Stats: 3,151,616 members, 7,813,026 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 04:53 AM

Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell - Travel (19) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell (79857 Views)

He Is Tired Of Canada And Wants To Come Back To Nigeria / Price Of Canada Ticket From Nigeria / Nigerian Woman Begging On The Streets Of Canada. Photos (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) ... (24) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by Possible1805: 5:35pm On Nov 24, 2022
Uniquekriss:
I guess your short of 20k dollars should be up to 8million naira now, keep grinding, try and hangout more, there are so many Nigerians in Canada who are making it.

Na yahoo boys Dey make am
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by UyaiIncomparabl(f): 5:49pm On Nov 24, 2022
OP, for your depression, start taking vitamin D. You lack it.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by hodari: 6:14pm On Nov 24, 2022
morinto:

The western world is just design to make u comfortable and not rich. The more you earn the more you are been tax and bills increases.
Words on marble.

The Western world is not a place to grow old in. Get your money and move somewhere else. Even if not Naija, then some other African country or even Asia sef. Places where you can have a life.

Human beings are social animals not robots

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by Nobody: 6:41pm On Nov 24, 2022
Osewa03:

The way I decided to live my life is none of your business. So, if I have the means and the time, I will visit countless time in a year. Thanks
Your life must be rubbish then grin and if you come on here on a public forum to tell us about your sad and lonely life that makes it everyone's business grin including mine. Dammm!! you are one sad soul, it isn't my fault you are sad and lonely, from your cold atitude no wonder you are lonely.. ofcourse, you would visit countless times because you are not capable or civilised enough to make friends where you are at, hence you keep running back to the backwards uncivilised country you have left supposedly.

Next time keep your sad and lonely life to yourself don't come here to disturb us, there is no such thing as loneliness, your life is what you make it. grin

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by RichAbujaGuy: 6:53pm On Nov 24, 2022
RichAbujaGuy:

Very well said, I recently saw this interesting video.

What $88,000 Will Buy you in Zimbabwe top Neighborhood

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duf8vK0JlSU

More related info for the thread. Vid is only 8 mins.

#Harlem #immigrants #Africans

Africans in Harlem: "You feel a sense of pride... This is the place you need to be." • FRANCE 24
707 views Nov 22, 2022
New York City's #Harlem neighbourhood became the center of Black American culture in the 1920s, and another "Harlem Renaissance" has been taking place in more recent years, this one driven by #immigrants from sub-Saharan Africa. The new book "#Africans in Harlem: An Untold New York Story" shines light on the African cultural influence shaping the neighbourhood. Author Boukary Sawadogo, associate professor of cinema studies at the City University of New York, explains that three quarters of African arrivals to the US came after the year 2000, many of them economic migrants from French-speaking countries like Senegal, Mali and Burkina Faso. Sawadogo joined us to chat about the African affinity for Harlem, the relationship between Africans and African-Americans , and the power of seeing Black heroes on screen in films like "Wakanda Forever".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6OTg-q3R9I0

Mother of George

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mother_of_George

Mother of George is a 2013 Nigerian drama film directed by Andrew Dosunmu and tells the story of a newly married Nigerian couple in Brooklyn who own and manage a small restaurant while struggling with fertility issues. The film was produced by Patrick S. Cunningham and Rhea Scott.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by IbeOkehie: 7:15pm On Nov 24, 2022
topemama1:

Most Nigerians who moved there are well educated but they mostly do menial jobs. Canada is a very welcoming country but the most of the best brains and talents from other countries do shittty jobs there which is sad.

yes I am a medical doctor at one of the best hospitals in Houston, USA for your info.

So let's accept you're a physician living in Houston and formerly Canada. I'm a pharmacist myself and I've lived in Houston as well and this is my real name.

What is your summary or what should we take from your insights...in general, for the average person? Nigeria or Canada, which is better for healthcare or as a place to just live and thrive?
I would really like to know your opinion.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by tshtsh: 9:00pm On Nov 24, 2022
sukkot:
AHHH I JUST CORRECTED SOME TYPOS AND MISTAKES. HOpEfully YOU GOT THE MESSAGE ANYWAY DESPITE ALL THAT. and yes my point was not to focus on the quality of living different places have to offer, my point is that working no matter the job or how much you think you are making or saving cannot make you rich.
I get your point and always emphasize that if one wants to be rich the chances are more attainable in Nigeria than any western country. What matters most doing what makes one happy. Not everyone is interested in accumulating wealth. What most Nigerians are thriving for is actually middle class or upper middle class

