GraphicsPlus's Posts
Nairaland Forum › GraphicsPlus's Profile › GraphicsPlus's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 35 pages)
Okorocha has legalized murder.
worldbest: Just shut up and teach him if you want to. Stop this your crazy e-parenting. Go and have real kids or if you already have some flog them all you like. All I see is an old man bullying young, naïve and helpless people.This is a forum, a community, a family. So we parent each other. What is parenting? Parenting is an act of teaching or mentoring someone to learn. I have learned a lot from forum members here. Some have also learned from me. Post commenting is not always palatable. We dont always pamper. There are cases like this one that we knock the person's head first before we dish out our advice. |
We dont teach just like that sir. Nobody is moved that he has an idea. Idea is cheap. He has an idea that can make him millions. But he doesnt know: 1. what to do. 2. where to start. 3. how to start. He doesnt know the above 3 crucial matters, but he knows the idea will make him millions. Does people build applications because it will make them millions? Again, he wants someone to help him with html codes of any webpage (beautiful sites) so that he will have idea of what the whole thing looks like. He should start by asking us that he wants to learn web design and that we should tell him where to begin. It's not telling us that he has idea that will make him millions. He figured out that an idea will make him millions, but he did not spend time to figure out, maybe by googling and research how to bring such an idea to reality. That is putting the cart before the horse and it's tantamount to stupidity. |
Not true sir. If u know me, u will know that i am even more willing to teach newbie than u ar willing to do same. But i dont always pamper people. sorry. u hav to accept it like that. The op has an idea, which is good. But he failed to ask the appropriate question. And to correct him, i hav to flog him first. It's afta flogging him that i can now draw him closer, wipe his tears and teach him. |
^^ Dont be sentimental. There are different ways of advising someone. Dont expect me to always follow one way. Good day. |
@OP, just listen to urself. Stop asking f0olish question. And stop having stup!d idea. U are new to webdesign, u dont know yet how to write a line of html and u are thinking of building a facebook-like social site. Now, u ar asking us to tell u how to go about it and to give u codes of how website look like. I want to assume u are a boy that just finished secondary school or u ar still in SS1. Look, if u want to be a web developer and u dont know where to begin, then ask us. When start learning web design, nobody will tell u what and what that is behind facebook site. U wil come to know. U cannot put the cart before the horse. |
Books in epub format cannot be read without an application that understands epub. Epub simple means Electronic Publication. It's an open source book format. It is a standard set by the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF). To be able to read the book in epub format, you have two options. 1. Convert the epub to pdf using this free online epub-to-pdf converter: http://www.epub-to-pdf.com/ 2. Use Adobe Digital Edition to read your books in epub format. Adobe Digital Edition software is free. Download it and install it and you will be able to read the book in epub format. http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html |
@Yawa, dont worry. i know u more than u think. u ar 100% male. cheers. |
^^ Stop been deceived by the 'f'. Yawatide is not a female. Yawatide is a man. |
I will discourage you from learning things from http://www.w3schools.com (Check: http://www.w3fools.com). Instead, I will encourage you to head straight to: http://www.html.net and learn their tutorials on HTML, CSS, JAVASCRIPT and PHP. They discussed these languages very well. Download notepad++ at: http://www.notepad-plus-plus.org. This is a wonderful and powerful text editor for Windows. Download it, install it and use it to learn and practice. If you have good internet connection and you like learning with videos, then watch these wonderful more than 30 videos on html and css titled "30 days to learn html and css" by Jeffrey Ways of http://www.net.tutsplus.com. You can get the videos free at their site: http://freecourses.tutsplus.com/30-days-to-learn-html-and-css. You can even go on to watch more videos on practically any programming language free of charge at: http://www.thenewboston.org. If you like reading ebooks, then go to: http://www.it-ebooks.info and download practically any ebook on any web development language or technology for free. Remember to practice a lot as you learn. By so doing, you will become a guru in no distant time. You can also occasionally or always visit: http://www.alistapart.com and read articles and tutorials on some trends going on in this industry. |
If you can get GTB Mastercard, you should be able to use the card on most web hosting companies to register for domains. I use mine on facebook ads, siteground.com, domain.com, stablehost.com, etc and it's working just fine. You just pay in Naira into your account and when you are paying in US Dollars, Mastercard is intelligent enough to convert the USD to Naira and debit you its equivalent in Naira. So check GTB. My account is current account, so I dont know if the same mastercard is applicable to savings account. |
