Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 7:23am On Jul 26, 2024 |
poseidon12: Then the government should encourage other Nigerians to establish more refineries. You don't prevent monopoly by destroying someone's investment. Don't be an enemy of progress. No one is destroying any business, when he built his refinery there was no written agreement that the government must sell him crude or buy petrol from him. There is crude in the market internationally and there are petrol buyers as well. He is a business man. He doesn't need the Nigerian government as customer by force. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 7:19am On Jul 26, 2024 |
poseidon12: I lack the intellect to make sense of this or present a counter argument.. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 4:17am On Jul 26, 2024 |
PSmurf: I agree to an extent - that cement prices can and probably should be lower, but also recognize there are other competent players in the cement market that can lower their prices and take market share from Dangote if it's profitable to do so. The fact they're not doing so suggests he might be selling at a reasonable market rate. Or that there's anticompetitive collusion in the market-which a responsible federal government should investigate and put an end to. This and others is what i want the government to guard against, because once we surrender the reins to Dangote refinery, we all come under his mercy.If you ask me, The person controlling Petrol in Nigeria is more powerful than the president. Trust me. Why do you think the USA goes to war in Oil countries ? Iraq,Iran,Libya,Russia,Venezuela.......Whoever controls the Oil controls the world. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 3:44am On Jul 26, 2024 |
cyphaAhmed: Are you proud of yourself right now? Country first, Ahmed. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 3:41am On Jul 26, 2024 |
MrBrownJay1: hhmm let me see... A) the Nigerian gov wasnt paying outrageous prices to get cement (from some yeye Malta factory) before Dangote came into the cement business B) the Nigerian gov didnt have failing cement factories in Nigeria that baba Dangote had to invest $20B in order to construct a cement factory to save Nigerians and oil prices in Nigeria C) what else do you see in your crystal ball that stops you from seeing that someone building the biggest refinery in Nigeria is a great thing for Nigerian and Nigerians (regardless of what you "imagine/wrongly assume" will happen in the future)? D) so you are saying that NOBODY should trust Dangote because cement price is high, yet Nigerian prices are SUPER HIGH TODAY and the country is falling apart (for the last 60years) but you keep trusting the same yeye political parties to rob you of your destiny... pls do tell me, whats the difference between cement monopoly and monopoly of the same yeye political parties ruining Nigeria year in and year out? if you foolishly accept one, why are you so bitter in accepting the other?
at the end of the day, whats best for NIGERIA/NIGERIANS today? You make good points. I also agree with you that Nigerian government and NNPC has failed us. I however strongly think Dangote is in it for his profits. We have clear antecedents in the cement manufacturing. Nigerians do not benefit in anyway from having the largest cement manufacturer despite all the free raw materials and concessions, where he would have had to pay for if he was located in another country. I do not know if you are ready to be objective or you are emotionally blinded due to the sufferings in Nigeria. Cement prices should be cheapest in Nigeria in the whole world. But guess who pockets all the profit to the detriment of Nigerians. People like you are now advocating we should hand over the oil/gas sector to him. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 1:54am On Jul 26, 2024 |
MrBrownJay1:
what does cement got to do with anything? was the gov buying cement from abroad in the past? was the gov selling cement to Nigerians in the past? rice is more expensive today, is that Dangote's fault too?
Nigeria has FOUR yeye refineries that has never been able to solve Nigeria fuel problems... but if someone put $20B of their own moneyto build the biggest refinery in Nigeria (that can cater for Nigeria's fuel needs), you want to call that monopoly because Dangote's refinery could solve the Nigerian problem that Nigeria (and its 4 yeye refineries) couldnt solve?!? If he didnt do it with cement ? Why would it be any different with Petrol. He saw an opportunity to raise his profits exponentially at the stake of the desperate Nigerian oil and gas sector turmoil. He took that opportunity. Some of us are really not blind to what is going on. Whip up as much emotional sentiments as you want. He is a private business man masquerading as a Nigerian Savior. He has never saved us from anything. Why all of a sudden now he is our Savior. Sit down and think. If his intentions are genuine, he will conduct his business with or without the Nigerian Government. In cement manufacturing,Nigeria gave him [b]free [/b]Limestone, [b]free Land,free [/b]import waivers, [b]free [/b]tax concessions....yet our cement is one of the most expensive in Africa and the world.