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by Uniquekriss(m): 9:04pm On Nov 24, 2022
Possible1805:

Na yahoo boys Dey make am
lie. People are working and earning big time. Canada has better opportunities than UK buh my sis in law who got to UK less than 2months ago is already earning over #700k even when the job isn't confirmed yet. Let him keep pushing, coming back in this naija economy is a no no

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by hodari: 10:29pm On Nov 24, 2022
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by Ajibade123(m): 11:00pm On Nov 24, 2022
Aareona:
Earlier this year, I went back in time to few years back when I was doing so well in Nigeria. The noises from friends and all nurtured the decision to move abroad inside of me. I became so restless till I finally leave. The first day in Canada was the day I knew this place isn't where I can be forever. Most of us would have come back before the time we had in mind except for the fact that I don't still have enough. If I want to travel to naija for vacation now, I will need up to $4k. If I take that away from my savings, I don't know how I can recover.

No one tells about the downside of this place. I feel lonely, depressed and empty most times. Because no one to talk to, just everyone in my workplace goin about their business. If I make attempt to talk to them, they just waive it with a smile. It's been 3years here and the people I still talk to on video call are friends from Nigeria. It's been 3years and my savings is still Short of $20k despite how much my friends in Nigeria do tell me how easy it is for me to make money abroad but I never tell them my situation. I can't wait to make enough and leave Canada for good. I know a lot will come at me with the usuall "come back to Nigeria na", please this is not an attempt to denigrate your abroad heaven, just for me to rant out and be fine
Are you male or female?
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by meobizy(f): 11:18pm On Nov 24, 2022
UyaiIncomparabl:

Speak for yourself. Everyone isn't a social butterfly. So, they will cope. Your experience may be different from another person's own, so I don't know what you mean by a better option for where to live. I have friends who tell me going to and living in Canada was the best decision they took.

Go through this thread from start to finish, people love it and do not regret relocating to Canada. Someone like me will thrive there without complaints. I sometimes wish I could be alone in the whole of this hellhole, it's too noisy and extraverted for my liking. So, my dear Pansophist, say you would never live there, and stop imagining what hell of a kind of person would stay there.
Are you really Victoria Ukpabio? This is not how I remember you.
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by poseidon12: 11:31pm On Nov 24, 2022
faithfull18:
Let's trade places grin. You will be fine.

In this life, knowing what you want, why you want it, is very essential. One has to live above the noise and know why you are doing what you are doing.

But OP, some people are enjoying this abroad you are complaining about, such is life. What works for one may not work for the other.

What am I saying sef, long story short, know what you want, why you want it and why you are doing what you are doing, avoid the crowd mentality or the 'everybody is doing it' thingy.

Are you sure they are enjoying the abroad
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by IbeOkehie: 12:43am On Nov 25, 2022
tshtsh:

I get your point and always emphasize that if one wants to be rich the chances are more attainable in Nigeria than any western country.

This is not true and can be easily debunked. How many dollar millionaires per capita are there in each country? That would be a start. And the unemployment rate of 33% vs 3.5%, you gotta have a job first, right? Let's be serious please.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by tshtsh: 2:00am On Nov 25, 2022
IbeOkehie:

This is not true and can be easily debunked. How many dollar millionaires per capita are there in each country? That would be a start. And the unemployment rate of 33% vs 3.5%, you gotta have a job first, right? Let's be serious please.
How many immigrant Nigerians became dollar millionaires in USA, Canada , UK or UAE ? How many even made it upper class ? Nigeria is an emerging economy and for almost anything you want to do in a developed economy there are multiple people that have been doing it for more than 20 years. Even shoemaking or tailoring you'll find family businesses that have been doing it for more than 100 years. Competition is less in Nigeria if you are innovative and get your funding right.

Regarding unemployment, an employee will likely be better off in the developed world than in nigeria but an enterpreneur aspiring to make it big like dangote or jim ovia or mike adenuga will have a better shot in Nigeria. An immigrant nigerian is not likely to be able to start a bank that will compete with JP Morgan or TD bank in north america. The indians and the chinese even have a better shot at becoming rich in US/Canada/UK than black africans

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by BigIyanga: 2:10am On Nov 25, 2022
Aareona:
Earlier this year, I went back in time to few years back when I was doing so well in Nigeria. The noises from friends and all nurtured the decision to move abroad inside of me. I became so restless till I finally leave. The first day in Canada was the day I knew this place isn't where I can be forever. Most of us would have come back before the time we had in mind except for the fact that I don't still have enough. If I want to travel to naija for vacation now, I will need up to $4k. If I take that away from my savings, I don't know how I can recover.

