jimmy4x: Go do ur research well bro, Ronaldo has stopped being a winger, he hardly stays there, you'll find him most times in the box waiting to slot in goals, why wud a winger do that, even Marcelo does the work of a winger better than him these days.....abi u wan deny that one?? a small assignment for you, Differentiate between a Winger and a False-Nine/striker. Tell me which one Ronaldo falls into, if u can convince me, with screenshots of both definition, I'll rest.
I don't need to do any research, it's just common sense.If Ronaldo is a false 9(which he has never been) or a 9, what does tha make Benzema? A winger? I watch Madrid and Ronaldo always starts on the left and goes to the middle when Madrid are desperate to get a goal.How do you think Ronaldo has racked up 16 assists in the league and 22 in all competition.Are you also saying neymar is a striker/false 9?
jimmy4x: They are all either complete 9 or False-9 for their various teams, Hazard is never a false-9 Hope u know there is the term False-nine in Football?? Even Benzema who's a complete 9 isn't goal-crazy as Cr7, Benzema will rather pass to cr7 than score the goal himself, abi I lie? Apart from Neymar, cr7 and Messi, tell me anoda player in all the European top teams that scores 38 goals per season, he can only be a striker, not Hazard, Robben, Iniesta, Ribery, Gotze, Walcott, Di Maria, Pedro, Bale...who else can do that?? its only a complete -9 or a false-9
Ronaldo is neither a false 9 or a complete 9.He has been used as a 9 in very few games that Benzema and Jese were injured, but that does not make him a 9.He starts from the wing and occasionally drifts to the middle.A false 9 is a striker/cf that drops deep to create for his wingers/forwards and must be a good passer/playmaker(Messi 2012).Ronaldo has never been used as a False 9.Stop with the lies.
Chanchit: . Abeg I no ready to laugh jare, so all that BS he did with fk's this season has a name in knuckle hehehe, so how many did he score with that technique?
Despite Ronaldo's recent poor form in terms of free kicks, he still had the most free kicks score in the league this season(2). Most direct free-kick goals in la liga(last 20 years): Ronaldo-17 R.Carlos-16 Ronaldinho-15 Messi-12
ddippset: this guy nor wan get sense at all. We may have to call in the efcc and the paramedics to tie this guy up, open up his skull and implant a brain in there. He loves to talk about Ronaldo being in madrid for 6 years and Messi being in la liga his whole career. For goodness sake who doesn't know that free kicks were for Ronaldinho and then eto sometimes before Messi even became a first team player? Which football fan doesn't know this? How could someone possible talk about Messi and freekicks before 2009?how? I am worried for Krasid.
How many free kicks has both scored since 2009 for their respective teams.
jimmy4x: Neymar's 9 UCL goals I downloaded just now,I watched it like twice....he worked for only 2 outta the goals, all the rest were tap ins, 2-touch or 3-touch goals from Messi, Iniesta or Suarez's hardwork....U'll find him most of the time in the box, waiting for the pass. Later dey will say Hazard scored only 2 goals from open play, disregarding his penalties nd d fouls he suffered just 2 goals outta 9....no serious work from him dan to finish what Messi, Iniesta nd Suarez have worked for, he shud be compared to the likes of Aguero, Ronaldo, Harry Kane, Diego Costa, his job is different from Hazard's.
seankay: I just imagining what an Messi - Hazard combo wud look like. Those defenders go suffer mehn
It won't be as effective as Messi-Neymar.Hazard's strength lies in creating for his teammates, Barcelona already have a creator in Messi.A Ronaldo-Hazard combo would be deadlier than a Messi-Hazard combo.
ddippset: look at him. What he means is that Messi is most lethal with free kicks from the right side of the pitch, not that Messi does not belong to that group. Don't get ahead of yourself.
Messi does not belong to that group.He is a good fk taker, nothing more.
dmcdad: Messi is not really a great FK taker. But frankly, in terms of taking FKs, if Penaldo is there, then Messi should be there too.
