Stats: 3,153,427 members, 7,819,555 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 06:04 PM

Girlbestfriend's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Girlbestfriend's Profile / Girlbestfriend's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 15 pages)

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 10:55pm On Jun 16, 2021
Those of you going for Visa interview tomorrow, I beg you in the name of God, don't go with a pessimistic mindset__Go with the mindset of "My passport no go follow me come house tomorrow"

Remove every negative thoughts from your mind. PRAY, PRAY and PRAY. Our prayers are with you also. We want to be able to use your success story as a point of contact__for God that did so so and so's own will do my own ....

Don't forget to practice one last time before going to bed. Don't forget to go through your transcript one more time before going out there tomorrow.

God be with you all. Amen.

21 Likes

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 10:45pm On Jun 16, 2021
walepepe21:

So sorry about your denial today , you will surely get it in your next attempt. But Just imagine how detailed you’re not and you said you need a help? How will those that intend helping you figure out your mistakes for you?

I think it’s onus on you to share your full transcript in what actually transpired between you and the VO so that people here can have a proper assessment about your denial/quagmire. Thank you and I wish you well in your next attempt tongue

When I first read the transcript, what came to mind was No enthusiasm ___then again, it could just be him writing from a place of disappointment.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 10:40pm On Jun 16, 2021
itsdollyp:
hello guys.. quick question. my start date for my classes shows 9th of June and my interview is tomorrow. is this going to be a problem when I'm going to be interviewed.

I don't think so. There was a guy in January who went for interview days after his resumption date and he was approved.....

Don't be scared, just do your part by PREPARING and working on your confidence level__Above all, PRAY.

Go forth and get that Visa. Amen.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 10:35pm On Jun 16, 2021
Evergeen22:
Hello everyone, please I didn't want to use my uncles statement of account for the I 20, the money was transferred to my account and I ve printed the statement, please how long can it stay in my account before I send it back to him ? Can I still use it for the interview after sending it back to him, for some reasons, he didn't want me to get his Usa account statement

If you can't find an alternative sponsor, Tailor your reply towards "gift deeds". Make it very convincing.
Tell the VO how you're your uncle's favourite niece/nephew and how your uncle has been a part of this journey and how he gave you the money when he learnt about the admission...
Your confidences/delivery of this info will be the deciding factor sha..

if you had actually gone back to other parts of this thread, you would have seen something of this kind__Goodluck!!!..

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 3:05pm On Jun 16, 2021
ife92:
Please my visa was denied at the embassy on the 10th of June. I have been trying to book new appointment but the dates i can see is in November. Can i pick the date and request for emergency appointment? Will it be approved? Do they approve expedite appointment for anyone that has been denied before?

Hi!
Please can you share your delayed transcript so others can learn. Thanks
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 3:04pm On Jun 16, 2021
Avidreader748:
Posting this on behalf of my brother. I introduced him here and downloaded all the past transcripts for him.

So read.

Congratulations to your brother!!!!

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 6:53pm On Jun 15, 2021
Oyeyemidesign:

Wow congrats. My interview is tomorrow I pray I get mine easily too.

You will IJN.
We await your approval transcript.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 6:50pm On Jun 15, 2021
Tifelaughs:
Hello I need help on here
My visa got rejected June 3rd

Here is my transcript
Interview time :8am but got interviewed by like 10:30
Lagos Embassy
Female interviewer

Consular:Good morning, how are you today
Me:Good morning, I’m fine and you(I don’t remember if she responded)
Consular: can I have your passport and form I 20
Me: passed it to her

Then she tried to scan the barcode behind my passport and it wasn’t accepting(was making a sound), so she requested for my ds160 and tried to scan the barcode like twice then she continued with my interview

Consular: I see you’ve been to the United States before on a j1 visa
Me: yes I have
Consular: where did you go
Me: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Consular:where did you work
Me: told her
Consular:did you come back for your masters or plans changed
Me:plans changed(I remember my j1 interview I stated I would be coming back to do my masters)
Consular:so what have you been doing since you graduated
Me: did my NYSC 2018 to 2019 and so I started planning for my masters (doing research) and the pandemic set in so I waited to apply this year January
Consular: why will you be studying MIS and why your university
Me: [/b] chose to study MIS because of the technology sector isn’t so great here in Nigeria and so doing this I’ll be able to come back to contribute my own quota to the Nigerian economy
Then she cuts in before I could answer why the university
[/b]
Consular:who is your sponsor
Me: my father he is a real estate consultant and the owner and ceo of ... property limited nigeria
Consular:asked again I think she was trying to type it

And she tried scanning the barcode on my passport again it was making sound
Then she requested for my ds160 and took the first page out stating she is having technical issues
And she hands over the blue denial slip to me

I am planning on reapplying soon as my school resumes August 10th please advise on how to scale my next interview please
PS: my interview wasn’t so great because I was really nervous as a result of the tech issues she was having so it threw me off balance , so I couldn’t answer questions so well

I will indeed appreciate if you can put me through

I don't think you had any problem aside @ bolded... You don't in anyway put your country in a bad light__

When asked such questions, make the answer about you and and then go ahead to talk about how you would give back to your society upon your return.

For Example Why MIS?
Answer: I chose to study MIS because as a child I saw my father use the analogue (paper) method to collect and report his day to day activities, until there was a fire outbreak in a section of his 'business'__ there was no way he could retrieve those lost information and the lost of valuable information reflected in his decision for that FY.(input one sad outcome) __Upon my return, I plan to join so so so and improve the bla bla bla so no one will have to face what my father went through....

I answered with what I think MIS is about (Management information systems right).

