re: Drugs To Avoid When You Are Expecting by Babayoutoomuch(f): 3:07pm On May 06, 2017
peacettw:
Nice one. Also avoid Septrin in your last trimester, it can lead to blood loss and jaundice or yellow eyes in your baby.

Avoid herbal medications. Your body may be able to handle it but your baby can't thus damaging his or her little organs.

Do you want your baby to have a decreased risk of being deformed? Well, just make sure you take folic acid (the tiny yellow tablet) in the first 3 months of your pregnancy.

Yeah! Tiny but mighty.
Phones / Re: Whatsapp Now Lets You Pin Your Favourite Chats On Top by Babayoutoomuch(f): 1:02pm On May 01, 2017
Mikylopez:
what about the option that allows one to delete a message sent by mistake or out of annoyance

CORRECT!! Looking forward to that seriously.
Culture / Why I Didn't Embrace Ooni- Oba Akiolu. by Babayoutoomuch(f): 9:03am On Apr 28, 2017
Why I didn’t embrace Ooni —Oba Akiolu

The Oba of Lagos, Oba Rilwan Aremu Akiolu, has defended his controversial reaction to the affectionate greeting of the Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi, at a public event, as seen in a viral video last week.

In the 25-second recording, the Ooni of Ife is seen arriving at the venue of the event, which has the Oba of Lagos, Oba Rilwan Akiolu II, in attendance, seated among an unidentified monarch.

The Ooni walks over to embrace the monarchs, but as soon as he approaches the Oba of Lagos, Oba Akiolu looks away, only acknowledging the Ooni with the wave of a hand.

The visibly embarrassed monarch then quietly returns to his seat.

The video clip was met with outrage on social media and among prominent Nigerians, with many describing Oba Akiolu’s action as disdainful and unbecoming of a Yoruba monarch.

However, when The PUNCH reached out to the Oba of Lagos by telephone, the monarch sounded undisturbed by the controversy surrounding the awkward greeting.

Oba Akiolu, explaining that he was constrained by tradition from receiving and returning the Ooni’s greeting, said the widespread belief that he snubbed the Ooni was “their own thinking.”

He added, “Anybody can imagine anything. There was nothing. The custom or tradition is like that in Lagos. We don’t hold each other; we don’t hug.

Asked if the wide age gap between both traditional rulers had anything to do with the way he acknowledged the Ooni, the Oba of Lagos said, “Which age difference? A monarch is a monarch. There is no age difference.”

http://punchng.com/we-dont-hug-each-other-by-lagos-tradition-oba-akiolu/

Politics / Re: Osinbajo Receives Abu Muhammad, Bangladesh Chief Of Amy Staff (Photos) by Babayoutoomuch(f): 10:27am On Apr 26, 2017
TPAND:
But where is Buhari
Exactly my thought!
Phones / Re: Finally! Video Call Feature Is Now Official On Whatsapp For Everyone by Babayoutoomuch(f): 7:23am On Nov 16, 2016
Good development!

Expecting more updates. Eg How to quickly REVERSE a message that was mistakenly sent to a wrong recipient.

Politics / Re: "It Took Us 10 Days To Count N1.2bn Money Dasuki Gave Fayose" - Witness by Babayoutoomuch(f): 1:39pm On Nov 15, 2016
Pls help me out. How many millions make 1billion.All these figures don confuse me.
Politics / Re: Abdulsalami Abubakar Is The Only Hausa Leader Nigeria Ever Had - Reno Omokri by Babayoutoomuch(f): 1:17pm On Nov 03, 2016
DrayZee:
Northerner na Northerner.

Aponle ni Mola Hausa la'husa nje.
Career / Hilarious Way Of Gift Presentation By Buhari To The Tallest Man In NDA. by Babayoutoomuch(f): 3:15pm On Oct 09, 2016
Meet the Tallest graduating cadet receiving an award from president Buhari yesterday @ the Passing Out Parade of graduating Regular Cadets NDA.I never knew our president could be this funny.Figure the joke out!

