Stats: 3,152,167 members, 7,815,069 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 06:45 AM

KelvOdanz's Posts

Nairaland Forum / KelvOdanz's Profile / KelvOdanz's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Politics / Re: Photos: Presidential State Car Being Prepared For The Inauguration Ceremony by kelvOdanz(m): 8:26pm On May 27, 2015
I can only see one car

Literature / Re: Chimamanda And The Talibans------a Story By Kelvin Odanz by kelvOdanz(m): 11:24am On May 14, 2015
masterchi:
after reading this long story, i didnt find a moral lesson, no hero and no villain, chei I just wasted my mb and time.

Moral lesson----You didn't search hard enough.

Hero/Villain----Not all stories are about a battle between good and evil.

Sorry for wasting your time and MB :-D
Literature / Chimamanda And The Talibans------a Story By Kelvin Odanz by kelvOdanz(m): 10:53am On May 14, 2015
I work with a student organization in my
university which, among many other things, aims
to break racial stereotypes, foster an all-inclusive
world by training youths on leadership with
international exchange(volunteering) as a major
tool. In my various roles in this organization, I
have encountered single stories about Nigeria and
about many other countries. I am more interested
in the single stories about Nigeria because I am
Nigerian and I love my country dearly.
But this story is not about Nigeria. I will discuss
the single stories I’ve heard about Nigeria
sometimes in the future. This story is about
Pakistan, it is about friendship and how far we
are from an ideal global village where everyone is
not just technologically interconnected, but
tolerant and open-minded.

Few weeks ago, I visited the DHL office in my
university; not to redeem a parcel(sorry to
disappoint you) but to make enquiries about
sending some books to a friend of mine in
Pakistan. This friend is female, so that greatly
limits the chance that we met in a terrorist camp
somewhere in Syria, Yemen or the
semiautonomous regions of Afghanistan. Myself
and Romasa met through AIESEC and have
become quite close ever since. We make video
calls via Skype, sharing life experiences, sharing
our individual cultural experiences and, most
importantly, discussing books and authors—from
Hawkin’s “A brief history of time” to
Chimamanda’s Americana.I once shared a link to
Chimamanda’s TEDx talk on Gender inequality
and for a while our discussions revolved around
the themes of Chimamanda’s works— gender
inequality, racism,and most importantly, single
stories.One day we decided to exchange books;
She will send a book from her country and I will
do likewise. After so much wranglings with
myself, I decided to send two copies of
Chimamanda’s books because I have lots of them
and my Romasa was already in love with her.

After a long day of work, I decided to make a stop
at the DHL office to have an idea of how much it
will cost to send two copies of Chimamanda’s
books to Pakistan. The office is a very small one,
hewed out of the base of a larger auditorium with
the yellow and red colouring that characterises
most DHL properties.Because of its small size, it
had few staff—A gentleman flirting with a younger
lady.

I walked in, said hello to the two of them amidst
their loud giggles and jokes. After few seconds,
the lady acknowledged my presence with that
characteristic faked smile you see often in
banking halls and other public offices. Then they
began haggling on who will attend to me; after
few harrowing moments of more giggles and
jokes, the young man conceded. I walked up to
his small desk, exchanged greetings and told him
why I was there.

“I want to send some items to a friend of mine,
so I just wanted to find out how much it will
cost” I said. He gave me that broad, fake office
smile—the masculine version of the lady’s.

“What country are we talking about here? ” he
asked

“Pakistan” I replied.

The fake grin disappeared, there was a
momentary silence in the small room.

“Pakistan?” he asked and I said yes. He shifted
uncomfortably in his small chair, picked up a pen
and asked:

“What do you want to send to your friend in
Pakistan?”

“Books.Two copies of Chimamanda’s novel” I
replied.

He was obviously displeased, he didn’t hide it; I
could see the frown spread across his face. Then
he heaved forward towards the edge of his desk. I
could feel his eyes on me,ripping me apart,
scanning me from head to toe, turning me inside
out. At this stage I was already getting amused.
The office was silent save for the sound of the
young lady typing away on a computer keyboard
and the momentary click of a mouse.

“Are you sure it is just books you want to send to
PAKISTAN? ” he asked, placing so much
emphasis on the “PAK” in Pakistan.

“Yes of course” I replied with a half assuring, half
amused smile. Then he began murmuring, I could
only make sense of words like Pakistan, young
man, Nigeria. Then he asked the lady to hand
him a chart in the most indifferent way possible.