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 2:57pm On Jun 15, 2021
Wow!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
amos4real:
Good morning to you all.

I'm so so sorry for posting this late.

I Promise to do so,

Here we go:

My Transcript.

Me: Good morning
Vo: morning, can I have your I-20 and other documents.
Me: I passed him my I-20, confirmation page, Sevis payment, and appointment confirmation page.
Vo: I can see you are going for your master's degree program in the USA
Me: Yes, I am going for a master's program in Computer Science Concentration in predictive Analytics at AYZ school
Vo: That good, why did you spend up to that number of days in your first and what did you go for?
Me: I'm sorry for spending up to that number of days, I went for training thereafter I spend my annual leave because the majority of our clients we work for were on strike then so I requested for a leave.
Me: I hope I have not violated the rule of the country.
Vo: No No No, I just ask for clarity sake.
Me: Okay.
Vo: who is sponsoring you?
Me: My brother
Vo: How many schools did you apply to?
Me: Three ( A, B, and C schools,)
Vo: are you married?
Me: Yes
Vo: any children?
Me: No, I don't want to disturb my wife with children now because of her work and business
Vo: Nice.
Vo: How Long have you been working?
Me: 7 years.
Vo: Wa oooo, that interesting
Me: Thank you.
Vo: It seems everything looks okay.
Vo: take this while paper and pick up your passport in three to four business days.
me: Thank you.
Me: have a nice day.
Vo: you too.

It was God, Amazing grace How sweet the sound:

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 11:47am On Jun 14, 2021
CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

Adedayo65:
Hmmm! I eventually got my Visa on the 9th June 2021 (After 3 denials, First one was in Lagos, second and third were in Abuja). All thanks to God, it has ended in praise.
And to fairheart, thanks for everything, its been a long way coming, God bless you, I’m so grateful.

To everyone still trying to get their Visas, I wish you all the best.

My interview was in Lagos, 6:45am window 7, a very beautiful woman about 40+.

GRE = 314

Graduate Assistantship = $33k
Deficit = $7k

Transcript

Vo- Pass me your passport and I20
Me- I did
Vo - What is your plan ?
Me - i plan to go for my masters in Agricultural Economics at **** and I will be working with prof *** who’s my supervisor, together we will be working on the economic and environmental impact of Oklahoma agricultural production system, we want to see how well these producers are complying with the various existing environmental and economic laws.
Vo — (she no even send me, she just dey type)
Vo — who’s paying your school fees (this was a major part of the reason I was denied the last 2times)
Me — I have a full funding (I no even talk about deficit lol)
Vo— ooh ok, (Na just then the woman start dey check and scrutinize my i20)
Vo — Where do you work?
Me — I work with *******, an environmental consulting firm and we basically conduct EIA for our clients
Vo — congratulations bla bla bla

N.B— if you have been denied before, make sure you study and understand why you think you were denied and work on it before going back, if not, one might just keep getting refused over and over.
In my own case, I understood it was coz I was going for a second bachelors and sponsor statement was also an issue and I gave it a break, worked on those and I applied after almost 2 years (went for my NYSC and worked a while)

I wish every one nothing but the best.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 10:15am On Jun 14, 2021
I have been going through part 13, 14, 15 for days now(I'm still not through though) and I'm here to tell prospective applicants (like me) that this thread is rich.

Please don't be lazy, just go through the the thread and you never can tell what you would find. You may just stumble on an approved transcript that suits your profile.

Moving forward, these I noticed were recurring questions (you can add yours, we are here to help each other and this also, is my little way of helping those trying to tailor their transcript)

(1). What are you going to do in the U.S./what is your
travel plan?

(2). Why the U.S?

(3) How did you come about this school?

(4). How many schools did you apply to?

(5). Name them?

(6). Why this particular school? (i.e. the school you
chose)

(7). What are your study plan/tell me about this
program?

(8. What are the courses you will be taking (note this, if you give a superb answer to 7, there won't be any need for the 8th question

(9). Why this degree?

(10). What will this degree do for you?

(11). What have you been doing/what do you
do/currently do?

(12). Who is your sponsor/who is paying for this?

(13). What does your sponsor do?

Some of these questions are interwoven as y'all have noticed. if you answer some well__example (1) "what's your travel plan" there won't be need for 7 and 8...

Please gurus in the house, are there other questions we should be looking out for?

Lastly, Good luck to those having their interview this week. May the almighty God walk with you and make you find favour in the sight of your VO. Amen.

Girlbestfriend:

I have never been to the embassy for F-1 visa before but from reading so my transcript here, I personally think you brought that followup question to yourself. There was no need for that (the bolded statement) instead you would have told her how what LSU was offering aligned with your interest..

Anyways, Best of luck on your next interview. Just pray for grace and favour in the sight of the VO. There is nothing God cannot do.

19 Likes 3 Shares

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 9:49am On Jun 13, 2021
Jamesp008:
Good Evening house. I had been following nairaland for quite sometime now, reading all the Visa transcripts and hoping for an approval on my date as well. Anyways dream came through two days ago on june 10th, 2021 when I got approved at the Lagos embassy. My interview was slated for 7:45am but I had gotten to Walter C. By 5:40am and people were already there(shey dem dey sleep there nih��) . Anyways here is my visa transcript between I and the v.o. I was interviewed by the first V.O in window 1, he was quite advanced in age. I wore a floral shirt and sandals ��

NB: i am an undergraduate student

V.O: Pass me your passport and I-20 ( baba no even dey smile, he just denied about 3 people in front of me lol)
Me: passed the document and I said Good morning sir( he just looked up and murmured Good morning too, I noticed he was closely studying my I-20)
V.O: What's your travel plans( that was the same first question he had been asking everyone that came to him and I figured out that he meant that what are you planning to travel for)
Me: I am planning to go and study Engineering Science at the LU of Penn(I said it in full tho) located at (the full address of the school)
V.O: What's your course ( I actually knew why he asked the question , there was engineering general on my I-20 but i said engineering science but i had discovered that earlier and had spoken to my DS0 about it and she had given me the reason why it was like that and I printed out our email conversations and took it along with me so I answered)
Me: I am going to study engineering science but it is listed as engineering general on my I-20 because when I had conversations with my DSO she told me that all fresh men are technically undeclared until their second semester of the freshman year but they understand for travel purposes I will need to indicate my major so that's why it is like that .. I have the proof of our conversation here
V.O: How did you get information about the program
Me: Well I came from a high school where international education is well appreciated through the educational counsellor we have, reason why most of my seniors have gone on to pursue their tertiary education in the USA and are back here in Nigeria doing good for themselves so when it came to my turn I just had to reach out to them to get info about good engineering schools and I took that information.....(V.O cuts in)
V.O: Who is your sponsor?
Me: Although I have a full tuition scholarship, the remaining of my living expenses will be taken of by my Aunt, who is my mum's junior sister
My aunty is a chief accountant at the voice of nigeria, a radio station owned by the Federal Gov of Nigeria, she also has one of the largest farm projects in Lagos and Ogun states plus she has a lot of investments in real estate as well ( NB: at the point where I mentioned full tuition scholarship, he fixed his eyes on me and we were now maintaining eye contact.)

Then he said I will be approving your F1 visa you can pick up your passport at the so so so so ( I didn't even hear the rest) I was so damn happy
Goodluck to everyone who is going to the embassy

Congratulations!!! We will testify too.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 11:28am On Jun 12, 2021
Oale:
Hello All,

Thank you so much for this super helpful thread. I'm having my 3rd interview in a row and I'm in dire need of advice.

So I have been admitted to a top MBA in the US but I have been rejected twice. The first rejection was because of funding and the second one 214b without further explanation.

So my question is, do you think [/b]it's worth addressing the first rejections up front with a statement like (after the first question for instance) "Excuse me Sir/Ma, it's actually my 3rd time to apply for this visa and with your permission I would like to address the issues" ?something like that but a bit more polite. [b]

Or should I just let the VO bring that up?

I have now secured a loan to cover the full program and I have a return offer from my company.

Any advice?

Thank you so much

I beg you in the name of God, don't look for what is not looking for you(@ bolded). The only thing you should be telling the VO upfront is 'whether' you stutter.

One thing I have learnt from this thread is allow the VO ask the questions. You never can tell, none of your greatest fears will be brought up and you will be granted visa. Do your part by PREPARING!!!!

Goodluck!

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 6:36pm On Jun 11, 2021
Schrodinger1:
Long Post

Over the past weeks, I have been more than delighted seeing a 100% visa approvals from all those that I was privileged to have been engaged with in their F1 Visa mock exercise albeit some did not come here to share their transcripts. It was fascinating to have spent those times with you. Congratulations guys! More wins await you all.

In addition, I personally derived this somewhat, naturally induced self-confidence and the can-do-spirit with the news of your successes, that despite my 2 previous refusals at the Lagos Consulate, I knew I had what it takes to change the narrative at my third consecutive appointment in Lagos with the Almighty by my side.

NOTE: I am not God that gives visa approvals neither am I a professional VO that has worked at the embassy before. I only try to directly impact your preparation positively if I happen to have the chance to prepare with you.

Having arrived at the embassy at exactly 6:55am, I immediately joined the queue that was moving into the screening hall. After the checks, we waited in this hall for about 2hrs before entering the main interview hall were biometrics and finger capturing were done at around 8:25am. Two VO's on duty, a Black American lady in window 2 and a White American Man in window 5. The white man was dishing out pink paper with little remorse. I quickly observed that I was interviewed by him in December 2019, my second refusal. Partially, I started blaming myself for not going to Abuja while still in the queue. My wish was to be interviewed by the Black Lady which didn't come true. A vast majority of those unfunded didn't get approval in his window, window 5. You hardly spend 2mins in his window. The moment he sees you're funded and heading for probably a research focused program, he'd approve your visa. Most often than not, he doesn't ask beyond the same 3 questions if you have been fully funded. The other Lady would delay and eventually refuse an application. Generally, they were far more refusals than otherwise.

The Full Transcript!

VO: Good morning, pass me I-20 and passport.

Me: Good morning sir. This is it. (He immediately glanced on the financial section of my I-20 and started typing)

VO: what is your study plan and where are you going?

Me: I am going to study for my Masters program in Electrical Engineering at Colorado State University. I will be focusing on my research area in Radar Communications Systems and Networks. I will be taking a minimum of 9 credits of Thesis and 21 credits of regular course work spread within 4 semesters in 2years. I will be wrapping up my studies with a final oral examination. My courses are Satellite Communications, Information Theory, Digital Signal Pro... ( VO: Don't tell me about your courses, I don't need it).

VO: What is your plan after study?

Me: I will return home to work as a researcher with NigComSat or the Nigerian Communications Commission, were I hope to be involved the collaboration between NCC and SpaceX in the deployment of starlink satellite Internet services, a project that is likely to commence in 2023 and would end in 2027. In the long term, I would take up a lecturing role in my alma mater, this degree is a step towards achieving that, as well as setting up my own research institute here in Nigeria.

VO: I'll be approving your visa and brings out the white paper.... I said thank you with a huge smile/laughter on my face but covered with facemask. I heard other stuffs but could not comprehend... My body was already in motion. I think the long queue behind me reacted and cheered to my reaction... My sign of relief was more than glaring...