Well, it's actually very possible. Microsoft knew that people will like to save their designed brochure or whatever in a picture format. Just click on file then click on save as then click on save as type and a drop down menu will appear. There you will see myriad of options: png, jpg, gif, tiff, pdf, etc. But before you click on save, change the resolution of the jpg file. You will see Resolution: Standard printing 150 dpi as the default selection. Click on a button with the value of Change... and a dialogue box will pop up. Choose 300 dpi in order to get a good quality when you print it. |
CSS @media query is simple, but a bit technical. Basically, how these things work is that you are restyling what you have styled in order to target certain view-ports. The two images below illustrate what responsive design do. The first is for the normal desktop, laptop and some ipads. The second is for tabs, ipads and phones. There are certain basics you should know to be able to do a responsive web design. I suggest you google up tutorials and articles written exhaustively on this subject. However, let me give you a quick tutorial on what to do and how to do it. 1. Responsive typography. You will have to set your font-sizes to em and not px. Pixel is static and rigid. Em is liquid and responsive. How do you convert px to em? Simple. The default font-size of every browser is 16px. And 16px is equal to 1em. So if you want to set the font size of your h1 tag to 32px, then set it to 2em. If you want to set a p tag to 12px, you will now set it to 0.75em. Yes, em accepts floating number unlike pixel. So you can have 0.75em. To get the value of em for any font-size you want to set, just divide the font-size you have in mind with 16. Your calculator should be handy when designing a responsive website. So if you want to set 24px to an element, just do, 24 divided by 16 = 1.5. So you will now write 1.5em. 2. Responsive images. Make sure that your images are optimized. Use save for web and devices in photoshop to save your images. If you think a particular image is too heavy, like 300KB, you may have to optimize it further with image optimizing tools. If it's png image, use http://www.tinypng.org. If it's jpg, use http://www.jpegmini.com. Again, in the css part of the media query, you will have to write this code: img{max-width:100%}. This will force every image in your html to respond to its containing parent. So as you re-size your browser, the image will be responding and re-sizing proportionally with the width of the browser. 3. Meta Viewport. Add below line of code in the head of your html. Reason, some mobile devices scale websites by default. So the code is overriding their default setting and forcing them to adapt to your own media query styling. <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0, maximum-scale=1.0, user-scalable=0"/> 4. Refloating. This is where the bulk of the work lies. If you look at the first image below, which is a desktop version, you will notice that logo, navigation, content and sidebar were floated. Logo was floated left, navigation was floated right, content was floated left and sidebar was floated right. In order to target mobile devices, you will have to refloat them back. The overall width of the website wrapper is 1000px. How do we target mobile devices from 0 to 480px width to display the website without a user having to scroll left and right? To start with, I must point out now that your media query must be at the very bottom of your desktop styles. As you know that in css, the last command always overrides the former. So what we are doing is to override the desktop styling when a user is using mobile device. So instead of using the desktop styles, it will now use the media query style at the bottom. To start writing media query styling, you will have to write this block of code: @media all and (min-width:0) and (max-width:480px){} All the new styles that will override the desktop styles will be written between the curly bracket, otherwise, it will not work. So back to my question. How do we make our website which has 1000px wrapper width to display perfectly in a mobile device of at most 480px? Now, in desktop styling, we did this: #wrapper{ width:1000px; margin:0 auto; } .logo{ float:left; width:150px; margin-right:50px; } .navigation{ float:right; width:800px; } .content{ float:left; width:700px; } .sidebar{ float:right; width:300px; } .footer{ width:1000px; } In our media query, we will now do this: #wrapper{ width:100%; } .logo{ float:none; width:100%; margin-right:0; } .navigation{ float:none; width:100%; } .content{ float:none; width:100%; } .sidebar{ float:none; width:100%; } .footer{ width:100%; } Now, this will settle 0 to 480px mobile devices. There will not be any horizontal scrollbar. Everything will appear perfectly. But, you are not done. What of mobile devices with the width of 481px to 740px? So you will go again to the bottom of @media query of 0 to 480px and add another media