He got the chart, picked up a calculator and
began pressing some numbers in between
murmurs.For over a minute, he seemed engrossed
he didn’t look up for once.

At this stage I was already aware of my overtly
overgrowing beards. I was still amused, with a
smile hanging at the corner of my lips. While he
took took his time on the chart and calculations, I
was feeding my eyes with the sparse items in the
office while gently stroking my beards—-A map of
the world in yellow and red, a poster telling you
how fast and reliable DHL is, another poster
reminding you they have been in existence for a
long time and how boundless their reach is.

Then a tart voice gave my mind a jolt. It was the
young man.
“Hello Sir.” And almost immediately, a louder,
more tartly “Hello Sir”.

“Oh, I’m sorry. I didn’t realise you were done” I
apologised, feigning a mild shock. Then he asked,
pretending I had said nothing:

“What is the weight of the books?”

By now, I was looking both confused and
bemused. I didn’t realise I had to weigh the
books. I told him I sincerely had no idea and tried
making an analogy with a book on his desk.I
asked if he is familiar with Purple Hibiscus and
Half of a yellow sun, all by Chimamanda Adichie.
He gave me such a blank look that I really felt
sorry for asking such question.

He turned to his mate to whom he has not said a word to all this while except when he wanted a chart, spoke some words in Yoruba I didn’t understand.

“It will cost you twenty thousand Naira Sir” he
said to me, throwing a pen into the air with
sudden glee. That amount is roughly $116. With
that I could buy at least 10 copies of the books I
intended sending.

“Twenty three thousand Naira for what Sir? ” I
asked helplessly.

The reply was quick, tart:

“For sending Chimamanda to Pakistan”

I was still trying to suppress the laughter that
was already bubbling in me when the lady let out
a loud throaty laughter. I could not hold back
mine any longer.I laughed out, not as loud as the
lady who seemed obviously more amused
suddenly.

“When you are ready, you come back” the young
man said to me loudly.

“Okay Sir” I replied and left the office feeling
amused.

And a week later when my friend Romasa told me
she was having beer with her friends, I could not
help but recall this event and the young man I
met at DHL—How flattened his perception of
Pakistan and its people is; I could not help but
imagine how stunned he would be if I told him
about my friend Romasa—a young, intelligent,
open-minded Pakistani Muslim girl from Karachi
who also struggles to understand the Taliban and
terrorism like the rest of the world,who is modest
even without a veil,who goes to the club with her
friends for the laughter and lightheartedness it
offers, who drinks beer, falls in Love with a Hindu
from India, takes trips to Nepal. I imagined how
he will struggle to come to term with the fact
that, above religion and geographical placement,
we share a common humanity with those in
Pakistan, a common desire for peace, for
happiness, for fulfilment;And that bombs, hate
speeches and guns aren’t the only things that go
in and out of Pakistan;that perhaps even the
Talibans can also love good authors like
Chimamanda Adichie.

For more, you can visit my small blog on
Kelvinodanz.

Politics / Re: Pictures From The Battle In Baga Against Boko Haram by kelvOdanz(m): 2:16pm On Feb 24, 2015
Egbagirl:
Did anyone notice the 2011 picture?
Yeah.I was about drawing people's attention to that.Besides, I have seen most of these pictures last week.

The news might be authentic but the graphic evidence are hugely flawed..

#JustSaying.

Romance / Re: Reasons Why You Should Date A Shy And Introvert Guy. by kelvOdanz(m): 10:50pm On Oct 12, 2014
esmeralda1:

Water and garri

Read wot I wrote again
Story for the gods
Romance / Re: How Do You React To An Accidental Kiss by kelvOdanz(m): 10:28pm On Oct 12, 2014
temigracie:
...If its someone I hate or dont have any feelings for......I ll simply walk away....

But if its from someone I like, I ll keep quiet and warn him not to try that again.....

.....but deep in my heart, I ll wish he ll do that again........

