Stats: 3,325,012 members, 8,419,933 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 07:45 AM

Nutshell44's Posts

Nairaland ForumNutshell44's ProfileNutshell44's Posts

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)

TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 5:58pm On Dec 15, 2018
Abacino007:
Good day house, I have been able to retrieve my account from the agent care. I have also scheduled an appointment to 7th of January with my previous ds160 confirmation number. My challenge now is how can I print my ds160 document? I have already scheduled appointment but I have not printed the DS160 page that will carry my passport photograph
Please don’t go with old ds160. It’s a red flag
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 2:07pm On Dec 15, 2018
Olawale008888:
How u doing Nairalanders....sorry my transcript is coming late...i went for my interview on the 3rd of december...make i no lie una... God's work in me collecting this visa is like 98%...i was meant to go for my interview in November but wen i pray instead of my saying Ya Allah let me get my visa this November i kept on saying december wen i notice my mistake i will change it back to November...then i also noticed that out of 10 movies i watch 5 of them would have a location in Baltimore or Maryland so i knew that was a good sign...i got to d embassy by 5...i walked around n also saw Otedola's big boat its just beside the embassy....try n check it out maybe ur moral will shoot up...
So while doing the normal checking in there was drama...the lady at my back tapped me she was like bros which time dem give u i was surprised cos dey called only 6:30 people...i said 6:30 and she was like her own is 8am o that will they allow her in i was like well since u don join d queue try ur luck...den we got to d security checking us in...the lady in my front violated every single thing...she was with 2 fones, her usb code, a flashdrive, her powerbank, a comb, makeup kit with mirror, a nail cutter...lol i couldnt laff...dey sha said she should go n drop dem...den next one lady did bring her sevis receipt...anyhow we entered sha...while on d queue to b interviewed a guy wu is going for graduate program was just signing his I-20...i was like ha oga u r signing in the place meant for guardians he was like ha...he corrected himself den d next question came...oga which date make i put...i wanted to ask the guy to just leave cos i know his visa is a No No...so now the main interview..was directed to this beautiful white lady at window 7
Me: Good morning ma
Vo: Good morning...your passport and I-20 pls
Me: i passed it...was having difficulties passing it tru the open space...
Vo: Where are you going to please
Me: im going to the university of maryland baltimore county for my masters of professional studies in geographic information science and cartography... (i was very fast)
Vo: please talk slowly...its like u rehearsed it...
She asked again where are u going to
Me: Im going to the University of marylan..... (i was still very fast)
Vo: looked at me and was like bro shebi i just tell u say make u slow down( her looks were speaking pidgin english to me) why Umbc

Me: umbc unlike more universities offering GiS focuses more on the information system aspect of Gis...umbc's courses arr unique current and forward leading in their content.

Vo: how did u hear about the school
Me: my mentor and my supervisor during my undergraduate days told me about the school and he refered me to a lecturer in the department of economices who did her masters in Economic policy analysis at Umbc she told me alot about the school and urged me to make further findings...

Vo: Who is sponsoring u
me: my dad

Vo: can i have his bank statement
I passed it
She continued...how much does he make in a year
me: i have no idea ma

Vo: i would just calculate it from his Bank statement..did u write and standardize test

Me: yes...i wrote Gre...i had 147 in QR and 145 in VR

Vo: thats a very impressive score y didnt u apply for scholarship
Me: (i was like 292 is impressive ke)....there was no time to apply for a scholarship ma

Vo: oh ok....she returns my bank statement
Me: for my mind i was like ha na to go but anoda Visa form be that...

Vo: how many schools did u apply for
Me: Umbc and sam Huston state uni

Vo: ok do u have siblings
Me: yes i have 2 senior bros and a senior sis...

VO: Wat do dey do...
Me: they work with the government but one of my bro is in France

Vo: wat is the weather condition in Baltimore
me: its getting cold over dere...winter came early..