Anywayz, Juninho any day of the week. That guy?
Messi is not a great fk taker.He scored the same amount of fk as Ronaldo this season despite Ronaldo having one of his worst seasons in terms of fk.Ronaldo also has the record for most liga fk's(in just 6 seasons) despite Messi being in la liga his whole career.Deal with it.
ddippset: like Goodluck Jonathan said, I don't give a damn! You were very particular about the goal at the camp nou and I responded appropriately. You kept yapping that that goal won the league for madrid. How could it? When they were already 4 points clear before that goal? Say something else but stop hyping that goal Like mourino and others did.
If Messi had showed up and won barca that game, the gap would have been reduced to one point and with a few games left anything could have happened.Prior to that game Madrid faced Atletico with a lot of Barca fans expecting us to lose at the Calderon and reduce the gap to a single point and then they would finish the job at the camp nou.Ronaldo scored a hat trick in that game to lead Madrid to a 4-1 win.He was incredible that season.
ddippset: it's just like me bragging about my 10 million naira, and you come to my house bragging about your 5 million naira. I am not saying you can't brag about your 5 million. Please do, because it's also a lot of money but just don't come bragging at my house. 40 goals is a lot, please brag about it but just don't use it in the same sentence with Messi' 50. It shows you have no shame. But maybe you don't care because Nairaland is a faceless forum. People say all sorts of thrash because others don't see their faces.
Look at it this way.You have 10 million now, but i am reminding you that there was a time you had 1 million and was contented with being a millionaire until I came up and made 5 million and you were motivated to make 10.Not so hard to understand, is it? Why would I be bragging about his 40 goals now when he has scored 46 and 48 since then.All i am saying is that B4 he broke that tally, 40 goals had never been achieved in the history of la liga.
ddippset: thank God you just said it, you were already 4 points ahead of barca. And you keep yapping that Ronaldo' goal at the camp nou won la liga. Outright hypocrisy! And lie! What is so hard for you to understand? Winning la liga does not make you the best player automatically. Winning the pichichi does not make you the best player automatically. Even a 10 year old should understand this! It's an all round performance thing. Haba! Are you an abok1? In 2011\12,Ronaldo won la liga and what else? Don't tell me he scored a winning goal at the camp nou. That would be too dumb! Messi won Copa del Rey, won the pichichi with world record 50 goals, won the European golden shoe with a world record 50 goals, made a record 28 assists, scored a record 73 goals. Hey I will not repeat myself. Keep drawing in your ignorance. In the past 7 years Messi has won 5 times best player in spain and this is his 6th one. It's no fluke.
And how did Madrid record a 4 point gap before we met barca?
Chanchit: . @dmcdad, I know it would be a lot of job but it. Would be good if we know how many career FK this guys scored, maybe ranking them by that would be better then. But when it comes to just putting the balls into the net, I don't know how Juninho does it, the balls just enter though his fk's are ugly his technique is encrypted by merlin, while Pirlo's technique is not that far from Juninho's but his fk's looks prettier but for players like Ronaldinho, Beckham and Messi their fk's are a beauty to watch, while Ronaldo goes the blasting way. If Messi does not make the list, its not a Big deal cos he's not scored a fk of recent likewise CR7.
Ronaldo uses the knuckle ball technique, he doesn't just blast them.Messi is no fk specialist and does not deserve to be there.
ddippset: I'm not belittling it, 40 goals a great feat, 50 goals an extraordinary feat. They should never be in the same sentence.
You did so by saying i have no shame talking about 40 goals.Somebody must take a step, before another can think of running a yard.The 30 goal mark must be breached b4 someone can think of reaching the 40 goal mark, likewise 40 and 50.Messi would have been content with his 30+ if Ronaldo did not breach the 40 goal mark.
ddippset: Under whatever circumstances, you have no shame talking about 40 goals when I am talking 50! Best player in la liga is not determined exclusively by who was top scorer or who won the league. you have to use your common sense, your discretion, and your sincerity to determine the best player of any season. In that season Ronaldo scored 40 goals, Messi won la liga, Copa del Rey, champions League, and destroyed madrid in several El classico including the 5-0 drubbing. Anyone who thinks Ronaldo ahead of Messi that season is deluded.
