Stats: 3,153,023 members, 7,818,026 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 05:13 AM

JewelStone's Posts

Nairaland Forum / JewelStone's Profile / JewelStone's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (of 13 pages)

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 10:28am On Jul 09, 2017
Yeah my response may not have been the kindest, but it just proves how the thought of accommodating a couple/male sounded to me. And I'm standing by it.

Please you saintly posters should stop quoting me to preach about niceness blah blah blah, I'm not here for any of that. You truly don't know how you'd react in a situation, until you're in that situation.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 9:07am On Jul 09, 2017
weldonextreme:
Hello JewelStone I'm also coming to Sydney next week. I am interested in a temporal accommodation.
Also my wife is interested in the Age care and disability course, we need your suggestions.
Seriously? Do I sound/look like I'm giving out accommodation? That poster asked for help to settle down in Sydney! And even if I can help with accommodation for very few days, it'd be strictly for a young female, not a freaking couple!!!

Housing in Sydney is extremely expensive as you already know. If you're looking for someone to offer you and your wife a free temporary accommodation, then you're not ready to board that plane next week...

And if your wife is interested in aged care and disability courses, Google is your best friend.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 6:58am On Jul 09, 2017
jackson2dye4:
Please anyone in Sydney who could help settle down?? I would really appreciate it
When are you coming to Sydney and what's your gender?
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 8:56am On Jul 04, 2017
PHUMEELAYO:
Please oo, I need to ask. I am scared of driving as it is....if I learn how to drive in Nigeria (left side steering)....how easy would the transition to Australian mode (right sided) be??
Don't make that grave mistake of coming to Australia without knowing how to drive or with no driver's license, your life will be a HUGE mess.

Learn how to drive ASAP, transitioning won't be much problem and if you have issues, you can get transitioning/adaptation lessons for a few hours.

Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 10:16pm On Jul 02, 2017
AHCB:
You can't cook them or you don't have access to the ingredients?
No access to the ingredients. Lol @ can't cook...
Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 9:44am On Jul 02, 2017
AHCB:
LOL. Well it's here and there, nothing to be happy about. Though the pepper and onions is what I love the most.
You drink vodka, a lot?
It's something to be happy about for people like me who don't have easy access to ngwobi and so many Naija food cry

I drool over these photos, they bring back awesome memories. Wish someone can post photos of afang, oha, banga and edikang ikong soups, miss them like crazy smiley

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 3:10pm On Jun 23, 2017
binbieO3:

Hello,I have always been following your responses...good job you are doing. I want to know the prospect of masters in social work in Sydney as I am considering western Sydney university or Australian Catholic university
Also can one start the disability courses before getting to Australia or with the social work program I don't need to do it.will be awaiting your response
Please anyone that has Info's please help.Thank you
I like this sort of questions; apt and sensible. Master of social work is an excellent course, and WSU is a better Uni than ACU. It's better to start the disability course when you get here and you still need it despite the social work program cos the disability jobs require Cert III & IV not degree. Cheers
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 9:24pm On Jun 19, 2017
weldonextreme:
No response from DIBP up till now. I applied since May8th, 2017. The wait is giving me sleepless night ooo. Orientation begins July 24th, 2017.

@JewelStone, Sanity100, lusen. Is this nornal? Any word from Aussie regarding this delay? Pls enlighten the house. Thanks
I haven't been following the visa application timeline but things have definitely changed from the time I applied. DIBP is taking a lot longer now to process visas due to the increase in the number of applications from Nigeria, and they're also running more checks to ascertain genuine students.

I know the wait is hard on the applicants, I understand. But if you put in a decent application and your docs are real, hang in there, your visa will come through. If your application is more than 4 weeks, I would recommend sending them a polite email asking for an update on your application, quoting your full name, DOB, passport number, application number and your orientation date. I did this when my application was 2 weeks old and they responded the next day.

Goodluck to all the visa applicants, this country is worth the wait!

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 12:14am On Jun 16, 2017
Fishlink:
Hmmmm! Have to take heart anyway! Got my visa rejected with decision from DIBP yesterday. The worst part is I got 3 years ban from applying any visa to Australia. This happens as a result of employment letter which could not be verified. God will grant everyone expecting his/her visa on this platform. I would get immigration lawyer in Aussie so the ban could be waived cos my Aussie partner will be in Naija for marriage so I'll file for spouse visa
I know you feel terrible about the visa rejection but you should've seen this coming. After a certain age, going to TAFE is suspicious especially if you already have a bachelors plus years of work experience. The education industry is a major source of revenue for the Australian Govt, they are more interested in Intl students going to Universities to pay exorbitant tuition fees than people using TAFE as a decoy to enter their country. This is why TAFE has a low approval rate, their tuition fees are low and most of the students don't have genuine intentions.