Vo: Hope ur bro in france has sent u winter jacket
Me: yes ma

Vo: i would b approving your visa......
From here i no hear anytin again....
Pls just pray wella n prepare wella...i do draw a face on a paper n i paste it on d wall to practice with....just practicen research well on ur school....wu dey go Maryland here
Congrats. When are you traveling maybe we can hook up
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 11:52am On Dec 15, 2018
Olupharez:
Hello guys,
I was denied in Abuja on the 11th December, just relocated back to Lagos. What's the implication rescheduling another interview in Lagos.
No implication
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 5:55pm On Dec 13, 2018
Ijebuboy525:
Hello guys, I’m having some issues, I was trying to book appointment for a friend, after filling the form and entering the reference number it took me to ‘Interview waiver Confirmation letter’ instead of the page where I can select interview date, what could be the cause?
Definitely you have clicked the wrong option. You were not calm enough to cross check. Mistakes like this using result to paying another visa fee.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 11:16am On Dec 13, 2018
ollypapi:
Pls is there anything the VO is trying to pick by asking how did you hear about the school?
What if i said i got to know it from internet?
Maybe you don’t know, but that question is one of the most important questions during interview. If you say internet. The Vo wants to know how extensive your search was to find a school that will enable you achieve your career goals. Just shows how genuine you are.
So if you want to say tru internet. Pls add the website you also used. Like master portal,uscollege news,etc.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 11:06am On Dec 13, 2018
Abacino007:
Can I PM you?
Okay
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 9:01am On Dec 13, 2018
Abacino007:
Good morning

What are the procedures for booking emergency appointment?
Click on expedited interview, then write a short note about your resumption attached with copy of your i20,sevis fee receipt,payment slip. And wait for response
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 5:49pm On Dec 12, 2018
Abacino007:
Pls how can someone secure appointment date? Because I see people begging to “release date” (lol). I saw 18th of December 2018 for Abuja and 24th of December 2018 for Lagos just for me to go and pay the visa fee and return but date have changed 2 of January 2019 and 11 of January 2019 respectively. My school resume 7th of January and all GA students are required to resume 4th of January.

I have been refreshing the page since but still no changes�
Can’t you just choose Abuja. To meet up with ur resumption. Waiting for dates to open in Lagos might not materialize. Just saying
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 4:11pm On Dec 12, 2018
drwrites:
Please help a brother...someone should pls attend to my questions. E jo. Biko
Bro you need your ds160 barcode number to book interview.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 3:22pm On Dec 12, 2018
Those that couldn’t get date in Lagos. You guys should try Abuja. There are dates in early Jan.
Dates are always booked around this time and most expedited interview request may also be denied.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 12:29pm On Dec 12, 2018
Dot1:
Good day everyone. I have a bachelor degree in Accounting with some work experience. I would like to change my career path by going for another undergraduate program in computer science in the US. Would this be a problem at the embassy? Would the fact that I am almost 40 be a problem? Thank you all
Why not go for masters? The Vo will even be wondering why at 40 u are not even considering PHD!
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 4:22pm On Dec 11, 2018
Olawale008888:
Please would be very happy if we could get a reply....my transcript would b dropping soon i don forget wetin i follow VO talk but i go try write something down so that it could help people..
N if u r going for ur interview stand straight dont rest on the stand between u n d VO....
That standing straight part na scam....I rested my hand on the platform near the glass ( two hands sef). And I didn’t stand straight throughout. I still got approved.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 1:38pm On Dec 10, 2018
Ararume2:
Didn't show up on the 5th. I have a new date now.
Go and attend the interview on the new date now! Why are you clamoring on the previous date.
The previous date is irrelevant!
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 1:37pm On Dec 09, 2018
fairheart:
Lol. he was not a student there o; he was visiting! In addition, I used "legal status" in the context of being a UK resident.
But do you know a student is also a resident?
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 12:06pm On Dec 07, 2018
Gospelozy:
Good day my people. Please I need a link where I can get samples of SOP and résumé.
Please don't refer me to Google as it's giving me nothing.
Thank you in anticipation.
Where else would anyone refer you to?
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 11:11am On Dec 07, 2018
boommer:
i am 28 , a web developer i just want to know if its safe to go now you know consigning the issue of same surname .
Do u know how many people are bearing the same surname in Nigeria. Some same name and surname. I don’t think that’s an issue
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 6:33pm On Dec 06, 2018
Pefuele:
Yeap you are spot on.
However,this is actually the first point I wanted to tell the VO but changed my mind before I went to the window:
I chose the school because of a research interest on biomass gasification by prof Xxxx.The Prof is an astute academic in biomass gasification of Sustainable energy plant and I was interested in this research because it offers solutions to the energy crises in Nigeria.The research addresses the lower gas supply common to power plants in Nigeria and will afford me the skills and knowledge to offers solutions to my work place in the short term and Nigeria as a whole in the long-term.This what I had in mind as first point but I changed it to second just before the interview...
This is actually why I chose it initially.Can you help critique that?Or may be help with anything I can add.Thanks
How about what the master will do for you. You said it yourself that you didn’t prepare well for that part. Work on that part. I don’t think there’s anyone on this thread that was told how to answer why they chose a school. Someone that’ didn’t choose the school can’t tell u about the school
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 6:13pm On Dec 06, 2018
Pefuele:
Why are you confused?