I am using both seasons(10/11 and 11/12) to show how biased and contradictory you are in your analysis.What exactly is used to determine the best player? 'common sense', 'sincerity', 'discretion'. Of what use is scoring 73 goals a season when it only wins your team the CDR.Ronaldo was hands down the best player in 2011/2012 season.We were just 4 points ahead of Barcelona when we met at the camp nou and Ronaldo decided that game.
ddippset: you ve got a lot to learn Boi. It's not black, it's not white. There are a lot of grey areas. I am talking about 50 goals a season, and you are still bring talks about 40 goals. 40 goals! Under whatever circumstances, you have no shame talking about 40 goals when I am talking 50!
B4 the 2011/2012 season when Messi scored 50, 40 goals was a great tally as no other player had ever recorded such(Not even the liga born and bred Messi).Do not try to belittle that in any way.
ddippset: Messi s 50 goals were not useless because even though they didn't win la liga, they created history. But what you really can call USELESS are ronaldo s 48 goals; no league title, no history! Nothing could be more useless. You expect Ronaldo to win la liga player of the season? Pls let's collaborate with the moderators and bet 100,000 each.
They created history? From what I can remember, Real madrid was the team who created history racking up a staggering 100 points in la liga.We finished above Barcelona with about 7 points that year, beating them in front of their fans with Ronaldo getting the winning goal.With the league gone, Messi started scoring hat tricks that did not benefit the team in any way.
ddippset: If you don't know let me school you. Best player in la liga is not limited to just la liga. It's enveloped around the entire season: the Copa del Rey and the Champions League. So it's called best player IN la liga not best player OF LA liga. note the IN not OFF! More like best player in spain. Also Messi did not break a year record, he broke la liga scoring record. 50 goals, not Ronaldo, not any player who ever played in la liga ever managed that. Then the European golden shoe as well, no European footballer ever managed that.
Who previously held the record for most goals in a la liga season before it was broken by Messi? Ronaldo(2010/2011)
When did Messi break the record? 2011/2012 You do not need to be a genius to know that Messi broke a year old record.Meanwhile, Ronaldo broke a 38 year old record the previous season.Both were close in the goal race in 2011/12 season until Madrid won the league and Messi started scoring meaningless hat-tricks.
ddippset: Messi s 50 goals were not useless because even though they didn't win la liga, they created history. But what you really can call USELESS are ronaldo s 48 goals; no league title, no history! Nothing could be more useless. You expect Ronaldo to win la liga player of the season? Pls let's collaborate with the moderators and bet 100,000 each.
Mind you, Ronaldo scored 40 league goals the previous season 'creating history' by beating a 38 year old record held by H.Sanchez and T.Zarra.He scored about 7 goals more than Messi that season, being the first player to hit the 40 goal mark ever in la liga.Guess who won the best player that year? Yes, Messi.I wouldn't be surprised if Messi should win the best player this year and would be stupid to bet against that.The problem with the Spanish league is that despite its quality, organization is poor.The lfp should state the criterion needed to name the best player.
ddippset: I just knew you 'd come up with that 2011/12 season. Messi wasn't only top scorer, he made history with those 50 goals. No man born of a woman ever scored 50 goals in an European season. Ronaldo s 48 goals don't create any history. Also Messi won the Copa del Rey, and recorded the highest number of assists that season. So it's never been a law that the one who wins la liga must be the best player in la liga. But Messi won it in 2011/12 for 4 major reasons : 1 . creating history with 50 league goals. 2. Making another history with 73 goals in all competitions. 3 . making yet another history with 28 assists in the season. 4 . winning the Spanish kings cup. So how the heck do you you even try to compare Ronaldo 2014/15 with Messi 2011/12? Abeg no try am!