Travel / Re: 21 Nigerian Prostitutes In Spain Rescued By Police (Photos) by Babayoutoomuch(f): 5:35pm On Sep 24, 2016
Donpressman:
Oga make una park well. Those girls know wetin carry them go Spain. The same stories have been there since I can remember yet everybody keep claiming ignorance. As we are typing this now some girls in Benin are making payment to enter Spain or Italy via Morocco or Libya. The girl child should respect herself and do what is right too by shunning offers that looks too good to be true in order to avoid stories that touch. The girl child should also learn to tame her greed as contentment is the key to a safe living. Or girl child brain different from boy child own? Let her use her brain abeg!

Good talk jare.The thing tire me.
The no of girls even boys going to Italy, Germany and Spain kept increasing yet feigning ignorance. They're all lawful captives.
Phones / Re: Whatsapp May Incorporate Passcode And Recovery Email Options by Babayoutoomuch(f): 5:06pm On Sep 24, 2016
Six digits code for what?
Important update like option of acceptance to a group or not would rather be appreciated.
TV/Movies / Re: Name The ONE Nollywood Movie You Would Choose For The World To Watch. by Babayoutoomuch(f): 7:18pm On Sep 21, 2016
" Enemy of My Soul"
produced and directed by Mike Bamiloye.
Its a must watch for the whole world.

Education / Re: Adeyeye Olorunfemi: "I Don’t Regret My Action" — Student Rusticated By UNILAG by Babayoutoomuch(f): 6:49pm On Sep 18, 2016
Hmmmmm! Brilliant student and great future is ahead of you.
I feel your pain in this whole saga.

However, if you were my Son and you confide in me I would have TOLD you that you cannot fight an institution.

Reason? Because it has never worked.

Why? Its a law.

So what should I do? Invest passionately in yourself and when you get there you don't go the way of others.

NB:As a rule be CAREFUL not to outshine your boss, organization, government, institution etc even if you have the RESOURCES not for COWARDICE but for WISDOM.

I Really Wish You Luck in your Struggle.

Career / Re: Confused About Contract Job And A Permanent Job by Babayoutoomuch(f): 11:30am On Sep 16, 2016
Hmmmm! Really dicey situation. Don't know the exit policy of the former. What if the latter is not renewed?
If you're a spiritual person pls seek God's face for leading. Sometimes not all about money!
Car Talk / Re: See Reasons Why You Should Not Always Ask For Full Tank. by Babayoutoomuch(f): 10:33am On Sep 15, 2016
Gofwane:
no mind that op. He thinks everyone on nairaland is a farmer. @ op, don't you know that there are engineers here? better stop disgracing yourself with this thrash of a post.

......and some bush peeps here were busy typing 'noted' . . ,Smh

What's your agitation about? Bring out your counter research now.You can keep wasting your money Mr engineer. Its entirely your choice! But as for me and my house wisdom is profitable to direct.All kobo count.Goodluck.
Car Talk / Re: See Reasons Why You Should Not Always Ask For Full Tank. by Babayoutoomuch(f): 8:13am On Sep 15, 2016
RABIUSHILE04:

This is a wonderful piece #babayoutoomuch you're too much truly!!! Thanks on our behalf!

Lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Thanks.
Car Talk / See Reasons Why You Should Not Always Ask For Full Tank. by Babayoutoomuch(f): 8:06pm On Sep 14, 2016
Do not Pump Full Tank of Petrol......READ THE REASONS !!!

Recently I came across a very useful tip. I was surprised to know it but had a doubt so I talked to one of the pump technicians and he too accepted it as a fact. I think apart from providing space for the gas generated inside the petrol tank this is yet another reason why we shouldn't fill the tank to the brim. Many of us are not aware that the petrol kiosk pump has a return pipe-line (in Pink).
When the petrol tank (in the car) reaches full level, there is a mechanism to trigger off the pump latch and at the same time a return-valve is opened (at the top of the pump station) to allow excess petrol to flow back into the pump. But the return petrol has already pass through the meter, meaning you are donating the petrol back to the Oil Dealer.

Also only fill up your car or truck in the early morning when the ground temperature is still cold. Remember that all service stations have their storage tanks buried below ground. The colder the ground the more dense the petrol, when it gets warmer petrol expands, so buying in the afternoon or in the evening....your liter is not exactly a liter. In the petroleum business, the specific gravity and the temperature of the petrol, diesel and jet fuel, ethanol and other petroleum products plays an important role.