You want to give him petrol too....because he built refinery....dey play !! |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 1:47am On Jul 26, 2024 |
PSmurf: I'm guessing you're feigning ignorance of the dark fleets that sell Venezuelan crude throughout the world? Tell me the last time you heard of one of these dark fleets being seized by the US? Or you heard of India being sanctioned by the US for buying cheap Russian crude? Just stop defending the indefensible it makes a mockery of your education and intellect. Why cant Dangote buy from the shadow fleets ? I am glad you acknowledge that they exist. Why must he get the crude oil used to feed 300 million Nigerian citizens ? |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 12:04am On Jul 26, 2024 |
MrBrownJay1: - why are you worried about monopoly if/when whatever comes out of Dangote's refinery will be cheaper than what Nigerians get today? - if Dangote's price are more than what Nigerians are getting to day then A) why would anyone buy from him and B) it would be very easy for the gov to solve the issue (aka buy back from these yeye Malta refineries and put Dangote out of business) - so all the profit from crude oils is better to go to foreign companies that do nothing for Nigeria instead, abi? - for +60yrs nobody has done anything to solve the issue, suddenly ONE MAN does something to better the lives of Nigerians by investing $20B of his own money (and expect to make money out of it), and you guys have a problem with it? - why pay a foreigner to do what a Nigerian IN NIGERIA can do just as well?!
but here is the important question: WHO CARES IF DANGOTE HAS A MONOPOLY (OR NOT), SO LONG AS HE CAN GIVE NIGERIANS CHEAPER FUEL?! The same way he gave Nigerians cheaper cement.........LOL Oh my god....Cement is so cheap in Nigeria. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 12:03am On Jul 26, 2024 |
nerdjared: Changing your account and writing with red won’t make you sound intelligent Personal attacks makes you come across as intellectually challenged individual. Keep to the matter if you have the intellect. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 12:01am On Jul 26, 2024 |
udemzyudex: Another clown, you want to give a business man monopoly, how? I thought you lots said PH refinery will start operation by December?
What about the modular refineries, so all of them will stop operating because dangote is now into oil business? Smh. Only intellectually challenged fellows need to go personal on someone sharing a different opinion. Get well soon. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 10:35pm On Jul 25, 2024 |
RepoMan007: NNPC has four refineries under their control. What monopoly are you talking of? Crude Oil is more than just NNPC1-Crude Oil sales is the generator of revenue for the whole country- the whole 36 states. 2-We don't provide enough crude to fulfill export OPEC quota and local refineries existing before Dangote. 3-The crude market is the world most recognized international commodity market.4-Nigeria has the right to determine who they sell and buy crude from without any subjugation or coercion. 5-A lot of countries producing crude and exporting also import e.g USA, the crude they produce is not best suited for their refineries, so they export and import the Saudi crude in return, so crude trading is bilateral 6-Nigeria has established trading relationships with some crude buyers internationally for over 30 years, if we stop all of them and sell to dangote today and tomorrow dangote decides to not buy from Nigeria, it will be difficult to re-establish selling to our "plugs" because they might have found other customers.7-Dangote refinery being a private business entity should source his crude from open market, make petrol and then we are sure of his capacity to function before doing business with him. Building a refinery and effectively running it are 2 different things. 8-If we get involved in Dangote refinery too early, he might use the Nigerian government to run his refinery.Because he is going to need funding and logistics to run the refinery.Dangote Refinery is still a private business and must be treated as such. Crude oil sale is what the whole Nigeria depends on, we cannot give it to "one person" it doesnt make business sense or protect our sovereignty as a country. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 10:23pm On Jul 25, 2024 |
flyinnizam: USA and venezuela na same country? what rubbish are u saying. venezuela is a free and sovereign country Venezuela is under the worst Oil sanctions in the world. Go and read. They cannot sell their Oil. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 10:13pm On Jul 25, 2024 |
Malta for a reason.
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 10:10pm On Jul 25, 2024 |
VikingKing: You will defend the devil himself as long as he's willing to pay you. Where are the imaginary dollars you once said we will save from subsidy? How much is the naira which you said will gain massively when the imaginary dollars start trickling in? Your own na to just dey form expert on every topic when you know absolutely NOTHING! What's up with the dollars you said we will save after Binance? Empty barrel!
Please check my profile for the real free stuffs  Yes, we want to save money, But we are not planning moving from frying pan to fire. We dont plan to give one business man with monopolistic business antecedents all the profit from crude oil sales to one business man. |
Politics › Re: ‘nil From 2017-2022, $2bn In 2023’; Sudden Surge In Petroleum Import From Malta' by malali: 10:08pm On Jul 25, 2024 |
FreeStuffsNG: Petrol is cheap to buy and import from Malta because most oil companies are aware that it's cheaper to refine and produce Petroleum products in Malta.
If it gets expensive tomorrow, Petrol importers and refiners will go elsewhere. Watch out for Venezuela in few months time USA has actually granted India, the license to buy crude oil from Venezuela recently to prevent them buying from Russia and indirectly funding the war in Ukraine. |
Politics › Re: Niger State Takes Delivery Of 50 CNG Buses by malali: 5:19am On Jul 25, 2024 |
Insurance cover you.
Capacity governor.
No cho cho cho.
