Stats: 3,326,789 members, 8,428,128 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 June 2026 at 10:52 PM

Iwriterng's Posts

Nairaland ForumIwriterng's ProfileIwriterng's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 18 pages)

TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 10:27am On May 29, 2018
joshuaarmani2:
Hello, I was in the same predicament with my mail to Jena via nipost since 4th of May. Yesterday I made up my mind to resend it via DHL and I went to DHL office to pay and all. The woman told me they will come for pickup around 2 pm... But before I went to DHL, I sent a mail to the masters unit and around 1:47 pm, they replied that I can sign, scan and send my application form by Wednesday (30/5/18) if they haven't received it yet. You should see the supersonic speed with which I ran to DHL office to cancel my package and ask for refund, the woman just handed me my money and I left. Just this morning I woke up to the beautiful news that my mail (sent via nipost) was received that same yesterday and I can now proceed to book for student accommodation et al.

My point: send a mail and be ready to sign, scan and send your application form if you didn't get a reply today. All the best brother.
Thank so much for this response. I'm mailing Jena straightway.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 7:51pm On May 28, 2018
dailydolar:
yes they do but you self no try why wait till 15th may for your information 10working days will be tomorrow 29th may and mind you the have one public or two hold in between which means your letter will be getting to Germany by30th that's the earliest so chill.
Don't mind me boss, i wasn't looking towards Germany initially.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 6:45pm On May 28, 2018
fluxyn:
Noo I used DHL. My documents got there since. I am just wondering when admission will start to come in as interview date they run
The admission decision will hopefully be released soonest.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 6:00pm On May 28, 2018
fluxyn:
Jena did Fau. Biochemistry and molecular science. Since April 1st for Jena and May 7 for Fau. Yet to hear from them
Did you use nipost as well?
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 5:37pm On May 28, 2018
Eldeee:
it's possible your mail must have gotten to its different destinations. Nipost tracking does not work effectively. Same thing happened to me last year. You need to mail the schools to confirm if it has gotten to them so that your mind can be at rest at least.

Most of the officials will be quite busy considering the volume of applications they receive, Look for the official responsible for receiving documents and send a mail to him or her. All the very best.
Thank you. I'm hoping its in Germany already, and that I'll get a mail tomorrow or Wednesday.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 5:35pm On May 28, 2018
dailydolar:
15th of may or April ? If Jena receive them no dey waste time even FAU
Of May. They said it takes just 10days.

Do you mean they usually notify applicants by email when they receive the document?
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 3:44pm On May 28, 2018
Nipost!!!

Yet to hear back from uniassist, Jena and FAU.

Uniassist and Jena deadline is 31st. What should I do now?

And the mumu tracking is still in the bag. Mail was sent on 15th.
EducationRe: Falz And His Shenanigan Lamentations Against Nigerian Church Universities by iwriterng(m): 10:36am On May 27, 2018
This doesn't make sense.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 12:53am On May 24, 2018
dailydolar:
Please guys that got Admission letter from Jena how long after application handed over to committe did you receive your letter huh?

Also did anyone get admission from med photonics and chemistry of material huh?

Please I need reply to calm my nerves
I initially submitted an application for the Molecular Life Science Program, but today I mailed my second application for the medical photonics too...

Lowkeyly, I'm starting to think I got on this whole admission train a bit late. In case you hear back from them, kindly abreast me abeg.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 1:14pm On May 22, 2018
My mail has been "inserted into the bag" for over a week now. When will nipost bring it out of the bag and deliver na....
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 11:23pm On May 16, 2018
Do we have any FAU (Molecular Medicine) applicant or student in the house? I'm about to send my documents this Friday. But I'm a bit confused.

Part of the requirement was previous academic work. I have a single publication which also double as my final year thesis. (My name appeared as the second author though)

Should I send that publication alongside the document (5pages), what do u suggest?
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 4:46pm On May 14, 2018
fluxyn:
Ahh boss. I hope they apologized for delaying your admission letter. You should have gotten it immediately you applied. Congrats Bro. We will meet at the top.