A 1-degree rise in temperature is a big deal for this business. But the service stations do not have temperature compensation at the pumps.

When you're filling up do not squeeze the trigger of the nozzle to a fast mode If you look you will see that the trigger has three (3) stages: low, middle, and high. You should be pumping on low mode, thereby minimizing the vapours that are created while you are pumping. All hoses at the pump have a vapour return. If you are pumping on the fast rate, some of the liquid that goes to your tank becomes vapour. Those vapours are being sucked up and back into the underground storage tank so you're getting less worth for your money.

One of the most important tips is to fill up when your Petrol tank is HALF FULL. The reason for this is the more Petrol you have in your tank the less air occupying its empty space. petrol evaporates faster than you can imagine. petrol storage tanks have an internal floating roof. This roof serves as zero clearance between the Petrol and the atmosphere, so it minimizes the evaporation. Unlike service stations, here where I work, every truck that we load is temperature compensated so that every litre is actually the exact amount.

Another reminder, if there is a petrol truck pumping into the storage tanks when you stop to buy Petrol, DO NOT fill up; most likely the petrol is being stirred up as the Petrol is being delivered, and you might pick up some of the dirt that normally settles on the bottom.

By Kumar Sawdesh

42 Likes 15 Shares

Properties / Re: How Much Will A 5 Bedroom Duplex Cost? by Babayoutoomuch(f): 4:31pm On Sep 14, 2016
laplace19:

In terms of cost, bungalow is more cheaper than a duplex, factors like topography of the land,finishes, quality of doors,Windows,roofing materials,etc to be used being equal. The addition cost in duplex comes from the first floor slab/deck,beams, few columns, formwork for the slab and beams, etc

Since your hubby has saddled you with the responsibility of choosing between a bungalow and a duplex that means he's financially buoyant enough to build a duplex...

Both are good but let me make this points

(1) if it's an ample land and your hubby bought it cheap then I will advice a bungalow over a duplex . Personally, I can't buy a land (be it half or one plot) worth 4million naira and build a bungalow on it. If I can have the money to buy a plot of land over 4million why won't I be bouyant enough to building a duplex on it?
(2) For efficient distribution of spaces, a duplex is better. A duplex allows one distribute more spaces for different purposes.
(3)Also, having balconies on top slab/floor is also an added advantage...... Children enjoy staying on the balconies overlooking the surroundings and their peers playing along the streets or in their compounds too. Your kids will really enjoy it.
(4) In terms of aesthetics, I will prefer a duplex.... Although a good architect can give you the best aesthetics for a bungalow as well...it's part of their job.
(5) A 5-bedroom bungalow will utilise more space than a 5-bedroom duplex.... for futuristic purposes, your hubby might decide to add/attach a self-contain or one-bedroom flat in the future as the family increases..
(6) Ventilation : if the land is big enough there will be enough ventilation when a bungalow is built on it, if not, a duplex will be better as there's more air as the height increases...

When I was a child we were staying in a bungalow and I always envy those kids around my neighbourhood when they come out to stay on the balcony,playing and overlooking us from the top...There's a feeling I did have about it as a kid back then. Since then, it has been my dream to build a duplex, just for my kids to get that same feeling as well.. grin grin

Thank you all for your wonderful and timely advice.I'm really better informed now. God bless you real good.
Properties / Re: How Much Will A 5 Bedroom Duplex Cost? by Babayoutoomuch(f): 10:03am On Sep 14, 2016
Fadelex:

If the kids are still young, then you can go for a duplex as it would give them a sense of privacy while growing up, it also depend on the location, like in abuja here, no-one will give you approval for bungalow cuz of land scarcity. Duplex has many advantage, a good design of 4-bedroom, 2 living room, study, laundary, and a spacious compound will be good.

Hmmmm! Thank you so much.
Properties / Re: How Much Will A 5 Bedroom Duplex Cost? by Babayoutoomuch(f): 9:33am On Sep 14, 2016
eph12:

I guess you know the difference between bungalow and duplex?
Then how many are you in the family or how many people are you planning for?

