Impact231's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Impact231's Profile › Impact231's Posts
Rep hopeful Shote tours Ijebu Federal Constituency *Party leaders pledge support for aspirant House of Representatives hopeful for Ijebu Central Federal Constituency, Barrister Taiwo Shote and his team paid a consultative visit to Ijebu Central Federal Constituency, comprising of Odogbolu, Ijebu-North East and Ijebu Ode local government areas on Saturday to acquaint his leaders of his intention to vie for the position in the 2019 general election. The trip saw Shote and his team visiting and interacting with notable party, leaders, elders and stakeholders. From Ilese in Ijebu North East Local Government Area to Omu in Odogbolu Local Government Area and Ijebu Ode in Ijebu Ode Local Government Area, it was a rousing reception. The team, which was led by the Senator representing Ogun East Senatorial District at the National Assembly, Senator Buruji Kashamu, comprised of prominent Ogun PDP chieftains such as the PDP Ogun East Senatorial Chairman, Hon. Daisi Akintan; a former member of the House of Representatives, Prince Segun Seriki; the Ogun PDP Legal Adviser, Barrister Bimbo Lanre-Balogun and Mrs. Bukola Araba. Others included House of Assembly hopeful for Ijebu Ode State Constituency, Hon. Abdulazeez Ogedengbe (Omo Araga); aspirant for Sagamu State Constituency 1, Hon. Babatunde Ayorinde (Fabregas), among others. While receiving the delegation, party leaders pledged their support for Shote's aspiration. In INELG, Chief Tunde Olowu In Odogbolu, Chief Robert Adenaike In Ijebu Ode, Chief Ade Alatishe... See the events in pictures below: BTS ni joor...fun ilosiwaju akile Ijebu
‘No justification to push for senator’s extradition’ Wole Olanipekun Chief Wole Olanipekun, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, has said there is no justification for the Federal Government to push for the extradition of the lawmaker representing Ogun East Senatorial District at the National Assembly, Prince Buruji Kashamu. Olanipekun, Kashamu’s lawyer, stated this in a letter written to the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF), Mr Abubakar Malami (SAN), sequel to a letter by the office of the AGF to the United States Embassy in Nigeria asking the embassy to make a fresh request to facilitate the commencement of new extradition proceeding against Kashamu since the courts had dismissed the one written in 2015. The letter by the office of the Attorney General, written in 2016, became public after the judgment of the Court of Appeal, Lagos Division, in CA/L/1030/2015 and CA/L/1030A/2015, which overturned the decision the perpetual injunction of a Federal High Court restraining law enforcement agencies from arresting Kashamu. But Olanipekun, in the letter dated May 30, 2018, said, “There cannot be any justification for the Nigerian government through the exalted office of the Attorney General of the Federation to push for the extradition of our client (Kashamu). “There is nothing in any of the two judgments of the Court of Appeal warranting, calling for or signaling the extradition of our client either from within or without Nigeria, and more particularly, from the high office of the Chief Law Officer of our dear country.” Olanipekun, a former president of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), stressed that the Court of Appeal did not dismiss any challenge by Kashamu to his extradition proceedings.He also noted that the Court of Appeal did not set aside the far-reaching pronouncements made in Kashamu’s favour by the lower courts.He added: “In effect, the very crucial finding of the High Court that the Honourable Attorney General of the Federation lacks the vires and jurisdiction to either entertain an extradition request or commence extradition proceedings against our client based on allegations from which he had previously been exonerated by two British courts in 2000 and 2003, remain subsisting and extant.” Olanipekun stated that since Kashamu, had appealed the Court of Appeal judgment to the Supreme Court, the Federal Government could not commence any fresh extradition suit. According to Olanipekun, the FG was part and parcel of the extradition proceedings against Senator Kashamu in the two British courts “as two top officers of the NDLEA, that is Dan Asabe, Director of Operations, and Femi Oloruntoba, Director of Prosecutions travelled to London to give evidence for the prosecution on the second extradition proceedings brought at the instance of officials of the United States in 2000.” According to Olanipekun, the judgment of the two British courts “are judgments in rem, binding on all persons and parties to the proceedings, including, but not limited to the Nigerian government, the British government, the INTERPOL, the Honourable Attorney General of the Federation, the NDLEA, etc.” He added: “With further respect, we wonder if any country in the world would push for the extradition of its citizen in the peculiar and glaring circumstances of this case.”Our final instruction is that the high office of the Attorney General of the Federation should put a stop to the intimidation or any further molestation of our client on this subject, either by way of inviting a foreign country to make an application for the filing of an extradition proceeding or the commencement of any fresh extradition proceeding.”
*OGUN PDP WISHES NIGERIANS AND OGUN STATE CITIZENS A HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS 2018* As a new year beckons, the Peoples Democratic Party in Ogun State under my leadership is using this medium to congratulate Nigerians and the good people of Ogun state, that the Almighty God deemed it fit to spare our lives to see the end of 2017 and for giving us the unmerited privilege to witness a New Year; despite our individual and collective challenges. No doubt, the outgone year was very turbulent for Nigerians and Ogun state in particular; considering the plethora of self-inflicted socioeconomic and security challenges the people had to contend with. The nation is still writhing from the suffocating sting of economic recession, a situation that has seen hitherto average Nigerians drop into the poverty zone. The festering menace of terrorism and kidnappings have put the people in palpable fear of their lives; while our corporate unity continues to be threatened. Important NBS statistics around unemployment, inflation, GDP growth rate, human capital development and infrastructure – indicated a sharp decline of the Nigerian State. That we even ended the year with excruciating fuel queues and attendant social disruptions – is a sad report card of the APC national government, led by the faltering and increasingly incapable President Muhammadu Buhari. For us in Ogun state, the situation is even more pathetic. Beyond the daily erosion of people's livelihood on the pretext of a cosmetic urban renewal, bad economic policies, financial mismanagement, executive recklessness, misprioritization of projects and blatant acts of corruption by the Sen. Ibikunle Amosun APC administration, have combined to put the state on reverse. Today, Ogun is littered with failed projects, education and health sectors are in shambles, major roads into our hitherto boisterous industrial corridors are now impassable, forcing businesses to relocate, while the socioeconomic life of citizens have been grossly diminished. Despite the gory picture, we still have to thank God and be optimistic of a better deal in the new year. Despite our challenges, the PDP is a reference party and synonymous with making life more comfortable for the people and spreading the dividends of democracy. The year 2018 is the time for the people to weigh their choices ahead of the 2019 elections. While I urge citizens to brace up in their individual endeavours, we must collectively rise up to demand better governance from the buccaneers currently in power; while we bid time to send them out of office in 2019. For us as a political party, we are reformed, reinvigorated and now attuned to the needs and desires of our people – being social welfare, economic progress and good governance. One again, I wish all Nigerians and the People of Ogun state a happy and most prosperous New Year. [Singed] *Engr Adebayo Dayo* _State Chairman_ |
PDP Chairmanship race: Daniel as PDP boss‘ll kill the party, says Kashamu The Senator representing Ogun East Senatorial District, Buruji Kashamu has said it would be “a monumental disaster” to elect former Ogun State Governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel as the National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Reacting to Daniel’s official declaration to vie for the position of the National Chairman of the party on Wednesday, Kashamu said Daniel was the least qualified among those aspiring for the post. The statement reads in part, “When I heard that he was vying for the post, my initial reaction was that it was a joke. But, now that he has decided to make a formal declaration, I would say it is a joke taken too far. Let me say with all sense of responsibility that Daniel does not have what it takes to lead our great party. He is the least qualified among all those vying for the position. “All his claims of having managed and won elections are unfounded. He never won any election. The elections he claimed to have won were in the better forgotten days of Prof. Maurice Iwu’s INEC. Since then, he has never won any other elections. In 2011, he defected from the PDP to the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) and then Labour Party (LP) where he lost woefully. Even the 2016 local government election in Ogun State which he supervised with one of his stooges and a member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Ladi Adebutu, it was failure all the way. “Towards the end of 2014, he returned to PDP ahead of the 2015 elections. He was made to head the 2015 Presidential Campaign in Ogun State which the party lost abysmally owing to his mismanagement of campaign funds. He was one of the major reasons our party lost in the South West and Ogun State in particular. It is common knowledge in Ogun State that over N300 million of the funds are yet to be accounted for and the case is currently with the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC). How can we allow our beloved party to be led by an unstable character like Daniel? “Before he became the governor of Ogun State, he had two houses. But at the end of his eight year tenure, he cornered several public properties which are now subject of litigation between him and the EFCC. Clearly, this man lacks the right to speak about corruption and how it should be tackled. You cannot give what you don’t have. “With the benefit of hindsight, several Chairmen of our party were either removed or resigned on their own volition as a result of EFCC cases. So, how can we entrust the leadership of our party – an opposition party – into the hands of man who has a pending EFCC case?” The statement went on, “As at today, it is common knowledge in Ogun State that Daniel has two governorship candidates that he is milking: one in PDP and the other in the All Progressives Congress (APC). He is doing this for money. He is flat broke and looking for money to rehabilitate himself. He is the biggest ticket racketeer I have ever seen.” Kashamu urged the party leaders and faithful not to make the error of making Daniel the party boss, adding that “it would be the beginning of the end of our great party. This is a man whose reign as governor in Ogun State was synonymous with cultism, violence and politically-motivated killings. How can our beloved party be handed to a man whose memories the good people of Ogun State are in a hurry to forget? For instance, the security agencies are still investigating how over 120 protesting students of the Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU) were murdered in cold blood and secretly buried during his administration. “His former Commissioner for Agriculture, Waliu Taiwo and Chief Press Secretary, Wale Adedayo have told the whole world that he had “a killer squad” that he used to decimate perceived political opponents. Adedayo even wrote a book entitled “Micro Seconds Away from Death” wherein he chronicled some of the heinous crimes perpetrated by Daniel as Governor of Ogun State, including an assassination attempt on him (Mr. Wale Adedayo). The book is a public document. He is an infidel and a serial betrayer who does not have value for human life. “Little wonder the Nobel laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka described him as ‘Dani, elebo’ (meaning Dani, the fetish one). He went on to say, ‘This governor lied and lied and lied until he lied his head off’. “Recall how his governor colleagues rejected him as Chairman of the Governors’ Forum in 2010 when he sought to upstage the President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki as the Chairman of the group. If a small group of governors could not entrust him with leadership, how can such a person lead a party as big as PDP? I can categorically say that in the unlikely event that he realizes his ambition of becoming PDP National Chairman, Daniel will not only sell out the party, he will kill and bury it.” Kashamu added, “It should be noted that in the twilight of his administration, the Ogun State House of Assembly passed a resolution in which he was blacklisted and barred from holding “public office in the future either in Ogun State or anywhere in Nigeria.Given all the atrocities he has committed against the people and the state, he is not qualified to lead our party and the legal battle to bring all these to the fore will soon commence.” |
Why Fayose cannot run for presidency – Nwodo Dr Okwesilieze Nwodo, a Board of Trustee (BoT) member of People Democratic Party (PDP), says Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose, cannot contest in the party’s primary poll for 2019 presidential election. He stated this on Thursday in Abuja shortly after Fayose’s formal declaration of his intention to contest for the position of president of Nigeria in 2019 on PDP’s platform. Nwodo told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) that PDP’s ideology forbade Fayose and other members from the South from contesting in the presidential race in 2019. He said that the ideology would be followed to the letter in spite Fayose’s declaration. “Fayose cannot run and I will tell you my reason. “When we formed PDP, the first battle we fought and won as a party was to zone the presidency to the South. “Those of us from the south made a case because in the first republic, prime minister was from the North; in the second republic, the president was from the North, and in the third republic, a southerner won and the election was annulled. “There was no way we could go back to the south and say let’s elect a northerner again without giving the south a slot. “A decision was taken that the presidency should come from the south and the chairman of the party to come from the north. “That was how Solomon Lar became the chairman of PDP and secretary was zoned to the south; that was how I became the first secretary of the party,’’ he said. Nwodo, a former National Chairman of PDP, said that the party would take a decision to ensure that its Constitution and ordinances were respected. He explained that those who tried it in the past failed to achieve their aim. “For example, late Abubakar Rimi, former Governor of Kano State paid for a form and wanted to run. “Then I was the national secretary, I returned his cheque and informed him that the party had taken a decision that the presidential candidate could only come from southern Nigeria. “When we went to the Convention in Jos, he went to the venue and started to campaign without having a form because we didn’t give him. “We had to get some party leaders around to go and counsel him; we didn’t want security agencies to manhandle or embarrass him and good counsel prevailed and he stepped down. “That was what PDP did and now we did not only zone the presidency to the north, we have re-emphasised at every opportunity we had that the zoning will take place. “So, the party will not collect expression of interest money from anybody else who is not from the North and will not issue him a nomination form to contest; no, we will not do that,’’ he added. But, Fayose had in a letter to PDP leaders insisted that his ambition to be president was without prejudice to the party’s position, adding that it was in the interest of the party and Nigeria. |
2019: PDP youths ask Makarfi c'ttee, Kashamu, Ubah to close ranks By Saawua Terzungwe The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Northern Youths' Forum have called on the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led national caretaker committee, Senator Buruji Kashamu and Dr. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah to close ranks in the interest of the party. The Forum said what the party needed was not rancour but a united front and re-branding at all levels to reclaim power in 2019. The caretaker committee had slammed a one-month suspension on Uba, who has threatened to sue the party over the August 28, Anambra State governorship primary, as an aspirant. The committee also queried Kashamu and referred him to the National Disciplinary Committee for action over "anti-party activities." But addressing newsmen yesterday, in Abuja, national president of the Forum, Nafiu Yunusa MaiSalati said Kashamu, Ubah and members of the caretaker committee were important building blocks and should play key roles for the party's full recovery. He explained that the target should be on the grass roots who he said kept faith with the party even when it was embroiled in a 14-month legal tussle recently. MaiSalati said party leaders and members must do away with the spirit of impunity and be patriotic, adding that there was no need for a fresh legal battle to rear its head in the party. The Forum noted that the All Progressives Congress (APC) led government had prepared grounds for PDP's takeover and called for caution in the party. "We need calm in the PDP this time. It's time for sober reflection. We have gone through deep legal challenges and came out of it. What we need now is for our leaders and members to close ranks. "Dialogue is key because politics is a game of numbers; so we need to exercise caution in taking certain decisions. PDP at the moment needs more members into its fold; people with profound political pedigree who can propel it to victory again. "So we are calling for dialogue between the caretaker committee and Sen.Buruji, We don't want him to be doing things that are inimical to the health of our party. The Forum noted that Senator Buruji remains the most visible mobiliser and chief financial of the PDP in the south west and advised the NCC to invite the Senator for meaniful Dialogue in finding a lasting solution to the problems in the South West and in the Ogun State Chapter. "Losing a serving Senator with his supporters will be a sad news to our party members; because we want need to contribute meaningfully to ensuring that we are back to the villa in 2019"Defending the vote of Ogun and entire South west. |
KASHAMU: AN UNCOMMON ENTREPRENEUR Long before the good people of Ogun State, the south West region and the nation in general began applauding the business, philanthropic and political exploits of the Distinguished Senator (Prince) Buruji Kashamu, he had courageously established his business empire in the West African region with presence in Europe. Before he contested and won the Senatorial election in 2015, he was a party enthusiast who progressively grew from the ward level through to the National level as Chairman, Organisation and Mobilisation Committee of the PDP in the South West as well as a distinguished Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Numerous individuals, families and communities were receiving various forms of benevolence from SPBK long before the Omoilu Foundation was instituted as the hub of his philanthropic activities. In spite of him famed philanthropy and meteoric rise to political prominence, SPBK might be most celebrated for his entrepreneurial acumen, foresight and ingenuity. He is a workaholic who is passionate about his dreams and gives his all in pursuing realizing and preserving them. By 1994/95, he was one of the richest men in Benin Republic because of massive investments he had made in commerce and real estate. He was the country representative of Sanyong and Daewoo motors and was also massively importing rice, tomatoes and sugar, veering into furniture making and manufacturing. S.E.I.C.B an ultra-modern cotton ginnery factory in Savalou is an enduring landmark of his accomplishments in the Republic of Benin. The ripple effects of SPBK’s wealth creating initiatives are felt and evident in the lives that are being transformed in the nooks and crannies of West Africa. #SPBKcares!