Any one applying for molecular science in FAU. What’s the update
I'll submitted already. I'll be sending my docs later this week.
Hopefully NIPOST charges won't break my neck.

Did you submit your application already?
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 12:09am On May 09, 2018
dailydolar:
less than 14k 13k plus
Thank you boss man
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 9:49pm On May 08, 2018
I think I have everything in place to send my docs to Uni-assist. Johann Wolfgang Goethe University is the only institution I have submitted online, although I have two more schools on the portal (Na fee matter dey worry me), I hope I won't have to send another document when I want to submit the application for the other schools? Although the two other schools require that I send the signed application forms too (sigh). So i'm thinking, can I just send the application form all together now, and ask them to keep it until I make payment for the two other schools?

Also can anybody give an idea of the cost of sending via DHL or Aramex? I'm in Lagos.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 12:59pm On May 07, 2018
thattallboi:
Luth or lasuth ?
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 11:00am On May 07, 2018
Youngmoniii:
Which of the high court and how much were u charge
Ikeja. Along LUTH. Paid 5k for 10 copies.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 10:36am On May 07, 2018
I just certified my docs at Lagos State High Court. I see people making comments about different type of court. Should I be worried about this? The certification has red stamp and normal stamp on it.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 11:50pm On May 03, 2018
osas87:
my thought though!

dnt know abt goetingen, but I ve had such issue filling cgpa for some other schools. In most cases, the solution was always to put a "comma" (,) instead of a point (.).

hope it helps
Thank you.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 8:49pm On May 03, 2018
Hello, Please I am having a hard time filling out a certain section on my goettingen application.

It's the part where I am expected to enter details about Final Grade:. I entered my CGPA but it keeps making it as an error.

BusinessRe: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by iwriterng(m):
Hello, An experienced taxify/uber driver is needed my Toyota matrix 2005. I'm currently driving the Car myself, but I need to take up another commitment.

Weekly Rental is 35k flat.

2 Verifiable and reliable Guarantor

If you're experienced and interested, please kindly PM me.

PS: I'm in talk with someone already. Thanks
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 5:02am On May 02, 2018
AlphaPen:
Hello beautiful people.

In the spirit of connecting, anyone gotten admission to the University of Göttingen?

We are three already, join the train!

Peace
About to submit my application. MSC though.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m): 7:36pm On Apr 23, 2018
Hello house. There is a form I'm expected to fill out on the uni-assist portal.

The issue here is that, I'm not sure if I should download and fill with pen then scan or how should I go about it?

PS: The form specify word characters. Like maximum of 2000characters with space.

I could use some guide on how to go about it please.
TravelRe: General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 4 by iwriterng(m):
Please, I need help in clarifying some issues as regards application to German School.

I've seen an institution of interest, and they ask that I submit my application via the Uni-Assist portal.

I have concluded the online part, left with sending physical documents to Berlin. My question is as follows:

1. I don't have my university certificate yet, I have just my SOR (Statement Of Result) and Student Transcript, will this suffice?

Thank you as I anticipate your response.
EducationRe: Between Oou And Lautech Which Of This uni Is Better To Study Medicine by iwriterng(m): 8:50am On Mar 28, 2018
Timmycarter:
I'm a lautech medical student. people are just posting rubbish based on ignorance. As far as state university is concerned, lautech is one of the best to study medicine. And concerning the 10years ish, it ends with the current 400L cos of the ownership crisis then.
Let us know when you will be inducted. For all we know you're still in 100L or 200L... Ori e ma pe soonest.
EducationRe: Between Oou And Lautech Which Of This uni Is Better To Study Medicine by iwriterng(m): 8:47am On Mar 28, 2018
Olabestonic001:
That's such wrong notion here!

I left OOU for Lautech personally and spent less time there. I spent 4yrs 10 months and that even because of political tussle. Yes, Ajimobi's time has been tumultuous but Lautech will get it right. And OOU is a very wonderful school but very high fee for Medicine.

@op; if you have the money, go to OOU but LAUTECH can give you what you need too.
Wrong notion? What are you saying? I belong to class 16. Don't sugar coat anything please, as at today, any sane individual would not opt for LAUTECH because its cheap.