We are family of five. My hubby is indifferent abt whichever I go for.But most of his colleagues are always talking of duplex. Since he has saddled me with that responsibility, I need advice on which to embark on.
Properties / Re: How Much Will A 5 Bedroom Duplex Cost? by Babayoutoomuch(f): 9:17am On Sep 14, 2016
lastpage:

First, as has been mentioned, the final cost will vary a lot and will depend on a lot of factors such that you cant compare your cost to that of others but what you can get is an "average".

For example, the type of soil on the land you bought (alone) can make a difference of #3Million Naira in your expenses.
Assuming you bought a "soft soil" land, compared to someone who bought a red-clay land.

The former's foundation would consume a lot of Iron, Cement, Granite and Stone-dust/Sharp Sand in building say a Raft foundation tha may be as high as 5ft minimum (to avoid future stories of the heart) while the latter's foundation may just be 2ft high without much reinforcement.
With current cost of Iron and Cement, l am sure you are getting my drift.

Having said that, if you are not the lazy type (and l dont think so otherwise you wont have been planning to build your own house), l would advice you to go to the property thread and READ, READ and READ building projects (especially the DIY ones where the owners double as the Supervisor grin ) and then cap it with the off-topic thread (you can always skip the wailing and rubbish post that wont contribute anything to your quest for knowledge) linked below

https://www.nairaland.com/2550211/general-topic-thread-to-discuss-anything

Knowledge is Power! These threads would make you a small "Pro" in no-time kiss kiss
If you are a novice to building (in terms of "basic knowledge"wink, expect to lose as much as 25% of your budget to greedy builders/Contractors who will eat you without mercy! (not all of them are guilty of this, there are some like Abdulwatexc who still do a good job for the money)
Inflation of cost of material, over-invoicing, over-inventory, buying lower quality than quoted, e.t.c are ways you will lose money, just to mention a few angry angry

You have seen how your "proposed cost is jumping from 9M to 20M to 25M to 30M already! grin grin

But dont let that dampen your spirit in anyway.
Just start and dont bite more than you can chew!

Your build wont be the best in Abeokuta and it won be the worst ......but do something you know you will COMPLETE in good time.
Dont over-build to impress anybody.

I can feel you are already feeling depressed by that 30Million mentioned cry cry

It all depends on you:

*Can you spare the EFFORT and the personal TIME to cut down cost (You can have an over-seeing consultant on a fixed payment based on site-visits..... not someone just collecting your money and staying-away from the site!)

* Be very careful with parting with money, especially to these Contractors on Nairaland!
Ask around, there are some Contractors l will not give my #3, not to talk of #30Million.
Ask around but for now, l have "very strong opinion" about Abdlwastexc and Spyder (search for the threads of these two, good builders and read)

I hope you realise that MONEY can cause enmity between you and your Uncle and Father-in-law?
My Mother use to tell me this: " Any amount of Money you cant forgo, dont lend it to a relation otherwise, you might have to chose between your money and your relation" .
Be careful in that area, l take God beg you. (Except you are a very, very "Cheerful Giver"wink undecided undecided

The cheapest part of the build is the block-work itself but it is what makes you think you are building a house as it springs into life.
Major areas of cost in "approximate percentages" are:

Foundation (13%), Blockwork (8%), Decking (11%), Roofing (10%) Windows and Doors (15%), Plastering and Tiling (20%), Plumbing, Soakaway and Electrics (10%), other Finishings (Painting, Compound, , e.t.c) 10%. Let us set aside another 3% for contigencies, totalling 100%.

Now, you can start work once you have 40% of the cost as cash and you have a steady stream of income, otherwise l would suggest you up it to about 60% but please, DONT overbuild to impress!
It is better you build to a scale your budget can accommodate within 12-16months max. (I know you said 6months grin ).

BTW: Five Bedroom Duplex is very good but do you by any chance have up to eight children or is it just your immediate family that will occupy that 5-Bed Duplex? Well, it is your first house so you want to impress yourself! grin grin

Hmmm.... 3-Bed Duplex with 2Units of 2 or 3-Bed Flats at the back will give you better value-for-money, give you flexibility with "sleep-ins" and will bring you income streams, when you discover that you dont need the "Big-Man" house that we all always start with.
I am speaking from experience
but l pray you will get there sooner than me and realise what l realised too late!
. grin grin

Dont mind me, l like to write too much.
I wish you all the strength and determination. Go for it.