Why not just be "You" for once. Women Sef. Thinking something different and doing something different at the same time..
#Walks off
Romance / How To Be A Man In The 21st Century by kelvOdanz(m): 5:27pm On Oct 09, 2014
I just stumbled on this. It is quite long but informative

Dear young men,
I want to tell you what I wish I’d been told, as I
bumbled through the awkward years between 15
and 25. This whole letter might sound self-
important, coming from a 34-year-old who writes
mostly about how he’s just beginning to get the
hang of adult life. Maybe it is, and you can take it
or leave it.
All I know is that when I was negotiating that
stretch between junior high and full adulthood, I
could have used some guidance from men who
were old enough to be done with that phase, but
who were too young to be my dad.
But I didn’t have that, so like most of us, I picked
up my strategies from the similarly confused
young men around me. Even though that’s pretty
normal, in terms of instructions on how to be a
mature and respectful adult it’s hard to do worse
than that — so I hope I can offer you a bit of
insight you might not find among your peers.
You’ll still have to choose who to believe and
who to ignore, I just want to offer a different
voice than the ones you may be hearing.
Some of what follows applies particularly to
straight young men, because I’m pulling it from
my own experience, but I think the principles
behind it are pretty universal.
You will constantly have people telling you, both
implicitly and explicitly, that you have to be a
man. What that even means, in the 21st century, I
don’t quite know. It certainly has a less specific
meaning than it used to, and that’s a good thing.
Machismo was never a good fit for many of us
guys, and it clearly doesn’t make the world a
more enlightened place.
Still, if you are male, you will be forced to relate
to this increasingly irrelevant concept of “being a
man” in some way or another.
Even though we humans are (thankfully) moving
on from seeing ourselves as two distinct kinds of
creatures, there’s nothing wrong with being a
man, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.
There’s nothing wrong with doing traditionally
“manly” things. Don’t be embarrassed by them. If
you want to watch football on Sunday, or train in
MMA, or grow a handlebar mustache, or buy a
pickup truck, make no apologies.
No, there’s nothing wrong with masculinity —
until it’s used as a gauge for measuring and
excluding people, whether they’re women or other
men, or people who don’t identify as either.
Regardless of whether masculinity appeals to you,
either as something to embody or to simply
admire in others, understand that it’s purely a
matter of personal taste and has nothing to do
with personal value.
Don’t worry about how your sexual experience (or
absence of it) stacks up. At about age 14, boys
feel like they have to start bullshitting about their
sexual exploits in order to survive. The pressure
on these kids is just too great for them to speak
frankly about it. Ignore what everyone says about
their sex lives. They are lying, all of them, at
least a little. And the kids who are actually doing
it in their tweens probably aren’t doing it very
well, and they’re probably not people you’ll want
to trade places with in ten years.
Forget the word “virgin,” as a descriptor for both
yourself and others. It’s an archaic, irrelevant
word, meant to stigmatize and shame people. It
oversells a person’s first sex act as some grand,
transformational experience, which supposedly
vindicates a young man and spoils a young
woman. It’s an obsolete, religious, judgmental
word. Let’s leave it behind.
Failing to “fit in” in school is a good thing. It
means there’s some element of individuality in
you that will not be squashed. God help you if
your self-esteem peaks in high school.
Nobody knows who they are at that age anyway.
People start to get an idea of what’s important to
them and who they want to be in their late
twenties or early thirties. Just try not to cause
too much damage in the mean time. Simply
survive those awkward years. Get good grades
and make some friends, but don’t worry about
being cool. Successfully achieving coolness in
high school is like being knighted by Ronald
McDonald.
All young men will encounter the “seduction
community” at some point. Beware. While there
is some genuinely well-intentioned dating and
self-improvement advice to be found there, so
much of the discussion is absolutely riddled with
misogyny. It isn’t always overt, but it’s always
there. If you start referring to women as
“targets,” you crossed the line a long time ago.
Think of women as being just like you, rather than
some other species. You don’t learn to approach
women, you learn to talk to people. Those forums
are filled with young men who never learned how
to talk to other people. When you’re thirty, come
back and read this stuff. It will make you sad.
If there’s a real secret to “seduction,” here it is:
Always be building a life that turns you on,
represent yourself as honestly and
straightforwardly as you can, and have
conversations with a lot of people. That’s it.
Connections will happen. If you’re bad at those
things, give yourself as long as it takes to get
good at them. You have time.
On the matter of “sluts” — there are none. Nobody
is a slut. The number of sexual partners a person
has had, or is rumored to have had, is a) none of
your business and b) indicates, by itself,
absolutely nothing about the character of that
person. If you want to know what kind of person
someone is, talk to them. If you believe in
personal freedom you cannot believe in sluts.
Throughout your life you’ll encounter sexist
attitudes, even from your favorite people. Much
of it will come in the form of what you are
supposed to do, think and say, in order to be a
man. And unless you’re not paying attention,
you’ll almost certainly discover some of these
attitudes in yourself. Sexism isn’t confined to
bigots and wife-beaters. It’s too common, too
normal for that. It is often subtle, unintentional,
even well-meaning .
You have a responsibility here, whether you want
it or not. Some of the very normal expectations
that will be placed on you as a male — to
distance yourself from femininity, to be tough and
stolid, to laugh at certain jokes, to use words like
“slut” without irony, to deride ambitious or non-
traditional women, to dominate and emasculate
other males — are keeping even the most
enlightened parts of this world less hospitable for
women than for you.
Learn to recognize and violate these
expectations. Don’t be another dead billiard ball,
passing this nasty energy on to your peers, and
eventually your sons. We need new norms, and
creating them will take the help of defiant and
thoughtful young men. That’s you. The problem of
sexism isn’t a women’s issue. It’s a matter of
ensuring personal freedom for everyone regardless
of sex.
And a lot of your pals (and even your heroes)
aren’t going to help in this department. Most of
them will be embarrassed to talk about it,
because they’re too afraid of saying something
that will disqualify them from successfully being a
man, based on their current strategy.
If you believe you should have the freedom to
pursue happiness within your rights, it’s only
sensible to believe in that freedom for everyone,
and that means making sexism your problem too,
even if it never seemed like it was.
At the root of it all is our lingering capacity for
violence — the unfortunate biological reality that
even a physically unremarkable man can knock
out the average woman, if he thinks it will help
him more than it will harm him.
So from the dawn of humanity, whenever there
has been a disagreement between a man and a
woman, both of them knew from the start — no
matter what kind of reason or sense either side
brought to the table — which one must eventually
back down. Unlike the woman, the man could
expect to get his way without having an
intelligent argument, without considering the
needs of others, without being right at all, without
any sensible reason for things to go his way.
This expectation — that power over others is a
viable, noble path to happiness — lingers in the
way we talk, in the way we define manhood, in
the expectations males place on each other. This
is especially influential on high-school and
college-age males, because they do not yet feel
like men, and they believe they’re supposed to.
The forces of civilization and education are very
slowly discrediting this stone-age approach to
life, and dismantling the power imbalance that
has grown around it.
For us to get there, young men need to
understand as early in their lives as possible that
men have a long history of getting their way for
no good reason. This advantage comes, of
course, at the expense of fellow human beings,
and we need to learn to be aware of it and eliminate it wherever we see it.

