Stats: 3,150,514 members, 7,808,877 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 06:26 PM

MrJaay's Posts

Nairaland Forum / MrJaay's Profile / MrJaay's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 17 pages)

Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 5:19am On Apr 09
Profeme:
Hello everyone. I want to appreciate everyone for the insightful contributions shared in this platform. I came here some years back seeking help in some areas as regards as my PhD programme in Computer Science. I am happy to announce that I have completed the programme. Thanks everyone for your contribution and advise that assisted me during the programme. God bless you all.

I need help on reputable Computer journals where I can publish some articles on cybersecurity and Machine Learning.

I also need links to Post-doctoral position in Computer Science and how to get admitted in them.

Congratulations Doc.

For journals, here you go: https://www.scimagojr.com/journalrank.php?area=1700&category=1702

For postdoc opportunities, visit here and refine the results accordingly: https://www.timeshighereducation.com/unijobs/listings/postdocs/

Best wishes.

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by MrJaay(m): 8:06am On Jan 18
raumdeuter:

Many of them in US depend on H1B work visas and its easy to use that to hold them for blokus. Without that incentive they are just as bad as anyone

They also do a lot of parapo. If you have Indians in your class in school you will know this
There is no level of dagbo wey dem no dey do but they have this innocent mien that makes people assume they are innocent
There is no exam in this world that Indians will not dagbo, whether its board exams or certifications or school exam.
I once saw a new some years ago that Canada caught some Indians with fake IELTS

If you go on "Blind" app and see people complaining about Indians for workplace you will see that a big percentage of them are just dagbo merchants. They also have their own NCANN too, Its not uncommon for something bad to happen and another Indian will claim its the Telugu people ruining their name

This academic dishonesty trait is much worse than you have presented it. India is the world's headquarter for predatory journal publishing.

They prey on early-career researchers and other desperate academics and lure them to pay, sometimes very heavily, to publish studies that do not go through the standard peer review processes.

Many of these publications go on to pollute the research ecosystem because of the unchecked, disjointed and fallacious claims made by the authors, who in many instances even fabricate the data they've used. Imagine the chaos of relying on an article's finding to conclude on something or for further experimentations, when the data for such article is non-existent. Just read this: https://www.science.org/content/article/predatory-publishers-gain-foothold-indian-academia-s-upper-echelon

I receive an average of 10 spam mails everyday from Indian publishers inviting me to a either publish in an issue or chair a conference. Its tiring. I'm happy that many institutions (though only a few in Nigeria) are beginning to raise the bar for their academics, by demanding they only publish in journals managed by reputable publishers (Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor and Francis, Sage, Nature, Springer, BMJ etc.), which are typically indexed in reputable databases like SCOPUS and Web of Science.

Properties / Re: PICK YOUR QUALITY WALL / FLOOR TILES HERE WITH PICTURE by MrJaay(m): 2:36pm On Dec 25, 2023
DFAMEGUY11S

Got a store in Abuja?
Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 5:42am On Dec 07, 2023
machine606:
@wip7 and others.
Please what's your take on international journal of advanced research. I paper of Minna was recently accepted.

IJAR looks like your typical predatory journal. There are so many academic and non academic blogs that have confirmed it is predatory. You can search this yourself. From its unusually wide scope to it not having a Thompson Impact Factor. Be waery of these Indian journals that leverage the "open access" model to charge you for publishing articles that will not go through quality peer reviews. You shouldn't have to pay to publish. Use the Scimagor tool to find quality Scopus and Wos-indexed journals in your field: https://www.scimagojr.com/journalrank.php

Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 6:12pm On Aug 31, 2023
dozieinspired:
Good day everyone, please can anyone with institutional access help me with this article, I need it for research. Thank you.
Waste biomass valorization for the production of biofuels and value-added products: A comprehensive review of thermochemical, biological and integrated processes https://doi.org/10.1016/j.psep.2021.12.049

The article is neither on Sci-hub nor Researchgate. Your best bet is to write the author (jude.okolie@usask.ca) and humbly request it. He'd most likely send you a copy.

Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 8:10pm On Aug 14, 2023
islamics:
Hello,
Greetings to the house; please can anyone help me with this article: A survey of symbiotic organisms search algorithms and applications (https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00521-019-04170-4). Perhaps anyone with institutional access. I no get institutional access and can't afford to pay that fee for now.

Thanks.

Here you go: https://we.tl/t-qZskpYiu0h

Link expires in 7 days.

Best wishes for your research!