Lastpage!

Caveat: I am not a builder/contractor and l am not selling anything o. shocked grin

Hmmmm! You REALLY sound matured, genuine and experienced.Pls can you tell which is BETTER Bungalow or Duplex money not a factor.Thanks.
Properties / Re: How Much Will A 5 Bedroom Duplex Cost? by Babayoutoomuch(f): 8:46am On Sep 14, 2016
Pls with ALL sincerity Kindly tell me which is better BUNGALOW or DUPLEX? The problem is not d money mind you. I'm just confused.Kindly help out if you can, its a decision I need to make as soon as possible. Thanks.
Crime / Re: See Sophisticated ATM Theft.beware! by Babayoutoomuch(f): 7:21pm On Sep 09, 2016
adedayoadedeji:
Why can't d driver get a better job with his computer skills nah?

My thought exactly.
Crime / See Sophisticated ATM Theft.beware! by Babayoutoomuch(f): 3:41pm On Sep 09, 2016
UNILAG Lecturer’s Driver Steals His ATM, Withdraws N2.7m

A driver, Mayowa Adenuga, has been arrested by operatives of the Lagos State Police Command for allegedly stealing his boss’ Automated Teller Machine (ATM) card and withdrawing over N2.7m.

Also arrested were his suspected accomplices – Adewale Opeyemi, 18, and Jeremiah Iyitoye, 29.
It was gathered that 25-year-old Adenuga, who is also a computer expert, was employed as a driver by a lecturer at UNILAG, Prof. Simbo Banjoko.

The suspect had driven Prof. Banjoko to the Bells University on the day of the incident.
While waiting for his boss on the university premises, the driver found Banjoko’s Zenith Bank ATM card in the car and hid it.

According to Punch, when the victim did not notice that his ATM card was missing, Adenuga used software to uncover the card’s PIN code.

After withdrawing N200,000 from the bank account through the ATM, he allegedly bought four iPhones, valued at N495,000; one Macbook laptop, valued at N415,000; 10 wristwatches, a Blackberry and a ring.
It was learnt that a total of N2,728,255 was withdrawn from the victim’s bank account.

The theft was said to have been referred to the Rapid Response Squad, which transferred the case to the Anti-Vice Section of the State Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department, Yaba.

A source said the prime suspect, Adenuga perfected the crime by blocking his boss’ telephone line so that he would not see the alert of transactions conducted on his account .

He said, “The suspect is the lecturer’s driver. He is also a computer expert. He hid the ATM card for three days and when he saw that the man did not look for it, he used software to get the PIN. He called Adewale (Opeyemi) and handed over the card to him for safekeeping, saying it belonged to his sister.

“When he drove his boss out again at another time, he had access to the man’s phone and deliberately entered the wrong PUK number three times which led to the blockage of the line.”

Having succeeded in blocking the line, he contacted Opeyemi and linked him up with another friend, Iyitoye. He allegedly asked the duo to make transactions with the card on his behalf.

The two men were said to have gone to Shoprite, Ikeja, and Mega Plaza, Victoria Island, where they withdrew N200,000 and purchased the iPhones, Macbook laptop, wristwatches and other items through POS transactions.
The loot was shared among the three men.

A police source explained that Banjoko, who noticed that his telephone line had been blocked, took it to a telecoms centre, where it was reactivated.

“At that point, he received 30 alerts that a total of N2,728,255 had been withdrawn from his account. He reported the matter to the police, and the case was transferred to the RRS.

“When the matter got to the Anti-Vice Section of the SCIID, the police arrested the driver and after interrogation, he confessed to the crime and named his accomplices.

“The police recovered two iPhones 6S Plus, two iPhones SSE, one Macbook laptop, seven GT Shock wristwatches, one Blackberry Z10, one ring and two bags,” the source added.