No one tells about the downside of this place. I feel lonely, depressed and empty most times. Because no one to talk to, just everyone in my workplace goin about their business. If I make attempt to talk to them, they just waive it with a smile. It's been 3years here and the people I still talk to on video call are friends from Nigeria. It's been 3years and my savings is still Short of $20k despite how much my friends in Nigeria do tell me how easy it is for me to make money abroad but I never tell them my situation. I can't wait to make enough and leave Canada for good. I know a lot will come at me with the usuall "come back to Nigeria na", please this is not an attempt to denigrate your abroad heaven, just for me to rant out and be fine
Make sure you have ur Canadian Citizenship to take care of your health when you get sick. Go and ask Ike Ekweremadu and his family how far.
Average cost of kidney dialysis in Naija in N150k/session . At least 2 sessions required in a wk. N300k x 52wks in yr=N15.6m/yr without drugs/doctors visit. Good luck in your new venture
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by BigIyanga: 2:16am On Nov 25, 2022
tshtsh:

How many immigrant Nigerians became dollar millionaires in USA, Canada , UK or UAE ? How many even made it upper class ? Nigeria is an emerging economy and for almost anything you want to do in a developed economy there are multiple people that have been doing it for more than 20 years. Even shoemaking or tailoring you'll find family businesses that have been doing it for more than 100 years. Competition is less in Nigeria if you are innovative and get your funding right.

Regarding unemployment, an employee will likely be better off in the developed world than in nigeria but an enterpreneur aspiring to make it big like dangote or jim ovia or mike adenuga will have a better shot in Nigeria. An immigrant nigerian is not likely to be able to start a bank that will compete with JP Morgan or TD bank in north america. The indians and the chinese even have a better shot at becoming rich in US/Canada/UK than black africans
Keep deceiving yourself. Too many Nigerians are upper class and middle class.
Compare a Nigerian medical doctor with a Naija-US medical doctor.
Compare a nurse in Naija vs a Nurse US.
Compare an accountant in Naija vs an Accountant in US.
How many of Naija professionals in Naija rise to be upperclass without stealing or getting into politics??

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by jimpix11: 2:35am On Nov 25, 2022
My people perish because of lack of knowledge

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by tshtsh: 3:05am On Nov 25, 2022
BigIyanga:

Keep deceiving yourself. Too many Nigerians are upper class and middle class.
Compare a Nigerian medical doctor with a Naija-US medical doctor.
Compare a nurse in Naija vs a Nurse US.
Compare an accountant in Naija vs an Accountant in US.
How many of Naija professionals in Naija rise to be upperclass without stealing or getting into politics??
Oga I live in canada (Toronto) and have lived in USA(Bethesda) . I have also worked in Nigeria(Lagos). Nigerians are no where near upper class in USA or Canada. I am not comparing a doctor in Nigeria vs a doctor in USA. I am comparing a doctor in USA with the founder/CMD of Lagoon hospital Ikoyi or a Nigerian pediatric physician in Mayoclinic with the Founder/CEO of Evercare hospital in Lekki. I am not comparing employees in north america with their counterparts in Nigeria rather I am comparing employees in North america with businessmen in Nigeria. Some people get tired of being in the middle class and want to move up thus decide to move back to africa where it is more attainable

When I worked in Lagos as a software engineer my take home was just a little over 600k naira monthly at age 25. When I moved to canada my first income as a software engineer was $8,300 (3840 bi-weekly) monthly hence I earned better and was in the middle class. But If I want to make a lot more money it is easier for me to raise capital and set up a fin-tech or software company in Nigeria. Those who did so successfully are making good cash in Nigeria far more than what we employees in north america make.