Is it your fault? No. But whether you want it or
not, you’ve inherited the responsibility of creating
a new answer to the ancient question of what it
means to be a man. The old answers are no
good.

Celebrities / Re: Google Explains Why It Shutdown Linda Ikeji's Blog by kelvOdanz(m): 5:02pm On Oct 09, 2014
[quote author=kelvOdanz post=27000393][/quote]
Celebrities / Re: Google Explains Why It Shutdown Linda Ikeji's Blog by kelvOdanz(m): 4:50pm On Oct 09, 2014
[quote author=]
ndndhdhd
[/quote]
Career / Re: It Is A Fallacy That No Knowledge Is a Wasted one by kelvOdanz(m): 3:13pm On Oct 07, 2014
I think the OP is more interested in defending the statement than seeing enough reason to let the statement die off as it is---indefensible
Career / Re: It Is A Fallacy That No Knowledge Is a Wasted one by kelvOdanz(m): 2:51pm On Oct 07, 2014
Pachunky:
OP I disagree with U, it was the fingering knowledge I gained in primary school that has helped me in f**king p***y this days. No knowledge is a waste. grin
Let me guess, you are in your twenties and still can't get a hold of your life; That primary school kid is still in you
Career / Re: It Is A Fallacy That No Knowledge Is a Wasted one by kelvOdanz(m): 11:49am On Oct 07, 2014
SaintChukz:
Do you know it is sheer arrogance to want to force your own beliefs and opinion on others?
He knows and seem to enjoy it. Those jumping behind him also know, but the fact they see themselves in him makes him a temporary cult hero

SaintChukz:
If truth is to come from only one source, what then is the credibility of such truth when it hasn't been tested by others?
Something he will never stoop low to accept. "There is no absolute truth!! The statement itself is not absolutely true!!