The suspects were arraigned at the Yaba Magistrate’s Court on two counts of stealing.
Funny enough, they still pleaded not guilty to the charge. The magistrate, O.A. Erinle, admitted them to bail in the sum of N800,000 with two sureties in like sum.
She added that one of the sureties must be a blood relation of the defendants, who must be a landlord within the jurisdiction of the court.

The case was adjourned till October 17, 2016, for trial.

https://2.bp..com/-DClZzFUAG8Q/V9Jriv80TdI/AAAAAAAArZ8/uQ3eZ3IwSjU80eZxeg9BqFCbWlGvI5DCgCLcB/s1600/UNIVERSITY%2B1.jpg

Politics / See Reaction Of Pius Adesanmi To Bayo Onanuga Statement on State Of The Nation. by Babayoutoomuch(f): 7:01pm On Sep 08, 2016
Reaction to Bayo Onanuga who said Hardship In Nigeria Is Not Very True

Don’t Vilify Bayo Onanuga, Educate Him... by Pius Adesanmi

|| Mr. Onanuga, when last did you really see your driver, your houseboy, your maiguard, your cook, your cleaner? I mean see them as in see human beings and hear their stories and be part of their world? Please, move closer to these people who are servicing and serving your world. Listen to them and you will no longer be part of the terrible elite deceiving President Buhari that all the talk of hardship is the creation of an over-sensationalising media.
Bayo Onanuga, MD of the News Agency of Nigeria, made a Facebook update. Before I express any opinion on the said update, it is better to hear him out in his own exact words. Says Mr. Onanuga:
“My daughter was on the Virgin Atlantic Flight that took off from Lagos to London today. I asked her to find out whether the plane was filled up or going to London near empty judging by the noisy campaign from a section of the country about the ‘hardship’ in our country.
My daughter sent back this one-line text, after boarding: 'daddy, the flight was filled up o'.
This makes me to wonder whether all the seeming orchestrated campaign in the media was not mere propaganda to make the Buhari regime look really bad.
I was in Bauchi and Jos at the weekend, I also found that food was cheap everywhere. In our hotel, we paid about N700 for a plate of semovita, or eba with a choice of cat fish or chicken. On the roadside, I found to my surprise that with just N1000, I bought over 50 oranges, two giant water melon and 10 pieces of sweet potato. I had experienced a similar thing in the market at Abuja, where I found that with N1,400, I could make a big vegetable soup, with tomato, pepper and roasted Titus fish.
Are the media and bloggers really painting a correct image of our country. It’s time for the media to objectively conduct a reality check about our reports, whether we are not over sensationalising so-called hardship that we talked about.”
Back to the matter: I am a student of the psychology of the Nigerian elite – especially the fragment of the said elite in public office. I have done more than a decade of reflection on what I call “elite disconnect” from the reality of the people. I have written about the “elite bubble” in which they operate. I have even surmised that the real Nigeria is a foreign country that the Nigerian elite hardly ever visit. In other writings, I have suggested that there are two different planets in Nigeria, one inhabited by the one percent, the other inhabited by the 99 percent who endure their caprices.
For someone who has written about and studied this political and public elite as extensively as I have done, I should be able to state that they can no longer shock me. I should be able to state that I have seen and written about the worst case scenarios of their alienation and disconnect. I should be able to state that they can no longer surprise me.
After all, when Sanusi Lamido Sanusi expressed surprise a few years ago that the ordinary people were grumbling about the cost of petrol for their generators when, evidently, generators use diesel and not petrol, I adjusted my infinitely elastic parametres for accounting for elite disconnect and said the SLS’s case was the absolute worst case scenario. I opined that with the future Emir’s statement, we had reached the very possible and imaginable limit of elite alienation and disconnect.
I declared that there could be no worse scenario of elite disconnect than the case of a member of the Nigerian elite who had spent so much of his life in the bubble of diesel-guzzling, soundproof Mikano generators that he was unable to imagine that the 99 percent needed petrol for their I-better-pass-my-neighbour Yamaha generators. To be fair to SLS, he apologised when he was educated that only those who reside in the elite bubble like him use diesel-powered generators.
No sooner had I declared SLS the limit of elite alienation than President Jonathan went to Kenya and redefined elite disconnect. For him, if you want to know that hunger and poverty are a thing of the past in Nigeria, count the number of private jets owned by Nigerians. And he made sure he invaded Kenya with a sufficient number of private jet-owning Nigerians to drive home his point to the world. I again adjusted my analytical tools to accommodate President Jonathan’s disconnect from the real Nigeria. Anyway, between an alienated elite who didn’t know about petrol-powered generators and one who measured the people’s well-being with the number of private jets his country boasts of, one would be forgiven to believe that the Nigerian elite have offered the most extreme cases of alienation and disconnect possible.
