Stats: 3,152,753 members, 7,817,083 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 03:59 AM

Bqlekan's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Bqlekan's Profile / Bqlekan's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 165 pages)

Sports / Re: Naija Social Media Football Competition: Team Nairaland by bqlekan(m): 10:17am On Sep 10, 2017
NAME - Quadri
LOCATION* - Ajah, Lagos
PREFERRED PLAYING POSITIONS - Attacking midfielder, Winger
FREQUENCY OF PLAYING FOOTBALL - Five times a week

cc jarus

Romance / Re: Amazing Pre-wedding Pictures Of A Colleague And Friend by bqlekan(m): 8:18pm On Sep 08, 2017
Nice
Food / Re: Mama Gold Rice Shops At Awoyaya/Ajah Sell 45kg Bag As 50kg With Expired Dates by bqlekan(m): 12:46pm On Sep 08, 2017
To think that the net weight was 50kg.. Chai
Education / Re: All You Need To Know About The Nigeria Vs India Match That Ended 99-1(photos) by bqlekan(m): 12:37pm On Sep 08, 2017
peddy231:

India dey play football oh, them nor just too sabi am. Na cricket be their forte... Nobody ban them from football.

Lol, don't mind me, I only chipped in some of the lies from those times. The naivety of their football federation killed their hopes of being an asian football powerhouse then. I mean, look at their population..

Education / Re: All You Need To Know About The Nigeria Vs India Match That Ended 99-1(photos) by bqlekan(m): 11:21am On Sep 08, 2017
Hehe cheesy well, the indian national team was banned from football because they insisted on playing with their bare foot..
Islam for Muslims / Re: ... by bqlekan(m): 11:23am On Sep 07, 2017
Salam sister. May Allah ease your burden. I think you should talk to his parents, his mother precisely. Get to know her stand on her son's recent behaviour. They might be the ones behind the sudden change. Then talk to him again, Do it more subtly, this time, ask him why the sudden change? Why he had to abandon Islam, why he had to go against Allah.
Listen to what he has to say. From there we can move forward.. Keep praying..
Forum Games / Re: Whats Your Score ? by bqlekan(m): 7:22pm On Sep 05, 2017
Nairaland / General / Re: Tribute To Firstking01 A Nairalander ( Gone So Soon) by bqlekan(m): 11:35pm On Aug 11, 2017
misspicy:
And you too,you no fit tell me. smh undecided
I only got to know on this thread..
Nairaland / General / Re: Tribute To Firstking01 A Nairalander ( Gone So Soon) by bqlekan(m): 2:55pm On Aug 10, 2017
Innalilahi wa ina ilehi rojiun.... May Allah grant him eternal rest..

Poems For Review / Re: In The City Where We Grew Up by bqlekan(m): 9:37am On May 15, 2017
M.
llaykorn:

Thanks bro. Been sometime I saw one of your own pieces too.
thanks bro, just been a bit busy these days
Romance / Re: What Is It Really Like, To Forgive One's Spouse, For Cheating? by bqlekan(m): 8:06am On May 15, 2017
Forgiving is easy. Forgetting is the problem. If you can't forget, don't say you forgive. Just walk out
Phones / Re: Funny Smartphone Wallpapers That Might Help Cure Your Phone Addiction by bqlekan(m): 7:59am On May 15, 2017
It took this thread 2 years to make front page. Never say never. Even the op can't stop looking at are phone now.
Religion / Re: What Is So Special About Human Life? by bqlekan(m): 7:53am On May 15, 2017
Special? I think not

Limited perception The human mind is so limited in it's understanding of the universe. There appears to be a barrier to what we can understand. Just as ant wouldn't know about the existence of Jupiter and will never be, the human mind will never go beyond certain limits in it's existence.

Death You think we are more special than host of unicellular/multicellular organisms? Then why do we have to die like them? We are yet to solve the puzzle of death. An unknown disease can wipe out our entire populace, a slight modification to the air we breathe in and we are diseased/deceased.Yet, there are even hosts of organisms out there who arguably don't die. That alone knocks us off from being special.