What does winning the spanish cup and scoring over 70 in all competitions that season have to do with la liga best player? Messi only broke a year old record previously held by Ronaldo who scored 40 in 2010/11.
ddippset: well deserved? Ahead of Messi? Lol. Well, just forget it. This season 2014/15, Messi wins la liga player of the season. No contest. Like I said before, that dubious award they called 'MOST VALUABLE PLAYER IN LA LIGA' which was used to compensate him that year, might just be introduced again. Then after this year they stop it again.
Messi won it in the 2011/2012 Season after scoring 50 useless goals ahead of Ronaldo who scored 46 that led Madrid to the title including the winner at camp nou.I expect Ronaldo to win it this time around.
mikron: worn out as in how? na wao o, so many faithless fans here. so krasid u also believe we re not a strong side?
worn out as in tired after facing a few tough teams.I am not faithless, just being realistic.I believe in this team but wishing to face one of the tournament favourites as early as the R16 is pure madness.The same thing happened against Brazil when most fans were predicting outrageous scorelines like 5-0 in favour of the Flying eagles.Who knows? Maybe we would have beaten (or possibly beat) them if we meet them at the latter stages of the tournament.By then, the players would have understood each other better and would be too hot to handle for any team.
BascoVanVeli: How can u say football is not about mathematics then say we should not want to play Germany? I would think being that football is played on the field not paper you would be confident in this team or have u not watched them play before the world cup? They can beat any team in the world so why be scared of Germany i say we get them now before they gain further momentum.
They are at their peak now and it would be bad to face them now.Playing them in the latter stages where they would have been worn-out would be better.
lexyman: On the average ,Germany has scored 5.5 goals per match ...it's better we avoid them now till we re ready to match them strength for strength .
AIG07: i'm disappointed by this kind of post. Abeg no short cut to GLORY. You must be tested n tried before you recieve medals for anyset goals in life even in football.Bring on d german machines. Verily verily, I tell u we got spanners that will untight n split their defence, we got screwdrivers n hammers that will drive in goals... Abeg when this players fully understand each other n gels together, Nations(our opponents) will tremble @ d sound of D name FLYINGEAGLES OF NIGERIA. But to be sincere most fans here are underestimating the potentials in this team... Make d germans de fire tanks i no care. Brazil did more than that @U-17 wc de never reach semi-final.
And you expect them to fully understand each other going into the Round of 16? I believe the flying eagles has enough potentials to win this WC, but it would be better to meet the tougher teams at the latter stages of the competition when the players have gelled.
chaberry: I'm not saying we should be afraid of them, neither am i saying that we should run from them, lol, i'm just saying that it wik be wiser to avoid them at this stage of the competition. I can remember our 2011 set of the u.20 that have Mohammed Musa in their rank, they promise so much, that makes many Nigerians bullish and thinking that cup has already been won, the hopes, expectation and dreams were left tathered after they were eliminated by France. What i'm trying to draw out in this is that our expectation is to high, maybe we're thinking that winning u.17 wil automatically make you a champion at the u.20level.. I LOVE THIS TEAM SO MUCH BUT MY YEARS OF XPERIENCE HAVE TAUGHT ME HOW TO WATCH FOOTBALL WITHOUT HAVING HEARTHBREAK(I THINK I EARN THAT FROM YRS OF SUPPORTING ARSENAL)
I had high hopes for that 2011 team.They played beautiful football, tearing teams apart at the early stages with 3,5,6 goals and was left heartbroken after we were defeated by France.
Bibleuser: Hazard is better bc he is playing in a tougher league plus he is the one to create chance in a team that is not all that great but if u look at neymar u will find out that he is being fed with ball from Messi and Suarez and la liga is a simpler and easier league
Try to make your points without using the 'tougher league' excuse pls.Barcelona and Real madrid face teams every week in la liga whose game plan is to park the bus for 90 minutes leaving them with limited space.