Help with points with why the university?
If you have an idea of sustainability please also help with what the course can do for you? Thanks
But you should know why you chose the school now! Him didn’t chose the school. Only you can prepare adequately and answer that question.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 2:30pm On Dec 06, 2018
Gewezzy1:
they dnt say
Did you attach proof of resumption date. Sevis fee. Gtb visa fee receipt. I20?
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 1:45pm On Dec 06, 2018
Gewezzy1:
9th of January, and school resumes January 14th.
I think you should contact the school and ask for an extension for you to resume
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 8:49am On Dec 06, 2018
Gent009:
At an EducationUSA meeting, a VO said something which u might find useful. She said and I quote "If we ask why did you choose this school don't go around and tell us how the school is the best school in America, we want to know why it's the best school for you as a student not why it's the best school in the world, almost all schools in America are great, you must have a reason for choosing a particular school"
Exactly. You can want to go to Harvard or Yale. But if u can’t say how going to Harvard will forster your career and goals. What do you think?
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 10:02pm On Dec 05, 2018
remasend:
Guys what's the cheapest flight twerk from Nigeria to Usa
I think air maroc
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 11:23am On Dec 05, 2018
Ubah1:
That's the spirit. You can try Europe bro. So many opportunities there too
The bad thing about this ban of a thing is that. Other embassy’s like Canada and UK share almost the same datebase with USA. They will definitely know about the ban.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 10:39am On Dec 05, 2018
fairheart:
Just upload the other letter, or send it to me. You can't be sure. US will not tell you directly, unlike UK.
Exactly. They won’t tell you directly ever....they will just blacklist your profile on their database
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 9:34pm On Dec 04, 2018
Gent009:
Visa Approved Transcript

Appointment was by 7:30am in Abuja. Got to the embassy few mins to 7. Let me say this pls pay no attention to the guys outside the embassy they have nothing to offer and do well to keep ur phone at home or at the hotel. only take it along if u really need it. I paid 1,500 just to keep my phone.

The queue was much but saw it through, the security check wasn't stressful at all, I got to the interview room, well it wasn't as I imagined. Saw just 3 ladies conducting the interview. 2 white and a black. The slim white lady (I can still remeber her face clearly) was busy hanging pink latter to anything that comes her way and I was hoping not to get her. The guy she interviewed b4 me didn't even last upto 1mins. He asked him just two questions even before he could answer she cut him short and handed him the pink paper, and immediately she signaled for me to come over.

At the point all my confidence went down the drain and I wasn't myself. I can't remeber all what I said but this is the best of my knowledge.

Me: Hi, Good morning
Vo: How did you find out abt this school (first question)

Me:After I decided to study in the USA I attended EducationUSA Advising Center in V.I lagos where I was introduced to academic website such as Peterson, gradschool, masterportal, which I found particularly...... (cut me off)

VO:Why did you choose this school?
ME: All the schools I applied to all have great academic standards but in addition to this xxxx offered me the best value for money the tuition fee is well within my grandpa budget and when I....... (cut me off)

VO: Why do u want to get to this school?
Me: (shuuu! You just asked me the same question and u cut me off without allowing me to give my point.)
Me: Their tuition fee is within my grandpa budget and when I compare the schools by their faculty, their professors, the qualification they are holding, the kind of research they are working on..... (cut me off again)

VO: (getting frustrated and looking directly into my eyes) you are about spending lots of money on this school why did u want to go to this school?

Me: (then I had to move away from my rehashed transcript) This school offers a blend of criminal justice in addition to their criminology degree with is something I was actively looking out for... I will need this course to secure a full staff position as a lecturer assistant to professor xxxxx the professor of criminology in xxxxx University. Am currently a graduate assistant lecture in training in Criminology.... (seems abit satisfied and cut me off again)

VO: how old are you?
Me: xx

VO: Did you write gre?
Me: I wrote IELTS... Gre was waived for me

VO: Who is sponsoring ur trip?
Me: My grandpa

VO: Can I have his statement?
Me: I gave her (I feel relived at this point her countenence has changed and I was feeling very optimistic at this point)

VO: What does he do?
Me: He's a nationwide distributor of coca-cola product. He has 5 outlets nationwide. 2 in lagos, 1 benin, 1 pH, 1 enugu. And also owns a small transport business that transport people from lagos to benin, and benin to lagos. It's Very productive and he's making alot.

VO: (Looked at the bank statement and was impressed. Brought out a white paper) All ur information checks out and I will be approving ur visa. But first I have to confirm this bank statement. If found fraudulent u will be ban for 10yrs, should I go ahead.

Me: Pls go ahead (in my mind abeg make she fast b4 she change her mind)

Took my white paper and walked away boning as if I was rejected and people started saying sorry bro na so dy dy do.