Business / Re: Earning dollars With Squadhelp and Brandable domains: A Guide For Newbies by MrJaay(m): 8:06pm On Jul 24, 2023
ZaRed:

Wow!

Yes, I checked his profile and saw that he had a lot of names. He also placed some of the names he bought from me back on the wholesale market at higher prices for a possible quick flip.

He's a real business man. he has the capital and patience.

That is the ideal way every domainer should operate. Too bad we're unable to keep up the pace with our western counterparts due to our weak buying power and other socio-economic problems we face in this part of the world.
Business / Re: Earning dollars With Squadhelp and Brandable domains: A Guide For Newbies by MrJaay(m): 7:07pm On Jul 24, 2023
ZaRed:

Thanks bro. At first I divided my portfolio of about 30 names into 2 parts. I was putting the names in the wholesale market in batches and reducing the price by $5 every 3days from $30 until it gets to $10. After that, I remove them and put another batch.

After completing the process, I would remove all names from wholesale market for about 3 months before repeating the process.

The best names would usually sell before you get to $10, sometimes at $25.

It was while I was doing this, that someone messaged me on one of those names and asked if I had other similar names, that he was ready to buy in bulk. We agreed on a Wholesale price for the remaining 23 names, and he bought all.

The process was manual. We agreed on a time to do it and we were both online communicating via Squadhelp inbox. I put all names on wholesale market at $50 each(Max WS price for SH owned, since that's what they were). I would then reduce the price to the agreed price one name at a time from $50 to the agreed price, while he buys instantly from his end. So, escrow was still Squadhelp.

Interestingly, same guy chatted me up and bought all the names I listed on the wholesale marketplace. This was in January as well. Dude must've stacked up lots of names in that period.
Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 8:15pm On Jun 21, 2023
serenegroup:

Pls does referencing the material in my PhD thesis count as private use?

Have sent the article to your mail. I'm sure citing it wouldn't be a problem for the author.

Best wishes for your research.

Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 9:24am On Jun 21, 2023
serenegroup:
Hi House, i need a copy of the following publications. They are not open access journals hence a subscription is required to access them.
Spatio-temporal monitoring of leachates dispersion beneath a solid wastes dump in basement complex of southwestern Nigeria
MA Adabanija - Journal of Applied Geophysics, 2023 - Elsevier

Hydro-geochemical characterization and water quality appraisal of groundwater in areas adjoining primordial landfills in the Maastrichtian Lafia Formation, Middle Benue Trough
SE Obrike, LD Aleku, GK Anudu
International Journal of Energy and Water Resources, 1-15

Thanks alot! My email is lataloma2003@yahoo.co.uk.

Hi. The lead author of the second article you requested (Hydro-geochemical characterization and water...) says the article is "under copyright and must be kept for personal use only". Promise to keep private if I forward it to you?

Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 1:58am On Jun 06, 2023
A001:
Please, any recommendations for low-cost journals to publish scientific papers?

You don't need to worry about publishing cost for your scientific papers. Many SCOPUS and Web of Science indexed journals do not require publication fees. The quality of your paper, and your ability to scale the peer review processes will determine the publication of your paper.

Here's an aggregator that you can use to sieve appropriate journals for your manuscript:
https://www.scimagojr.com/journalrank.php

Best wishes.

Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 11:52am On Jan 07, 2023
Sweetmango:

KIV

hi friends please help with this journal article the link above is not opening it.
https://doi.org/10.1201/9781420010800
thanks

The content of the DOI link you provided isn't a journal article but a book. Here's a direct download link from PDFdrive:

https://www.pdfdrive.com/semisupervised-learning-for-computational-linguistics-chapman-hallcrc-computer-science-data-analysis-d158606897.html
Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 7:56pm On Dec 15, 2022
semmyk:
In academic language, what you need is a journal article (not a journal!). ... Progress of machine learning based automatic phoneme recognition and its prospect ...
Ok, on serious note, here's a copy for you. Temporary on a OneDrive (access to link will be removed soon).
https://onedrive.live.com/?authkey=%21AHgflavv2ZzF65c&cid=5BA9B79F2680F529&id=5BA9B79F2680F529%21448348&parId=5BA9B79F2680F529%21448347&o=OneUp
All the best with your research.

Sci-hub was taken down recently, as it was classified as a pirate site. Well, for long, it will take for sci-hub to resurface, dunno

Still works fine over here.
These screenshots were taken just now.