The cosmos To think that we can't even travel out of our own galaxy yet is a reason not to feel too special. Even if we can, we won't even reach 5% of the observable universe in our lifetime.
Voyager 1 took a picture of earth from space decades ago, (image below) the earth appeared like a speck of dust hanging in a vacuum. Earth doesn't appear so special from there, why do we think we are.

Humans are not special, earth is, earth may continue to sustain life after we are long gone. As a theist, I believe God intentionally put a barrier around us. We won't see beyond our perception.

Poems For Review / Re: In The City Where We Grew Up by bqlekan(m): 9:11pm On May 09, 2017
Great piece here
Romance / Re: Kingtblakhoc Reveals How Much He Pays Girls For Porn by bqlekan(m): 1:28pm On May 09, 2017
This man should not be getting so much publicity.. undecided

83 Likes 2 Shares

Family / Re: Father Totured 7yrs Old Son, Bound Him To Cutting Boards&Fed Him To Pigs(Photos) by bqlekan(m): 1:18pm On May 09, 2017
And they only got life imprisonment for this heinous crime.. cry
Family / Re: Father Totured 7yrs Old Son, Bound Him To Cutting Boards&Fed Him To Pigs(Photos) by bqlekan(m): 1:08pm On May 09, 2017
Nairaland / General / Re: Civet That Was Killed In My Cousin's Compound by bqlekan(m): 10:33am On May 09, 2017
Yet another civet cat killed

Phones / Re: Drop A Screenshot Of Your Homescreen by bqlekan(m): 8:53am On May 05, 2017
ErnieSmallzz:
embarassed it's waste of time

what if it is an emergency.. SOS kind of
Islam for Muslims / Re: 10 Signs Of Good Manners by bqlekan(m): 8:49am On May 05, 2017
Jazakumlah khairan..
Phones / Re: Drop A Screenshot Of Your Homescreen by bqlekan(m): 8:46am On May 05, 2017
ErnieSmallzz:
i just like this wallpaper
it is like you don't read/delete messages.. grin
Phones / Re: Drop A Screenshot Of Your Homescreen by bqlekan(m): 8:07am On May 05, 2017
Clumsy!

Romance / Re: If You Could Choose To Have Dinner With Any Historical Figure, Who Would It Be? by bqlekan(m): 7:41am On May 05, 2017
Stewie101:

I will paint an analogy to help answer your first question and I hope it's persuasive enough. See, I liken Darwin's theory of evolution to a lost child holding a leaking keg of palm oil. You want to take this child home but you don't know how to. Then alas! You realize the keg of palm oil is dripping on the floor and you can easily see a trail. So you decide to follow the trail. Now would this trail lead you to the child's home? Probably not, but it would definitely show you the direction the child travelled.

The theory of evolution, by the vehicle of natural selection, does a good job of explaining the process through which species evolve and diversify. Our knowledge on genetics helps substantiate this theory to an appreciable degree.

I don't know where you get your information from but your sources are very misleading. No evolutionist would claim that there are no transitional or intermediate fossils of species because there is overwhelming proof that transitional fossils of species have been found.
This Wikipedia page has all the information you need.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_transitional_fossils

And you should understand that fossils are very hard to find and the fact that despite this barrier, lots of fossils have been found, including the transitional fossils, further authenticates the theory of evolution.

I so much love your analogy.. But what if the child picked up the keg of palm oil after being lost in the bush?

Don't get me wrong brother, their are few transitional fossils (as evolutionist put it) which are in fact original diversity, not an evolving In complexity. For instance, fishes have no ancestors. There are no fossil records to show how a invertebrates with an exoskeleton evolved to form vertebrates with endoskeleton.

Why the need to forge proves of transitional states as in the case of 'The piltdown man'?
Need we say more about the now extinct trilobites? The absence of a single transitional fossil to show how a unicellular organism formed complex invertebrates such as trilobites. The list goes on and on.