People here have asked you about the true state of your employment letter but you've ignored the questions. If you applied with fake documents, don't waste your time and money to get an immigration lawyer, the 3 years ban won't be waived. You have to wait for 3 years before applying for any visa, including spousal visa. The ban is only waived for people who overstayed their visas (even this is very difficult to get), not people who used fake docs. Plus getting married soon after the student visa rejection reeks of desperation, and won't help your application at all. So you have to plan carefully to avoid further bans.

I usually don't bother about this sort of posts. But I'm trying to correct the impression that if an application is denied and the applicant banned, getting an immigration lawyer will solve the problem. No it won't. I'm also concerned about the way you simplified the ban, as if you're encouraging other applicants to use fake docs.

Visa applicants should use genuine docs and avoid using TAFE COE at all cost.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 9:02am On Jun 13, 2017
ebukasamano:
Please what is the cheapest school I can get for business administration in Australia thanks
Hey, a quick Google search will answer your question.

Why do you want to study Business Admin in Australia though? You're better off studying basket weaving. Just saying

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 9:00am On Jun 13, 2017
hustla:
A semester lasts how many months?
If fees are 9500 per trimester, what does that mean and how much will I pay in the end?
A semester is 5-6 months, twice a year. A trimester is thrice a year.

The fees should be $9,500 x 3=$28,500 per year x number of years it takes to complete the program.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 12:59am On Jun 12, 2017
Abbey1987:

You will be on a bridging visa called patner visa once u are legally married to the Aussie and after 2 years you can file for PR
Yeah that's correct. You can file for spouse/partner visa as soon as you're married, but you won't get it till after 2 years. You can only get the visa fast if you've been married/in a relationship longer than two years and have kids together.
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 12:14am On Jun 12, 2017
tobe4real:
5 semesters ke?i thought u entered via graduate entry.
No. I started from the scratch due to my non-science background. Where did you get that info from?

Solitin40:
Please explain better on the legit alternative of postponing my studies
My fiance is Australian.

The bitter old fart on this thread who has no other job than quoting me everywhere on Nairaland should please mind his business and stop stalking me. I don't have time for cray cray mof-mofs.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 2:42pm On Jun 11, 2017
Stanleyelege:
I'm in Australia on a student visa .
Each time I remember s amount I'll pay to my school my heart cuts..
I've an Aussie. She wants us to have a baby . Will this give me a soft landing?
Please don't have a child with someone you don't love, the Aussie is trying to trap you into some real trouble. Child support here can make you go crazy, and you can't escape it. Not worth it, and having a baby won't give you PR. Even if you get married to an Aussie, you still need to wait a few years before you get PR, and intl student fees still applies until you get PR, unless you postpone your studies.

I get what you mean about the exorbitant school fees tho, my heart bleeds when I remember that I'm dropping $14k in July for the next semester and I've got 5 more semesters! There are so many things I can do with all that $$$. I do have a legit alternative of postponing my studies so I can pay less fees later, but I'm not sure if I want to do that cos I want to finish this degree and become a Registered Nurse asap.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 9:40pm On Jun 03, 2017
tobe4real:
wsu requires agent now,maybe your time was different
@PHUMEELAYO

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 9:05pm On Jun 03, 2017
PHUMEELAYO:
yay.....i'm ecstatic. you are here, also pmed you. this is a rare opportunity, so you'd have to pardon my bombardment ma.
did you apply to WSU through agent? if yes which?
is it true the second year tuition is lower than the first?
how feasible is it to work during the semester and still maintain a high grade? or do you work only during breaks?
does the course offer internship/capstone at the end?
how would you compare the cost of living in sydney to melbourne?
is WSU AL1?
mehn....this sounds like an interview grin

WSU is AL2. Cost of living is higher in Sydney and so are the wages. I'm not sure about internships but that should depend on the course, check your course info page. School fees are increased each year, no chance of being lower second or third year. You can work within the allowed 40 per fortnight during school term and still make good grades easily but it's up to you.

I applied through PFL but they didn't make any difference in my application, feel like I wasted my 100k. WSU don't require agents for applications.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 8:52pm On Jun 03, 2017
EMMAACHILE:

Victoria university is in Melbourne and is still a good place for jobs. Your assertion should be wrong.

It wasn't an assertion, cos I used the word "maybe" and I wasn't sure of the location of their Nursing Program. Yeah, Melbourne is a cool city.