PS: My delivery was not smooth even though as I was 100% confident. The fact that I had cough, and was stressed (didn't sleep all through), tired, hungry as well as my poor history there could have been the reasons.

After 3 experiences in the same embassy, I would advise you to use the Abuja Embassy if you do not have any form of Funding or if you've been refused once in Lagos. It helps psychologically. The drilling in Lagos is Massive and I feel you have a slightly better chance in Abuja. I think Lagos has more applicants than Abuja, if this is correct, then it makes sense to use the latter. However, you can do it anywhere just like I did.

Big thank you to Horlahsunbo225, best plug for mock.

In all you do, Do Not Quit This Hustle. Listen to Burna Boy's song "Level Up" in the Twice as Tall Album if you feel like quitting.

You had funding??
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 6:28pm On Jun 11, 2021
Slim4Rehani:
He ought to start by defending what he has been doing since after high school and then how that course will help him more when he got to Nigeria because he has experience already so all he needs more to quality education to make him more successful in his career. Finish

Yes!! I Like this answer.

For Example: I have been an auxiliary nurse or I have been rendering auxiliary services as a nurse since (mention the number of years), getting this degree will not only improve bla bla bla bla(this is where you talk about skills and competencies) it will also give me an opportunity to move higher in my career.(obviously, auxiliary nursing keeps you at the bottom of the nursing food-chain).

The lady should prepare and go back. She shouldn't forget to pray. There is nothing God cannot do.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 5:39am On Jun 11, 2021
Happiness1186:
Visa Approved!
Lagos
9th June 2021
COA $39,274
Funding: Nil

Thank you to everyone that constantly engage with this thread. I’ve learnt so much by reading people’s transcripts and from all the information shared. This is my own little contribution.

Interview scheduled for 8:45am, done probably at 9:50am

VO: please pass your passport and I20
Me: Good morning. Then I go ahead to pass the requested documents.

VO: Good morning. What school are you going to?

Me: I’ll be going to TAMU for my Masters in public Health with my major in Epidemiology.

VO: What will this course do for you?

Me: I’ve worked as a doctor for 5 years and I’ve seen that as a clinician you can only help people on a one-on-one basis. With my public health degree, I’ll be able to affect the populace on a larger scale. I also found out from my experience working during the pandemic that Nigeria has poor data computing and analyzing skills and my degree in epidemiology will equip me with epidemiological skills to...

VO: Okay that’s fine. How long is your program? Is it one year, two years?

Me: The program is for two years with a one year optional practical training. (My i20 has a 3yr validity period on it)

VO: Who will be funding this trip?

Me: My husband

VO: What does he do?

Me: He works in Bleep as Bleep

VO: Have you been to the US before?

Me: Yes. In 2017 and 2018

VO: So both your kids are US citizens?

Me: Yes. But there’s three of them actually.

VO: And will you be traveling with your family? Husband and the kids?

Me: My husband will not be going with me because of his work obviously but my children will join me at some point. They’re too young to be separated from me for the entire length of my study. I plan to go alone now then they’ll join me later.

VO: That’s okay. I will be approving your visa. Will hold onto your passport. Take your i20. You’ll need it at the port of entry and this slip will show how to retrieve your passport. He hands me the white slip as my heart bursts in gratitude to God.

Fam, Not a single document was checked and I went there armed with all my delivery details, zero balance, bank statements, certificates, etc

I want to appreciate Chibertha. I remember reaching out to her when I saw she had a similar situation as me and she gave me a very vital tip that helped me.

Finally, I’ll like to say that I’m not sure that enough emphasis is placed on HOW you fill your form. I think that a huge percentage of the decision to approve or refuse the visa has already been made by what your form and profile says. Don’t outsource it to anyone. Do it yourself. No one knows you better than you and when you’re not sure, ask questions and get it right on the form.

After all is said and done, the Grace of God is the most important factor. That day, as we stood on the queue hearing everyone get their interview done, the black VO (there were three of them that day and the other two were Caucasian) did not give anyone no matter what they said. I remember my heart beating so fast. So many refusals that day. I’m just thankful to God!!!

N.B Apologies for the lengthy post.

Congratulations Dockey wink
On a lighter note, you're a doctor, refusing you wasn't an option.

In this our dynamic world that is plagued with public health issues ;D__they need all the physicians they can lay their hands on grin grin grin

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 8:32pm On Jun 10, 2021
Lahmeedey:

Congratulations! I was behind you, sadly I was denied �

Can you please share your transcript_this will allow gurus in the house scrutinize and help strengthen were your weakness lies....

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 4:00pm On Jun 09, 2021
Guruindahouse:
Bro, i am talking from what one of my friends experience just last year in USA. He studied MSc inbBiochemistry and he didn't get any job. He is searching for a girl to marry now. that was the information my friend gave me.

What is this biko��? He should switch to public health na__like obtain a degree in public health since the world is being ravaged by public health issues.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 3:50pm On Jun 09, 2021
homodele:
Hello house, kindly help me in reviewing my transcript. I have posted it somedays ago but the few people who reviewed it said my responses to the questions are so long. So I have made adjustments to my responses.
P.S: My interview is tomorrow, I will need all the whole help I can get from you all. Thank you.

ME: Good morning Sir/Ma
CONSULAR: Good morning

CONSULAR: Pass me Your Passport and i-20
ME: Okay Sir/Ma (passes it)

CONSULAR: Why Are You Going to the US?
ME: I am going to the US to study for my Master’s in Econometrics and Quantitative Economics at the Western Illinois University, Macomb.