‘AMCON DIDN’T TAKE OVER KASHAMU’S HOTELS’ The media office of the Senator representing Ogun East Senatorial District, Senator Buruji Kashamu has described as untrue media reports that the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON) has taken over some hotels belonging to the lawmaker. A statement issued by the Media Adviser to Senator Kashamu, Austin Oniyokor, said, “The report is a mere fabrication and a desperate attempt by the Senator’s detractors to link him with an issue that does not concern him in any way. “There is no court order permitting AMCON to take over any of the Senator’s properties. He does not have any hotel in Ikeja and the one in Victoria Island has since been rebranded. It is now BWC Hotels. The hotel is being managed by a team of expatriates and local personnel. “It should be pointed out that Best Western is an international franchise that can be bought by anyone who can afford the fees. The chain of hotels under the Best Western brand are independently owned and operated. Thus, if Best Western Hotel in Ikeja or anywhere has any issues with AMCON, it does not in any way concern the Distinguished Senator Buruji Kashamu. Such hotels have their promoters, directors and shareholders who are separate and distinct individuals. “We wish to assure all the fans, friends and associates of the Distinguished Senator Buruji Kashamu that there is no cause for alarm. None of his properties is being occupied by AMCON or any agency of government. “We advise reporters, media organisations and purveyors of false information to always cross-check their reports and verify their authenticity before going public in order to avoid the embarrassment that this kind of falsehood can cause the reporters, media organisations and those at the receiving end. But, for those who may wish to continue to spread the falsehood after this rejoinder, we may have no other choice than to seek redress in the court.” |
ATTENTION: THE PURPORTED ASSASSINATION ATTEMPT BY MR GBENGA DANIEL AGAINST SEN. KASHAMU My attention was drawn to the letter written to the Inspector General of Police, IGP by Mr Gbenga Daniel on the assassination attempt to his life by Distinguished Senator Buruji Kashamu. Let me start by putting this posers to him 1. An assassin has no two assignment than to kill, however in your hush hush story, you said your self acclaimed assassin work up to one of your police guards on duty and eventually locked him in a toilet were he placed his gun. And the same gun was used to chase the assassins without any casualties. By now the Nigeria Police should have investigated and check on the said toilet roof in order to put this cooked story to rest, though I don't know the place in question, but I am 100% sure the toilet roof is concrete. 2. He also said after the shooting, nobody was caught and no one in the neighborhood heard the gun shoot, which police station was the case reported and at what time? That reminds me back in 2003, when you were contesting as governor; you sent your boys to deface all your bill boards across Sagamu Siun expressway and the state capital in particular in order to discredit the then state Governor Aremo Olusegun Osoba. Eventually you got people's sympathy. But on the issue at hand, for over 6years that you lost out to the present Governor of Ogun State; your name kept dwindling and fading out due to the enormous atrocities committed by you and on your behalf. The only legacy Ogun state people remembered you for is cultism and political assassination. For instance in Sagamu local government, Najeko and one of his younger brother from same parents were killed same day in Sagamu during your tenure. Mr Daniel, don't forget during your inglorious tenure as Governor of Ogun State, you sent your criminally minded boys to kidnap the then Senatorial Chairman of PDP in Ogun East, Chief Agboola Alausa. Equally on a day preceding your election in 2003, my humble self Otunba Kola Akinyemi, Alhaji Age Animasaun; the then leading leader of PDP in Sagamu LG, Alhaji Agboola Alausa and Chief Bayode Oluwole, were with you around 10pm and you quarrel with Chief Bayode Oluwole on why Alhaji Age was the one who brought Chief Alausa and not him. Today, Alhaji Age Animasaun Omo lemomu is no more, and no one could tell his whereabout whether dead or living after the hot argument he had with you. As at that time, Alhaji Age Animasaun was the one behind Col. Soda's governorship ambition. If not because he danced to your tune, you would have lost that governorship ticket. Again I say, where is Age today. A gruesome murder of Yomi Mighty was witnessed near Major Thompson's junction in front of Madam Adetu's house GRA by your killer squad. As at then, Mr Daniel has 15 man squad in which Mr Jamiu Olododo is one of them, who kidnapped a vice chancellor at Olabisi Onabanjo University; Prof. Olatunji Oyeneye and kept him at an uncompleted building at Isote in Sagamu LG. Today, where is Gbolahan Akodu who was killed by the killer squad of Mr Gbenga Daniel. Sometimes on 8th January 2005, the Nigerian Tribune published an assassination attempt on me by Mr Gbenga Daniel and his boys back then. For the readers information, before Mr Gbenga Daniel came on board, there was nothing like cultism in Sagamu local government, but since he came in the political system; mechanics, okada riders and vulcanizers became cultists and he kept handing sophisticated guns over to them. As at then, Alhaji Samson Apelogun the now chairman of ACOMORAN in Ogun State was working for him. This same Samson killed a human being at Sabo market junction and the gun was retrieved from him the then Nigeria Police Area Commander in Sagamu, Olukolu. Thereafter, the DPO of Sagamu then Shehu was asked to take possession of the gun on the instruction of Mr Gbenga Daniel. Sometimes in 2010, when Omoilu Foundation was being accepted in Ogun state as empowerment organization, on several occasion, we were invited at the police station and Shehu was still then the DPO and Mr Jamiu Olododo shot sporadically in the station premises. Knowing fully well that, he has the backing of Mr Gbenga Daniel. He was however called to order by the commissioner of police after I placed a call to the commissioner and he was cautioned by Mr Shehu, the then DPO. Unfortunately, in November 2009; I was attacked at my residence by 17 of Mr Gbenga Daniel's boys in order to assassinate me. And the leader of the gang back then was Jamiu Olododo and fortunately for me, I recognised 7 of the gang and the case was reported at Sagamu police station and I forwarded a petition to the force headquarters in Abuja. Those in charge of the case back then were CP Olusegun, CP Balogun, the 1st Personal Assistant to the IG; AC Abubakar and CSP Baba. Thereafter, I was given police interim investigation and the gang were arrested. The future generation millionaires that were killed in Sagamu because of cultism were more than 200. Ever since I know Senator Buruji Kashamu for close to a decade now, he found it difficult to kill an ant and not to talk of a rat. As a matter of fact, anytime there was a disagreement with Sen. Kashamu and myself and whoever, he always stopped so low to call the other person for settlement; unlike Mr Daniel who would be looking for a way to retaliate or take a pan of flesh off the person. Mr Gbenga Daniel thought when he fabricate lies of this nature against Senator Kashamu he would gain sympathy. Not knowing that, people of Ogun state still remembers the havoc he committed during his devilish tenure as governor. Thank God for the heavy security around Sen. Kashamu, he would have killed him a long time ago. Kudos to the present governor in Ogun state for providing adequate security as people can now sleep with their two eyes closed. Now, Mr Gbenga Daniel, you claimed you are from Sagamu and that you were born on April 1956 and I Otunba Kolawole Akinyemi was born 3 March 1957. Who were your mate in Sagamu? Which primary school did you attend and who were your playmates back then?. I could recollect we do play football, and sometimes rode in motorcycles spoke with sticks and sometimes table tennis back then; who exactly did you play with? I attended St Paul primary school Makun and Mrs Funmi Ogunyanwo was my classmate and now a First bank manager. The Oje Family in which you claimed to belong to in Sagamu and the 2 bedroom flat you built there now house rats and scorpions. Even the very one you buried your father was bought 7 years ago and not inherited. The Abraham Tabernacle's has a tomb of Fatai Aina's brother despite the fact that the house has certificate of occupancy, you revoked it and took possession. Even the Asoludero court you built at GRA Sagamu were meant for Court Justices back then. That also remind me when you came newly to the political scene in Pa Awosanya's house I was a supporter of Col. Soda I told you I don't belong to those who called you bastard; but your lineage is doubtful. After your 8year as governor, you destroyed the platform of PDP for others and you formed PPN, it failed, you went to Labour Party, you equally failed and before you came to PDP you were a member of AD. Senator Kashamu stood firm in PDP and kept spending his hard earned money to mobilise into the party without contemplating of leaving for once. And you claimed to be carrying reconciliation without him, you guys are total failure. Makarfi caretaker is dead on arrival in Ogun state. Sen Kashamu remains the south west mobilization chairman of PDP. Makarfi's victory at the supreme court has nothing to do with Ogun state structure and stop rejoicing on what does not exist. Mr Gbenga Daniel, you will soon be jailed for giving false information to the public. When you visited Hon Daisi Akitan's house around 11pm sometimes ago and he invited Vigilante that an armed robber is in his compound; we blamed him then not knowing that, that was one of the gimmicks you thought them and using same for you. Likewise Mrs Josephine Makanjuola framed me that I sent hired killers to her house few months ago; and when she was arrested and interrogated, she confessed that, it was thieves that came and subsequently at the DSS office, she confessed it was a lie. Fellow Nigerians, all what I said were the truth and nothing but the truth and if anything happen to me thereafter, Mr Gbenga Daniel should be held responsible. I am however, imploring the Inspector General of Police, Director of DSS and AIG Zone 2 and the Commissioner of Police Ogun state and director of DSS in Ogun state to take drastic action on this matter before it get out of hand. Thank you. I remain, Otunba Kolawole Akinyemi, aka Tonight. PDP chairman, Sagamu Local Government. |
REWARD OF EMPTY ARROGANCE & HATRED. In his desperation to rope SPBK into a phony assassination attempt, OGD stated in his petition to the IG amongst other baseless self-serving claims that;viz: "All these I took in my strides as part of the price for participating in government and politics, including the spurious EFCC charges promoted by the current government in Ogun". It's hoped that OGD won't allow empty arrogance and shear hatred for SPBK push him into actions that would make him ruin himself. Now that the Ogun state govt has rightfully stopped construction works at the OGD's Abeokuta multi-storey hotel complex whose CofO had earlier been revoked for questionable circumstances of the land acquisition; the above unguided declaration as been confirmed as illusionary pretences . It is to be expected that if not for empty arrogance and self delusion, OGD is supposed to be aware that his abuse of office through the confiscation of govt land as well as the greedy takeover of the land of innocent citizens which he revoked as governor, ostensibly for public use and were later converted; callously to his private use justifiably prompted the Ogun state government to drag him before EFCC. That a prominent royal father appealed to the governor to treat his greed and corrupt acquisition with mercy shouldn't embolden him to be openly flaunting a nonexistent probity. Now that the Ogun governor has summoned courage to do the right thing, it is hoped that OGD would dignifyingly leave eminent citizens out of need to pressurise the governor to revert to working against public interests. If he feels strongly on the right side of the law in the said land acquisition, he should now limit his reclaim efforts within the provisions of the law. Furthermore, the much talked about EFCC case wouldn't amount to credible trial or deserving acquittal if all witnesses are intimidated out of court appearances as is seemingly being arranged to enable OGD have a soft landing. Cases of corruption should be separated from politics to grow public accountability and good governance. Also, claims of credible performance in public office should be judiciously proved without underhand litigation deals. Or else, what right is there to undeserving integrity. |
Kashamu vs Gbenga Daniel Good evening your Excellency. My attention has been drawn to a petition directed to the IGP dated today on political loops and the internet from you stating that I sent a group of men to go after your life. I am shocked and disappointed that a man of your calibre can descend so low to create childish and phony allegations against me. An average person will objectively read the lies concorted in this your so called petition. Your hatred and inferiority complex towards me is clearly evident. It is normal for people to be defeated politically and yours will not be the first since 2011 that you have refused to let go. I do not now see how the victory of Markafi over Sherif translates into your victory over me. Even the purported Ogun state care taker committee is a nulity in law as Ogun state Exco have a binding judgement that protects them against your insinuations. Firstly, all important politicians in the South west were aware of your visit with the national chairman of our great party to see our leaders including senator Ladoja in Ibadan. The itiniery of that visit has been public knowledge since two days ago. Why do you now think I would be looking for you in Abuja I know you are in Ibadan? What gain will looking for you serve me politically when it is you that has been begging senator ben bruce to talk to me to avoid exposing your political deficit in the south west which is now evident. It is ridiculous for you to think that the police and the readers of your petition are foolish enough to think that armed men can come to your house, meet your policeman asleep and then lock him up in the same toilet he miraculously kept a gun and was able to escape through the ceiling where he then supposedly saved the day by shooting up to scare the gun men away after he escaped. Is it even right and professional for a police man to sleep and hide his gun in the toilet? Does that even make sense to You? You don't need to cook up stories against me. We all know the antecedents of all the atrocities of your killer squad while you were governor and all this evidence shall be availed the police in my counter petition. I am well aware that you are planning to kill me before 2019 in your frustrated effort to take my Senate seat which is democratically invisible given the current realities. I wish you the best in your self imposed adversities against God's wish. Senator Kashamu
Western Lotto, brand ambassadors star at Football & Chill Top Nigerian actors including brand ambassadors of Western Lotto would be star guests as a new entertainment platform Football & Chill opens to entertain fans of the beautiful game. They are OdunladeAdekola and the duo of ChineduIkedieze (Aki) and OsitaIheme (Paw Paw). Football & Chill is a social development and social networking initiative aimed at advancing the culture of football in Nigeria. Football & Chill also seeks to foster togetherness by celebrating the game as a unifying factor in a fun-filled, secured and entertaining atmosphere. Football & Chill would feature music, comedy, football and gaming. Western Lotto backs the roll out of the event as an entertainment platform for Nigerians. Speaking on the rationale behind the event, the facilitator of Football & Chill, Mr.AdedejiAlebiosu, said the motive is to create a refreshing football experience for soccer enthusiasts. He said: "The underpinning goal behind this initiative is to buildan exhilarating football experience and also to connect football enthusiasts cut-out from different spheres and circles of influence. "There will be two live matches on the day as well as a novelty match between some of the celebrities for fans to savour the Football & Chill experience." Adedeji said Football &Chill chose to collaborate with Western Lotto because of the innovations the company has brought into lottery and gaming in Nigeria. "Our main goal is to provide entertainment which the Western Lotto brand is all about. "Many of the company's brand ambassadors, including OdunladeAdekola, ChineduIkedieze and OsitaIheme popularly known as 'Aki and Paw Paw, Kemi Afolabi, Paul Obazele and others have put their weight behind this event, and this is key for us. "I am so sure our guests and spectators on this particular day will be thrilled to the fullest. It promises to be fun unlimited," Adedeji said. The Football & Chill experience will hold at the Campos Mini Stadium, Lagos Island on Saturday, August 26 as from 11am.