Let me cite an instance with the knowledge of languages. Few years ago, I got quite fascinated with Chinese because I got involved with Chinese movies. I set out to learn the language, it was tough and almost silly given that I never had any plans of travelling to China or getting involved with anything that has to do with China(It was absolutely out of curiosity and the fact that I was idle at home).

Fastfoward---Ladt year I joined AIESEC in school and was in charge of international relations focused mainly on student exchange. In my work, I met and interviewed over a hundred Chinese students. My Chinese was so so poor but imagine the fascination at someone from far off Africa speaking/understanding your language. It helped me a great deal and it still does.

I could cite several other instances. The point is, for you to validate that statement if yours, you have to get us a copy of the FUTURE!! Until then, I feel you are rather pontificating!!

p.s, I am not saying the statement is absolutely true. No statement or argument is absolutely true---That applies to your rebuttal of the statement

Politics / Re: Boko Haram Killings Has Nothing Do With Religion – Jonathan by kelvOdanz(m): 4:25pm On Oct 04, 2014
I strongly do feel GEJ should learn to shut the Bleep up especially over topics he clearly doesn't know so much about or has doubts over.

Politics / Boko Haram Killings Has Nothing Do With Religion – Jonathan by kelvOdanz(m): 4:20pm On Oct 04, 2014
President Goodluck Jonathan has said that the
killing of innocent children and women in markets,
mosques, and schools has nothing to do with
religion.
The president was speaking when some members
of the Muslim community visited him in
commemoration of the Eid-Kabir Sallah.
The delegation was led by the Vice President,
Namadi Sambo, alongside the Minister of State
for the Federal Capital Territory, Olajumoke
Akindele.
Mr. Jonathan said Nigerians should see their
neighbours as themselves.
“What is happening globally now has no religious
basis. Only yesterday, a British aid worker was
slaughtered by ISIS and that is not Islamic,” he
said.
He called on Nigerians to continue to pray for the
forgiveness of those who were doing things that
were not religious.
“I believe in this country, I believe that Nigeria
has a lot to offer not only to Nigerians but to the
world and that surely we will get to where we
want to go.
“Whatever obstacles we see are very ephemeral
and part of history of nation building, if you read
the history of all nations, there is no nation that
does not pass through some challenges but they
got over it and moved ahead. I think we are
getting over our problems,” he said.
Mr. Jonathan the 2014 Eidel Fitri celebration is
quite significant.
“As the day of Arafat coincided on a Friday and
from what I was told it takes a long time to have
that coincidence and remembering the fact that
2014 is our centenary year, that shows that
something good is happening to this country,” he
said.
The day of Arafat is the day before the Sallah,
when an important observance which falls during
the Islamic month of Hajj, the Islamic pilgrim to
Makkah is performed.
He said it was evident that in the midst of all the
challenges facing Nigeria, it was experiencing
something good and overcoming its problems.
“We may have our challenges as other nations
but when things begin to happen in a particular
way, I begin to see light at the end of the tunnel,”
he said.
The Vice President in his remarks prayed for
peace in the country. He also prayed that Allah
will give the President the strength and good
health to continue to surmount the challenges
facing the country.
Others who were part of the delegation were the
National Security Adviser, Sambo Dasuki, the
Inspector General of Police, Suleiman Abba,
Former PDP Chairman, Bello Haliru, the Primate
of Anglican Communion, Nicholas Okoh, former
speaker of the House of Representatives Ghali
Umar Na’Abba, the Deputy Chief Imam of the
FCT, Sheik Ahmed Onilewuran, the Chairman of
the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) Abuja
Chapter, Isreal Akanji.

source : https://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/more-news/169038-boko-haram-killings-has-nothing-do-with-religion-jonathan.html
Webmasters / Re: Facebook To Begin Charging Users $2.99 Per Month Starting November 1st by kelvOdanz(m): 12:51pm On Sep 24, 2014
economictimes.indiatimes.com/magazines/panache/facebook-not-going-to-charge-users-any-fee-reports/articleshow/43151841.cms