If the transitional fossils found are reliable enough, why the need for 'Punctuated equilibrium theory' ?

I'm still very much open minded to evolution.. Give me the root of life, show me all transitional fossils, show me a recent appearance of a fully diversified specie that sporadically appeared from an existing one, Genetically mutate a multicellular organism into a whole new specie and make sure it survives long enough to undergo its own evolution.
Romance / Re: What Is The Craziest Thing You Can Do To Your Boyfriend Or Girlfriend by bqlekan(m): 7:15am On May 05, 2017
barallanee:
Neil Armstrong in the building
This is just a tip of an iceberg... I will gladly enter a black hole for her cheesy
Crime / Re: Lady Enters One Chance In Abuja, She Was Robbed Of Her Bag, Phone & Was Beaten by bqlekan(m): 8:46pm On May 04, 2017
Thank God they were not ritualists.. You probably won't be posting this on FB now. But what is wrong with ABJ nowadays?

Crime / Re: OAU Student Who Retweeted A 'Death' Tweet Dies 5 Days After by bqlekan(m): 8:43pm On May 04, 2017
Coincidence undecided

Foreign Affairs / Re: Armoured Police Vehicle Crushes Protester In Venezuela(Graphic Photos). by bqlekan(m): 8:25pm On May 04, 2017
Now this is crazy, look at the crowd.. The president should just resign
Romance / Re: If You Could Choose To Have Dinner With Any Historical Figure, Who Would It Be? by bqlekan(m): 8:20pm On May 04, 2017
Stewie101:

Could you elaborate on what you mean by punctuated equilibrum?

Evolution doesn't aim to tell you how life started, it aims to explain the process that led to the way species have come to become the way they are today. And it emphasis two essential components as the main constituents of this process: Natural selection and genetic mutation.

How would you explain the complexity of life without knowing how it started? On natural selection and genetic mutations, I won't want to dwell much on that as it will derail the purpose of this thread. On punctuated equilibrium, evolutionist argued that the lack of transirional/intermediate species in fossil is due to some species not changing for a long period of time, then GBAM! THEY SUDDENLY CHANGED INTO ANOTHER SPECIE. Evolution as they claimed was supposed to be steady over a long period of time. Punctuated equilibrium happened sporadically. And not to all species, but to some selected few. WHY HAVEN'T WE EXPERIENCED YET ANOTHER SURGE OF PUNTUATED EQUILIBRIUM NOW?
Romance / Re: If You Could Choose To Have Dinner With Any Historical Figure, Who Would It Be? by bqlekan(m): 7:51pm On May 04, 2017
Stewie101:

Hmmm. Interesting.

Hitler didn't just massacre jews you know, he also massacred arabs, pigmies, blacks, polish and gays. I think his views about the purity of the german blood and his nationalistic motives was his primary impetus.

What exactly do you find so silly about evolution? Have you cared to read extensively about it?

I don't think your ancestors had a choice though.

well, you are right about Hitler.

On evolution, punctuated equilibrium as a reason for diversity irritates me most. Also they just couldn't tell me how life started..
Romance / Re: If You Could Choose To Have Dinner With Any Historical Figure, Who Would It Be? by bqlekan(m): 7:38pm On May 04, 2017
Albert Einstein... Maybe he can enlighten me on how he arrived at E= MC² and why he clamored for Unified field theory..

Hitler..... Why he massacred so many jews

Charles Darwin..... To slap the dude... WTF is evolution? sad

My Ancestors..... Why they had to be Nigerians grin

Literature / Re: Marvel Chronicles 2 :executive Sanction by bqlekan(m): 8:49am On May 03, 2017
I'm right behind you on this one apollux.. Ride on bro
Forum Games / Re: One Of These Padlocks Will Unlock This Lock, Which One? by bqlekan(m): 8:11pm On May 02, 2017
Anyone from the top two, will unlock it. Also, at the bottom, the first and the last padlock will unlock the system..

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 165 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45