CONSULAR: How did you get the school/how did you hear about this school?
ME: After coming across a research paper written by Professor Shankar Ghimire which was very useful to me during an undergraduate study, I grew interested in the scope and works of Professor Ghimire. Furthermore, I complemented Professor Ghimire on the excellent knowledge he shared in his research paper and I also informed him of my strong desire in having a graduate degree in an analytical field of Economics. Professor Ghimire who happens to be the program advisor of the quantitative economics program at the Western Illinois University informed me of the scientific economics program they run that would fit my description. Upon Professor Ghimire recommendation of the Western Illinois University, I carried out an extensive personal research on this school by making use of search engines such as 4icu, US News, The Grad Café, and I was better informed and at the same time convinced with the high analytical program offered by the western Illinois university that perfectly meets my academic desire.

CONSULAR: How Many Schools Did You Apply To, how many gave you admission and name them?
ME: I applied to 4 Universities, and all 4 gave me an admission. They are; Western Illinois University, University of Colorado Boulder, Rowan University, and Youngstown State University.

CONSULAR: Why did you pick this school/ why Western Illinois University?
ME: WIU shifted from the traditional economics coursework which comprises of Economic theories but rather emphasizes on data analysis, data optimization, and data interpretation as courses to be undertaken in the program. This would give me a more practical and scientific approach to my career as a financial analyst. Furthermore the quantitative economics program of the western Illinois University is classified as a stem degree as opposed to others which are non-stem. This would expose me to unlimited researches and scientific analysis which is an essential tool to my career growth.

CONSULAR: What is this course about?
ME: Econometrics and quantitative economics is a branch of economics that focuses on the systematic study of how to make use of mathematics, statistics and data analysis to analyze economic phenomenon and problems in a scientific manner with the aim of providing practical and scientific solutions. E.Q.E is a field of economics that depicts and explains economic theories using mathematical models, statistical diagram, and data analytics.

CONSULAR: Why Do You need this Masters/what will this degree do for you?
ME: The Quantitative Economics degree will provide me with the analytical skills needed to achieve my short term career objective as a Financial Analyst at the Federal Ministry of Finance, Nigeria. In this position, this degree will provide me with the expertise needed for analyzing financial situation. Furthermore this degree will provide with the knowledge needed to manage data effectively for business decision. On the long run, I plan on becoming a financial consultant and advisor to the Federal and State Government of Nigeria.

CONSULAR: Tell Me About Your Academic Background?
ME: I graduated from the Osun State University in 2019 with a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and a Second Class Upper grade. As an undergraduate, I was an active student in the research department of my undergraduate institution in which I was involved with carrying out researches and analyzing related data. I am competent in the mathematical analysis of economic phenomenal, and I am also experienced in data analysis. Due to my selfless act, I organized tutorials and tutor my colleagues and junior students on various economics courses.

CONSULAR: What Have You Been Doing since you graduated?
ME: After graduating from college in 2019, I undertook the compulsory Nigerian Youth service scheme. In this scheme I was deployed to the Lagos State Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget, where I contributed to sourcing for development partners’ ready to collaborate with the Lagos state government on various developmental issues, I also attended stakeholder meetings where deliberations were made on the review and Implementation of the Yearly Lagos state government budget. After a successful completion of this scheme, I got a job as a Financial Analyst Trainee at *****. In this position I am being trained on analyzing various financial trends, providing statistical analysis for various financial decisions, and researching on business opportunities and threats.

CONSULAR: What are those courses you’ll be taking/ Tell me about your program?
ME: I will be taking 6 core courses and 3 elective courses. Some of the core courses are; Macroeconomic Theory and Policy by Professor Ghimire, Price Theory by Professor Lin, Econometrics 1 by Professor Kassing, Statistical Software for Data Management and Decision Making by Professor Jessica. The elective courses are; Thesis Research and Thesis in which a supervisor will provided to me upon decision of the departmental graduate faculty.

CONSULAR: What are your Study plans?
ME: I will be taking a total of 30 semester hour coursework, which comprises of 6 core courses and 3 elective courses namely; Macroeconomic Theory and Policy, Econometrics 1, Price Theory, Econometrics 2, Advanced Mathematical Economics, Statistical Software for Data Management and Decision Making, big data for business decision making, advanced data mining for business. I am expected to complete my program on the 12th of May, 2023. Upon completion of my program, my immediate plan is to return back to Nigeria to work has a full time Financial Analyst. In this position I will make contributions to the government’s financial policy, carry out research on viable project for the government, and I will provide statistical recommendations for various financial policy.

CONSULAR: Did You Write Any Standardized Test?
ME: Yes, I took the GRE test, with a total score of 300.

CONSULAR: Are you married?
ME: No, I am not married.

CONSULAR: Have You Travelled Before?
ME: No I haven’t had a reason to travel out of the country.

CONSULAR: Who Is Paying For This? / Who Is Sponsoring You?
ME: My mother is my sponsor. She is a successful business woman in the Nigerian hospitality industry. She specializes as an Hotelier owning three 4-Star Hotels, 1 home appliances Supermarket, and 1 large consumer-product retail store in Lagos state, Ogun state, and Oyo state. In addition to that I received an international commitment scholarship in the sum of $4000 due to my impressive undergraduate academic achievements which would be covering a portion of my tuition

CONSULAR: What do you do presently?
ME: I am currently employed as a financial analyst trainee at *****, a Private Firm rendering financial and accounting services, where I am gaining experience which will prepare me for my Masters in Quantitative Economics. In this position I analyze financial instrument, examine various financial decisions made by our clients, prepare statistical model to aid the firm’s senior management decision, and I carry out SWOT analysis for various client, amongst other functions.