#Don't swallow the wrong hook
Politics / Re: 10 More Boko Haram Terrorists Surrender by kelvOdanz(m): 6:02pm On Sep 22, 2014
I think "10 more Boko haram terrorists arrested" would fit better..
Romance / Re: 10 Things Ladies Do After A Break-up by kelvOdanz(m): 12:13am On Sep 16, 2014
kaposky: You are correct but not all of them will do exactly this.
what do you think?
Lol.If any girl does "exactly" all of what was listed, then she needs medical help.. But I am sure you(and all them girls) have done one or more of those things
Romance / Re: 10 Things Ladies Do After A Break-up by kelvOdanz(m): 12:28pm On Sep 15, 2014
ukukaegbu:

How did u know? Especially that of Facebook?
Because we break up and sometimes make up again;At least thrice. And when we are in good terms, she reveals all that to me.
Besides, she is not normally enthusiastic about Facebook, but anytime we break up, you always find her online 24/7
Politics / Re: Unreleased Photos From The Battle In Konduga (bloody Scene) Warning!! by kelvOdanz(m): 12:17pm On Sep 15, 2014
donphilopus:

I've always seen him in military camouflage in his videos!
Perhaps we watch different videos of Shekau then
Politics / Re: Unreleased Photos From The Battle In Konduga (bloody Scene) Warning!! by kelvOdanz(m): 11:40pm On Sep 14, 2014
donphilopus: I thought they said they're always in Military Camouflage?! Why am I now seeing bloody civilians?! Anyways, kudos to our Gallant Military men!
I guess you've watched few of BH videos celebrating their own victory in battles(The Gwoza video to be specific). Did you see any of them with military camouflage?? Does Shekau himself wear camouflage in his "presidential" speeches?

Romance / Re: 10 Things Ladies Do After A Break-up by kelvOdanz(m): 5:19pm On Sep 13, 2014
amiskurie: I can't imagine how many girls stalking me right noww sad
Hahahahahaha...My last girlfriend won't let me move on..She stalks me on Facebook, whatsapp, BBM...Everywhere except phone calls

Romance / 10 Things Ladies Do After A Break-up by kelvOdanz(m): 3:17pm On Sep 13, 2014
1. DELETE HIS NUMBER: This is always the first
move. As soon as the guy breaks their heart, the
next thing is to delete his number. But you know
what’s annoying about this? It doesn’t change
anything because we still have the ex’s phone
number stored up in our brains. Ask them in five
years, they still remember!
2. THEY BECOME RELATIONSHIP EXPERTS: I
know most people can relate to this. We all have
that friend who had a bad break up and next
thing, she thinks she has a BSc in dating.
Relationships become her favourite topic. She
suddenly wants to give relationship advice at the
slightest chance, even if hers did not work. She
knows how not to date a guy.
3. BECOME BORN AGAIN: When a guy whom they
loved so much breaks their hearts, next thing is
church. They forgot God was their companion
before the break up, but as soon as the break up
happens, they have the front row in church, their
voices would be the loudest during service and
would go to church 10 times a day if they have
to. Some Muslims even start wearing hijab. But
as soon as they find love again, it’s back to
square one. Thank God our God is a Merciful One!
4. TEAM SINGLE AND LOVING IT: Ladies always
have a sense of empowerment after a bad break-
up. You start to see things like, #
teamsingleandlovingit, #teamsingleforever etc
even though we are dying inside. We suddenly
have our little NGOs and become allergic to men.
I pity some toasters during this period because
they will smell pepper!
5. BINGE EATING AND DRINKING: It’s after a
break up that we remember that food is our best
friend. They would buy the big bowl of ice cream
and the biggest bowl of KFC chicken, or even buy
a bottle of alcohol and just drink to stupor. The
truth of the matter is, it doesn’t make us feel any
better but we do it anyway!
6. LISTEN TO DEPRESSING SONGS: They dig out
Adele’s album or watch ‘A walk to remember’ and
lay on their beds all day, crying their eyeballs out
after every scene. We all know how depressing
Adele’s ‘Someone like you’ is. Even when you are
in the best relationship, that song just has a way
of making you feel sad.
7. MOOD SWINGS: After a break up, everything
reminds you of the ex. One second they are
happy, the next you see the type of car your ex
owns, or smell his cologne somewhere and they
are sad. Most friends avoid these ones!
8. STALKING: This is a common factor amongst
the ladies. After a bad break up, they would stalk
their ex on Instagram, Facebook or even dial his
number a couple of times with a strange number.
Then when he says hello, they hang up or just
remain silent. We know some of you are guilty.
Women are the best CIA agents!
9. THEY NEVER SIT AT HOME: If you haven’t
noticed this, when a girl is single, she never stays
home. Even if she wants to, her friends will never
let her. She would always want to go out and
have
that fun she would never have had with her ex. It
is always a plus when they know that their ex
would be at the event. If their ex will be there,
they would kak up (dress to kill) just to make
sure he realises what he is missing. Besides, Mr.
Right can be found anywhere.
10. ONTO THE NEXT ONE: Most of the time, they
turn to good girl gone bad if they can’t handle
themselves. Those toasters she kept on hold
while she was dating become her besties and we
all know the things that go along with that.
I’m sure once in your lifetime, you have done at
least one of these listed above.