OGUN PDP PRESS STATEMENT PURPORTED CARETAKER COMMITTEE FOR OGUN STATE IS A NULLITY AND CANNOT STAND The Peoples Democratic Party in Ogun state under leadership has noted with utter dismay, the purported constitution of a laughable and ridiculous caretaker committee for Ogun state PDP despite the several constitutional and legal correspondences to the National Caretaker Committee of our party to act rightly. We are not going to rehash the plethora of such correspondence here because we have done a lot of that in the last few days; which ordinarily should guide the national leadership in taking decisions that are constant with the rule of law especially as it concerns Ogun state, but alas, it has chosen to toe the unfortunate path of illegality and infamy. For us in Ogun PDP, we have travelled this road on two consecutive occasions, 2011 with Abubakar Baraje and 2015 with Adamu Muazu as National chairmen respectively. On both occasions, the NWC refused to follow the rule of law but rather chose to accord recognition to impostors with pretensions to leadership of the party in ogun state, due to lack of courage to follow the law or perhaps by inducement. Despite susbsisting court judgements and status reports from all relevant authorities validating the legitimate executives at those periods, the NWC opted to act contrary to the law. At the end, the rule of law prevailed on both occasions. At the moment, the Senator Ahmed Makarfi NWC acting on the illegal pronouncement of the National convention announced an indefensible dissolution of Ogun PDP executives. We will state for the umpteenth time and for the avoidance of doubt that the National caretaker committee lacks the powers to constitute a caretaker committee for Ogun state [in this instance] because the national convention, despite its apex powers over the party's affairs cannot be supreme to the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria; which through the judgement of a Federal High Court, has legitimised the State executive committee under my chairmanship. We have alerted all relevant authorities of this perfidious act and let it be told those who care to listen that not under our watch shall we allow the rule of law to be bastardized. Not under this regime shall impunity and illegality reign over constitutionality and legality. The action of the National leadership is a nullity and cannot stand the test of justice, equity and fairness. Finally, we wish to state unequivocally and without ambiguity that this third attempt at repudiating the sacrosanct offerings of the rule of law will not stand just like the first two attempt failed. We implore every member of the PDP in Ogun state to go about their regular ward and local government meetings and disregard the latest gambit as nothing but a temporary distraction and big joke from marauders and deviants. We shall surely overcome. Engr Adebayo DAYO State Chairman, Ogun PDP. 24.08.2017 |
WHY OGUN PDP CARETAKER COMMITTEE CAN’T STAND BY SENATOR BURUJI KASHAMU My attention has been drawn to the news of the purported inauguration of a Caretaker Committee for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ogun State by the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led National Caretaker Committee (NCC) and I wish to react as follows: 1. That the action of the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led NCC which derives its legitimacy from the court is not only an affront on the peace-loving leaders and members of our party in Ogun State but a most devastating slap on the judiciary. 2. Apart from being a travesty of justice, the Caretaker Committee is one-sided and made up of ex-Governor Gbenga Daniel’s nominees with the exception of the Chairman. How then could these people be talking of reconciliation and harmonization? Clearly, they are liars and deceivers. 3. Having emerged from validly organized congress which was ratified by the 71st National Executive Committee (NEC), the NCC is aware of the valid and subsisting judgment in favour of the Engr. Adebayo Dayo-led State Executive Committee of the PDP in Suit No. FHC/L/CS/636/2016 which is yet to be appealed, set aside or upturned, yet it chose to continue on the path of impunity and lawlessness. I do not see how these people can reposition the party. They want to compound its problems. 4. The Ogun State PDP Executive under the leadership of Engr. Adebayo Dayo has binding court judgment and orders legitimizing it as the duly and validly elected State Executive until 2020. This clearly allows the Engr. Adebayo Dayo-led executive to remain in office and carry out all its due responsibilities and functions. 5. The mere fact that the National Convention has the powers to dissolve itself or even the party does not give anyone the powers to brush aside valid and subsisting court judgment. 6. The latest order, which was made on the 10th of August, 2017 but received and signed for by the Legal Department on Friday, 11th August, 2017 – a day to the National Convention – is binding on the PDP. 7. It is therefore surprising that the NCC and other organs of the party which are products of the law could encourage illegality and impunity. The fact that they could act in deviance of two subsisting court orders and judgment makes all the decisions taken since the August 12th, 2017 National Convention illegal, null and void. 8. Since the NCC believes in impunity and illegalities, it can continue on the path of ignominy while we continue on the path of the civility and the Rule of Law. At the end of the day, we shall see who would laugh last. 9. From the foregoing, it is safe to say that with or without the recognition of the National Caretaker Committee, the Engr. Adebayo Dayo-led Ogun State PDP Exco will remain in office till 2020. The purported inauguration of the Caretaker Committee for Ogun State cannot stand. It is dead on arrival. 10. I wish to urge all my leaders, elders and supporters to remain calm. Let us continue with our mobilization into the party and reposition ourselves for the challenges ahead. Our detractors are fighting a lost battle. As in the past, all their plots will fail – and abysmally too. We are prepared to test this case up to the Supreme Court and we trust that justice will be done because you cannot build something on nothing. Signed Senator Buruji Kashamu Ogun East Senatorial District 23.08.17
RE: PURPORTED CALL FOR SENATOR KASHAMU'S EXPULSION FROM PDP The attention of the media office of the Senator representing Ogun East Senatorial District, Buruji Kashamu, has been drawn to the purported call for his expulsion from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) by some dissidents who gathered today (Thursday) at the Government House, Ado Ekiti, the Ekiti State capital. We wish to state that the so-called resolution was the brain-child of the Governor of Ekiti State, Mr. Ayo Fayose, who claims to be the Chairman of the South West Reconciliation Committee. Pray, what kind of reconciliation can this cantankerous man deliver? He is not the owner of the PDP. So, he cannot decide who stays or leaves. He tried it last weekend during the National Convention but failed even when Senator Kashamu was not there. We commend to him Article 57 (7) of the Constitution of PDP which states that, “Notwithstanding any other provision relating to discipline, no Executive Committee at any level, except the National Executive Committee, shall entertain any question of discipline as may relate or concern a member of the National Executive Committee, Deputy Governors or members of the National Assembly.” By now, Fayose should have known that Senator Kashamu as his benefactor is too big to be moved by threats of suspension or expulsion. Unlike him, the Senator is a man who has made a name for himself before he ventured into partisan politics. With or without PDP, he will still be relevant in the scheme of things. Let us wait to see what becomes of Fayose after October, 2018 when he leaves office. Until then, we might just ask what was his relevance in the scheme of things between 2006 and 2014? For those who fail to learn, history has a way of repeating itself. Signed Austin Oniyokor Media Adviser to Senator Buruji Kashamu 17/08/2017 |
OGUN PDP PRESS CONFERENCE BEING TEXT OF AN ADDRESS DELIVERED BY THE OGUN PDP STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN, ENGR. ADEBAYO DAYO AT A PRESS CONFERENCE HELD AT THE STATE PARTY SECRETARIAT ON THURSDAY 17TH AUGUST, 2017 PROTOCOLS: 1. Gentlemen of the press, I welcome you all this morning to a briefing that I will prefer to call, 'setting the records straight' as it proposes to indeed separate truth from lies, and also guide all stakeholders within the PDP family and the Media on what is legally feasible and constitutionally obtainable as far as the party is concerned in Ogun state. 2. Since the resolution of the national leadership tussle between Senators Ali Modu Sheriff and Ahmed Makarfi via the judgement of the Supreme Court, a lot of insinuation and wrong inference has been made especially by stakeholders from Ogun state and most unexpectedly, by no less than the media, which ordinarily should be the custodian of verified information. 3. I say this advisedly because we have observed that a section of the media especially in Ogun State erroneously accorded recognition to the dissident group in our party led by Sikirulai Ogundele and Ladi Adebutu. Ogundele was never the chairman of the party because he never emerged from any valid Congress and the fact that he and his collaborators supported Senator Ahmed Makarfi while his tussle with Sheriff lasted cannot confer legitimacy on them in ogun state; especially in the aftermath of the Supreme Court judgement. 4. Having said that, I will proceed to the core of why we are here today. Let me on behalf of the State Executive Committee of the PDP in Ogun state; use this medium to again congratulate the National Caretaker Committee on its victory at the Supreme Court. Like we have said before which the Makarfi Committee had also alluded to, it is victory for all members of our party and also victory for the rule of law. 5. The Ogun State Peoples Democratic Party, under my Chairmanship humbly advise the National Caretaker Committee to avail itself of the provisions of the rule of law and the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as minimum consideration in handling the business of the party especially in the aftermath of Saturday's Special non-elective National Convention. 6. You all will be recall that the protracted crisis between Ahmed Makarfi committee and Ali Modu Sheriff NWC lasted until the Supreme Court judgement decided in a particular direction. It therefore suggests that by being a product of the rule of law, the National caretaker committee should be circumspect and guided by same law in all of its actions, especially as affects state chapters of the party; ogun state particularly. 7. It is on the basis of the above and also on the supremacy of the law, that we REJECT the purported dissolution of Ogun state PDP executives, notwithstanding the powers of the National Convention. Our executive is a creation of the party's extant processes and also of the Law - as guaranteed by the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. 8. We again reiterate for the umpteenth time that the 71st NEC meeting of this party, predating the May 2016 Portharcourt convention, ratified the congresses of 31 states - Ogun state inclusive - to which the Makarfi National caretaker committee had also taken cognizance of in their public utterances (to the effect that they will not revert a previous NEC decision) and also through its letter written to us dated 17th July, 2016. It was also in recognition of our authenticity that the committee listed our delegates for the aborted second Portharcourt convention. 9. We were therefore shocked and dumbfounded at what could be the premise and basis for which Ogun and Osun state executives will be so dissolved at the recently held special non-elective National Convention, whereas, the same convention ratified other 29 states that had been earlier cleared alongside our state. This is selective injustice and we again urge the Makarfi committee not to be used by antidemocratic and desperate elements seeking to have party control in Ogun state and the southwest through the back door. 10. The PDP as an institution despite being an autonomous entity with its distinct constitution still exists under the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria which is the Grundnorm of our corporate existence - Article 1, subsection 2 of the PDP constitution clearly refers. Therefore, we strongly posit that the National Convention CANNOT repudiate a validly constituted state executive which has been further legitimized by the judgement of a Federal High Court that is unappealed as at now - and cannot even be appealed again due to the constitutional lapse of time allowed to do so. 11. The National Caretaker Committee - through the National Convention - cannot appropriate to itself the powers of the Court of Appeal by unilaterally and arbitrarily vitiating the Judgement of a Federal High Court. Rather, the Makarfi committee should have approached the Appeal Court if at all it wants our executive disbanded and of course should the Appelate court sustain or disregard the FHC verdict recognizing us, either of us will then approach the Supreme Court for a final interpretation; just as it happened in the Makarfi committee versus Sheriff NWC scenario. 12. By way of further grounds establishing the congresses that brought us to office, we bought nomination forms from the then NWC, whereas, the dissident group led by Sikirulai Ogundele and Ladi Adebutu had no legitimate forms to conduct a congress. Also, the Alhaji Mohammed El-Yakub National Congress Committee report, INEC status report on our congress and affirmation of our executive and Police/DSS reports are documents that clearly establishes us. 13. More importantly, we approached the court to protect our Congress from the claims of this dissident group. The Federal High Court in suit FHC/LS/636/2016 considered these documents and after arguments from both sides, it was unambiguous in it's judgement recognizing and ordering the PDP NEC, INEC, DSS and the Police to recognize the "Adebayo Dayo executive - which shall act on all affairs of Ogun state PDP until 2020". This judgement and reports of these security agencies have been forwarded to relevant quarters, Makarfi caretaker committee inclusive. 14. Anytime the national leadership fails to comply with the rule of law, it will always run into a cul-de-sac. The Supreme Court could not have given the NWC, NEC or the National Convention the right to disregard due process, court orders or judgments. It cannot encourage anyone or any institution to be above the law. The constitution of the PDP and PDP itself are products of the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Therefore, the non-elective convention conducted on the 12th of August, 2017, with illegal delegates, and the decisions taken at the meeting cannot stand because they were done in defiance of valid court orders and judgments. 15. Chapter 1 (General Provision) Sections 1, 2, and 3 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria says, If any other law (PDP convention decision implied here) is inconsistent with the provisions of this Constitution (the court decision implied here), this Constitution shall prevail. In essence, the court decision in favor of the Ogun State PDP executive under my watch remains sacrosanct 'DE JURE'. 16. To drive it further home, the court judgment in favour of our Executive is binding on the national headquarters of the party and on INEC. It is also binding on the Police and DSS. The judgment has not been set aside and the time of appeal has since lapsed. It therefore means, INEC will never be involved in monitoring any fresh congress in Ogun State, just as the Police and DSS, as responsible institutions, will not want to go against any court order and judgment. Suffice it to say that no caretaker committee can also be set up for Ogun state. 17. Again, on the 19th of January, 2017, the same FHC directed the Police and other security agencies to close down any purported parallel state, local government and ward secretariat of the PDP and arrest the impostors parading themselves as members of the Ogun State PDP Executive except members of the Engr. Adebayo Dayo-led exco. 18. What more, when we learnt that they were taking steps to prevent the authentic Ogun State executive and delegates from attending the 12th August, 2017 National Convention, we approached the Federal High Court, Abuja, for protection and in a ruling delivered on the 10th of August, 2017, the court held, That an order is hereby made granting interim injunction restraining the 1st Defendant by itself, its National Executive Committee, National Caretaker Committee or other national leadership or organ of the party howsoever styled from excluding the authentic delegates of the Ogun State chapter of the PDP including the Plaintiffs from participating in the special non-elective convention of the Peoples Democratic Party scheduled to hold on the 12th August, 2017 or any other date pending the hearing and determination of the motion on notice. 19. It is therefore surprising, despite being served with that fresh order, that the National Caretaker Committee being a product of the rule of law itself could contemplate illegality and impunity. The fact that they acted in deviance of two new subsisting court orders and judgments makes all the decisions they took at the National Convention 'ultra vires' and illegal. We are confident that the Engr. Adebayo executive stays and INEC shall continue to relate with us as stated in its 9th August, 2016 letter to the National Caretaker Committee. Whatever decision taken at the NEC and national convention is of no consequence whatsoever and it is "Brought In Dead" in the face of law. 20. Ladies and gentlemen, for us in Ogun state PDP, there cannot be fresh Congresses until 2020 neither can any caretaker committee be set up for same purpose; Attempting to do so amount to illegality, impunity and contempt of court. Just like the national caretaker committee did till it got its own permanent victory, we are going to fully test this case to the highest level of judicial intervention. In our own thinking, it is the Sikirulai Ogundele impostor group that was dissolved, not us. 21. Surely the national convention and constitution of the PDP cannot be superior to the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. In the meantime, I remain the validly elected, Constitution-backed, INEC-backed, Court-backed Chairman of PDP in Ogun state and should be so regarded. I urge you all not to regard any other proposed contraption they plan to come up with. For now, nothing has changed and the party executives at all levels in Ogun state under my leadership remains constitutionally valid and judicially sacrosanct till 2020. Engr. Adebayo DAYO State Chairman |