You can't buy time, you can make money
Don't trade time for cheap access.
EducationRe: Between Oou And Lautech Which Of This uni Is Better To Study Medicine by iwriterng(m): 7:44am On Mar 28, 2018
DON'T GO TO LAUTECH.

I spent 7 Years studying a 5 years course. I did not fail at any point in time.

Average medical student in LAUTECH would be in school for 10years. Imagine what that could do to you; psychologically.
TravelRe: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by iwriterng(m): 6:28pm On Mar 19, 2018
Is there any Queens applicant in the house?

Seems they're really taking their time on the admission ish.

I don check my portal tire ehn.
TravelRe: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 14 by iwriterng(m): 5:20pm On Mar 15, 2018
Josh1996:
Bosses, for online application for master's program in Canadian universities. .they keep mentioning unofficial transcript. ..can I use a collation of my result with HOD signature and stamp as the unofficial transcript
You can "pay" your school exam officer to help reprint your results from 100L to 500L. Have it signed by the exam officer and the HOD.

Then scan as a single document. This should suffice for evaluation purpose before sending the hardcopy to the school.
Music/RadioRe: New Song By Otim: Awon Temi by iwriterng(m): 7:01pm On Mar 14, 2018
Nice song.
TravelRe: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 13 by iwriterng(m): 8:26pm On Feb 27, 2018
Prudento:
First paragraph: Introduce yourself and your antecedents.
Second: Tell them why you contacted them, how their research interests match yours
Third, tell them how working with them will help their team and your career
Fourth: Ask about space in their lab and plead them to talk to you
Fifth: Thank them well well
Thank you guys so much. I'll redraft and get to work again, and hopefully my next post will be a testimony.
Slik07:
Yes. Give them a call. If they dont pick leave a voicemail.

Read what @Prudento wrote. In additional to that, highlight the value you will add to their research group. That is very important. Anyone that wants to take you would llike to know what you are going to bring to the table. The contributions you'll make.

Best of luck.
TravelRe: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 13 by iwriterng(m): 6:57pm On Feb 27, 2018
Slik07:
Sorry for the unfavourable replies you got from the potential supervisors.

I have written on this many times here. You can search my comments here. Again, I think you need to stop attaching your CV and Transcript on your first email. Allow them to request for it. Some of them might even be scared of opening the attachment thinking it contains virus.

Contact as many supervisors as possible with tailored emails and call them too after 2 emails. Pls, avoid sending generic emails to them.

Your supervisor is just a click away. Keep searching...
Thank you so much, like I needed to hear the bolded part.

As regards calling, are you suggesting that I call after sending two mails and not getting a response from them?

I have been sending targeted email, something of this nature:

First paragraph: Introduction and a question about availability of position in their laboratory.

Second paragraph: Interest in their research as well as a thought provoking question (insight) about their work.

Third paragraph: Informing them about the attachment.

That's the typical structure of the email I've been sending. Would you be able to offer any suggestion as regards structuring?
TravelRe: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 13 by iwriterng(m): 5:56pm On Feb 27, 2018
Having sent over 15 emails to potential supervisors, only six of them replied so far, and the response is not encouraging.

Its either their laboratory is full, or they don't have the fund to take up on a new student. One of the potential supervisors told me he's retiring soon, and the other said I don't have the practical experience to succeed in his laboratory.

I could use some moral support right now. Because writing a solid personalized statement of research interest to each of them is mentally stressful.

If you've thread this path of searching for a supervisor and getting them to say yes, would you care to share some personal information with me?

Like how many professors did you reach out to before getting a positive response?

My current approach is to read the department's page, and reach out to two or three professors in the department after reading about their interest. I usually attach my transcript. Statement of research interest as well as a curriculum vitae. Is there a better approach that could improve my chances?

Would you say I should reduce the number of professors I am reaching out to in each department? Or its safe to increase it to about three or five?

PS:

I am in the biomedical/cell/molecular/biology field. And I am targeting MSC program.

PSS: My first degree cgpa is 3.69/5.

Would taking GRE make my application more competitive?

A brother could really use the moral support right now.

Thanks.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 (of 18 pages)