Enter Bayo Onanuga with his own theory of the exaggerated poverty of Nigerians. Everything we thought we knew about elite disconnect and alienation now has to be reassessed for we need new tools to engage Mr. Onanuga’s extreme case. However, as tempting as it is, do not vilify him. Educate him so that he can take valuable lessons and a good message back to his one percent bubble. When SLS was educated that there are people who use petrol-powered generators in Nigeria, he took the lesson back to base. These people do not step out of their bubble to visit Nigeria frequently. Whenever one does as Mr. Onanuga has done, we must seize the rare occasion to educate him before he retreats to the bubble of alienated privilege.
Lesson one for Mr. Onanuga is the fact that when you want to determine where the shoe pinches the Nigerian masses, asking your privileged daughter to assess the population of privileged Nigerians who exist in the world of international travel is a very terrible way to dismiss the “so-called hardship” being experienced by Nigerians. When next your daughter is flying, I have a better assignment for her. As she is being chauffeured to the airport, tell her to open her eyes wide once the bridge leading to the departure terminal is in view. Tell her to start counting the number of able-bodied Nigerian men and women, mostly youth, who are just out there loitering.
They are unemployed. They are hoping that Nigerians like your daughter and this writer, who jet in and out all the time, will hire them to carry our luggage, push our trolleys, help us fetch padlocks, run errands for us till we check in. We give them N1000, maybe N2000, and they rush out again to repeat the cycle. Mr. Onanuga, tell your daughter to send you a text about these people next time. For her education, tell her chauffeur and security to let her interact with these people and text you what they say. You will hear plenty of stories for your own education and humanity.
You call N1000 “just”? You should thank God that you belong in the class of Nigerians who can put “just” in front of N1000. Only this morning, I told a colleague of mine, Nduka Otiono, that my last act of charity before checking out of my hotel in Lagos last Saturday and flying back to Ottawa was to give N1000 to the cleaner who took care of my hotel room. A male hotel cleaner. An able-bodied young man. I told Dr. Otiono that I was hesitating to put up a Facebook update about how this Nigerian reacted to a gift of N1000 because I had already reported how another Nigerian, a driver, reacted to a gift of N4000 a few days earlier in Abuja. I told Nduka that I restrained myself from writing an update about the N1000 gift in Lagos because I did not want to sound like I write about every charitable act of mine.
Truth, Mr. Onanuga, is that this hotel cleaner broke down in tears, knelt down and began to scream “thank you sir” and “thank you Jesus” intermittently. And he began to gush out a list of things he’d been unable to do because he did not have that kind of money, as I stood there, horrified by the evidence before me of a Nigerian describing N1000 as life changing. Maybe I should give you the name of the hotel so that you can go to Ikeja, find that cleaner, and tell him that N1000 is “just N1000”? Mr. Onanuga, you have no idea how many Nigerians operate in a world where N500 is the biggest denomination they ever see. Many still operate in a world denominated by N200 notes and less.
Yes, in the world of the elite, the only time you guys still relate to the naira – even in Nigeria – is when you are bringing out bundles of crisp N1000 or N500 notes with the bank band and stamp around it stating that the amount in the bundle is N100,000. If you live too long in this kind of world, you will come to see N1000 as “just.” I am very happy that you went to the market and you were able to buy lots of things and cook a delicious egusi soup with N1,400. Majority of Nigerians would be able to do the same thing too if they were paid their salaries when due. I met Nigerians who can’t even tell me when last they were paid. Mr. Onanuga, are you aware of the fact that there are Nigerians who have not been paid a dime in the last six months? Is their hardship also something that is being exaggerated by the media?
Mr. Onanuga, when last did you really see your driver, your houseboy, your maiguard, your cook, your cleaner? I mean see them as in see human beings and hear their stories and be part of their world? Please, move closer to these people who are servicing and serving your world. Listen to them and you will no longer be part of the terrible elite deceiving President Buhari that all the talk of hardship is the creation of an over-sensationalising media.
Between Femi Adesina’s constant sermons that there is no hardship in Nigeria, Kemi Adeosun’s recession is a word-gate (I am told there is a fuller context to her statement but there can’t be any justification for that in my book) and now this proof of your own alienated intellect, it is abundantly clear what picture of Nigeria is being filtered to President Buhari. Of course, the army of those telling him that Nigeria is better than Dubai does not carry the blame. He alone carries the blame for the buck stops with him. If he wants to know the real condition of Nigeria on his watch, he is an adult, capable of sacking those telling him lies and taking a good measure of the situation himself.
However, I am pleased that you undertook a voyage to Nigeria from your elite bubble. I am appealing to Nigerians not to vilify you because you can take a valuable message back to the one percent citizens of your elite bubble: life exists at under N1000 a day for the majority. Stop “commonising” N1000. It is not small money for the majority of our compatriots. Do the right thing and take this message back to your people