PDP crisis: South West, Ogun PDP Excos sue Makarfi, Obi, others * Seek nullification of NEC, Convention resolution The South West Zonal Executive Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has filed a suit before a Federal High Court, Abuja, seeking an order for the nullification of the 75th National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting of the PDP and the ratification or adoption at the special non-elective National Convention of the party held last Saturday. The zonal executive, among other demands, also prayed the court to grant an order nullifying the ratification by and/or affirmative resolution of the convention approving or effecting the dissolution of the PDP South West Executive Committee and the appointment of a South West Zonal Executive Committee in replacement thereof. The suit was filed in the court on behalf of the members of the South West Zonal Executive Committee of the party by its zonal secretary, Chief Pega Otemolu. The suit, FHC/ABJ/732/2017, has the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the PDP, Senators Ahmad Makarfi and Ben Obi, Eddy Olafeso, Bunmi Jenyo and the Inspector-General of Police, as defendants. This is even as the Ogun State chapter of the party under the leadership of Engr. Adebayo Dayo is also praying the same court to set aside its purported dissolution by the National Executive Committee (NEC) and the National Convention. The case with Suit No: FHC/ABJ/CS/701/2017 has Engr. Adebayo Dayo and Alhaji Semiu Sodipo as the first and second plaintiffs who sued for themselves and on behalf of the Ogun State Executive Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The defendants are the PDP and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). According to the suit filed by Otemolu, the PDP deliberately defied and subverted the order and judgment of the Federal High Court in SUIT NO. FHC/L/CS/605/16, delivered on the May 17, 2016 and June 24, 2016 respectively; and also contravened the terms and purpose of the interim order made on August 10, 2017, by the Federal High Court. The plaintiff contended that the PDP violated an order of interim injunction restraining the party from operating in the South West Zone of the party through any committee in which the applicant, Chief Pegba Otemolu and Chief Makanjuola Ogundipe are not members in the capacity of Secretary and Chairman respectively of the South West Zonal Executive Committee of the PDP pending the hearing and determination of the motion on notice. The plaintiff further told the court that the party disobeyed an order of interim injunction restraining the PDP and its officers, organs and delegates from recognizing any harmonization, restructuring or disruption of the PDP Leadership structures in the South West Zone. Listing its prayers to the court, the plaintiff said it is seeking an "An order nullifying the decision taken by the 2nd defendant/respondent (PDP) at its 75th National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting, which took place on the 11th day of August 2017 (and its ratification or adoption at the Special non-elective National Convention of the 2nd Defendant of 12th August) to the effect that the 5th and 6th defendants/respondents (Olafeso and Jenyo) be recognised as Chairman and Secretary of the South West Zonal Executive Committee notwithstanding the order of the Federal High Court made on the 17th day of May 2016 in Suit No. FHC/L/CS/605/2016 nullifying the purported South West Zonal Congress of 14th of May 2016 at which they claim to have been elected and for their inclusion in a Conciliation Committee and/or Executive/Caretaker Committee to usurp the functions and powers of the authentic officers of the South West Executive Committee as confirmed by the judgment of the Federal High Court in the said Suit No. FHC/L/CS/605/2016. "An order nullifying the ratification by and/or affirmative resolution of the Special Non-Elective National Convention of the 2nd defendant/respondent of the 12th day of August 2017 sanctioning, approving or effecting the dissolution of the PDP South West Executive Committee and the appointment of a South West Caretaker Committee in replacement thereof.” In the suit filed by the Ogun State PDP, the plaintiffs are seeking an order nullifying the decision taken by the national leadership of the party at its 75th National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting. Specifically, it is praying the court for “an order nullifying the ratification by and/or affirmative resolution of the Special Non-Elective National Convention of the 1st defendant/respondent of the 12th day of august 2017 sanctioning, approving or effecting the dissolution of the PDP Ogun State Executive Committee and the appointment of a State Caretaker Committee in replacement thereof. “An order nullifying the decision or resolution of the PDP Special Non-Elective National Convention of the 1stdefendant/respondent of 12th August 2017 directing or approving the conduct of a State Congress for the election of new members of the PDP Ogun State Executive Committee. “An order restraining the 1st Defendant from setting up a Caretaker Committee to take over the functions of the Plaintiffs as members of the Executive Committee of the PDP in Ogun State.” The Ogun State chapter of the party is also seeking an order restraining INEC “from supervising any congress in Ogun State or recognizing any congress of the 1stDefendant (PDP) in Ogun State during the subsistence of the tenure of the Plaintiffs as officers of the Ogun State executive committee of the PDP which expires in May 2020.” When the matter came up Tuesday, the court adjourned the matter till the 5th of September, 2017, for the hearing of all pending applications but warned against disobedience of its orders. |
OGUN PDP PRESS STATEMENT NATIONAL CARETAKER COMMITTEE SHOULD BE GUIDED BY THE CONSTITUTION AND RULE OF LAW The Ogun State Peoples Democratic Party, under the progressive leadership of Engr Adebayo DAYO is using this medium to urge Senator Ahmed Makarfi and other members of the National Caretaker Committee to follow the rules of law as a minimum consideration in handling the business of the party especially in the aftermath of today's Special non-elective National Convention. It will be recalled that the protracted national leadership acrimony lasted until the Supreme Court judgement decided in a particular direction. It therefore suggests that the National Caretaker Committee being a product of the rule of law, should be circumspect and guided by the law in all of its actions. Suffice to pungently state that we reject the purported dissolution of Ogun PDP executives. The Ogun state chapter of the PDP under my leadership is a creation of the party's extant processes and also of the Law - as guaranteed by the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Let us state for the umpteenth time that the NEC of this party had ratified the congresses of 31 states, ogun state inclusive - to which the Makarfi committee itself - had also alluded to. We are therefore scandalized at the reason and basis for which Ogun state executive will be so dissolved whereas, the same convention ratified other states that had been earlier cleared alongside our State. The National leadership should not allow itself to be used by antidemocratic and desperate elements in ogun state and the southwest. The PDP as an institution despite being autonomous, still exists under the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria which is the grundnorm of our corporate existence. Therefore, the National caretaker committee cannot repudiate a valid executive that has been further legitimised by the judgement of a federal high court that is unappealed as at now. For us in ogun state PDP and just like the national caretaker committee did till it got it's own permanent victory, we are going to fully test this case to the highest level of judicial intervention. For now, nothing has changed and the party executives at all levels in ogun state under my leadership remains sacrosanct until a superior court states otherwise. Adebayo DAYO State Chairman, Ogun PDP |
KASHAMU VS. FAYOSE, OGD, OMISORE, BODE GEORGE AND THE AMATEURISH LADI ADEBUTU By Senator Buruji Kashamu INTRODUCTION There are rumblings in our beloved Peoples Democratic Party in Ogun State and the South West. Most people do not, however, understand that the issue is essentially one of a contest between individuals interested in the strengthening of PDP as a viable political party that aggregates and caters for the interests of all its members and persons. The South West and Ogun State PDP Executive have a reliable and tested team elected to attend and represent it at the National Convention. I call on our national leaders to avoid the distraction posed by some self-serving persons. Most politicians and political observers are well aware of the political differences between me and Ekiti State Governor, Mr. Ayo Fayose, on the one hand, and former Ogun State Governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel (OGD), on the other hand. The others, such as Chief Iyiola Omisore, Chief Olabode George and the amateurish Ladi Adebutu – are latter day joiners who dread a free and fair competition. In their desperate bid to destroy me, they have resorted to all manner of tricks, intrigues and maneuverings. They have continued to blackmail me and poison the mind of the members of the National Working Committee (NWC), some of our national leaders, past and present governors as well as former ministers, calling me all manner of names. I will continue to fight for the interest of my people in the South West as they are my strength and shield. Without them, I am nothing. Since all my actions are borne out sincerity and singleness of mind, I will continue to put my trust in the Almighty Allah. THIS IS MY SIDE OF THE STORY… The account of events between me and Fayose on the one hand, and OGD on the other hand, are well-known. While they both have Vice-Presidential ambition, Fayose wants to seize the party structure in the South West for future negotiation for his ambition, whereas OGD, who has his eyes on the National Chairmanship position, wants to be in control of Ogun State PDP. I am not the foremost leader of the PDP in the South West. I am just one of the leaders and one of the foot soldiers who have political strikers. If they are sure of themselves, they should limit our fight to the South West. They should not drag our national leaders into the fray. A leader has to be strong and forthright. I cannot stand injustice. I see any act of injustice to any human being as an act of injustice to all of humanity. That is why I am indirectly connected with over 400 cases in various courts across the country. Of the number, only about 10 cases are mine. I cater for the health issues and scholarship of many people and children respectively. Over 6000 people from all walks of life benefit from me in one shape or form every month. I do not have any powers. I derive my strength from the Almighty Allah, His words in the Quran and the underprivileged whose cause I have always fought. I am a loyalist of the PDP and I am loyal to worthy men and women as well as worthy causes. When I stand with people, I don’t betray them. OGD has been looking for ways to take the PDP structure in Ogun State from the grassroots and return it to the years of yore when he held sway and singlehandedly dictated who gets what in the state. Fayose, on the other hand, wants to be the supreme leader of the party in the South West whether by hook or crook. It is common knowledge that the fight between me, Fayose and OGD has been on for some time now. I have tried severally to bury the hatchet and work with them with a view to getting everyone to have a sense of belonging and making the generality of our people to have a say in the scheme of things. But, it has always been a game of lies, deceit and dictatorship. They later got Chief Bode George involved in the scheme. Otunba Iyiola Omisore, a two-time governorship candidate of the PDP in Osun State, wants to remain the sole governorship candidate of our party every four years irrespective of the fact that there are other younger and capable people. Adebutu is a pig seller who does not know his left from his right. Yet, he wants to use the PDP structure to realize his forlorn governorship ambition in 2019. So, all of them team up together and started cooking lies against me at the national headquarters of our party. THEIR PLOT AGAINST THE AUGUST 12TH CONVENTION In the build up to the National Convention and as part of their plots to blackmail me, OGD and his puppets hired one lawyer who filed a case against the PDP. Last Wednesday, they held a meeting in OGD’s Abuja house where they perfected their plot on how to blackmail and implicate me. That was why OGD got his boys to post a report on the social media where they alleged that I was looking for an injunction to stop the convention on Wednesday. They printed the report, got one Sikirulai Ogundele to issue a statement condemning the act and took a copy of the case they orchestrated to purportedly stop the convention. After the meeting in OGD’s house, they went to Chief Bode George’s house who then took them to the National Chairman’s house. At the National Chairman’s house, they fed him with their cooked up stories. But, as a God-fearing man who believes in the Rule of Law and justice, he was circumspect. According to Ladi Adebutu who was later briefed on happenings at the meeting, as the National Chairman saw them off into the compound, the delegation sustained the pressure on him. But, it seemed the National Chairman did not believe them. So, they were not happy and started looking for ways to blackmail him. That same Wednesday, Ladi Adebutu told one of his associates that one of our leaders in the NWC visited OGD twice this week, especially on Wednesday when he went to name his price. He (Ladi) further said that his father had provided the dollars needed to OGD for onward delivery to the leader who had promised them that the State PDP Executives in Ogun and Osun states, including the South West will be given to them without recourse to due process and the subsisting judgments in favour of the excos. Ladi then stated that OGD had taken the money to the NWC member in his house on Thursday morning, and that they were now sure of achieving their aim. Although I see this as a continuation of their cheap blackmail which no one should take seriously, I consider it necessary to bring it to the attention of the public so that they can know these people for who they are. I have also heard that Chief Bode George and some of these characters met last night and their plan is to dissolve the authentic State PDP Executives in Ogun and Osun states. However, as God would have it, I later discovered that the Ogun State as well as the South West PDP Zonal Executives had approached the court and got order to protect themselves and secure their place as the rightful and authentic delegates to participate in the National Convention – a development which negates their evil plot. CONCLUSION I wish to urge all our national leaders not to allow these people to destroy the party in the South West. If they want the party to survive in the South West, they must accommodate everyone. They should not allow one or two people to control the party in the South West. We have many tested, educated and intelligent leaders in the South West. The structure of the PDP in the South West should not be left in the hands of some selfish impostors who cannot mobilize for the party and look for resources to build it, alongside other meaningful leaders in the South West. For instance, during the 2015 elections, one of these people was accused of misappropriating N300 million out of the N500 million meant for the Presidential election. The matter is still with the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC). It is normal for people to disagree. Sometimes such disagreements, especially in a political party, could even shake it to its foundation. But, at the end of the day, it can only make it stronger. It was the laws of the land and our justice system that rescued the party and made it to stand today. We should stop all acts of impunity, lawlessness and illegalities. That is the only way the party can stand the test of time. Below are the court orders that resolved the issues of the authentic delegates to the August 12th, 2017 National Convention from Ogun State, in particular and the South West, in general: Signed Senator Buruji Kashamu Ogun East Senatorial District 11th August, 2017. |
COMMUNIQUE ISSUED AT THE END OF AN EMERGENCY MEETING OF THE AUTHENTIC SOUTH WEST PDP ZONAL LEADERSHIP AND STAKEHOLDERS HELD IN LAGOS TODAY, 8TH AUGUST, 2017. The authentic South West Zonal Executives, leadership and stakeholders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) met today, 8th August, 2017, in Lagos and resolved as follows: 1. We congratulate the National Caretaker Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) under the leadership of His Excellency, Senator Ahmed Makarfi (CON) and other eminent members of the committee on the resolution of the national leadership tussle. 2. We note that the judgment of the apex court is not a victory for anyone but our great party, the Rule of Law and Democracy, in general. 3. We also commend the National leadership of our party under the able leadership of Senator Makarfi for the maturity and candour displayed so far in the handling of party matters since the July 12, 2017 judgment of the Supreme Court. 4. We note that the National Chairman has said no member of the party would be victimized or punished for supporting anyone before the apex court delivered its final judgment. 5. We observed with grave concern the activities of some impostors and errand boys parading themselves as members of the South West Zonal Executives of the PDP. 6. These people – Eddy Olafeso, Bunmi Jenyo and others are products of a contraption which has since been nullified by the Federal High Court, Lagos, in Suit No. FHC/L/CS/605/2016. 7. In a ruling delivered on the 17th of May, 2016, the court expressly nullified the jamboree held in Akure hosted by the then Governor of Ondo State, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko and co-hosted by his Ekiti State counterpart, Mr. Ayo Fayose, to the exclusion of the authentic and statutory delegates from Lagos, Ogun, Oyo and Osun states. This was the beginning of what snowballed into a full blown crisis that went up to the national level. Till date, the order has neither been set aside nor upturned on appeal. (See attached order marked PDP 1) 8. We further note that in a final judgment delivered on the 24th of June, 2016, the court categorically stated that our tenure ends in October, 2018, having been elected at a special zonal congress held on the 11th of October, 2014 in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital. (See attached judgment/order marked PDP 2). 9. Therefore, the South West Zonal Executives of the PDP under the able leadership of Chief Makanjuola Ogundipe, who was Fayose’s nominee at the South West Zonal Congress, held on the 11th of October, 2014, remains the ONLY validly elected and judicially sanctioned leadership of the party in the zone. 10. The authentic zonal leadership also notes with concern the attempt by some persons to continue to fan the embers of discord within our party in the South West. 11. We unequivocally condemn the hostile, authoritarian and destabilizing activities of Ekiti State Governor, Ayo Fayose and demand that he should be called to order before he sounds the death knell on the party in the South West. 12. The authentic zonal leadership and stakeholders hereby declares Fayose a persona non grata and dissociate the zone from his activities. 13. We resolved further that henceforth the national leadership of our party should desist from relating with him as it regards the South West zone, just as the authentic leadership of the party in the zone and Ekiti State are directed to desist from dealing with Fayose in any capacity until further notice. 14. It is hereby resolved that a special committee be set up at the zonal and national level to continue to mobilize people into the PDP, just as we would continue to reach out and appeal to all those who had left the party as a result of the high-handedness and intolerant activities of Fayose and his cohorts, form the South West zone. Signed: Chief Makanjuola Ogundipe, Zonal Vice-Chairman, PDP, South West. Chief Pegba Otemolu, Zonal Secretary, PDP, South West.
