Stats: 3,331,406 members, 8,450,191 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 July 2026 at 10:18 PM

Pickabeau1's Posts

Nairaland ForumPickabeau1's ProfilePickabeau1's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 359 pages)

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 6:32pm On Sep 18, 2015
Spy360:
Personally I wouldn't blame the loss on changes, because those changes were necessary. I think it was down to lack of concentration and loss of focus.

Our game plan obviously was to score early, so we attacked vigorously, but Ox lost it defensively, and Giroud became stupiid, and the game slipped away.

On a good day, with good focus, this same line up will beat DZ anywhere.

Next: Chelsea.
Is Walcott still better than Ronaldo

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 6:30pm On Sep 18, 2015
pazienza:
"That said, a loss at S.B would mean nothing. It's not like we have a good record there anyway"

Choi! Wenger has infected Arsenal fans with his failure disease. Failure means nothing again to gunners.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 2:54pm On Sep 17, 2015
sod09:
u never see anything
Go piers Morgan page on twitter
D man na chief WOB
We be learner WOB grin
Hahhaha
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1:
sod09:
we know DAT one too grin
And seems d people here are OK wit it....
I can't guarantee us beating chelshit dis weekend oo
does it matter

At the end of the day, na top 4 sure pass

Lol at cup of coffee

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 1:23am On Sep 17, 2015
sod09:
they know na
Just leave dem
Its there timd
I can't promise what happens after the second round

Top4 and UCL 2nd round are constant k in arsenal
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 10:38pm On Sep 16, 2015
Temporary setback

Arsenal shall reach the second round grin
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 3:27pm On Sep 15, 2015

Scold fire

So pataki..you actually believe Walcott is a striker

Ok..i doff my hat to you lot..the AKBs

Arsene Knows Best

In other news...jack out for 3 months...

That overuse of 4 years ago is haunting thus guy

Wenger well done
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 9:28am On Sep 15, 2015
Roland17:
Debo beat me to honest criticisms about Sanchez, he has been not been generous in front of goal this season and maybe because he does not play the CF position or the clout he commands I think he gets a pass, he has not finished a lot of the opportunities, all I want see is some level of efficiency so the pressure of scoring is not burdened on the midfield and it is a gradual process for this roaster and I believe they would get there with some consistency.

Again, we all seem to be waiting until Ozil has a bad night and the bandwagon would descend on him, Ozil has been terrific, many see the assist to Walcott as the highlight of his current season but I challenge them to watch all 5 games we have played this far, he has been the silent engineer orchestrating the final third with a lot of scoring chances that are not converted.

I hope the optimism in the squad continues into Europe and on Saturday against Chelsea which would be a very tricky tie.

#COYG
Solid post

Any day Ozil is class

Covers a lot of distance too

Sublime player
FamilyRe: Boys Night Out Discussions by pickabeau1: 4:47am On Sep 15, 2015
coogar:
your "ladies" are at it again. cheesy grin
Free the Nip-ples!!!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 11:27am On Sep 13, 2015
proudly9ja:
There's nothing to say that hasn't been said before over and over again. I think people are just tired of repeating themselves.
Walcott is a good finisher and perhaps the best finisher at our club (minus Alexis). But I still maintain Giroud should be first choice no9.

I'm glad we won today. It's 3 points plus 3 goals. Doesn't remove the fact that our goal/chances ratio is still too low. Positive is that this means we are creating a lot of chances (creating over 10 chances in a PL game is outstanding). Negative is that our strikers need to do better. Theo scored today but should have had 2 to 3 goals. Even Giroud who played less than 20 minutes managed to miss his first chance. A typical Arsenal game and Stoke would have equalised but thank God that didn't happen.

I must say though that I'm happy with our back 6 ie plus Coquelin and Cech. Gabriel is slowly making that CB position his. Per will have to be satisfied with Cup games now.

3 points and 2 goals. Good for me. Champ's league is next.

Very succinct
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 7:08pm On Sep 12, 2015
Thank God for 3 points

Tension
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 3:10pm On Sep 12, 2015
Spy360:
My dear the second is better because by implication,

Spy360 - 1/3 ie 33%
Spy404 - 1/1 ie 100%

So that if given equal chances, Spy404 will get 90goals out of 90.

Spy 404 is therefore the better finisher. You don't just consider effectiveness, you also look at efficiency.
Ok..bro

Na wa

Upright twice

Walcott The Striker!
FamilyRe: They Both Work In Different Banks, Can Their Marriage Work? by pickabeau1: 4:27am On Sep 12, 2015
Tobiegal:
I have a good support system around me. Initially, my boy used was in a creche close to the office, so we bonded in transit... Then comes the second boy, and it's kind different cos the 1st has started school close to grannies... So logically, they are both dropped off there... While I pick them back on mu way from the office in the evening.
And most importantly, put them to bed by myself... That's like the best time of my entire day...
For domestic.... I have pips that comes to clean over the weekend... Don't have a maid.