CONSULAR: What are your career plans / what is your plan after graduation/ what will this degree do for you?
ME: upon completion of my program, this degree and the experiences I would be gaining will move me higher in my career ladder to the position of a full time financial analyst. My immediate plan is to return back to Nigeria to work as a Financial Risk Analyst specifically at the Federal Ministry of Finance, Nigeria. In this position I will work in the capacity of a consultant rendering financial risk analysis to selected private institutions in the Financial Industry. My medium term plan is to work as an Investment Analyst at the Nigerian Sovereign Investment Authority. In this position, I will analyze the investment decision of the federal government, and give necessary recommendation on the most profitable and viable investments. My inevitable long term plan is to establish a financial consulting firm, rendering advisory and consultation services to the public and private sector.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 3:24pm On Jun 09, 2021
Shadomaan7:
Hello All,

I did my visa interview today at the Lagos embassy and was denied. The reason was because the VO said there is no proof that I got a tuition waiver from my school but I showed her where it was written on the I-20 but she said it’s not enough proof. I attack the I-20 screenshot below.

Transcript
VO: Good Morning. Pass me your I-20 and passport.
VO: Why are you going to the USA
Me: I’m going to the USA for my masters in Industrial Engineering at LSU
VO: Why LSU
Me: After I completed my GRE exam, I went online to look for universities that offer admission for Ms in industrial engineering and LSU was part of the universities that came up in the search. I emailed the departmental coordinator with my credentials and she gave a promising reply and went far as saying I can merit a tuition waiver from the graduate school with my credentials which I was later awarded.

—That is where the problem started, the VO said she can’t see any tuition waiver award on my I-20 but I told her it’s right there under the remarks with a ** and she said no.

Then I brought out a printout of the email from the graduate school where they gave the tuition waiver award and she said that is still not enough evidence and she will be denying my visa.

Normally total cost of attendance is $47,600 but with my tuition waiver it’s $22100. But yet this VO is not taking it.

Please help me guys, I am trying to reapply, could you please advise on what need to be done?

I just emailed the department coordinator, graduate school, and ISO office to notify them about this and request an official letter of the tuition waiver award but no reply yet coz I think it’s still very early in USA.

Please advise on what I can do about this.

Also:
What process do I need to take to reapply for my visa? Do I need to fill in another DS-160? Could some help with a high level view of how I need to reapply for appointment because I am trying to reapply today ASAP to get a date sooner.

I have never been to the embassy for F-1 visa before but from reading so my transcript here, I personally think you brought that followup question to yourself. There was no need for that (the bolded statement) instead you would have told her how what LSU was offering aligned with your interest..

Anyways, Best of luck on your next interview. Just pray for grace and favour in the sight of the VO. There is nothing God cannot do.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 4:51pm On Jun 06, 2021
MooreCode:
Hey Guys,

My first attempt. Help me thank God, my visa was approved June 3.

Thanks to everyone that posted their transcript here because I used it to practice.

My transcript:

VO : Your passport and I-20
Me: Good morning ( I passed it)

VO : Why did you choose this course and this school?
Me : I have been an ardent follower of professor xyz and he happens to be a lecturer in this great institution. Also, I have a couple of previous and current colleagues who are graduates of this institution and they have amazing reviews about the standard of education.

VO: what do you do currently?
Me: I’m a senior software engineer

VO: I can see you have a scholarship of 17k why is your sibling still sponsoring you with 32k?
Me: before the scholarship, she has already promised to sponsor me with that amount.

VO: What does she do?
Me: She was formally an accountant with xyz oil and gas Ltd but she currently runs her own company and she’s doing absolutely well.

VO: How long has she been running this company?
Me: 2 years now

VO: Are you sure she can afford the amount since she’s been running this business in this country for just two years?
Me: Oh yes, she makes a lot of profit and she already has a staff strength of 22 employees

VO: (Turns off mic and types for a long time and takes my i-20 to another of her colleagues to confirm a couple of things)
Me: (singing in my heart Moses bliss song titled faithful to fail me, also praying that I’ll not leave here with a blue paper)

VO: (closed my passport and returned I-20 slide her had into the pile of white paper)
Me: (singing in my heart JudiKay song titled Capable God)

VO: you’d need this 1-20 blah blah blah...(hand over my 1-20 with white sheet, said a lot of other instructions then said)
I wish you a safe trip to the United States of America.
Me: thank you.

When I stepped out, I was actually crying, a lot of people were telling me don’t worry you can try again, without realizing that I got an approval.

Guys, you need to pray, your visa is totally dependent on the person interviewing you, his/her mood and what ever they feel at that time.

A lot of people were more prepared than I was, answered better that I did, where asked more technical questions and they gave amazing answers but were also rejected.

I’m not trying to scare anyone but trust me, when you get there you’d see for yourself.

This is my first time and when I entered the hall, I was gripped with fear, but I had just one confidence, and that was God has gone before me and He was also with me.

I wish everyone success and thanks to Everyone sharing there experience.