1 Share

Education / Re: The News (This sneaky Bastard) by MrJaay(m): 7:29pm On Apr 08, 2022
I teach journalism at university level, so take this from me: Journalism is now more than ever entrepreneurial. The news writers don't need the news as much as they need you the customer/consumer. That you find most news stories unhealthy and lacking resolution wouldn't make them any less profitable to its traders.
Education / Re: Movie Misconceptions by MrJaay(m): 6:29pm On Apr 08, 2022
TheSourcerer:
Front sitters
CAPSLOCKED ,Dominique, Dorwadora LordReed,hopeful landlord,dogged fighter, xmuslim,budatum,dominatrix,peaceful,puvo,mokeygirl,candidlady,datboredberri, MrJaay,
luminouz (hey hello) smiley

Despite being fictions, it interestingly isn't as easy for many (including Americans) to decipher some of the exaggerations in many western movies. This has been proven overtime by numerous scholars of media cultivation.

Ever since George Gerbner introduced the cultivation theory in the 1960’s as part of the Cultural Indicators Project to examine the influence of television on viewers, the theory has continuously proved effective in explaining how long-term or consistent exposure to media shapes the way consumers of media perceive the world and conduct themselves.

The cultivation hypothesis specifically states that: "the more television people watch, the more likely they are to hold a view of reality that is closer to television's depiction of reality"

Heavy television viewers who were respondents in a cultivation analysis survey research in America were shocked to learn to learn that policemen in US were less than 1 percent of the total population, given their prevalence in films.

To many individuals, these distorted and partial reality portrayed on television represents what the world is 'really' like.

Gerbner also coined the term mean world syndrome to describe the cognitive bias whereby television viewers exposed to violent content were more likely to see the world as more dangerous than it actually is. Good examples of these are our mental pictures of how life in dictatorship countries are.

In more recent times, researchers have delved into other forms of media such as reality TV and video games, to study the effects of the misconceptions therein on consumers.. you night want to explore that in your topic too...

Education / Re: Historical Photos Not In History Books by MrJaay(m): 4:01pm On Apr 08, 2022
TheSourcerer:
President Nixon Resigns

Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein are sat together side by side watching President Nixon resign in 1974.

The Watergate scandal had shocked America for two years and rather than admit to his wrongdoings, Nixon stepped down halfway through his second term.

Btw- Nixon decriminalized Marijuana for his greedy gain and race war , knowing fully well War on drugs was a scam motto ' in other words Nixon was not a good guy

The Watergate scandal tarnished his legacy and Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein were the reporters who brought the scandal to the public's attention. Here, they are triumphantly watching as they witness their journalist venture result in the president's resignation

Great to see what Woodward and Bernstein looked like at the time. As a communication studies enthusiast with specific interest in Agenda Setting Theory of communication, permit me to further enrich this post:

Em Griffin in his 2003 book entitled: A First Look At Communication Theory, gave a comprehensive account of antecedent events of 1972 that inspired new dimensions to media effect research.

In the book, Griffin narrated how the burglary of the Democratic National Committee headquarters in June 1972 otherwise referred to as "the Watergate scandal" was followed by repeated coverage and reportage of the crime from various angles by News Editor Ben Bradlee and reporters; Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein religiously until almost every American became familiar with the story, ultimately leading to the impeachment and subsequent resignation of U.S President Richard Nixon, who majority of citizens believed was either responsible for the break-in or had tried to cover it up.

For proponents of powerful media effect at the time, that development (how consistent media reports drew mass public attention to watergate) could not have occured at a better time, considering how multiple studies between the 1940s and 1950s such as (Lazarsfeld et-al 1948) were unable to find proof to substantiate the notion that the media produced an overwhelming effect on its consumers.

Journalism professors McCombs and Shaw simply regarded events surrounding Watergate as a perfect example of the agenda-setting function of the mass media that shows how the mass media have the ability to transfer the salience of items on their news agendas to the public agenda.

Simply put, "we look to news professionals for cues on where to focus our attention and we judge as important what the media judge as important"

Do you agree with this Agenda Setting theory?

Ofcos the claims in the tenets of the theory have been subjected to several correlational and experimental studies over the years for confirmation, but I wouldn't want to bore anyone with that..

Politics / Re: Why Do A Lot Of Nigerians Of Other Ethnic Groups Reject Igbo Presidency? by MrJaay(m): 4:57pm On Jan 16, 2022
TheRealestGuy:
haven't Igbos paid the more than enough price for Nzeoguwo and Co's mistakes?