Show me a Nigerian that has become an executive VP at google or that has become CEO at yahoo inc or that have become a partner at KPMG HQ . Among the few immigrants that make it to the top you will mostly find people from asia before you find any Nigerian.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by BigIyanga: 3:14am On Nov 25, 2022
tshtsh:

Oga I live in canada (Toronto) and have lived in USA(Bethesda) . I have also worked in Nigeria(Lagos). Nigerians are no where near upper class in USA or Canada. I am not comparing a doctor in Nigeria vs a doctor in USA. I am comparing a doctor in USA with the founder/CMD of Lagoon hospital Ikoyi or a Nigerian pediatric physician in Mayoclinic with the Founder/CEO of Evercare hospital in Lekki. I am not comparing employees in north america with their counterparts in Nigeria rather I am comparing employees in North america with businessmen in Nigeria. Some people get tired of being in the middle class and want to move up thus decide to move back to africa where it is more attainable

When I worked in Lagos as a software engineer my take home was just a little over 600k naira monthly at age 25. When I moved to canada my first income as a software engineer was $8,300 (3840 bi-weekly) monthly hence I earned better and was in the middle class. But If I want to make a lot more money it is easier for me to raise capital and set up a fin-tech or software company in Nigeria. Those who did so successfully are making good cash in Nigeria far more than what we employees in north america make.

Show me a Nigerian that has become an executive VP at google or that has become CEO at yahoo inc or that have become a partner at KPMG HQ . Among the few immigrants that make it to the top you will mostly find people from asia before you find any Nigerian.
Your comparison is out of place.
Compare CMD of Ikoyi Hospital vs Dr Maduka CMD of Vegas Pain Clinic.
Too many Doctors as business owners and employees cant be compared with their Naija counterparts .
Apt comparison is US employee vs Naija employee in the same field and qualification.
If you compare Naija entrepreneurs vs US Naija entrepreneurs, in the US, younget funded easily if you have right product/service while in Naija, if you dont have connect and $$.. good luck.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by tshtsh: 3:39am On Nov 25, 2022
BigIyanga:

Too many Doctors as business owners and employees cant be compared with their Naija counterparts .
Apt comparison is US employee vs Naija employee in the same field and qualification.
If you compare Naija entrepreneurs vs US Naija entrepreneurs, in the US get funded easily if you have right product/service while in Naija, if you dont have connect and $$.. good luck.

Vegas Pain hospital is a very small primary care centre and not comparable to evercare or lagoon in terms of size, number of services offered, number of physicians employed and number of patients treated. If it was so good at Vegas Pain and life in USA was all why has maduka tried to involve himself in anambra politics so much ? Why has he been investing in Nigeria rather than expanding his medical practice across Nevada and the who of USA ? Most of us are more comfortable in north america but deep down I will rather be successful in Africa than here. South Africa was even my first choice place to work .

We may never agree on this issue but there are levels to these things and even among Africans the americans rate Ethiopians higher than Nigerians. All that talk about Nigerians being the most educated blacks in USA is because of the population of Nigerians not because Nigerians are high up there. In Greater Toronto Area the cities of Richmond Hill and Markham are expensive neighborhoods occupied mostly by immigrants from Hong Kong. The average price of a house is over $1 milllion. In Vancouver the laws were modified to reduce the inflow of investments from asian millionaires in the property market. Brampton is dominated by wealthy indians. There is no neighborhood in USA or Canada known to house wealthy Nigerian-immigrants because Nigerian immigrants have not yet been able to acquire the level of wealth and influence there counterparts from asia posses. The kind of wealth that will make them dominate a district

When I lived in Maryland I once visited a nigerian in Potomac (an expensive neighborhood). The man was a retired judge at the supreme court of Nigeria. He showed me mansions belonging to Nigerians but they were all ex-governors (Uzor kalu, former gov of kogi state, atiku and a nigerian business man). You have pockets of upper middle class nigerians here and there in USA but nothing compared to the wealthy businessmen in Nigeria like cosmos maduka, chukwuma innosson, ABC Orjiakor, mike adenuga, akintola williams and many more.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by BigIyanga: 4:37am On Nov 25, 2022
tshtsh:

Vegas Pain hospital is a very small primary care centre and not comparable to evercare or lagoon in terms of size, number of services offered, number of physicians employed and number of patients treated. If it was so good at Vegas Pain and life in USA was all why has maduka tried to involve himself in anambra politics so much ? Why has he been investing in Nigeria rather than expanding his medical practice across Nevada and the who of USA ? Most of us are more comfortable in north america but deep down I will rather be successful in Africa than here. South Africa was even my first choice place to work .