3 working days after, Visa Status Changed to Issued. This platform has been of tremendous help to me am grateful.

Some observation I made.

1. She doesn't really care abt the schools u applied to nor the course as long as u can defend.

2. I didn't notice her type not even once. Compared to all the transcripts I read about vo's typing fast and all the time.

3. No point craming ur transcript just build a possible sinerio answer around some basic questions and know them. U can mix them up at anytime.

4. Dress dosent matter.

5. Don't beat round the bush put ur best foot forward, give them ur best point first and be confident while saying it.

6. Always add education usa

7. No need trying to get a favorable v.o just asked God to give u the one who will give u ur visa and u will be fine

All this I learnt from my mistake at my interview. THANK God I got my visa regardless

@creamylicious follow ur dreams dear, everyone's part is different
Congrats
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 7:10pm On Dec 04, 2018
zolargeo:
I had my interview today at Lagos and I was denied, even though I was a silent observer around here... please, I need your help on the ffg;
(1) what should be my next line of action because I want to reapply
(2) correction on where I made mistakes during the interview
(3)if my reapplication can meet up with the school resumption which is January 2nd.
This is my transcript
me: Good morning
VO: she responded nodding her head, your password and i-20
me: I gave them to her
VO:What class (not classes) are you going to be taking
me: GiS
VO: not your major, what classes...
mesadI stuttered a Lil before I grab) oh, spatial Analysis, remote sensing, cartography
VOsadShe cuts in) which of the class are you excited about?
Me: Remote sensing, cos I had the introduction at my undergraduate level and it's interesting, as I am into construction, I want to be able to view existing situations from office so as to make fast decisions and this safe times and energy... so I'm looking forward to know much about it cos I will be needing it in the nearest future ..
VO:Do you have a wife
Me: No
VO: Do you have kids
Me:No
VO:Do you have any relatives in USA
Me:Yes, but not my immediate family member, just a distant uncle
VO:Which state is he?
Me:New Jersey
VO:Where is Eastern Illinois University located ?
Me:Charleston, Illinois
Then she came up with sorry bla bla bla... And gimme blue paper

Note: In my appointment details, I stated that I do not have close relatives in USA, I stated it there that I have someone and they didn't ask for the persons details...
I will like you to correct me and let me know where I went wrong, I have not been to the embassy before, this was my first time... please help
Bro. Why did you bring up a distant uncle,since he’s not ur immediate family member. Now u made the Vo focus on that ur uncle
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 6:25pm On Dec 04, 2018
Abiseundun:
Hi, I was the one talking about fake statement, if I'm asked to pick up my passport at the dhl office, I hope I won't be arrested or something terrible can happen, please I'm just a scared guy it's my first time. I need all the help I can get. Thank you
No. You can’t be arrrsted. You will only get the details of ur refusal with ur passport and probably your ban too. But God forbid sha. Lol
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 6:24pm On Dec 04, 2018
omoobaadeNGR:
Hello all,

Please how long (on the average) does it take universities to generate/issue i-20 after fulfilling the financial requirements?
Different schools vary. Some can take a week while some can take a month. Depends on how fast the school is. Some school issues it in days. But remember u still gotta consider courier transport also.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 6:22pm On Dec 04, 2018
Gewezzy1:
Please if i don't see a close appointment date, my schoolresumes January 14th, how will I start the process to request for a emergency appointment
Book the closest date you see first. Then request for expedited interview date. With proof of ur sevis payment,i20 and mrv Gtb receipt
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 6:14pm On Dec 04, 2018
homirefacuny:
Damn it mhen...Naija ti cast o. Lol
Only people with 100% tuition waiver can worry less about this SOA of a thing and those who are extremely sure about the source of the acciunt
I read somewhere that about 98% of Chinese,Japanese and Korean applicants get their f1 visas. They don’t ask this Asian students majority of the questions they ask us. And you already know why.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 6:01pm On Dec 04, 2018
homirefacuny:
Lord Jesus!!! Why are people like this in this country for heavens sake embarassed
They are making the process harder everyday. It's well.
Exactly. Think of it. Before the us embassy decided to start checking SOA regularly,maybe they decided to try and check Soa of like 10 applicants for a particular day and they realize about 8 are fake. What do you think they will do?
It’s this same people using fake documents that are making it hard for genuine students.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 14 by Nutshell44: 5:57pm On Dec 04, 2018
GboyegaD:
Some might not be aware before now. One thing though, visiting an agent should be a guide but the challenge is that most leave their fate in the hands of the said agents.
I agree with you. Some even allow the agent to fill the ds160 for them. And when the VO ask a question from that ds160. They seem confuse.

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)