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 12:42am On Jun 03, 2017
tobe4real:
hi jewel stone,someone on here referred me to u..I've sent drones trying to track u..glad u're here now grin
Hey good job tracking me down, lol. How can I help?

guadete:
Try Victoria University school fees for Nursing bachelor is 11500, I think they are the most affordable school but wonder why pple dont mention it here.
Maybe people don't mention it cos their Bachelor of Nursing isn't reputable or the location isn't suitable. For nursing degrees, the Uni you choose matters cos you don't want to struggle for placements during studies or jobs after graduation. I'll be doing the entire next semester of my practical unit in a reputable hospital, thanks to WSU. Cheap doesn't always mean good you know.

When people refuse to take sound advice, they end up in cities with no good jobs, doing mean and frustrating jobs with little pay. This makes them bitter because they are always tired and worn out, so they give others the impression that Australia isn't a good country for Intl students. And most times they have to search for obese ghetto white women/men as their only way out of frustration grin. Choose the right course and city and your life will be a bliss. Mine is a bliss, there's no city or country I would rather be right now #sydneyrocks cheesy

Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 11:23pm On Jun 02, 2017
debby516:
Hello house, please i am not a student but i will be in Sydney for abt 2 weeks in October for a conference and i will really like suggestion on hotel, transportation etc. Do you advise i stay in a hotel in CBD Sydney (closer to the conference venue) or u suggest outskirts/suburbs that i can stay that are cheaper and i wont incur cost on transportation.
Plsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Generally, hotels anywhere in Sydney are very pricey. But hotels in Sydney CBD cost an arm...if you get what I mean. Transportation isn't that expensive and you could easily get trains to Sydney CBD and save money by staying in surburbs like Ryde, Parramatta, Granville, Banstown, Liverpool, Epping etc
Travel / Re: General Australian Student Visa Enquiries Part 3 by JewelStone(f): 11:15pm On Jun 02, 2017
Howoheye:
Hello dear Sis. It's been a while, hope you're good.
Hey I'm good thanks, hope you're doing well too. Are you in Sydney or coming to Sydney/WSU?

@All
I just upgraded my car and I need to sell my old car. It's a very reliable first car and it drives very well. I have driven it since last August with no issues at all, and it's well serviced. The price is very affordable with long Rego, PM me if you're in Sydney or coming to Sydney soon and you need a car. Sydney residents only. Thanks
Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 11:16pm On May 30, 2017
Last night's dinner: juicy grilled chicken breast with potato wedges and chilli mayo sauce

Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 9:09am On May 09, 2017
sod09:
Send me ur address,I'm coming to blow whistle
This is an act of injustice to humanity...I saw the pix Wen I was really hungry. fear God oo
Lols

sammywemmy:
hi @ JewelStone. had to use this route as mails i sent to you keep bouncing back. need your help and advice. my wife is in sydney and i would want you to guide her on the job search. can i reach you on skype or some other safe means for you dat wont require your phone number.
Sorry can't help at the moment cos I'm extremely busy.
Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 9:37pm On May 08, 2017
Joavid:
so, only you finish this chicken?
No be only me finish am oo cheesy

sod09:
nawa oo angry
Politics / Re: President Buhari Receives 82 Released Chibok Girls by JewelStone(f): 8:56pm On May 07, 2017
Lies and bullshiit. Anyone who believes this publicity stunt needs a full psyche evaluation.

I keep believing that the truth about these so-called 'chibok girls' will be known one day

Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 7:53pm On May 07, 2017
Lunch: fried rice and roasted chicken. Couldn't wait so I pinched the chicken small before taking pictures, lol

15 Likes 1 Share

Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 7:25am On Apr 23, 2017
Breakfast: sweet potatoes and scrambled eggs

17 Likes

Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 12:20pm On Apr 20, 2017
dopeJemi:

what is that thing in the small white plate In the first picture?
It's called chimichurri sauce, made of minced garlic, parsley, oregano, olive oil and white vinegar.
Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 11:25am On Apr 20, 2017
These are all my personal photos, you can feed them to your dogs and cats as well. Bye Felicia

Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 10:55am On Apr 20, 2017
egbabiekperemo1:

Is this meant for your dog or cat?
Thanks for your sensible and wonderful comment, you're so kind.

This thread is for posting food we cook at home. I rarely cook food and when I do, I cook whatever I feel like eating and I share the photos here like others. I don't care what you think.

I do fine dining at least once or twice a week but I don't post the pictures here cos that's not the rule. I'm posting some of my dining out photos, you can print them and feed to your dogs and cats.

Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 11:42pm On Apr 19, 2017
Quinn22:
But they are a lot of people that post restaurant type food and claim it's their own sad
Actually few people do that here and it baffles me but hey, I like minding my business...
Food / Re: Cook In Your Kitchen, Take Pictures And Post It Here. SIMPLE! by JewelStone(f): 10:26pm On Apr 19, 2017
Lunch: rice, beans with peppered beaf stew.

13 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (of 13 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53