We may never agree on this issue but there are levels to these things and even among Africans the americans rate Ethiopians higher than Nigerians. All that talk about Nigerians being the most educated blacks in USA is because of the population of Nigerians not because Nigerians are high up there. In Greater Toronto Area the cities of Richmond Hill and Markham are expensive neighborhoods occupied mostly by immigrants from Hong Kong. The average price of a house is over $1 milllion. In Vancouver the laws were modified to reduce the inflow of investments from asian millionaires in the property market. Brampton is dominated by wealthy indians. There is no neighborhood in USA or Canada known to house wealthy Nigerian-immigrants because Nigerian immigrants have not yet been able to acquire the level of wealth and influence there counterparts from asia posses. The kind of wealth that will make them dominate a district

When I lived in Maryland I once visited a nigerian in Potomac (an expensive neighborhood). The man was a retired judge at the supreme court of Nigeria. He showed me mansions belonging to Nigerians but they were all ex-governors (Uzor kalu, former gov of kogi state, atiku and a nigerian business man). You have pockets of upper middle class nigerians here and there in USA but nothing compared to the wealthy businessmen in Nigeria like cosmos maduka, chukwuma innosson, ABC Orjiakor, mike adenuga, akintola williams and many more.
You’re still conflating Naija employers/entrepreneurs with Naija US employees. And throwing Naija politrckians into the mix
What CMD of Evercare/Lagoon makes in a year Dr Maduka makes in a couple of months.
Dr Ozuah who gave UCH Ibadan $1m, made $13m/yr before he became the CEO.. so he’s pulling in close $20m/yr.
https://nypost.com/2020/02/15/bronx-hospital-honcho-made-13-million-in-compensation/amp/
Top Naija paid CEO is

Michel Puchercos (Dangote Cement) – N531m/750 @$708k/yr.

https://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2022/07/17/highest-paid-ceos-in-nigeria-in-2021/amp/

You’re comparing Naija’s richest in Naija vs Naija employees in US/Canada.
Apt comparison is Naija’s richest in Naija vs Canada’s richest.
If Naija is all that good, why did politrickians like Orji Uzo have US green card and investments US-house in Potomac MD? Atiku has house in Potomac MD as well. What are the odds of finding another OUK in Abia ..maybe 1 in 5m??

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by sihamey: 5:43am On Nov 25, 2022
Uniquekriss:
I guess your short of 20k dollars should be up to 8million naira now, keep grinding, try and hangout more, there are so many Nigerians in Canada who are making it.
Which conversion
Canadian dollar or US Dollar
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by ednut1(m): 6:15am On Nov 25, 2022
Uniquekriss:
canadians dols is 570 in black market so close to 12m. The ops story is fake anyways
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by Nobody: 10:05am On Nov 25, 2022
vicfajeze:
,Hav u gøne dia b4?

Canada. grin

Hello! I OWN two properties there which are in different states.
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by juman(m): 10:58am On Nov 25, 2022
I remember this thread.

Op, your solution is get more money.
Reduce your free time and convert it to money.
Look for extra job to do in the evening, few hours each day, couple of days in a week.

From there your get more savings and you meet more people and making more friends.

But don't waste the extra money, save it.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by juman(m): 11:07am On Nov 25, 2022
Also you don't need four thousand dollars to visit Nigeria.

From nordic here people travel home with less than one thousand dollars.
Flight ticket is less than seven hundred dollars for some cheap airline and some guys travelled home with two to three hundred dollars in the pocket.

Even in some off period the lufthansa, klm etc are just little over three hundred dollars to travel home from nordic.
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by IbeOkehie: 12:09pm On Nov 25, 2022
tshtsh:

How many immigrant Nigerians became dollar millionaires in USA, Canada , UK or UAE ? How many even made it upper class ?

This is an excellent insight into outcome. The REASONS for this are the INNATE QUALITY of the Nigerians who migrate to the USA, not because the Chinese or Indians are favoured, if I may use that word. Asian Americans have higher average & median INCOME than White Americans, again because of certain innate qualities and cultural habits. I think I will leave it at that.

Nigeria is an emerging economy and for almost anything you want to do in a developed economy there are multiple people that have been doing it for more than 20 years. Even shoemaking or tailoring you'll find family businesses that have been doing it for more than 100 years. Competition is less in Nigeria if you are innovative and get your funding right.

Then why aren't Nigerians generally much richer? China and India are developing countries and were much poorer than Nigeria in say the 1970's. I remember Indians used to migrate to Nigeria for a better life and live in remote villages, a couple of them taught in the village where I grew up. So why are India & China much more developed than Nigeria today? And yes there may be very few Nigerian millionaires in the USA/UK, but there's even fewer Nigerians millionaires in Nigeria, measured per capita. That's FACT.