Pius Adesanmi

https://3.bp..com/-EfB3icsANlo/V9EzRypBH9I/AAAAAAAArU8/9Y_U35FuyCgEkjL2l3bHcOsBGvm-A-8HACLcB/s1600/NIGERIA%2B1.jpg

Politics / Re: Atiku Abubakar Welcomes A New Grandchild by Babayoutoomuch(f): 12:06pm On Sep 06, 2016
Congrats! May God remember everyone looking for this bundle of Joy.
Religion / Re: Why Men Are Having Sex With Their Maids Nowadays-Bishop Charles & Caro Ighile by Babayoutoomuch(f): 11:49pm On Sep 05, 2016
nwakibe:
I don't need any house help in my home to avoid stories that touch.
Not as easy as you sound. Especially when you're a working mother with kids.How do you cope.They are just necessary evil.
Health / Re: Abuja Doctor Uses Own Sperm For IVF Patients by Babayoutoomuch(f): 8:37pm On Aug 27, 2016
[quote author=DirtyGold post=48849422]Five minutes of indiscretion and puf... A life's work and labour down the drain! Smh

What's tha business?

However, Igbos and abuse/betrayal of trust be like...[/quote
Abeg I tire for this pix.
Romance / Re: Man Proposing To His Girlfriend Publicly At Shoprite Causes A Scene by Babayoutoomuch(f): 10:10am On Aug 07, 2016
Tolexander:
You both dey date,
you dey sleep over for the guy house,
you both dey furck nnaself.
you don sabi the guy's family.

You go still dey shock, surprise and dey blush on top say the guy con pull some stunt for public in the name of proposal.

Which proposal stunt wan pass the one wey our 'earlier parents" don do under tree for for village under natural breeze being "tear rubbers".

Correct.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: NECO Coordination Starts In August 2016. Earn Up To N15,000 - Mpyaw by Babayoutoomuch(f): 1:05pm On Aug 01, 2016
[quote author=dasparrow post=48082156]

41. Kaduna marking venue 1, Sardauna Memorial College
(SMC) Kaduna

42. Kaduna marking venue 2, Queen Amina College, Kaduna[/quote

Thanks OP
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: NECO Coordination Starts In August 2016. Earn Up To N15,000 - Mpyaw by Babayoutoomuch(f): 12:54pm On Aug 01, 2016
ststyreal:

Hello friend, I contacted a neco staff here in Delta state, she asks me my course of study and I told her but she said I have got no chance since its history and int'l studies and that it is not been offered by student again but I told her that I can handle government and she responded by saying unless I gatecrashed. What then is gate crashing and how much will a gatecrasher be paid? Will be grateful with your quick response. Thks and God bless u.
Gate crashing means you were not invited, but during the coordination you will be taught how the marking will be done to enhance uniform marking, after which all gatecrashers will be expected to submit d photocopies of their credential for verification. If you scale through you will be given a pack to mark provided there is availability of pack for d subject of interest.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 137