Congratulations..........we will testify too.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 10:48am On Jun 05, 2021
Ajibfo:
After I got admission from the school with admission letter and tuition, I got scared cos the COA has increased from 50k I saw to seventy sth or maybe I didn't get their tuition right when applying but they gave me scholarship of 8k. I applied to 2 other scholarships but was not given. Then I was told to pay 1k enrollment and tuition deposit before my I20 can be sent. I was confused like deposit ke and visa is not guaranteed, was confused but I later did.
Fast forward to interview
Date June 4 2021.
Time 10am I had to snap another passport there cos the first has dot or sth.
VO: good morning
Me:gm ma
Vo: you are going to *** for your master in management sciences
Me: no ma, I am going for my masters of science in supply chain MGS is the sevis id for my school.
Vo: ok, what will this course do for you.
Me: with this course I will be able to apply to major supply chain companies in Nigeria like Nigeria brewery and Nigeria bottling company and also I will be able to push my project am working on which is green supply chain, the impact of supply chain to the environment and it's effect on the environment.
Vo: have u travelled before
Me: no ma
Vo: who is so so ( my sponsor)
Me: my aunt, she is paying for my education
(No document was asked, just my I20, it was even while waiting for my turn I realized I forgot my aunt' statement of account at home. I was like should I go print another or just risk it )
Vo: ok I will be approving your visa blabla
I can't even remember all she was saying again
I just want to thank God, cos while I was sitted waiting for my turn the only thing I kept saying was Jesus son of David have mercy on me and he did.
What I want to say is don't let anyone discourage you, pray and pray noting is impossible for God to do.

Congratulations. We will all testify too.
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 4:39pm On Jun 02, 2021
Tayoade19:

As promised, here is the full transcript of my encounter at the Lagos Embassy yesterday. I am sharing this to encourage someone and for the person to believe that with God, nothing is impossible and indeed there is a God who rules in the affairs of men. The key prayer focus should be favour. Fast forward to the experience/encounter. Two years ago, I was refused B1/B2 visa at the Lagos Embassy and when I was in the queue, I saw the same VO who refused me then and within me I was praying silently that God let it not be this VO who would interview me today. Lo and behold, I was told to go to his window and it was as if I had my heart in my mouth, I could feel my heartbeat because of the fear. He gave the lady in my front blue paper, I didn't listen to their conversation because I wasn't paying attention, I was praying within me. After giving the lady the blue slip, he was still speaking with the lady, then I was told to move to the next window which was vacant (instant answered prayer). However, when the VO who eventually interviewed me, asked the first question, I wasn't really stable because I'd thought I would be interviewed by the other guy. Let me not bore you with too much story. The interview did not last more than 3 minutes, here is the transcript;

GA: $18K
Deficit: $2.5k
VO: Good morning
Me: Good morning Sir.
VO: Pass me your passport and i20 (VO started typing)
Me: I did
VO: You are going for a master's program at the University of Nebraska right?
Me: Yes Sir
VO: Why this program?
Me: (trying to become stable). My reason for this program is fueled by my interest in understanding the interactions between diet and human genes, the molecular basis of obesity. (VO was just gazing at the computer screen, I didn't know whether he was hearing me or not)
VO: What will this degree do for you?
Me: This program will expose me to both theoretical and practical aspects of nutrigenomics such that when I return to Nigeria, I will be able to contribute to the research projects of the metabolic research group of the bleep university where I work and for years I have been assisting them in this lab for their research projects. (VO was just nodding his head)
VO: Are you married?
Me: Yes
VO: Is your wife going with you?
Me: No
VO: Why?
Me: She is currently in school for her graduate program at a Nigerian university.
VO: I think I will be giving you this chance, hang on a second (VO started typing)
Me: Ok Sir.
VO: Who is sponsoring you?
Me: I have a graduate assistantship that covers the tuition and monthly stipend while my uncle will take care of the deficit. (I was surprised VO did not ask for SOA)
VO: Your visa is approved.
Me: Thank you, Sir.
VO: Take your i20 along with you, you will need it at the port of entry and take your passport at this circled location, other information is on that slip.
Me: Thank you, Sir. Enjoy your day!
Na so I just packed my things commot from the VO's window and was just praising God.
PS: For you to experience a seamless visa interview, the God factor is very crucial, pray and fast. For it is not of him that willeth nor of him that runneth but of the Lord that showeth mercy. For those who will still be going for visa interview, I pray that God's mercies will speak for you in Jesus name. Amen!

Finally, a case like mine. I was denied B1/B2 visa 2017. I'm hopeful.

Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 5:42pm On Jun 01, 2021
Tayoade19:
Good morning people. God proved himself great this morning at the US embassy, I appreciate God for His faithfulness. Thanks to everyone on this platform for your numerous and useful contributions. The visa appointment was by 9:45am today.
Full transcript will be sent soon.

Congratulations!!!
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 2:26pm On May 27, 2021
Ibukun0910:
Lagos Interview
Appointment 7:30am
Date: 27th May 2021
US Student Visa Approved under 4mins

God showed up for me and I decided to post my interview transcript to encourage others who are applying in the next few weeks.
No Funding and COA is $51k
VO: Good Morning
Me: Good Morning
VO: Can I have your I-20
Me: Passed him my passport and I-20
VO: How do you intend to fund your studies. I can see here that your total cost is $51k
Me: My Dad is sponsoring me. However, he has made the funds available in my account few months ago when I started processing my I-20.
VO: what does your Dad do?
Me: He owns a Logistic, Haulage and Transport Business
Vo: Wow. Transportation? So how can he afford that kind of money?
Me: Well, it is not just a regular transport business. His company moves commercial goods for manufacturing companies from one state to the other.
VO: So did you apply to other schools?
Me: Yes. I applied to 2 other schools. University of Connecticut and Framingham State University in Massachusetts
VO: Do you have siblings?
Me: Yes. I have 2 siblings.
VO: what do they do?
Me: One is an accountant and the other is an Architect.
VO: what is your position
Me; I am the last born.
VO: So where do you live now.
Me: I still live with my parents (smiles)
VO: Pulls out white paper
Me: I stopped listening…………………………I didn’t know how I got to the car park to meet my sister.

