Stats: 3,153,011 members, 7,817,980 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 01:31 AM

Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad (21653 Views)

What Are The Disadavantages Of Studying Medicine At Age 29 / Need Your Advice: Start Afresh in HR Or Continue with Career in Finance / Can I Combine Studying Medicine, Surgery And Work At The Same Time ? (2) (3) (4)

Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by matt97367: 7:16pm On Jun 16, 2021
Dear doctors in the house, I'm a third year medical student in a nigerian university, I got an offer to study medicine in eastern Europe, will it be wise to accept to offer and start over again or should I complete my studies here.
My major reason for accepting the offer is the fact that I'm scared that I wont be able to practice (or it would be very difficult) to practice in the country of my choice, because I heard nigerian certificates arent held with high regards compared to others from European countries
I just want to know if it's possible to practice somewhere else after completing my studies here with a nigerian degree

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Nobody: 7:22pm On Jun 16, 2021
matt97367:
Dear doctors in the house, I'm a third year medical student in a nigerian university, I got an offer to study medicine in eastern Europe, will it be wise to accept to offer and start over again or should I complete my studies here.
My major reason for accepting the offer is the fact that I'm scared that I wont be able to practice (or it would be very difficult) to practice in the country of my choice, because I heard nigerian certificates arent held with high regards compared to others from European countries
I just want to know if it's possible to practice somewhere else after completing my studies here with a nigerian degree

Your choice. Seems as though there's an opportunity cost for each of your decisions. Cost wise, it's cheaper to study here and you have 4 yrs to go.

However, since you don't intend to practice in Nigeria, it'd be a good idea to travel out once and for all. You can practice in Europe without hassles so that's the benefit.

52 Likes

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Danielomisco(m): 7:31pm On Jun 16, 2021
Oga Japa!!!!!!!!!!!

125 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by viyon02: 7:31pm On Jun 16, 2021
To be frank with you, better escape to Europe and start all over again, your certificate will be highly valued at any part of the world.

131 Likes 1 Share

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Bola146(f): 7:34pm On Jun 16, 2021
Please abroad straight........ wink wink

73 Likes

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by ford101: 7:45pm On Jun 16, 2021
The only thing that comes to my mind is japa japa!!

120 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by matt97367: 8:00pm On Jun 16, 2021
Afriqan:

Your choice. Seems as though there's an opportunity cost for each of your decisions. Cost wise, it's cheaper to study here and you have 4 yrs to go.

However, since you don't intend to practice in Nigeria, it'd be a good idea to travel out once and for all. You can practice in Europe without hassles so that's the benefit.

Thank you very much for your answer sir

The cost is pretty much settled and by the grace of God that wont be an issue
The only thing hindering me is the fact that I'll have to waste the 3 years spent here
So I want to be sure its was worth it
I met a consultant here in my school that advised me against it, telling me doctors are better paid and treated here in nigeria than the countries people go to.

But from your answer you say it's easier for medical doctors that studied abroad to secure jobs abroad
So it's significantly harder for doctors that studied in Nigeria to secure jobs abroad?

�thank you very much for your response

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by matt97367: 8:02pm On Jun 16, 2021
viyon02:
To be frank with you, better escape to Europe and start all over again, your certificate will be highly valued at any part of the world.

That's what my mind is telling me
The doctors I asked here tell me there's no difference in the certificate
Thank you for your response

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Nobody: 8:20pm On Jun 16, 2021
matt97367:

Thank you very much for your answer sir

The cost is pretty much settled and by the grace of God that wont be an issue
The only thing hindering me is the fact that I'll have to waste the 3 years spent here
So I want to be sure its was worth it
I met a consultant here in my school that advised me against it, telling me doctors are better paid and treated here in nigeria than the countries people go to.

But from your answer you say it's easier for medical doctors that studied abroad to secure jobs abroad
So it's significantly harder for doctors that studied in Nigeria to secure jobs abroad?

�thank you very much for your response

Well, I have a few doctors on my list who are currently learning German from me. One of the issues they face is that they have to do a licencing exam, same thing for Canada, but if u study in Europe, it gives you preference in the European market for job positions. So u have to know that if you plan to migrate to US or Canada later, you still have to write the same medical licencing exam as a Nigerian. But within EU, you'd have an advantage.

The doctor who also gave you an advice is not wrong too but ultimately nobody can tell you where and how to live cos fulfilment is a personal thing... So it's your choice man. Good luck.

74 Likes 1 Share

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by viyon02: 8:49pm On Jun 16, 2021
matt97367:

That's what my mind is telling me
The doctors I asked here tell me there's no difference in the certificate
Thank you for your response
whaaat that is not true, the fact is Nigeria doctors are very good outside, but with our MBBS certificate they wouldn't trust you they will still ask you to past some exams before you can practice quite stressful.

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by famouscargo4u: 10:44pm On Jun 17, 2021
Start afresh

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by FeliciaOja(f): 5:07pm On Jun 22, 2021
No
Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by pickatyouu: 5:07pm On Jun 22, 2021
Start afresh abroad my brother

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Aderewah: 5:08pm On Jun 22, 2021
Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by lokobyforch(m): 5:08pm On Jun 22, 2021
U no get problem jare grin

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by CelestineNelson: 5:08pm On Jun 22, 2021
I don't have any answer.
Let me help your manage your products designed and advertisment with the latest technologies design softwares...you can create high quality presentable and marketable social media post, flyers, banners business cards, wallpaper, gift cards, websites, newsletters etc

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by cystation: 5:08pm On Jun 22, 2021
Start afresh abroad sharperly...forget Naija medsurge...

I know what am saying!

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Amotekun777: 5:08pm On Jun 22, 2021
Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by PrinceOfLagos: 5:09pm On Jun 22, 2021
Leave this country if you can

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by kingxsamz(m): 5:09pm On Jun 22, 2021

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Generalkorex(m): 5:09pm On Jun 22, 2021
I believe you have the fund. Run now that you can.
Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Grace001: 5:09pm On Jun 22, 2021
Japa now that you can.. Because even after you finally graduate from that medicine here in Nigeria you will still later want to japa because of the situation of Nigeria.

So the difference is that you postpone your japa time

29 Likes

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by frank417: 5:10pm On Jun 22, 2021
Doctors here are still living fine sha.

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Wiseandtrue(f): 5:10pm On Jun 22, 2021
matt97367:
I got an offer to study medicine in eastern Europe, will it be wise to accept to offer and start over again or should I complete my studies here.
cheesy grin grin suffer head grin e be like say you like suffering

You don dey sure when you finish Abi na private University you dey grin

Abeg disappoint village people!

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by bigdammyj: 5:10pm On Jun 22, 2021
Noted
Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Tdotbluejays1: 5:11pm On Jun 22, 2021
If you can afford to leave Nigeria, please do.
Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by Martinez39s(m): 5:11pm On Jun 22, 2021
IF THE MONEY IS THERE, ESCAPE TO EUROPE.

Re: Should I Continue Studying Medicine In Nigeria Or Should I Start Afresh Abroad by atobs4real(m): 5:11pm On Jun 22, 2021
Pack your load and study abroad.
I wish you good luck.

Can You Quit You Job Because It Doesn't Allow You Time With Your Man? / Before My Boss Sacks Me, Should I Resign? / My Supervisor Uses Juju On Our Boss

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34