For cooking...hubby and I aren't big eaters... So, I don't make dinner usually... However, most of the cooking and family eating together is done over the weekend.

For laundry... Simply got a washing machine...and the rest is history...

However, the bottom-line is that I have a very understanding and supportive hubby... So, I don't feel so stressed out...
Super!
This shows the extra effort you put in and the good fortune of having a support system

This may not be available to every one

I just wanted to let it be made clear

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 4:22am On Sep 12, 2015
Spy360:
I did not say Walcott is better than Aguero, I said by my own rating he is a better 'finisher'. I may be right or wrong, but that is my opinion.
If you check their conversion rates, you would appreciate my view.

Please keep things within context.
Thanks.
Dude is perceived conversion to be contemplated independently of effectiveness?

Season stats

Spy360 90 chances 30 goals... 3 chances per goal

Spy404 3 chances 3 goals..1 chance per goal.

Yet the second is 'better'..
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 6:28pm On Sep 11, 2015
sod09:
no he's not...nd yes he can play d position
But he's still better Dan giroud in dat position
Because of his striking rate.....Walcott can convert 8/10 chances
Dats y spy360 said he was d best striker, I would av agree wit him if Walcott has d strength nd height...
Aguero doesn't av height but he got strenght nd eye for goal
Walcott may convert his chances better than Giroud.. but I doubt he is involved in as many chances

Spy360.. leave wetin
Are u not the dude saying Walcott is better than Aguero

Yeye dey smell
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 3:22pm On Sep 11, 2015
sod09:
shocked shocked
Dude wat are u saying na
I can't even defend u, no fall my hand oo
Tell him na joke
Do u class Walcott as a striker yes or no
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 12:51pm On Sep 11, 2015
Google Walcott and football brain

That should be clear

Pataki:
What is the meaning of this? I asked you for your opinion, you are posting a news article of 2010. After trawling the internet (googling), this is all you can find?

From the first link you posted, this is what Hansen said:

Apparently, you were too lazy to read the article, you just googled the internet and started posting weblinks. The second weblink you posted from Chris Waddle (2010), who rated Adam Johnson better than Walcott. undecided Seriously?! Where is the so-called Adam Johnson today? Playing for Sunderland. And you expect me to take you serious?

Now try again. Tell me why Walcott should not be called a striker in your own view.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 12:02pm On Sep 11, 2015
FamilyRe: Boys Night Out Discussions by pickabeau1: 11:48am On Sep 11, 2015
Kimoni:
Thank you for kindly taking the time to explain to Pickabeau.
Pick, you get it now?

Balance and equality - do these two words means the same in the home/marriage context? I don't think so.

My simple twisted layman's definition - equality is like sharing everything (finances et al.) in a 50:50 ratio eg we share the bills equally, contribute to projects equally, divide house chores equally etc Trying to find a balance is trying to ensure that whatever part of the job you are taking up, you are not taking up more portion in total than the other party. Everything do not have to be equally divided in arriving at a balanced, unskewed point. This is me thinking aloud oo
I just saw this

I still don't get your point

Are u asking for equality in the home?
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 11:46am On Sep 11, 2015
Pataki:
Why should Walcott not be called a striker?
He still lacks the basic rudiments of playing football
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 11:46am On Sep 11, 2015
debosky:
You're completely missing the point by name-checking again. You're calling names of players, not relaying how many goals they scored nor the league position we finished in.

With Giroud and the current crop we finished 3rd last season and scored a mere 3 goals less than the champions with 71 league goals. If the gap with the current crop to the champions was 3 goals, why are you so confident that the issue is needing more strikers?

How many goals and what league position did your illustrious set above achieve to make you think they were better?
Did u also consider the goals distribution across the season

Remove outlier matches like the games against Newcastle, Stoke, villa x2 and westbrom.. (3 goals or more), this will help you put te myriad of goalless or one goal draws in focus
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 11:42am On Sep 11, 2015
pkasso:
I haven't visited this thread in a while but i hope you folks are pleased with Monsieur Wenger transfer dealings.Bringing in enigmatic 'striker' OwnGoal Escobar has got to be his biggest deal yet.2 goals in 4 games is not bad considering he's got more goals than Alexis Sanchez, Eden Hazard, Sergio Aguero and Wayne Rooney all put together.All without paying a zero penny.Who knows at this rate he might just end up being Arsenal's highest goalscorer come the end of the season! grin
grin grin grin grin grin grin
FamilyRe: They Both Work In Different Banks, Can Their Marriage Work? by pickabeau1: 8:48am On Sep 11, 2015
It will have beneficial to give practical examples of how u manage this challenge

child care

cooking/domestic stuff

etc

Tobiegal:
It depends largely on both parties... No profession is easy...