That is my story………my $51k COA is relatively high, and I didn’t have any funding, Yet the VO didn’t even ask for my bank statement.
I wish everyone the best of luck.

Congratulations!!!!

Travel / Who Has Been Denied A B1/B2 Visa And Then Went Ahead To Get F1 Students Visa by Girlbestfriend(f): 5:49pm On May 26, 2021
I would love to get responses from those who had in one time applied for a B1/B2 visa and got rejected but later got their F1 visa approved.

If you have ever been in this situation, please can you give insight on how you went about it. Drop your transcript if need be. Thank you.
Travel / Re: In Need Of Personal Statement For Masters Admission Abroad by Girlbestfriend(f): 5:43pm On May 26, 2021
I was in your shoes three weeks ago. Running here and there, looking for someone to help write my Personal statement. The guy I met on twitter asked me to pay $30.... omooo, my head went on a reset mode__No one asked me to sit down and draft/write the personal statement myself..

It wasn't easy(I won't deceive you about that) but it was worth it. At the end of my 750words long PS, I sent to a friend (who is a graduate assistant in the US) to proofread. Dude gave me a provebial pat on the back. In his words "that's a superb Personal statement" just make little corrections here and there(which he already effected).

Why am I writing all these(epistle �).....Tryna give you a mental push of, YOU CAN DO.......
Travel / Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 by Girlbestfriend(f): 5:20pm On May 26, 2021
chibertha:
Reporting from Abuja
First to be interviewed
Appointment 7,30 am
Interviewed 8 am 24 May 2021

VO- good morning
Me -good morning
VO- pass me you're I-20
Me- here you go
Vo- I see you are going to Marshall
University for MSc safety
Me - yes
Vol - you were in the USA last year why.
Me - To have a baby
V.o - are you planning on having another
baby soon
Me - no I am done with childbirth
Vo - what is your highest level of
education
Me - B.Eng
V.o - what will you do with this degree
Me - after my first degree I have been
working as safety personnel at
different levels but with all my
certifications and experience I
have not passed the level of
coordinator with this degree, I will
be getting to management.
V.o - what does XXXX company do
(ie where I work)
Me - it is an oil servicing company
Vo.- Who will be paid for this
Me - It will be funded from family funds
and my sister is to doll out the cash
from my father and grandparents'
estate. She is a pharmacist and
has her own wholesale and retail
chain.
Vo. - Are you going with your children
Me - yes but with little one first
Vo - is your husband coming with you
Me - No, he is at work.
Vo.- I will be keeping your passport goes with your I20 when you travel.
Me. - I thank you.

Note
No GRE no English language test
COA $38600 US
NO FUNDING
Both my kids were born in the states
I graduated from University in 2003
Every question was asked based on what I filled in DS 160

GOOD LUCK TO EVERYBODY HERE SEE YOU IN YANKEE SOON

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!
I have been wondering on how to go about my transcript (likely answers), I felt I have been out of uni far too long(I graduated 2012). This just gave me a boost. Thank you.

Business / Re: LAPO Microfinance Bank Is A Devilish Loan Shark by Girlbestfriend(f): 12:41pm On Oct 05, 2020
abubaka101:

To the best of my knowledge, depending on the amount borrowed, LAPO expects start to collecting its money within a maximum of 30 days with interest.
So if a person borrows for rent, not bad. But what about the small business owners. Though some make some money to meet weekly payouts, but the hassle LAPO staff put on them is just overwhelming.
My own argument is that the absence of moratorium and the unprofessional nature of LAPO staff causes trouble for customers...

They no longer send their staff. They now have small group of loanies who have a head. The head collects weekly returns from group members and send the money to workers at LAPO

Health / Re: Abdulsamad Rabiu Donates Ambulances, 20 Vehicles To Kano COVID-19 Taskforce by Girlbestfriend(f): 10:02pm On May 23, 2020
Kiddler:

You're making me laugh Sir. Do you know Africa uses less than 2% of its budget for research? So nobody should expect anything called scientific innovation from this part of the world, except a few exceptional individuals. I have a friend who studied medicine, but had to stay at home for almost a year before he got a job, and even then he had to bribe some people. Despite the very low doctor to patient ratio in Nigeria. New York alone has more Nigerian medical doctors than any other foreign nationality. Do you blame our doctors for looking for greener pastures abroad? I'm studying biochemistry and I've only touched a microscope once. If you're studying science in Nigeria, you're only reading to pass, unless you're rich enough to enroll in a private university.

You're not far from the truth.

I studied Microbiology and biotechnology__graduated 2012, went to service 2013 finished 2014. I can tell you first hand that I have never worked as a microbiologist. I have searched and searched even resulted to trying private laboratories, guess what? They rather pick MLS over Microbiology(they fell MLS can do all things).

I resulted to selling hospital/Laboratory equipment (that didn't give me satisfaction). After two years being a sales rep I went ahead for my masters..

The story continues, nobody want to employ a microbiologist (except pharmaceutical companies, they will use you as sales rep).

Just recently, as this pandemic hits, I now see Microbiology and biochemistry job adverts.

I'm trying to understand what went wrong in the "Microbiology/Biochemistry world" in Nigeria. How did they become so useless??

In civilized world, MLS do not ultra varies Microbiology, everyone sticks to their profession, why is it so different in Nigeria??

Las las, I will end up a lecturer and the circle continues cry cry cry cry cry cry

Education / Re: Book Help by Girlbestfriend(f): 9:17pm On May 23, 2020
donmusty:
Please i need help

Pls where can I get a good online or whatsapp group for microbiology class that will keep me busy instead of wasting my data. Because I noticed am getting dull this days

Please did you find?? I need too.

Especially those in research Microbiology

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 15 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 184