Just showing workings everyday. |
Politics › Re: Ezekwesili Calls For Audit Of Dangote-NNPC Business Transactions by malali: 11:52pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
xjiggy: The above said refinery is 2in1. The initial refinery was commissioned in 1999 with a refining capacity of 668,000 b/d while a second refinery was built in the same complex and commissioned in 2008 with a refining capacity of 580,000 b/d. It's a twin refinery complex. Dangote is a single refinery complex. The cost of the initial phase as 1999 according to your write up is $6billion which is equivalent to $11.2billion today's value. Cost is relative. Maybe you missed an article a few days back where Dangote explained that most of the land he was allocated was swamp he had to Sand fill and he had to continually pay different communities to relocate ancestral shrines. Makes sense! |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 11:12pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
allthingsgood: This is the most ridiculous explanation i have ever heard lol. Dollar was not subsidized. Dangote bought dollars at CBN rate, not subsidy. Can you try to get your facts right abeg? lol. Na wa o. In this modern age of google, somebody is still typing lubbish. Besides even if the rubbish you are claiming is true, Nigeria allegedly already has 20% stake in the refinery. Why should Dangote dash Niger Delta anything Let me educate you, dollars was subsidized till Tinubu came into power and made it free float, determined by market forces. Subsidized dollars means, the difference is paid by the government. The government is me and you. Because the money used in subsidizing the dollars could have been used to build hospitals and schools. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 11:09pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
nedekid: Dangote has said he does not want to do again, in that case, nnpc, N delta or who ever is interested should buy him out. He can throw a tantrum as much as he wants, Its his refinery we do not owe him to "buy" him out. Where is it written that because he built a refinery, Nigeria must sell crude oil to him ? Where is there a contract that Nigeria must buy petrol from him ? Show me the agreed contract to that effect ? Where is it written that Nigerians have to buy him out if he says so ? Dangote has been doing business with government leverage for decades, the first time he has to do real business, he is crying like a baby.
Business › Re: Gabon Invites Dangote To Explore Business Opportunities, Amid Attacks In Nigeria by malali: 11:05pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
Gboss247: Entitlement mentality is a deadly disease! So is Monopolistic mentality. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 11:04pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
Greenfusion: The subsidy given to Dangote and the money spent to repair the Govt owned refineries yearly which doesn't still work which is higher?
Also, y has NNPC refused to provide crude to an internal customer?
Also many business men or women had indicated interest to build a refinery in Nigeria and was rejected? NNPC doesn't owe him crude, he is a private businessman. NNPC can sell crude to whoever they like. It reeks of entitlement, when he throws a tantrum over not getting crude from NNPC. USA produces 11 million barrel per day, they export 6 million barrels per day and still import 3 million barrels per day. What NNPC is doing is normal all over the world .
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 10:59pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
slimthugchimee2: Again, allegations pulled out from anus
You have to be civil.If we are to disagree on opinions. It has to be within civil discourse. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 10:55pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
Greenfusion: The subsidy given to Dangote and the money spent to repair the Govt owned refineries yearly which doesn't still work which is higher?
Also, y has NNPC refused to provide crude to an internal customer?
Also many business men or women had indicated interest to build a refinery in Nigeria and was rejected? NNPC is a government owned structure, don't confuse the two, Crude oil sales has international futures contract(even before Dangote opened his refinery). USA despite producing producing crude oil, they also import and export as well. What Dangote is crying over is a normal process.
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 10:47pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
slimthugchimee2: First of all, he doesn't drill or mine oil
Secondly, he doesn't take anybody's crude oil, he buys them
Thirdly, Nigeria has frustrated him soo much he now has to buy crude oil abroad
But you want to put mouth and eat what you did not cook Hypocrites The stew he cooked was with ingredients like (subsidized dollars) from Emefiele, which belongs to all Nigerians. So technically. We cooked the stew. The USA buys crude Oil in Saudi Arabia despite producing their own crude daily. Its a normal process in the world of Crude. Dangote is just whipping up public sentiments. Buying crude internationally despite production at home is Normal. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 2:03pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
allthingsgood: This is the most ridiculous explanation i have ever heard lol. [b]Dollar was not subsidized. Dangote bought dollars at CBN rate, not subsidy. Can you try to get your facts right abeg? lol. Na wa o. In this modern age of google, somebody is still typing lubbish. Besides even if the rubbish you are claiming is true, Nigeria allegedly already has 20% stake in the refinery. Why should Dangote dash Niger Delta anything [/b] Forex was subsidized. Tinubu just removed the subsidy on dollars.He made it free floating dictated by the open markets. CBN Rate dollars were subsidized. Money that should have gone to Nigerians, infastructures building was used to subsidize the dollar at a pegged rate.So anything built or paid for with subsidized dollars actually has a Nigerian ownership in it, technically. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 1:44pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
allthingsgood: why didnt the governors of niger delta buy a stake Sgould Dangote just dash them 30% of his investment, why the governors keep looting spree The subsidized dollars Emefiele gave Dangote belongs to all Nigerians, Me and you inclusive. When they say Forex is subsidized, that means the difference between the CBN rates and the rate given to Dangote is derived from the crude oil sales. Our money was used to subsidize the refinery. Crude Oil belongs to all Nigerians. So technically, there is our blood, sweat and tears in that refinery. every single Nigerian. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 1:41pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
freeman67: Why should Niger Delta own even quarter of a share in that refinery when they neither contributed a quarter kobo or efforts to it? People Like reaping where they did not sow. All the militants leaders that have been vandalising pipelines and doing bunkery since God knows when can not come together and build a Refinery. The state governments in the Niger Delta with all their 13% allocation of this world can not come together and build one. Marching ground money could not do it too. All they do is disrupt.