222 Likes 38 Shares

Jokes Etc / Re: The Nigerian, Togolese And Ghanian by kelvOdanz(m): 7:46pm On Aug 26, 2014
Guykhena:

The same tribal war boss Seun is fighting,,and you made a joke to promote it!!! Smh.
Bro, it is just a joke...besides,it is not tribe-specific..The blanks are there to be filled
Jokes Etc / The Nigerian, Togolese And Ghanian by kelvOdanz(m): 6:16pm On Aug 26, 2014
A Togolese, a Nigerian and a Ghanaian were caught red handed drinking alcohol in Saudi Arabia, where consumption of Alcohol is strictly prohibited. The three of them were dragged in front of the Sultan, who said: “You will get 50 lashes for the consumption of alcohol. However, since you are foreigners and did not know about the prohibition, I will be lenient. Each of you will have a wish before getting the punishment.

You start, Togolese.” Togolese: “I wish that you tie a pillow to my back, before you flog me.” His wish was fulfilled, but the flogging was so strong that the pillow tore into pieces after 25
lashes. The Ghanaian, upon seeing what had happened to the Togolese wished for two pillows on his back but still, the pillows got torn early.

Now the Sultan turns to the Nigerian Man , and says: “Now, Nigerian, since I am a big football fan and you won the Last African Nations Cup, I will be
specially lenient with you. You have two wishes, but choose well.” The Nigerian says: “First of all I
want 100 lashes”. The Ghanaian and the Togolese
look at themselves flabbergasted. The Sultan replies: “I do not understand it, but we will grant you the double number of lashes! And
your second wish?” Nigerian:“Tie the Ghanaian on my back”
Lwkm. ;DA Togolese, a Nigerian and a Ghanaian were caught red handed drinking alcohol in Saudi Arabia, where consumption of Alcohol is strictly prohibited. The three of them were dragged in front of the Sultan, who said: “You will get 50 lashes for the consumption of alcohol. However, since you are foreigners and did not know about the prohibition, I will be lenient. Each of you will have a wish before getting the punishment.

You start, Togolese.” Togolese: “I wish that you tie a pillow to my back, before you flog me.” His wish was fulfilled, but the flogging was so strong that the pillow tore into pieces after 25
lashes. The Ghanaian, upon seeing what had happened to the Togolese wished for two pillows on his back but still, the pillows got torn early.

Now the Sultan turns to the Nigerian Man , and says: “Now, Nigerian, since I am a big football fan and you won the Last African Nations Cup, I will be
specially lenient with you. You have two wishes, but choose well.” The Nigerian says: “First of all I
want 100 lashes”. The Ghanaian and the Togolese
look at themselves flabbergasted. The Sultan replies: “I do not understand it, but we will grant you the double number of lashes! And
your second wish?” Nigerian:“Tie the Ghanaian on my back”
Lwkm. Which tribe is the Nigerian?
Politics / The 36-year-old Skeleton Of A Dead Baby Has Been Found Inside A Woman by kelvOdanz(m): 6:05pm On Aug 26, 2014
Doctors in India have removed a baby’s skeleton
from inside its mother, nearly four decades after
the unborn infant died.
Kantabai Thakre became pregnant in 1978, aged
24, but doctors warned the ectopic pregnancy had
little chance of success.
Terrified of an operation, the young mother fled
home and sought treatment for the pain in a
small clinic near the village where she lived.
After a few months the pain subsided and Mrs
Thakre was convinced she had been cured.
However, last week the pains returned and Mrs
Thakre, now 60, visited doctors in the central
Indian city of Nagpur.
Having found a lump on the lower right side of
her abdomen, doctors at the NKP Salve Institute
of Medical Sciences were concerned about cancer
but an MRI scan revealed the hard mass was in
fact the skeleton of her unborn child.
Speaking to The Times of India , Dr Murtaza
Akhtar, head of surgery at the hospital, said last
week: "It was after the patient underwent a MRI
that the doctors could make out that the mass
was in fact a child's skeleton".