Fayose, a persona non grata, says Kashamu The Senator representing Ogun East Senatorial District, Buruji Kashamu, has declared Ekiti State Governor Ayo Fayose as "a persona non grata and unfit among reasonable and right-thinking members of the society". Kashamu, in a statement he issued today (Monday) in response to Fayose who was said to have declared him a persona non grata in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital. The senator said Fayose should be ignored by the people of the Southwest. He described those who met in Ibadan as “some impostors parading themselves as leaders and the Southwest zonal executives of our party”. The senator said: “Although I know that he lacks the wherewithal to pull through his wishes, let me quickly state that I am not afraid of any expulsion. I am a man whom the Almighty Allah has blessed and who has made a name before I joined politics. And I will continue to be relevant, in and out of party politics. “The truth is: besides the illegality of their so-called resolutions, I do not need the association of Fayose and his cohorts. It is Fayose and his gang that should be avoided by our people. They should run from him for his ignoble role in the N13.5 billion arms funds scandal and for setting our party and region on a collision course with the rest of the country. He has since been declared a persona non grata and unfit among reasonable and right-thinking members of the society. “The purported resolutions against me by these political harlots are at best a comic-relief of no consequence whatsoever. Fayose and his lackeys are better known for their duplicitous flirtations which borders on the politics of bread and butter. They are a hungry lot who are ruled and blindfolded by inordinate ambition. “Besides, their action shows that Fayose and his minions are either strangers in the party or ignorant of the party’s Constitution, or both. Otherwise, they would have known that Article 57 (7) of the Constitution of PDP states, ‘Notwithstanding any other provision relating to discipline, no Executive Committee at any level, except the National Executive Committee, shall entertain any question of discipline as may relate or concern a member of the National Executive Committee, Deputy Governors or members of the National Assembly.’ “The illegal group being promoted by Fayose through Olafeso and Jenyo are contemnors who will soon face the consequences of their actions; except reason and justice prevail.” The senator went on: “In a ruling delivered in Suit No. FHC/L/CS/605/2016 on the 17th of May, 2016, the Federal High Court, Lagos, specifically nullified the jamboree they held in Akure which they called the South West Zonal Congress. Till date, the order has neither been set aside nor upturned on appeal. “Ordinarily, I would not have dignified Fayose with a response since everybody knows him as a depressed loudmouth who is suffering from what the legendary Chief Gani Fawehinmi would describe as ‘mouth diarrhoea’. He is nothing but an opportunist and a political scavenger whose night time will soon come. “Fayose drove out people he called pro-Sheriff from a PDP meeting and maligned me. I am not the least surprised. He has done it to many of his benefactors like me and I won’t be the last. “He wants to be the ‘alpha and omega’ of the PDP in the South West, whether by hook or crook. But he forgets that leadership is not compelled; it is earned. And he does not have what it takes to lead the PDP even in Ekiti State, let alone the South West. For now, he can only aspire and pretend to the leadership. In a couple of months, the Pharaoh that we see today, we shall him no more. “I wish to urge our teeming supporters and respectable leaders and elders in the South West PDP not to be dismayed by Fayose’s threats and antics. It is an empty barrel that makes the loudest noise. Sooner than later, water will find its level and men will be separated from the boys.”
RE: FAYOSE, HIS ILLEGALITIES AND SOUTH WEST PDP INTRODUCTION Let me begin by commending the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led National Caretaker Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the maturity and candour with which it has conducted party affairs since the Supreme Court delivered its verdict on the national leadership tussle. It should be recalled that in my congratulatory message to the national leadership of our party, I said how it handles party issues and manage the victory, going forward, would go a long way in determining its success or otherwise. THE ISSUE My attention has been drawn to a purported South West PDP leaders’ meeting held today, 7th August, 2017 in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital under the guidance of some impostors parading themselves as the South West Zonal Executives of our party. This came just as I was inundated with calls on the publication of the names of one Eddy Olafeso and a certain Bunmi Jenyo as members of standing and sub-committees for the national convention. In the publication, Olafeso and Jenyo were named as Vice-Chairman and Secretary of the PDP in the South West. At the Ibadan gathering, Ekiti State Governor, Mr. Ayo Fayose took the stage and used it as a platform to launch all manner of attacks against my person. He purportedly spoke of plans to expel me from the party. He did not stop at that, he sent out leaders and members of the party whom he accused of being “Sheriff’s people”. Not satisfied and apparently realizing his incapacity, he goaded the meetinginto reaching some laughable decisions wherein they would purportedly desist from dealing with me at both the zonal or state level. Although I know that he lacks the wherewithal to pull through his wishes, let me quickly state that I am not afraid of any expulsion. I am a man whom the Almighty Allah has blessed and who has made a name before I joined politics. And I will continue to be relevant, in and out of party politics. The truth is: besides the illegality of their so-called resolutions, I do not need the association of Fayose and his cohorts. It is Fayose and his gang that should be avoided by our people. They should run from him for his ignoble role in the N13.5 billion arms funds scandal and for setting our party and region on a collision course with the rest of the country. He has since been declared a persona non grata and unfit among reasonable and right-thinking members of the society. The purported resolutions against me by these political harlots are at best a comic-relief of no consequence whatsoever. Fayose and his lackeys are better known for their duplicitous flirtations which borders on the politics of bread and butter. They are a hungry lot who are ruled and blindfolded by inordinate ambition. Besides, their action shows that Fayose and his minions are either strangers in the party or ignorant of the party’s Constitution, or both. Otherwise, they would have known that Article 57 (7) of the Constitution of PDP states, “Notwithstanding any other provision relating to discipline, no Executive Committee at any level, except the National Executive Com mittee, shall entertain any question of discipline as may relate or concern a member of the National Executive Committee, Deputy Governors or members of the National Assembly.” The illegal group being promoted by Fayose through Olafeso and Jenyo are contemnors who will soon face the consequences of their actions; except reason and justice prevail. In a ruling delivered in Suit No. FHC/L/CS/605/2016 on the 17th of May, 2016, the Federal High Court, Lagos, specifically nullified the jamboree they held in Akure which they called the South West Zonal Congress. Till date, the order has neither been set aside nor upturned on appeal. The court said, “That an order is granted nullifying the South West congress conducted on the 14th of May, 2016 in Akure, which was so conducted in defiance of the order of this court made in this action on the 11th of May 2016 restraining the 2nd, 3rd and 4thDefendants from conducting or permitting or recognizing any election into the offices of the South West Zonal Executive Committee pending the hearing and determination of the Originating Summons…Everything built on actions in defiance of a court order is a nullity.” (See Annexure SW/PDP 1) Furthermore, in a final judgment delivered on the court categorically stated, “That an order is granted to the Plaintiff restraining the 2nd, 3rd and 4thDefendants from conducting or permitting or recognizing any election into the offices of the South West Zonal Executive Committee until October, 2018, when the four years term of the current officers, including the Plaintiff would have been spent. “That an order is granted to the Plaintiff directing the 1st Defendant not to recognize any other persons apart from the current officers of the South West Zonal Executive Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party as set out in the result sheet for Zonal Congress for election of Zonal Executive members dated the 11th of October, 2014 until their four year term expires in October, 2018.” (See Annexure SW/PDP 2) Now, the background to the judicial intervention was that Fayose and his gang of delinquents sought to truncate the four year tenure of the Chief Makanjuola Ogundipe-led Zonal Executive Committee in the build up to the 2016 National Convention. What is more, as at the time they allegedly held what they called the zonal congress on the 14th of May, 2016, it was common knowledge that the congresses in Lagos, Oyo and Osun states were still being disputed. Those who attended from Ogun State were not the authentic delegates under the leadership of the State Chairman, Engr. Adebayo Dayo. In essence, the kangaroo zonal congress was conducted by delegates from just Ondo and Ekiti states. ON FAYOSE’S TANTRUMS Ordinarily, I would not have dignified Fayose with a response since everybody knows him as a depressed loudmouth who is suffering from what the legendary Chief Gani Fawehinmi would describe as “mouth diarrhoea”. He is nothing but an opportunist and a political scavenger whose night time will soon come. Fayose drove out people he called pro-Sheriff from a PDP meeting and maligned me. I am not the least surprised. He has done it to many of his benefactors like me and I won’t be the last. He wants to be the “alpha and omega” of the PDP in the South West, whether by hook or crook. But he forgets that leadership is not compelled; it is earned. And he does not have what it takes to lead the PDP even in Ekiti State, let alone the South West. For now, he can only aspire and pretend to the leadership. In a couple of months, the Pharaoh that we see today, we shall him no more. CONCLUSION I wish to urge our teeming supporters and respectable leaders and elders in the South West PDP not to be dismayed by Fayose’s threats and antics. It is an empty barrel that makes the loudest noise. Sooner than later, water will find its level and men will be separated from the boys. And like I said in my congratulatory message to the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led National Caretaker Committee on its victory, the national leadership of our party has a duty to be forthright and strong. It must respect and uphold the Rule of Law – the very principle that sustained it in office. Anything short of this would be an invitation to impunity and lawlessness which cannot stand. The authentic and recognized South West Zonal Exco is the one led by Chief Makanjuola Ogundipe which the court has affirmed. Signed Senator Buruji Kashamu Ogun East Senatorial District 7th August, 2017
Ijebu North local government receives Ogun East PDP delegation In continuation of the on going tour of the 9 Local Government Areas in Ogun East Senatorial District, the Hon. Daisi Akintan-led Ogun East PDP Exco, on Friday, 4th of August, 2017 paid a visit to Ijebu North Local Government Area to address members of the party on the latest development in the party. The party chairperson in the Local Government Area, Chief (Mrs) Olatuke Omotara welcomed members, leaders, elders and elective officers of the party to the meeting and also thanked them for turning out in large numbers despite the heavy downpour. In his speech, the Ogun East PDP chairman, Hon. Daisi Akintan, thanked everyone present at the meeting for their patience and endurance and also commended them for believing in the party. Speaking further, Akintan urged party members not to worry themselves about the rumour making the rounds on who is in charge of the party in the state. He assured the gathering that Engineer Adebayo Adedayo is the authentic Ogun PDP chairman as ratified by the Senator Ahmed Makarfi- led National caretaker committee at the last Peoples Democratic Party stakeholders meeting in Abuja. Speaking on the occasion, the Honourable representing Ijebu North /Ijebu East / Ogun waterside Federal constituency at the green chamber, Hon. Abdul Majid Adesegun Adekoya(Attacker) said he believed in the leadership of Engr. Bayo, saying the Sen.Ahmed Makarfi led caretaker committee endorsed Engr. Adebayo as the authentic Ogun PDP chairman at the last National working committee meeting in Abuja. He commended the effort of Senator Prince Buruji Kashamu in making live more abundant for the people of Ogun East Senatorial District through the provision of infrastructural facilities across the senatorial zone. Adekoya said: "He (Senator Kashamu) has touched all the Local Governments in Ogun East and he is not relenting in bringing more dividends of democracy to the people. I want to assure the people of my constituency that I shall donate transformers to communities that are in need of transformers very soon, I shall also provide boreholes to areas like Atikori, Oru, Ajegunle and Ago Iwoye". In his address, the elated Ogun PDP Chairman, Engineer Bayo expressed delight with the impressive turn-out of members to the meeting. He notified the people about the coming non-elective congress, he also assured the people that the Supreme court judgment has nothing to do with Ogun PDP. In attendance were the vice chairman of Omoilu Foundation, Alhaji Bamidele Idris, the Ogun State Coordinator of Omoilu Foundation, Otunba Leke Shittu, the Ogun East senatorial women leader, Alhaja Irorun Akibu, Hon. Bowale Solaja, Hon. Akintunde Folarin, the administrative secretary of Omoilu Foundation, Chief Suraju Adeleye and Engr. Oluyemi Abiodun. Other included Chief Kayode Azeez, Chief Kolawole Adebayo, Hon Olowu Adesanya, Hon. Tajudeen Adebayo, Mr. Kayode Ogunyemi, Reverend Olusola Salau, Hon. Kayode Ogunyemi Mr. Adeniyi Sylvester, Mrs. Josephine Makanjuola among others. |
Senator Kashamu sponsors five bills - Daily Trust Former Governors Ahmed Sani Yarima (APC, Zamfara), George Akume (APC, Benue), Danjuma Goje (APC, Gombe), Jonah Jang (PDP, Plateau) and Bukar Abba Ibrahim (APC, Yobe) are among the senators without a single bill to their names in the last two years. Other senators in this league are former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Bayero Nafada (APC, Gombe), Muhammed Sabo (APC, Jigawa), Mustapha Sani (APC, Niger), Yele Omogunwa (APC, Ondo), Jeremiah Useni (PDP, Plateau) and Ibrahim Abdullahi (APC, Sokoto). Official record from June 2015 to July 2016 showed that 16 out of the 108 Senators (Anambra vacant) are yet to have a bill to their names, less than 23 months to the expiration of their tenure. The list of senators who didn't sponsor a single bill dropped from 28 in June, 2016 to 16 this year as the likes of Senate President Bukola Saraki (APC, Kwara), his predecessor David Mark (PDP, Benue), and the Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu (PDP, Enugu) have now presented one each. Saraki's bill on the establishment of the Nigerian Academy of Science was passed on July 5, 2017, while Mark's on the establishment of the Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo had scaled through first reading on June 13, this year. The Senate is so far considering 552 draft laws since the inauguration of the 8th Assembly on June 9, 2015. The three senators from Rivers State who were sworn-in December 15, 2016, namely George Sekibo (PDP), Magnus Abe (APC) and Osinakachukwu Ideozu (PDP) had zero bills. Others in this group are Shuaibu Lau (PDP, Taraba North) and Senator Ademola Adeleke (PDP, Osun) who were sworn in July, this year, days before the federal lawmakers embarked on their annual recess. The review showed that only 33 of the senators had some of their bills passed with Ali Ndume (APC, Borno) topping the list with 47 bills, according to official documents analysed by Daily Trust. Aside from having the highest number of bills passed, Ndume who was the Senate Leader until January this year topped the chart of bills sponsorship with 64 bills. Ndume is serving a 6-month suspension slammed on him by the upper chamber. In terms of sponsorship of bills, next to Ndume was the Deputy Leader, Bala Ibn Na'Allah (APC, Kebbi) who had 19 bills, followed by Adeola Olamilekan (APC, Lagos) 16 and Andy Uba (APC, Anambra) with 15 bills. Stella Odua (PDP, Anambra), Dino Melaye (APC, Kogi), and Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan (APC, Yobe) have 14 bills each. Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano) and Biodun Olujimi (PDP, Ekiti) had 13 bills each, followed by Babajide Omoworare (APC, Osun) who sponsored 12 bills. Former Anambra State Governor Theodore Orji (PDP, Abia), Mao Ohuabunwa (PDP, Abia), and Obinna Ogba (PDP, Ebonyi) sponsored 11 bills each. While Isah Misau (APC, Bauchi) and Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) have 10 bills each, the trio of Ben Murray-Bruce (PDP, Bayelsa), Umaru Kurfi (APC, Katsina) and David Umaru (APC, Niger) sponsored nine bills each. Ekweremadu who had no bill last year has eight bills now, while Ibrahim Gobir (APC, Sokoto) also has eight bills. Senators Samuel Egwu (PDP, Ebony), Shehu Sani (APC, Kaduna), Abdullahi Adamu (APC, Nasarawa), Olarenwaju Tejuosho (APC, Ogun), Buhari Abdulfatai (APC, Oyo) and Adesoji Akanbi (APC, Oyo) sponsored seven bills each. Others with seven bills are Barnabas Gemade (APC, Benue), Rose Oko (PDP, Cross River), Francis Alimikhena (APC, Edo), Matthew Urhoghide (PDP, Edo), Chukuwuka Utazi (PDP, Enugu), Hope Uzodinma (PDP, Imo), Kabiru Gaya (APC, Kano), Olugbenga Ashafa (APC, Lagos) and Tijjani Yahaya Kaura (APC, Zamfara). Those with five bills each are: Aliyu Wamakko (APC, Sokoto), John Enoh (PDP, Cross River), Peter Nwaboshi (PDP, Delta), Gilbert Nnaji (PDP, Enugu), Samuel Anyanwu (PDP, Imo), Buruji Kashamu (PDP, Ogun), Robert Boroffice (APC, Ondo), Rafiu Ibrahim (APC, Kwara) and Joshua Dariye(APC, Plateau). The senators with four bills are Nelson Effiong (APC, Akwa Ibom), Suleiman Nazif (APC, Bauchi), Ovie Omo-Agege (APC, Delta), Duro Faseyi (PDP, Ekiti), Joshua Lidani (PDP, Gombe), Bukar Mustapha (APC, Katsina), Shaaba Lafiagi (APC, Kwara) and Oluremi Tinubu (APC, Lagos). Senators Ali Wakili (APC, Bauchi), Baba Kaka Bashir Garbai (APC, Borno), Bassey Albert Akpan (PDP, Akwa Ibom), Clifford Ordia (PDP, Edo), Muhammad Shitu (APC, Jigawa), Abu Ibrahim (APC, Katsina), Adamu Aliero (APC, Kebbi), Ali Sabi Abdullahi (APC, Niger), Gbolahan Dada (APC, Ogun), Tayo Alasoadura (APC, Ondo), Monsurat Sunmonu (APC, Oyo) and Muhammed Hassan (PDP, Yobe) had sponsored three bills each. Lawmakers with two bills are: Abdul Aziz Nyako (APC, Adamawa), Ahmad Abubakar (APC, Adamawa), Godswill Akpabio (PDP, Akwa Ibom), Foster Ogola (PDP, Bayelsa), James Manager (PDP, Delta), Fatima Raji-Razaki (PDP, Ekiti), Abubakar Gumel (APC, Jigawa), Danjuma La'ah (PDP, Kaduna), Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (APC, Kano), Ahmed Ogembe (PDP, Kogi), Olusola Adeyeye (APC, Osun), Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP, Taraba) and Kabir Marafa (APC, Zamfara). The review showed that Saraki, Mark, Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP, Abia), Binta Masi Garba (APC, Adamawa), Paulker Emmanuel (PDP, Bayelsa), Abubakar Kyari (APC, Borno), Gershom Bassey (PDP, Cross River), Sonni Ogbuoji (PDP, Ebonyi), Benjamin Uwajumogu (APC, Imo), Suleiman Hunkuyi (APC, Kaduna), Yahaya Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi), Atai Aidoko Usman (PDP, Kogi), Philip Gyunka (PDP, Nasarawa), Suleiman Adokwe (PDP, Nasarawa), and Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf (APC, Taraba) sponsored one bill each. Bills not qualitative -Civil society The Executive Director, Friends in the Gap Advocacy Initiative (FGAI), Chief George Oji said, unlike in the present assembly, bills and motions were thorough, painstakingly researched, debated and presented in most robust manner. He noted that the 8th National Assembly has “a very intimidating credential” so far “with a total of 96 bills and 72 motions to the credit of the senate and 126 bills in the House of Representatives during the first half of their four-year tenure.” "However, when compared with the content and quality of the bills and motions passed by the present 8th session viz-a-viz the ones undertaken by the previous sessions, the advantage of number easily disappears into insignificance,” he said. “This is, of course, a reflection of the calibre and quality of the elected representatives in the National Assembly then. It is doubtful if the same can be said of the present lawmakers,” he said. He said in the current parliament, the role of the opposition lawmakers appears not to be very well defined but rather fused with the majority ruling party. Why Ndume got highest bills - Garbai Speaking, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Rules and Business, Garbai said Ndume had the highest bills because he was the Senate leader for about two years. “All the bills that are coming to the Senate from the House for concurrence come in the name of the leader. Also, all the bills from the executive are in his name. This is because of the position he occupied," he said. On the Senate president, Garbai said, “Our rules allow the presiding officers to sponsor bills but since 1999, no Senate president has done so. It's in the House that Ghali Umar Na'Abba sponsored bills and now Speaker Yakubu Dogara has done so with his bill on the North East Development Commission." Explaining the procedures for sponsorship of bills, he said, "the sponsor writes to the Senate President, then we write to the National Institute for Legislative Studies (NILS), they will analyze it and make an input. After this, they will send it back to us; we will then send it for gazetting. “After it is gazetted, we will list it for first reading, then the sponsor would be asked to submit his lead debate, then the bill would be listed for second reading. If it scales through, it would be referred to relevant committee. The committee will organize a public hearing for stakeholders to make an input. "Then the committee report on the bill would be laid, considered during a committee of the whole. If it is passed, it would be sent to House for concurrence. Then, it would be sent to the legal unit of the National Assembly. After this, it would be sent to the President,he said.