He killed the premier of the north and made fun about how he killed him in a videoed interview.

I'm not from Arewa, but back then in ABU Zaria, I could easily gather from my conversations with colleagues that therein lies the forever problem.

I don't think the relationship between the east and north will get better in time.
Education / Re: Thread For PHD Students by MrJaay(m): 10:16pm On Jan 08, 2022
iamclime:
Is there anyone here pursuing an MSc or PhD in Digital Marketing or E-Marketing/New Media Marketing?
Anyone writing any papers or looking for collaborations?

I am pursuing a PhD in Media and Communication.

My ongoing work is on Computational Politics and not exactly Marketing, but, I feel we can come up with something for a new paper.
Business / Re: Earning dollars With Squadhelp and Brandable domains: A Guide For Newbies by MrJaay(m): 7:55pm On Dec 29, 2021
Constantinopo:

Please boss i need to be clarified on something here. Have you used payoneer to withdraw fund less than 1k directly to your local babk before? . So i can be sure that when SH send to my payoneer i can easily withdraw to my local bank. Thanks

I have.

I withdrew around $400 SH payment from Payoneer directly to my First Bank account last year.

Have no fear. Congratulations on your sale.
TV/Movies / Re: BBNaija 2021 Live Updates Thread by MrJaay(m): 12:32pm On Aug 13, 2021

15 Likes 1 Share

TV/Movies / Re: BBNaija 2021 Live Updates Thread by MrJaay(m): 7:33pm On Aug 11, 2021

11 Likes 1 Share

TV/Movies / Re: BBNaija 2021 Live Updates Thread by MrJaay(m): 10:36am On Aug 09, 2021

11 Likes 1 Share

TV/Movies / Re: BBNaija 2021 Live Updates Thread by MrJaay(m): 7:16pm On Aug 01, 2021

TV/Movies / Re: BBNaija 2021 Live Updates Thread by MrJaay(m): 11:43pm On Jul 31, 2021
Politics / Re: Edo State COVID-19 Palliatives Warehouse Looted by MrJaay(m): 7:59pm On Oct 24, 2020
Aladegba:
grin could this be what Harold Lasswell was thinking when he defined politics as who gets what, when and how? Obaseki is a student of politics and he knows better
Interestingly, the scholar defined communication in a similar manner. His definition formed the bases for many news writing and reporting technique/model used by journalist/communicators worldwide.

He defined communication as:
Who?
Says What?
In What Channel?
To Whom?
With What Effect?

Ciao!

Business / Re: What To Do To Make Money Online? by MrJaay(m): 6:31pm On Oct 23, 2020
Firefox01:
How many months bro?
Hold time is 5 months thereabout.
Sapiosexuality:

How many names did you submit to SquadHelp?
Plenty sir. I don't have a number.
codemaniacs:

did you send from payoneer to bank account
Yes I did.

Business / Re: What To Do To Make Money Online? by MrJaay(m): 6:30pm On Oct 23, 2020
Business / Re: What To Do To Make Money Online? by MrJaay(m): 6:22pm On Oct 23, 2020
richkal:

How long does it take before the money hit your local bank account??

Hope to hear from you soon.
Took less than 7 hours. It may have been longer if I withdrew on a weekend.

Business / Re: What To Do To Make Money Online? by MrJaay(m): 9:11am On Oct 23, 2020
Greetings all.
So i stumbled upon this beautiful thread in March 2020, read keenly and picked an interest in brandables.
I have a couple of SH-registered names; thanks to the insightful comments here.

I made my first sale 2 days ago.
Name: ZipNit//King
Venue: Squadhelp Marketplace
My Commission: $424

Payoneer charged me 3 dollars, and i just received a credit alert of $421 (N156,352.55) from FirstBank. The exchange rate was 371 per dollar.

My profound appreciation to the OP of this thread; Oga Iykepromotions

70 Likes 4 Shares

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Re: Tottenham Hotspur Vs Chelsea : Carabao Cup (5 -4) On Pens On 29th Sept 2020 by MrJaay(m): 9:47pm On Sep 29, 2020
Chelshit never disappoints. grin

24 Likes

Education / Re: 2019/2020 Uniabuja Post Graduate Thread by MrJaay(m): 9:08am On Sep 23, 2020
Hello guys.

Are there any PhD students of Media Studies here?
TV/Movies / Re: BBNaija 2020 Live Updates Thread by MrJaay(m): 3:39pm On Sep 06, 2020

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (of 17 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63