Source for more : http://ind.pn/VLwKz3
Foreign Affairs / South Koreans To Become Extinct By 2750 by kelvOdanz(m): 5:55pm On Aug 26, 2014
South Koreans are on course to become extinct
by the year 2750, making them potentially the
first national population to disappear from the
planet due to a critically low birth rate.
According to a projection carried out as part of a
parliamentary study, the last survivor in the
capital Seoul will be born in 2505, while the last
South Korean anywhere will enter the world in
2621, the Chosun Ilbo newspaper reported.
The southern port city of Busan, which has one of
the most rapidly-aging populations in the country,
will be the first to empty and see its last resident
born in 2413, the study suggests.
In the shorter term, South Korea’s current
population of 50 million was forecast to drop to
40 million by 2056 and to 20 million by 2100.
The research was commissioned by the liberal
New Politics Alliance for Democracy party, and
carried out by the National Assembly Research
Service in Seoul.
It draws attention to the country’s fertility rate of
1.19 children born per woman recorded in 2013,
far below that which would be required to sustain
the population.
The rate is below that of China – despite its one-
child policy – and Japan, where the Financial
Times reports that the sales of nappies for old
people are expected to soon sell more than those
for babies.
The study follows on from the work of Oxford
University population expert David Coleman, who
said in 2006 that South Korea’s fertility rate
threatened the existence of the nation.
In Japan, a similar study in 2012 projected that
the last child would be born in 3011, the
Telegraph reported.
The government in South Korea has put in place
measures in recent years to try and combat the
trend, thought to have been started by campaigns
to restrict family size in the 1980s.
One of the most prohibitive influences making
parents stop at just one child was the extremely
high cost of private tuition, which has now been
capped.
Cha Woo-gyu, a professor at the Korea National
University of Education, told the FT that the
parliamentary study’s predictions failed to
account for such measures and instead that “the
report’s purpose is to generate alarm”.

Source: www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/south-koreans-to-become-extinct-by-2750-due-to-dangerously-low-birth-rate-9691258.html
Religion / Re: Controversial Pastor Lesego Pictured Stepping On His Members by kelvOdanz(m): 5:44pm On Aug 26, 2014
So, no one noticed that picture was photoshooped abi? Look closely at the contact the pastor's shoes are making with the body of those lying down!!! Image fraud..#Dont wake me up
Politics / Re: A Cry For Help From A Military Wife(sos) by kelvOdanz(m): 6:31pm On Aug 25, 2014
Omexonomy: they are all lies made to insult gej and the NA e.g tambuwal and kwankwaso was claimed that BH are well funded and motivated more than the nigerian army. The governor of boron claimed BH are having a better weapon than The NA. They soke as if they know the in and out of bh.
Are you trying to say that the Cameroonian army that accepted, disarmed and played host to our over 400 deserting soldiers are lairs too? Even the BBC who somehow dares to enter those violence-infested areas are only forging stories to disgrace your Mr. President abi? Denial is the new virus eating deep into the pro Jonathan camp.

Politics / Re: BREAKING NEWS: Boko Haram Leader Declares Gwoza ‘islamic Caliphate’ by kelvOdanz(m): 8:03pm On Aug 24, 2014
seankafor: both shekeau and boko medias re foolish..why cant they post videos or pix of their flags if truly they captured anytin...i lyk how the nija army are ignoring medias that promote rubbish news about them and smokin boko bastards out silently...they bokos now relies on the media to inflict fear among every person cos they knw they hav lost..now if truly they took over one community..dont they knw dat the military may launch an airstrike in that community to wipe out every living soul..maybe its wat they want xo dat d civilian casualties will be high and they will use it to show their human right activists..boko days re numberd

Guy, I have people who live in Madagali, a town that borders Born and Adamawa; friends I met during my many journeys..Believe it or not, Gaza and Madagali are under Boko Hara M's control just like vast areas of Iraq and Syria..When a government is not ready to stand up to its words, terrorists takes cover..NA army is losing the war, fold the "propaganda" script

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 110