Senator Kashamu sponsors five bills - Daily Trust Former Governors Ahmed Sani Yarima (APC, Zamfara), George Akume (APC, Benue), Danjuma Goje (APC, Gombe), Jonah Jang (PDP, Plateau) and Bukar Abba Ibrahim (APC, Yobe) are among the senators without a single bill to their names in the last two years. Other senators in this league are former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Bayero Nafada (APC, Gombe), Muhammed Sabo (APC, Jigawa), Mustapha Sani (APC, Niger), Yele Omogunwa (APC, Ondo), Jeremiah Useni (PDP, Plateau) and Ibrahim Abdullahi (APC, Sokoto). Official record from June 2015 to July 2016 showed that 16 out of the 108 Senators (Anambra vacant) are yet to have a bill to their names, less than 23 months to the expiration of their tenure. The list of senators who didn't sponsor a single bill dropped from 28 in June, 2016 to 16 this year as the likes of Senate President Bukola Saraki (APC, Kwara), his predecessor David Mark (PDP, Benue), and the Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu (PDP, Enugu) have now presented one each. Saraki's bill on the establishment of the Nigerian Academy of Science was passed on July 5, 2017, while Mark's on the establishment of the Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo had scaled through first reading on June 13, this year. The Senate is so far considering 552 draft laws since the inauguration of the 8th Assembly on June 9, 2015. The three senators from Rivers State who were sworn-in December 15, 2016, namely George Sekibo (PDP), Magnus Abe (APC) and Osinakachukwu Ideozu (PDP) had zero bills. Others in this group are Shuaibu Lau (PDP, Taraba North) and Senator Ademola Adeleke (PDP, Osun) who were sworn in July, this year, days before the federal lawmakers embarked on their annual recess. The review showed that only 33 of the senators had some of their bills passed with Ali Ndume (APC, Borno) topping the list with 47 bills, according to official documents analysed by Daily Trust. Aside from having the highest number of bills passed, Ndume who was the Senate Leader until January this year topped the chart of bills sponsorship with 64 bills. Ndume is serving a 6-month suspension slammed on him by the upper chamber. In terms of sponsorship of bills, next to Ndume was the Deputy Leader, Bala Ibn Na'Allah (APC, Kebbi) who had 19 bills, followed by Adeola Olamilekan (APC, Lagos) 16 and Andy Uba (APC, Anambra) with 15 bills. Stella Odua (PDP, Anambra), Dino Melaye (APC, Kogi), and Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan (APC, Yobe) have 14 bills each. Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano) and Biodun Olujimi (PDP, Ekiti) had 13 bills each, followed by Babajide Omoworare (APC, Osun) who sponsored 12 bills. Former Anambra State Governor Theodore Orji (PDP, Abia), Mao Ohuabunwa (PDP, Abia), and Obinna Ogba (PDP, Ebonyi) sponsored 11 bills each. While Isah Misau (APC, Bauchi) and Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) have 10 bills each, the trio of Ben Murray-Bruce (PDP, Bayelsa), Umaru Kurfi (APC, Katsina) and David Umaru (APC, Niger) sponsored nine bills each. Ekweremadu who had no bill last year has eight bills now, while Ibrahim Gobir (APC, Sokoto) also has eight bills. Senators Samuel Egwu (PDP, Ebony), Shehu Sani (APC, Kaduna), Abdullahi Adamu (APC, Nasarawa), Olarenwaju Tejuosho (APC, Ogun), Buhari Abdulfatai (APC, Oyo) and Adesoji Akanbi (APC, Oyo) sponsored seven bills each. Others with seven bills are Barnabas Gemade (APC, Benue), Rose Oko (PDP, Cross River), Francis Alimikhena (APC, Edo), Matthew Urhoghide (PDP, Edo), Chukuwuka Utazi (PDP, Enugu), Hope Uzodinma (PDP, Imo), Kabiru Gaya (APC, Kano), Olugbenga Ashafa (APC, Lagos) and Tijjani Yahaya Kaura (APC, Zamfara). Those with five bills each are: Aliyu Wamakko (APC, Sokoto), John Enoh (PDP, Cross River), Peter Nwaboshi (PDP, Delta), Gilbert Nnaji (PDP, Enugu), Samuel Anyanwu (PDP, Imo), Buruji Kashamu (PDP, Ogun), Robert Boroffice (APC, Ondo), Rafiu Ibrahim (APC, Kwara) and Joshua Dariye(APC, Plateau). The senators with four bills are Nelson Effiong (APC, Akwa Ibom), Suleiman Nazif (APC, Bauchi), Ovie Omo-Agege (APC, Delta), Duro Faseyi (PDP, Ekiti), Joshua Lidani (PDP, Gombe), Bukar Mustapha (APC, Katsina), Shaaba Lafiagi (APC, Kwara) and Oluremi Tinubu (APC, Lagos). Senators Ali Wakili (APC, Bauchi), Baba Kaka Bashir Garbai (APC, Borno), Bassey Albert Akpan (PDP, Akwa Ibom), Clifford Ordia (PDP, Edo), Muhammad Shitu (APC, Jigawa), Abu Ibrahim (APC, Katsina), Adamu Aliero (APC, Kebbi), Ali Sabi Abdullahi (APC, Niger), Gbolahan Dada (APC, Ogun), Tayo Alasoadura (APC, Ondo), Monsurat Sunmonu (APC, Oyo) and Muhammed Hassan (PDP, Yobe) had sponsored three bills each. Lawmakers with two bills are: Abdul Aziz Nyako (APC, Adamawa), Ahmad Abubakar (APC, Adamawa), Godswill Akpabio (PDP, Akwa Ibom), Foster Ogola (PDP, Bayelsa), James Manager (PDP, Delta), Fatima Raji-Razaki (PDP, Ekiti), Abubakar Gumel (APC, Jigawa), Danjuma La'ah (PDP, Kaduna), Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (APC, Kano), Ahmed Ogembe (PDP, Kogi), Olusola Adeyeye (APC, Osun), Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP, Taraba) and Kabir Marafa (APC, Zamfara). The review showed that Saraki, Mark, Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP, Abia), Binta Masi Garba (APC, Adamawa), Paulker Emmanuel (PDP, Bayelsa), Abubakar Kyari (APC, Borno), Gershom Bassey (PDP, Cross River), Sonni Ogbuoji (PDP, Ebonyi), Benjamin Uwajumogu (APC, Imo), Suleiman Hunkuyi (APC, Kaduna), Yahaya Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi), Atai Aidoko Usman (PDP, Kogi), Philip Gyunka (PDP, Nasarawa), Suleiman Adokwe (PDP, Nasarawa), and Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf (APC, Taraba) sponsored one bill each. Bills not qualitative -Civil society The Executive Director, Friends in the Gap Advocacy Initiative (FGAI), Chief George Oji said, unlike in the present assembly, bills and motions were thorough, painstakingly researched, debated and presented in most robust manner. He noted that the 8th National Assembly has “a very intimidating credential” so far “with a total of 96 bills and 72 motions to the credit of the senate and 126 bills in the House of Representatives during the first half of their four-year tenure.” "However, when compared with the content and quality of the bills and motions passed by the present 8th session viz-a-viz the ones undertaken by the previous sessions, the advantage of number easily disappears into insignificance,” he said. “This is, of course, a reflection of the calibre and quality of the elected representatives in the National Assembly then. It is doubtful if the same can be said of the present lawmakers,” he said. He said in the current parliament, the role of the opposition lawmakers appears not to be very well defined but rather fused with the majority ruling party. Why Ndume got highest bills - Garbai Speaking, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Rules and Business, Garbai said Ndume had the highest bills because he was the Senate leader for about two years. “All the bills that are coming to the Senate from the House for concurrence come in the name of the leader. Also, all the bills from the executive are in his name. This is because of the position he occupied," he said. On the Senate president, Garbai said, “Our rules allow the presiding officers to sponsor bills but since 1999, no Senate president has done so. It's in the House that Ghali Umar Na'Abba sponsored bills and now Speaker Yakubu Dogara has done so with his bill on the North East Development Commission." Explaining the procedures for sponsorship of bills, he said, "the sponsor writes to the Senate President, then we write to the National Institute for Legislative Studies (NILS), they will analyze it and make an input. After this, they will send it back to us; we will then send it for gazetting. “After it is gazetted, we will list it for first reading, then the sponsor would be asked to submit his lead debate, then the bill would be listed for second reading. If it scales through, it would be referred to relevant committee. The committee will organize a public hearing for stakeholders to make an input. "Then the committee report on the bill would be laid, considered during a committee of the whole. If it is passed, it would be sent to House for concurrence. Then, it would be sent to the legal unit of the National Assembly. After this, it would be sent to the President for assent.
AFTERMATH OF SUPREME COURT RULING AND NEC MEETING: MATTERS ARISING AND MY ADVICE TO THE YOUTHS OF OGUN PDP We all recall that for about fourteen months, there was deep division in our party as it concerns the national leadership of the PDP. The two consecutive conventions which held in Portharcourt last year did not resolve the impasse as both Senator Ali Modu Sheriff and Senator Ahmed Makarfi laid claim to the leadership, not until the Supreme Court, in its own wisdom, ruled in favour of Makarfi. Let me again use this medium to congratulate Senator Ahmed Makarfi and his committee members for the landmark judgement. A lot of commentary has greeted the Apex court decision, and whether it was sound in logic and points of law or otherwise, every party member who loves PDP must abide by it. It is important again to say very quickly that, both men are respected leaders of the Party having both served as two-term governors of their states and also as senators in the National Assembly. Their wealth of experience will always be needed to rebuild this party going forward. To that effect, the judgement of the Apex court is victory for all, in a case of no victor, no vanquished. The PDP has also proven to be a party with rules and order; and should such order be compromised, it will be tested to the full length of the law. I must state however that, while the tussle lasted between Makarfi and Sheriff, I related with both men, whether it be Sheriff’s National Working Committee or Makarfi’s National Caretaker Committee. I exchanged correspondences with both leaderships at various times. I attended several meetings called by both leaderships at their instances and in my capacity as the chairman of the party in ogun state. The decision by Ogun PDP under my leadership, to relate with both men stemmed out of our belief that at some point, a political solution will either prevail or a landmark judicial pronouncement will halt the crisis; the latter being the case. Therefore, it makes no difference the direction the judgment favoured as it was purely a national leadership tussle that has no bearing with state chapters of the party, and all we needed to do is to align and that we have done to recognize Makarfi. I returned from Abuja last night after appreciable participation in the NEC meeting and other significant layers of meeting with the national leadership. Without unduly rehashing what has been eloquently said by some people while I was away, it is pertinent I make some clarifications that are fundamental to ogun state. One of the resolutions of the NEC meeting was that it approved all congresses conducted before the Porthacourt conventions with the exception of those states with caretaker committees that were set up after the victory of Senator Ali Modu-Sheriff at the Appeal Court. It therefore infers that nothing has changed the status quo in ogun PDP as the party remains under the control of the state executive which I humbly chair. Whatever were the sound-bites that happened at the just concluded NEC meeting in Abuja which may have been mischievously twisted and reported by the dissident group, is nothing but the usual pranks of Ladi Adebutu and Sikirulai Ogundele. They merely repeated the same script they acted at Porthacourt the last time out. As it is now constant with their character and in alliance with Fayose, they relied on the forged/inaccurate accreditation list used at that convention in May 2016 to grant access into the NEC meeting of July 2017. I vehemently challenged that fraud – despite near-physical assault and intimidation by Ladi Adebutu’s thugs – to a logical conclusion (with all relevant documents). This prevented Sikirulai Ogundele from participating in the meeting not until he was smuggled in towards the end of the meeting; but again, he was sent out by the National Chairman. I must also inform that no national officer of the party or any security agent harassed or prevented me from my duties in Abuja. The persons that attempted to embarrass me were Sikirulai Ogundele and one political thug called Wole