Hubby and I work in different banks and yea,we have two boys doing very well.

What they both need is to understand and respect each other... Communication is always key, and this can be done with the several means of we have nowadays...bbm, fone calls. Emails and the likes.

Kids would be fine regardless of how you look at them... Not everyone had their moms at their beck and call growing up and have turned out just fine... So why should yours be any different.

At the end of the day... It's their cross to bear... If he's having second thoughts after knowing fully well that what she does... He shd let her be... Men like them would have trust issues...even when they would continue to admire their own female colleagues in the same office.

To each their own jere
FamilyRe: Boys Night Out Discussions by pickabeau1: 5:57pm On Sep 10, 2015
afrobaby:
I thought this thread is for boys, girls don enter, shoo? We ladies, we dey like to always put our eyes and ears every where. I must say, that is why men can't do without US.

Ladies/girls in the house, I hail o.

Any woman here, no way, we are all still girls
cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy
FamilyRe: Boys Night Out Discussions by pickabeau1: 5:14pm On Sep 09, 2015
Timbuktou:
Well, there's nothing sexier than a floor-mopping, dish-washing man, is there? angry grin
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin

freecocoa:
Never knew there's a pastor in you, keep up the good work.grin
FamilyRe: Boys Night Out Discussions by pickabeau1: 10:40am On Sep 09, 2015
TV01:
Abi?

A man who can't reign in his emotions and basic impulses...and is not seriously attending to it...and to actually marry such a one?...I no fit lipsrsealed

TV
Well if he does the chores dutifully he Is 10/10

wink
FamilyRe: Boys Night Out Discussions by pickabeau1: 10:32am On Sep 09, 2015
freecocoa:
Yea well, I guess we all have different experiences and that's part of what shapes our views on things, all the encounters I've had with temperamental people, they never put the other person's feelings into consideration before taking actions and that's something I can't deal with, plus being quiet doesn't automatically make one a nice person either because quiet people can be hot tempered too, the only difference is they may not use words to express their anger.

The issue is that while the barker may calm down afterwards, he may say something damaging in a fit of unjustified rage and I as a person, believe what you say matter a lot, so you can't always get angry over every little thing, cussing me out only to later tell me "I was just angry, I didn't mean it" so please keep your emotions in check.
Also true

The Bible says an angry man is like a city without walls
FamilyRe: Boys Night Out Discussions by pickabeau1: 2:48am On Sep 09, 2015
freecocoa:
That's the beauty of our individuality.smiley

I just believe that people who easily get offended aren't really nice people, I mean from my point of view, you have to make room for people's excesses to an extent and if one always reacts to everything done to them, it will ruin a lot of things, especially as the offender may have just made a honest mistake, so it's best not to react immediately till you are certain the action taken is worth the anger.

I'll consider things like, not being big on sharing, bad table manners, bad dress sense, mouth odourgrin, poor hygiene(this one to some level shaundecided), as minor because these things can be changed or managed better/easier than temper can.
I agree

A person's value system is more important than who will press power on washing machine
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 8:43pm On Sep 08, 2015
Pataki:
Based on what parameters?

Was Henry a natural striker?

Was RVP a natural striker?

Was Dennis Bergkamp a natural striker?

Some of you so-called Arsenal fans sef. undecided
Walcott the greatest

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 8:07pm On Sep 08, 2015
debosky:
I didn't say I believed. . . .I said it could be justified by some [b]dodgy[/b]stats. smiley
Corrected

Walcott is not even meant to be put in a sentence containing the word 'striker'
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 7:57pm On Sep 08, 2015
debosky:
There you go, so it is possible to make that claim by some measure no?
So u actually believe Walcott is a Bette finisher than aguero

I will not deign to mention Rinaldo in that sentence .. grin
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fans Thread: The Red & White Army: 2025/2026 EPL Champions! by pickabeau1: 7:48pm On Sep 08, 2015
debosky:
Better finisher, not 'better overall'. Have you even bothered to examine if there's any merit in the statement?

Finishing can be viewed in terms of shots per goal scored. Walcott may be higher than the aforementioned you know.
Provide the stats..let's debate
Just saw Pataki stats

Goals per shot...is that what you use to translate as better finishing

Then at a point podolski was the best finisher in EPL..since he scored more or less with every chance in goal

Walcott 4 shots 1 goal... Overall 7 goals

Aguero 5 shots 1 goal..overall 26 goals

Walcott is better ....choi

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 (of 359 pages)