query. This time, we will write: @media all and (min-width:481px) and (max-width:740px){} Then you copy the styling codes above and tweak the styles. In this one, since the width is relatively wide enough, you may float logo and navigation like they were in desktop version, but not with the width set to pixel. Desktop: .logo{ float:left; width:150px; margin-right:50px; } .navigation{ float:right; width:800px; } @media query for 481px to 740px: .logo{ width:25%; margin-right:5%; } .navigation{ width:70% } You should note at this point that what you want in a particular query that is in desktop styles, should not be repeated. Media query is meant to override desktop styles, not to repeat it. So if navigation is floated right in the desktop styling and I want navigation to be floated right in the media query of 481px to 740px, I will not write, float:right again. I should leave it because the browser will be intelligent enough to know that since I didnt override it, that means I wanted it. Then after this one, you will have to do the one that will cover 741px to 999px. Which means, there is no gap. No room for horizontal scrollbar to appear. The website will display perfectly on every device. This is just a quick and simple tutorial on this. There is however, other technicalities when it comes to making a big website responsive. Or website that has lots of floated elements. But as you learn about this and read more about it and practice, you will get to know how it works. Cheers.
Start with html and css. You should know how to write and design normal static websites with html and css first. After that, you can then go on to learn joomla. But instead of jumping into joomla after learning html and css, why not take out time to learn php? Php is the very language upon which joomla was built. |
You have two options: 1. Create a mobile version of your site and upload the files to a sub-domain like: http://www.mobile.yourwebsiteurl.com or you just upload the folder like: http://www.yourwebsiteurl.com/mobile. Then you will use javascript to serve it when a user is using a mobile device of certain width. Let's say, if the width is less than 480px, then mobile version will be fired up. 2. Create your normal website and use css @media query to target different mobile device resolutions. It will be the same website, but it will display perfectly in every device both mobile and desktop. The first option means that you will be creating the website in two different versions. The second option means that you will be overridden initial styling in css to target different device widths. The choice is yours. However, the second option is what is now been used to target mobile devices. For instance, open http://www.starbucks.com in desktop and mobile. The desktop version has a mega drop down menu. The mobile version still contains everything because the website is responsive. They didn't use mobile version. They used @media query. If you need help creating any of the two options above, let us know. |
You can use any text editor to learn php. If you are on windows, then notepad++ is a powerful text editor you should start using. |
What exactly do you want to achieve? You want your website to redirect to a mobile site when the user is using a mobile device from certain amount of width? |
ribechi = 1stargeneral. We know you. |
Nice write-up and good thought-provoking piece. Let me add that there are cases you may not have to reinvent the wheel. Take for instance, why will one try to develop another javascript libary that has features already covered by jquery? But I am a fan of reinventing the wheel to learn more about wheels. For instance, I wanted to develop something like http://www.codepen.io. I asked a question in a certain forum about the idea. Almost everybody discouraged me by telling me not to reinvent the wheel. I told them that I want to use it as a play and practice ground for my students, they insisted that I can always tell my students to go to codepen or jsfiddle and practice. I told them that I want something that is customized, they still insist that it's a meaningless project. So I believe we should in most cases reinvent the wheel to learn more about the wheel. Have you noticed that almost every developer is scared of developing a custom CMS for his personal use or even for his clients? Everybody is running to WP, Joomla or Drupal. Have you noticed that people are running away from coding custom forum from scratch? Everybody is using SMF or Vanilla. Here is my point, which you rightly pointed out, we should not be scared from reinventing the wheel if we have the time and if we have something spectacular to add. |
ribechi: Yeah! Ɣø̲̣̣U just need to download and extract. You will enjoy the tutorial with live images and illustrations. This isn't bad for starters. Thumbs up man!Keep commenting on your on thread. Na u go tire. |
ribechi: Oga 1stargeneral. I see your work. That is great, with facebook login. Nice one.Stop deceiving yourself. You are both 1stargeneral and ribechi. https://www.nairaland.com/1328932/now-available-all |