Osinaike – a close ally of Gbenga Daniel and Ladi Adebutu. They indeed acted on the prompting of Ladi who gave Wole N250,000 to attack me. They attacked me with guns within and outside the meeting premises but I have since taken that up at the appropriate quarters. I read different versions of this incident and other general reactions of our youths on the PDP Whatsapp loops; and have come to an unfortunate conclusion. The conducts of these youths are unbecoming and sad. They are going to be the leaders of tomorrow and no matter how much you castigate the leaders and insults elders of today, tomorrow will be defined by the actions of today which will be recorded by posterity. At the age of 29 (twenty-nine) in 1974, I bought my first house in England for £8,000 which is today worth £320,000. I never had a rich or influential father, but by dint of hardwork and respect to elders, I am where I am today. Most of our youths are towing the wrong path with the insults and uncouth words being lavishly used on the loops when most of these youths in their thirties and early forties don’t even have a land talk less of house. Many hardly have decent cars to drive, decent occupation or can give decent care to their young families. I believe these should concern them and preoccupy their mind. You never can tell who will help you tomorrow and in the event that you have poured dirt on your future helper, what do you do? We should think of tomorrow (what Yorubas call Atunbotan) in all we do. And this is to everyone; Politics is only a means to an end. It is not a profession and it doesn’t last forever. There are no permanent friends or enemies in politics but permanent interest. Do not let the interest of today destroy the possibilities of tomorrow. I envisage a PDP that is peaceful and united to forge a common front against the opposition. To achieve this, respect to the rule of law and sacrifice form everyone will be needed. The PDP under my leadership will continue to promote equity, fairness and justice. 2019 is a defining year for all of us and for me personally, I can only stay at a vantage position to watch the youths make progress but it will be up to everyone, the youths particularly, to have a deep rethink and help our leaders take the right decision that will be in the interest of the majority. Finally, my mandate, which includes that of the executive committees from the ward, local government and state levels - cannot be taken by anyone except through the judgement of superior courts. I am assuring everyone that under my watch, we shall return to the path of electoral prosperity. I therefore appeal for unity from all sections of the party so that together, we can achieve our goal. My doors are always opened and I restate that the party is big and open enough to accommodate everyone irrespective of our desires and ambitions. This message is my personal opinion which I do not envisage that it should be subjected to debates, arguments or brickbats. God bless Ogun PDP. Signed: Engr. Adebayo Dayo State Chairman, Ogun PDP 22/07/2017 |
SENATOR KASHAMU: COUNT ME OUT OF DEFECTION IN SOUTH WEST PDP INTRODUCTION My attention has been drawn to orchestrated media reports that some of my political associates and supporters have defected to the Mega Party of Nigeria (MPN). I wish to state without mincing words that the misleading report linking me with the move was concocted and spread on the social media by one Lere Olayinka who is a well-known attack dog of Ekiti State Governor, Mr. Ayo Fayose. THE ISSUES While it is true that the 14-month leadership crisis that engulfed our party started as a result of Fayose and ex-Governor Olusegun Mimiko’s attempt to perpetrate impunity and cut short the tenure of elected party executives, I mediated between the two leaders, pointing out their virtues and mistakes as someone who has related with them over time. I proposed a political solution to the leadership crisis. But, when all that failed, they went the whole hog of the judicial system. It is also on record that when the Supreme Court gave its judgment, I congratulated the National Chairman, Senator Makarfi and other members of the National Caretaker Committee (NCC), on the verdict and urged all aggrieved party members to unite and work with them in the overall interest of our party. However, what we got in return from the spokesman of our party, Prince Dayo Adeyeye and his master, Fayose, were talks of “amnesty” and that the phrase “no victor, no vanquished” was “a mere political slogan”. And to make good their threats, they arranged thugs who beat up the chairmen of the party in Ogun and Osun states during the meeting of the National Executive Committee (NEC) held earlier in the week. Fayose and ex-PDP governorship candidate in Osun State, Senator Iyiola Omisore, then got their illegal puppets, Sikirulai Ogundele and Bayo Faforiji, into the NEC meeting until they (including Omisore) were sent out by the National Chairman, Senator Ahmed Makarfi, upon the observation raised by a member of the Board of Trustees, Alhaji Shuaibu Oyedokun. These men never took part in state congresses held before the national leadership crisis broke out in May, 2016, but were handpicked by a member of the House of Representatives from Ogun State, Hon. Oladipupo Adebutu and Omisore, both of whom are nursing governorship ambitions! ECHOES OF DEFECTION From my interactions with some of those who defected and what I read in the media, these were the undercurrents that informed their decision to align with another political platform. But, as for me, Fayose and Omisore cannot push me out of the PDP. They do not have what it takes. I am not going anywhere. I remain a strong mobiliser for the PDP and one of its leaders in the South West. That is why I cannot close my eyes to impunity and injustice. I will continue to fight for the rights of the less privileged within and outside the party. I will continue to fight for the interest of the Yoruba people and the South West in general. For our members, who, out of annoyance, decided to join another political platform to prove their worth, I have started talking to them and will continue to do so. Most of them had worked with Fayose and they know him. They feared that if the party in the South West is handed over to him, he would muzzle them and kill the party with his greed, impunity and childish antics. It is high time we stopped massaging the over-bloated egos of Fayose and Omisore. These people do not have what it takes to deliver for the PDP. Nigerians and the people of the South West want a paradigm shift from those who brought our great party to its knees. They crave for a new narrative. They seek new ways of doing things. They want leaders who abhor impunity and respect the rule of law, in words and deed. Most of the characters parading themselves as leaders are mere opportunists who are after feathering their own nest. Ask them what they have done for the party other than positioning themselves to benefit from every opportunity the party offers. For instance, Omisore should tell the world what he did with the N15 million that he was given early this month for onward delivery to the then PDP candidate in the Osun West Senatorial District bye-election. The candidate who is now a senator was meant to add the money to his campaign expenses. A governor from the South/South gave him N5million, just as someone else donated another N10 million. But as usual, the money developed wings. At this juncture, it has become necessary to ask Fayose to stop bragging about the Supreme Court judgment. Although it is the Almighty Allah that gives victory, we know those who truly worked for it. A governor like him spent about N850 million on legal fees while his own contribution was just N3million. It is against this backdrop that I wish to implore our leaders and elders, especially the God-fearing National Chairman, Senator Ahmed Makarfi and Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike, not to allow Fayose and Omisore to spoil their efforts to unite the party and reposition it. Fayose is consumed by his unbridled ambition to be Vice-President or President while Omisore wants to be governor by all means. I said it when the leadership crisis started that Fayose orchestrated it to pocket the party’s structure in the South West and make it easier for him to realize his ambition. Since he cannot imagine a life out of politics and power, few days after the Supreme Court judgment, he launched his so-called Presidential campaign. This explains why in Osun State, Fayose and Omisore are promoting Hon. Faforiji over and above the validly elected state exco which is led by Hon. Soji Adagunodo. In Oyo State, Fayose is scheming to install Hon. Ajibola Muraina as the State Chairman, just as he wants to install his puppet in Lagos State and also thwart the aspiration of Chief Bode George for the position of the National Chairman of our great party. Since Chief George is seeking elective position at the national level, it is imperative for him to put his house in order and build a virile and united front in Lagos State. Even in his home state of Ekiti, I wager that Fayose alone cannot deliver for the PDP. He needs to work with other notable leaders and stakeholders. Otherwise, he would soon see that he has become like a fish out of water, panting and struggling for a life line. He should realize that he is not going to be on the ballot. Even if he were to be, the scenarios under which he won his elections in 2003 and 2014 will not be there. The dynamics are totally different. And it takes a clear and balanced mind to appreciate the odds and work on them. Pride and arrogance cannot do it. CONCLUSION It is my humble and candid opinion that if peace is to return to the South West PDP, our leaders from other zones should step into the issues plaguing the party in the zone and address them without fear or favour. As a first step towards promoting enduring peace and harmony, the party executives that were constituted in the states before national leadership crisis broke out should not be tampered with. They should ensure that no one interferes with the party structure in another state other than his home state. Again, the party structure should not be handed to anyone with governorship ambition. Otherwise, this would drive away other aspirants, stifle competition and further reduce our chances of winning. On a final note, I salute the courage of the National Chairman, Senator Makarfi and other upright members of the committee such as Senator Ben Obi, Senator Abdul Ningi and others who have continued to stand for fairness, equity and justice. The members of the Committee have a rare opportunity to rebuild the PDP and put it on the path of recovery and steady growth where things are done according to the rules and not the whims and caprices of a few. I wish to emphatically state that I will remain in the PDP and continue to work for it, even as I watch events unfold. I am not going anywhere. We are all equal stakeholders in the PDP. It does not belong to anyone or a clique. Signed Senator Buruji Kashamu Ogun East Senatorial District 20.07.17
KASHAMU CONGRATULATES MAKARFI...CALLS FOR UNITY & RECONCILIATION The Senator representing Ogun East Senatorial District at the National Assembly, Senator Buruji Kashamu has congratulated the Chairman, National Caretaker Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Ahmed Makarfi and members of the committee on the affirmation of their positions today by the Supreme Court, saying “the decision of the apex court is final and there is nothing anyone can do about it”. In a statement he issued in Lagos today, Kashamu said, “As a firm believer in the Rule of Law, I am bound to respect the decision of the final court in the land, no matter the reservations”. The statement reads in part, “I thank the almighty God for bringing us this far. There will always be disagreements and disputes in any human setting. At times, such disputes may end up in court. It does not mean the end of the world. You win some and lose some. And in this case, there is no victor, no vanquished. It is our party, the PDP, that has won. “Therefore, I wish to urge all our followers and supporters to remain calm and continue with our heavy mobilization into the PDP. This is no time for fault-finding or crying over spilt milk. I strongly believe that this is the time for unity, frank consultations and genuine reconciliation. May the Almighty Allah Subhaanahu Wa Ta'Aala help our leaders to speak right and act well.”