The refinery is not located in the Niger Delta and crude is not going to be gotten from their for free.
What then is the rationale for your assertion? Good points you make. Crude Oil is not cement manufacturing. Technically building a refinery, with subsidized forex from CBN, technically means there is a portion of that refinery that belongs to all Nigerians. why ? Because the subsidized dollars, was money generated from Nigerians revenue. the revenue belongs to all 300 million Nigerians. Even asides the 13% derivation awarded to Niger Delta states. When they say forex is subsidized, who do you think is paying the subsidy....its me and you !! All that Money Emefiele was sharing to Buhari's cronies belongs to all of us. That refinery has everyone's sweat in it. So coming out to claim 90% ownership and trying to arm twist the governement to hand over the lucrative crude.diesel and petrol to him, is a very bold claim. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 1:30pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
greypencils: Bottom line, if Dangote is given all the crude oil he is asking for, he will run other oil companies out of business. As Dangote refinery is creating jobs, it is also rendering employees of other oil companies jobless. God bless you. I believe there are still people who can see it for what it is. They think we are all stupid. How can you give one man, the only thing that generates revenue for the whole country. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 1:22pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
casualobserver: You are very ignorant. Dangote bought the textile mills founded by Awo. It failed for the same reason all the textile mills in Nigeria failed, it failed for the same reason his tomato factory failed.....government liberisation policies and failure to protect local industry, cheap imports from the likes of Peter Obi. The jobs that Dangote would have created in Nigeria, Peter Obi exported abroad.
I have said it before, Dangote is no saint but you haven’t got a clue. Okay |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 1:05pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
casualobserver: Pettymindedness. He wasn’t and isn’t the only producer of cement. Cement is not as critical to the nations survival as his refinery.
Your argument is like a man who is dying and the only doctor who can save you beat you up in school so you refuse to let him operate on you. That’s your choice but the consequence of that choice is certain death.
Nigeria’s survival going forward is dependent on the success of the refinery….like it or not!
Dangote refinery fails and we will be worse than Sudan. That is no exaggeration. I dont know how old you are, Dangote bought all the textiles in Nigeria from the government.....guess what they all failed. Grasping whats going on might not really be your forte.....No sovereign nation should hand over its energy to a single private owner's hands. Especially in a country like Nigeria where oversight is in the pocket of the highest bidders. We dont even have enough Crude oil to sell and maintain our budgets and service our debts. Let him operate independently....He is a private business. If he insists the government must sell him crude and buy petrol from him. Then he should be ready to open up his books a 100% and give government a stake as well. If not sell to other countries. |
Politics › Re: GEJ Gave Dangote, Others Too Much Waivers, Destroyed Small Businesses – Yesufu by malali: 12:38pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
casualobserver: Again bad belle people and pull down Syndrome.
With due respect I don’t think you understand the dire straits Nigeria is in. We should be begging Dangote to take crude.
We keep begging foreign investors to come and invest, with due respect no foreign investor is going to come and invest the sums Dangote has invested in Nigeria and this is how we treat his investment?
We are not serious people. Be under no illusion without Dangote’s refinery we are forked!! Nobody is saying Dangote the man is a saint but we need his refinery to be successful or we are forked!!!!
I really don’t think you people understand how existential this matter is to the future of Nigeria. When we needed cement the most. That was when he hiked the prices. Dey Play !! |
Politics › Re: Akpabio: Nigerians Crashed My Phone Over Nightclub Comment Against Natasha by malali: 12:31pm On Jul 24, 2024 |
Thank you Senator Akpabio for apologizing. Your behavior will serve as emulation to young Nigerians
You are a statesman,Their is nothing wrong with saying things at the moment. But as a gentleman, you have shown class by going back to apologize.
These will earn you more respect, than if you had swept it under the carpet. Nigerians are changing, the world is a global village.
By doing this, every other senator will also know what is acceptable and what is not. I wish you more wisdom in your tenure. |