You may have to forget about the email because you can never access it without answering the secret question. That is yahoo security measure to protect you. You are been asked to answer the question because you want to access the email from another IP address that you have not used before. You may try going back to that cyber cafe to access it with their system. If it goes through, then edit your settings. |
@Ajibel, thank you for your wise counsel to the Op. Ok, maybe NL doesnt have an age limit rule for users. However, it's not always a good idea coming to a public forum full of faceless individuals to ask for financial assistance. If you have gotten 14k, my question is, how did you get it? Then keep doing that thing until u raise about 30k, which is enough to buy you a small and fairy used laptop. You must learn this lesson now that you are young that the way to success is not always an easy ride. My brother, you have to know that it's only you that can fight your way through to become what you want to be. Life does not give you what you want, it gives you what you demand. Again, you want to be a world-class programmer, but since you joined NL, you have not opened or posted anything on the webmasters and programming sections. You were busy on Phone sections. Then you quickly remember that you want to be a programmer and came here. And the very first thread you created is a thread asking for financial assistance. Why not create a thread asking the best way to learn programming without having a personal pc or laptop? Why not create a thread asking experienced programmers how they started when they had no laptop? You cannot just appear from the blues and start asking people to assist you financially. You should just relax here in the programming section and be contributing to threads naturally and with time you may get what you are looking for. So, go back and keep fighting your way through the challenges of life. You cannot tell me that you have tried all the options available to you and the only chance you have now is NL. With that 14k, you can even use 4k out of it to be going to cyber cafe and quickly learn html and css. Then approach certain individuals or companies in your area and tell them that you can design a website for them. You can walk into University of Ibadan and tell anyone you meet that you can design a basic static website for him if he wants. You can even open a thread here on NL asking people that you want to design a basic 5 pages website for them at 20k. Two or three persons maybe interested. |
I just checked http://www.nigeriananswers.com and it's still available. Just quickly register it and use it and then make http://www.nigeriananswer.com to redirect to it if the user mistakenly type the url without s in the answers. It's a nice a project if you can give this a good user interface and add some user experiences to it and be consistent with updating it. Even if it's no longer available, use http://www.nigeriananswers.info, which is also available. The .info is even better since the website basically gives information to certain questions. Again, it's a pity that young boys like you don't usually read between the lines in a comment, but will always be ready to vomit thrash in the name of insulting someone and defending yourself. When @teemy commented 'what about plural answer', you guys should have out of intelligence know what he was talking about. When I first saw the url, what quickly came to my mind was 'what of using answers instead of answer?' Goodluck to you. |
You have 14k? Good. What did you do to get the 14k? I advice you keep doing it and keep saving. Stop asking for financial assistance online. You can always learn programming at a cyber cafe until you get a laptop. At 14 years, you are not yet matured to be on a public forum, talk less of asking for financial assistance. |
1. To be able to design ebook covers, banners and other graphics, you wil have to learn adobe photoshop. You should learn how to use the tools and other features. You can google for youtube video tutorials on photoshop. You can google how to design website with joomla. But do u know html/css? If no, u should learn them first. 2. When u create a page and save it for instance as, about.html, when u go live, the page will automatically beome, http://www.sitename.com/about.html |
President Barack Obama recently decried the “change in culture” that has altered what he called the view of the American Dream. He took a swipe at Kim Kardashian and Kanye West for being the poster boy and girl respectively of this damaging culture. Relieving the good old days, he said “There was not that window into the lifestyles of the rich and famous. Kids weren’t monitoring every day what Kim Kardashian was wearing, or where Kanye West was going on vacation”. He could as well have been speaking for Nigerians, nay Africans. The African society is increasingly under assault as we make advances in modernity. This is fueled by the increasingly corrupt pop culture which is heavily influenced by the mass media. The pervasiveness of these collection of ideas can be seen all around as it permeates the everyday lives of the society. It has brought with it a certain superficiality, consumerism and sensationalism. This can be seen in that decadent show that seems to have captured the imagination of not just the young but also