SENATOR KASHAMU DIDN’T FORGE ANY CERTIFICATE The attention of the media office of Senator Buruji Kashamu has been drawn to a cocktail of lies published by the sensational and discredited online medium, Sahara Reporters wherein it alleged that the distinguished senator forged some educational qualifications to contest and win the 2015 election into the Senate. This is not the first time Sahara Reporters would go to town with unverified and unsubstantiated claims, presenting same as the outcome of an “investigation” whereas in actual fact it is no more than the hatchet job of some desperadoes who are being led by someone who merely seized the opportunity offered by the democratization of the media space through the social media. A critical appraisal of Omoyele Sowore’s brand of “journalism” would show his open bias against anyone who has refused to succumb to his cheap blackmail. He keeps working to pull down those who have done well for themselves and are helping others to climb up the ladder of life. Sowore’s Sahara Reporters and their sponsors do not build or develop others. All you see them doing is to pull down those who are better than them. These never-do-wells are killjoys! That is the only reason why Sahara Reporters will continue to malign Senator Kashamu and call him all manner of names even when several courts at home and abroad had exonerated him of any wrong doing. These cowards are only getting away with this because of they have no fixed address or known presence in Nigeria. True, Sowore is not a journalist. He read Geography. But, even at that, one would have expected that by now he would have surrounded himself with thoroughbred professionals instead of this continual and open show of ignorance of the basic tenets of journalism which are anchored on accuracy, truth and objectivity. We wish to categorically state that Sowore’s Sahara Reporters’ hogwash was not as a result of any “investigation” but a cheap hatchet job done for some equally discredited politicians in Ogun State who have lost out of the struggle for the control of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), particularly in Ogun State and the South West in general. About two weeks ago we had got information that they were going round with these documents. But we challenged them to either prove their allegation by placing the certificates that they claimed were forged side-by-side with the original or get the relevant institutions to disown them. They could not! They resorted to using their long ally in blackmail and lies – Sahara Reporters – when they could not get any of the reputable and responsible media organizations in Nigeria to do the hatchet job. First, it should be noted that those who alleged that forged certificates were presented to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) could not present the “original” of the forged certificates; they were also unable to get any of the institutions to disown any of the certificates presented by the senator. Therefore, it is safe to say, contrary to their claim, that no certificate was forged. They, however, sought to make an issue out of when he left Ansarudeen Primary School, Ijebu Igbo, Ogun State, and attended St. John Modern School, Lagos as well as Igbobi College. The truth of the matter is that Senator Kashamu has not hidden the fact that after he left primary school, he enrolled for evening classes at various times in these schools where he got secondary education while doing some part-time jobs. He never claimed that he enrolled and wrote Senior School Leaving Certificate Examination (SSCE) in those schools before he relocated to the Republic of Benin where he established his multi-million naira cotton ginnery factory and other businesses. Senator Kashamu’s insatiable quest for education and knowledge made him to sit for the private Senior School Leaving Certificate Examination (SSCE) in 2006 upon his return to Nigeria in 2003. He had one A, four Bs and two credits. On his admission to the University of Lagos where he obtained an Executive Diploma in English Language, it should also be noted that these mercenaries have not been able to fault Senator Kashamu on this. Rather, their worry is: how was he admitted to study English when he failed English Language in the private SSCE? While they chose to parade the current entry requirements, Sahara Reporters and its sponsors failed to get the entry prospectus or advertisement that was used for the senator’s set in the 2012/2013 session. Perhaps that would have saved them this public embarrassment. Besides, it is common practice that institutions grant waivers to certain category of applicants either on the basis of age, experience or consider certain subjects in lieu of the others. We wish to categorically state that the distinguished Senator Kashamu never claimed to have attended some foreign universities. He wrote his GCE here and took an Executive Diploma course at the University of Lagos, Akoka. Anyone who is not satisfied can either go to WAEC or UNILAG to verify his claims. But, it is public knowledge that upon the completion of his course of study in 2014, he was so happy with himself and the institution that he donated a brand new 18-seater bus to the university through his Omoilu Foundation. Kindly find below the report of the bus presentation and the remarks of the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Rahamon Bello: UNILAG GETS 18-SEATER BUS, COURTESY OMO ILU FOUNDATION The Founder/Chief Promoter of Omo Ilu foundation, Prince Kashamu Buruji has donated an eighteen-seater bus to the Department of English, University of Lagos. The bus which was officially presented to the University on Monday, June 16, 2014 was received by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Rahamon A. Bello, FAEng along with principal and top officials of the University such as: Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic & Research), Professor Babajide Alo; Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Management Service), Professor Duro Oni; Registrar, Dr. (Mrs.) Taiwo Folasade Ipaye, MNIM; Bursar, Mr. Lateef Odekunle and University Librarian, Dr. Olukemi Fadehan, CLN; others who witnessed the presentation ceremony are the Provost, College of Medicine, Professor Folashade Ogunsola; Director, Academic Planning, Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, Director, Quality Assurance & Servicom, Professor Wale Okunuga and Director, Works and Physical Planning, Dr. (Engr.) Adelere Adeniran. Speaking at the presentation ceremony, the General Adviser and Leader of Omo Ilu Foundation, Austin Oniyokor said that donation is borne out of Prince Buruji’s strong desire to give back to his alma-mata and contribute to Nigeria’s education sector. He thanked authorities of the University for providing the opportunity for the Foundation to support the Institution. In response, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Rahamon Bello, FAEng expressed gratitude to Prince Kashamu Buruji for the gesture. He described the donation as the kind of support needed to keep the University as a first class tertiary institution. While urging other alumni of the University to emulate the donor, the Vice-chancellor reiterated his administration’s commitment to efforts aimed at sustaining the reputation of the Institution as a centre for excellence in teaching, learning and research. Posted on 20, Jun 2014 http://www.unilag.edu.ng/newsdetails.php?NewsID=1647 It should also be noted that Section 65 sub-section 1 of the 1999 Constitution states that: “A person shall be qualified for election under sub-section 1 of this section if – a. He has been educated up to at least school certificate level or its equivalent”. Now, the operate word here is “educated”. What is the evidence of being educated up to “school certificate level” if not the SSCE certificate? Even at that, the literal meaning of the word “educated” does not mean you must have “finished” or “graduated” from any secondary school. Therefore, one does not need to convince anyone that he attended or finished from a secondary school. Again, the latter part of that provision also stated “…or its equivalent”. This goes to show that the drafters of the constitution envisaged certain circumstances and situations which could make some persons not to go through the four walls of a secondary school. It does not mean that those who did are better or more intelligent than those who didn’t as the distinguished senator has shown time and again. If Omoyele Sowore, Sahara Reporters and their sponsors are convinced that they have a case against Senator Kashamu, they should not resort to the cheap blackmail and smear campaign that they are known for. They should take the most civilized path of proving their allegations in a court of law. Should they fail to approach the court to prove their allegations, Senator Kashamu would have no choice than to seek legal redress against Sahara Reporters and their promoters. Until then, we wish to assure the general public, supporters and associates of the distinguished senator that there is nothing to worry about. This latest onslaught, like others before it, is no more than a ruse that cannot stand the test of time and the law. Forward ever, backward never! Signed Austin Oniyokor Media Adviser to Senator Buruji Kashamu 11/07/17
Western Lotto enters market with five international lottery games New entertainment and gaming company Western Lotto Nigeria Limited entered the market July 10 with five international lottery games and pledged a determination to alter the landscape of gaming in Nigeria. Showbiz promoter and Chairman, Senate Committee on Privatisation, Senator Ben Murray-Bruce led eminent personalities from various occupations to the formal launch. There were Senators, members of the House of Representatives and eight brand ambassadors drawn from Nollywood, music and comedy segments of the entertainment industry. They included Senator Bassey Akpan, Senator Magnus Abe and Senator Buruji Kashamu, among others. Some of the brand ambassadors who graced the event were Innocent Idibia, popularly known as Tuface, Olamide, ace comedian, AY, Ramsey Noah, Zack Orji and Paul Obazele. Mr. Elvis Krovokuca, managing director, said Western Lotto Nigeria Limited seeks through its products “to create employment opportunities, wealth and empowerment for people in Nigeria and across Africa.” Krivokuca said Western Lotto is offering lotteries as “number-based games of chance that carry much less risk” as patrons spend small sums to win big rewards, unlike gambling where they risk high stakes. The Western Lotto MD recalled the history of lotteries dating back to 20BC and said they had been deployed to good causes such as the UK Lottery’s involvement in the funding of the London Olympics 2012. He assured that Western Lotto would similarly devote part of its earnings to corporate social investment in good causes. The first games of Western Lotto are Powerball, Euro Millions, Euro Jackpot, UK Lotto and Mega Millions. Powerball is an American lottery game played every Wednesday and Saturday. Euro Millions is a transnational lottery played across Europe. The Euro Jackpot similarly plays across Europe. UK Lotto is also known as the National Lottery. It has served good causes in the UK. Draws for MegaMillions hold on Tuesdays and Fridays. Western Lotto Nigeria Limited is an entertainment and gaming company with platforms that provide a bouquet of international games for participants in Nigeria. Western Lotto is licensed by the National Lottery Regulatory Commission in Nigeria to operate terrestrial and online platforms for gaming activities including lotteries, lotto, instant draw, indoor games, lotto betting and online scratch card games, among others.
S O S READY TO SERVE AND GIVE IJEBU IGBO COMMUNITY PROPER REPRESENTATION After rain comes sunshine; After darkness comes the glorious dawn. There is no sorrow without its alloy of joy; there is no joy without its ad-mixture of sorrow. Behind the ugly terrible mask of misfortune lies the soothing countenance of prosperity. So, let's tear the mask My beloved indigenous citizens of Ijebu Igbo. I bring to u, warm greetings from our political chamber. Ijebu Igbo has been blessed with talented and resourceful leaders in the past, present and undoubtedly, future. I have personally taken my time to observe how events unfold and i would be right to say our people at the grass root level are tirelessly working for the emergence of a candidate of their choice; but in the end, what they get is "zero". Behold, i bring to you the man who knows what effective grass root representative means, Sunday Onabanjo Sobowale. He has been a long time admirer of a political post in order to alleviate his people from the current " political loss" they are suffering from. He is a visionary leader who is not just concerned about infrastructural development but even, the well being of the entire people of his hometown. Have you ever wondered why people from Ijebu Igbo are still lagging behind in terms of effective representation at the Ogun State House of Assembly ![]() The answer to that is not far fetched from the usual invasion of foreign politicians who sees politics as a means of alternative business to enrich their pockets. They don't know YOU, they know ME not! They romance and override our intentions with their money and later turn their back at us. They believe in using what they have to get what they want, no strings attached. They can even hardly mention the 36 states in Nigeria with their capitals because they spent most of their lives abroad. If we fold our arms and watch things go astray, the incoming generation will never forgive us. You and I must agitate for true effective grass root representation so that we can benefit from the dividends of democracy. No man climbs the ladder of success with his two hands in his pockets. He has spent nearly his entire days in the town where he was born (Ijebu Igbo). He has been an active member of PDP from inception, as he once served as ward Vice-Chairman,ward Chairman of Oke Sopen respectively and his records then are highly regarded. Until the arrival of Senator Prince Buruji Kashamu, who had been busy rewarding the masses of their previous sufferings in politics and remoulding the face of the town by initiating several infrastructural projects, Ijebu Igbo might not have been a better place for its habitants. A pragmatic leader like SOS would be a better choice for the people, come 2019. SOS 2019, a promise that must be fulfilled !! SOS I know, SOS I trust !!! |