the elderly. The exhibition of licentiousness going on in that house of shame called Big Brother Africa is more than a source of concern, it is the repudiation of morality and sanity in the name of modernity and it is being thumbed in our noses by Multichoice; an agency of western imperialism. Reality television shows present unscripted situations, peopled by unprofessional actors, depending on the genre. But what does the Big brother genre of reality television want to impart to Africans? The answer is perversion. The show has unleashed perversion at a level that will be very difficult to erase. It is damaging the scant morality we still subscribe to in a terribly debased world. Big Brother was popularized by George Orwell’s novel, Nineteen Eighty-Four. But this is not the Big Brother he was talking about when he wrote that book. The term “Big Brother” was the lexicon for abuse of government power, particularly in respect to civil liberties, often specifically related to mass surveillance. Every year, Multi Choice unleashes this vile content on the continent into millions of homes. But it must be seen for what it is; a slow destruction of societal values. Reality television shows have a powerful hypnotic effect on viewers. But while reality television may seem like a harmless form of entertainment on the surface, the damage being done is so subtle but yet very powerful. Why on earth will people be enticed to watch lewdness in the guise of education? What is the difference between this show and p0rnography? The vilest and the vainest are put on display in the guise of promoting Africa. Big brother Africa is a glaring example of the extent of depravity being pushed to African societies. The question to be asked is if it is part of a western agenda or a South African plan to destroy the fabric of African societies because it goes against all the grain of Africanness. With the west aggressively pushing the homosexual agenda across the world, we might soon have a reality show of homosexuals and lesbians under the guise of equality. Its high time we repudiate non value television shows in all its forms; we cant ruin the future of our youths and the very young with this Big Brother nonsense. Our political, economic , cultural and social structures are going bankrupt and the combined effects is creating a society going out of balance, exemplified by the bling-bling capitalism-materialism, and we stare a global debt holocaust, we witness structured abject poverty for the masses and extreme wealth for the elite. Decency and moral high standards have been thrown to the pigs. With this new and sustained assault, we need serious societal introspection by asking; do we really need another reality TV show or perhaps it’s time for a reality check? There is a need to look at ourselves and ask if we will succeed or fail at this rate. As Socrates succinctly puts it, “The unexamined life is not worth living”. The display of wanton sexual excesses, destruction of family values, with p0rnography and homosexuality becoming the hallmarks of modern moral decadence, which as history supposedly shows, will not only lead to the decline but the destruction of our society, has to stop! http://www.ekekeee.com/big-brother-africa-how-multichoicedstv-is-under-developing-africa/ |
Who is dude? Because you have access to the internet, you think u can ask question or seek for information on a public forum with gangsterism language. You dont eve know what you want. Do you want to learn complete web development or you want to learn complete web developer? |
If you need a website for your business and you are ready, then you should have the following info or document with you: 1. About your company or business. 2. A brief bio of the ceo and other staff (Although it's optional). 3. The services you render and detailed description of each service. 4. List of the companies you have rendered your services in the past (This is also optional). 5. Few reasons why you think your services are the best. 6. Your contact address. 7. A well designed logo of your business. You don't need to ask about any qualification. Web designing is not about HND or Bsc. What you can ask for may be for the person to show your his previous works. Again, you should know what you want. I mean the features you want in your website. * Do you like full background image? * Which color is your company color? * Will you like to have slideshow on the homepage? * What font do you prefer? * Do you have any website in mind that you like so much? Some web designers can handle the graphics side, like getting you appropriate images for the website. SEO is not as small as some think. You may need the services of an SEO expert. But that will be when the website has been designed and deployed. An SEO man can start from there. You can hire a firm or one person to do it. It doesn't matter. Most people you call one person actually have a team they work with. Yet, one person can easily handle it. You can open a thread here on Nairaland asking for services of web developers. Those that are interested will indicate. Then from interested persons, you can easily choose anyone you prefer. |
How old are you now and what have you done since you started? |