Bottom line - if what you say about Nigeria is true then MANY MORE INVESTORS or enterpreneurs would be doing it, taking advantage of the OPPORTUNITIES in Nigeria. For some reasons, very few are taking on the RISK in order to get the FAVORABLE RETURNS that you're positing. That's the current situation right now and that outcome is the evidence. Period.

I could go on and on, but I'll tell you the underlying controlling factor - Nigeria is NOT a free market. The government controls just about all aspects of economic activity, including PRICE and without free pricing, it's almost impossible to invest. It's hard to get Nigerians to understand this. Right now the APC Presidential Candidate Bola Tinubu is proposing he will resurrect Agric Commodity Boards to implement minimum pricing for agricultural produce in Nigeria. It's amazing that knowledgeable people aren't screaming from the rooftops about it.

Then there's also the APC obsession with the Water Resources Bill. Those interested should go peruse the proposals in that legislation. I think it might become law if the APC achieves a strong win in the coming elections. The Nigerian economy is bad now, such policies will make it infinitely worse. I can't exaggerate the level of dislocation that will be inflicted in the long term.

I lived in the USA for over 15 years then moved back to live in Nigeria and run a business from which I got ZERO in salary or profit. I know what I went through, I learned a lot. Nigerians are generally IGNORANT about the laws and political-economy of their own country...I used to be that ignorant too, I'm not criticizing. My family understand what is going on but it took us two generations of back and forth to really internalize the structural reality.

The bottom line, Nigeria is an almost COMMUNIST economy. That's the reason it will NEVER become prosperous and like any Communist/Socialist nation, only those with the right connections or relationships can make it to the top of the pyramid. The GOVERNMENT decides who gets rich, not the MARKET, so yes you're correct, it's EASIER to become a dollar millionaire in Nigeria, but again, it's easier in the West. I know, sounds contradictory but that's that.

Going back to my first paragraph, this CULTURAL predisposition to climbing the pyramid through government patronage is THE REASON Nigerians don't make it to the top in the West as business founders and top CEO's. That's not merely my assertion, I have good EVIDENCE.

Oh look someone else responding to you knows exactly what I'm writing about, so....

BigIyanga:

If you compare Naija entrepreneurs vs US Naija entrepreneurs, in the US, younget funded easily if you have right product/service while in Naija, if you dont have connect and $$.. good luck.

What a nice summary of the facts. Have a good day.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by AlphaTaikun: 12:19pm On Nov 25, 2022
Aareona:

I love the way you ranted here... it'll provide some therapeutic effects for you. This thread shows that you are NOT alone and will surmount the odds. smiley. You have to diversify your income streams though for true financial independence.

All the best

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by ayinba1(f): 1:02pm On Nov 25, 2022
BigIyanga:

But he was very clear to describe what two groups he compared. It was not apples to apples and he did it in context.
Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by IbeOkehie: 1:08pm On Nov 25, 2022
ayinba1:

But he was very clear to describe what two groups he compared. It was not apples to apples and he did it in context.

Maybe he did or he didn't, my own contention is simple - the assertion that it's easier for a Nigerian to become a dollar millionaire in Nigeria than in the US/UK/Canada is still wrong. It's easy to pick this or that person or situation, I prefer to look at the data and where there's strong arguments on a particular facet of an issue, I go to broad measures.

There's no way at all that his assertion is true. The budget of the Federal Government of Nigeria has been running around $21 billion for the past 5 years, Nigerians abroad remit anywhere from $10 to 25 billion every year through official channels. Nigerians abroad are the ones keeping Nigeria afloat, not crude oil. When you think about broad measures like this, you realize how POOR Nigerians are as a whole. I could go on and on with all kinds of data, so you have to understand why it's hard to convince me that it's easier to make money in Nigeria than the West.

How many foreign investors have pulled out of Nigeria in the past decade? Even Exxon Mobil, a major energy company, has pulled out of the Nigeria retail fuel market, yes they did and I bet you many Nigerians don't know this.

https://www.ogj.com/general-interest/article/17250725/exxonmobil-sells-nigerian-retail-business

Think about it, Exxon Mobil pulling out of a major crude oil & natural gas producing country like Nigeria. They like to make money but apparently, for some reason, they find it hard to do in Nigeria, in their generally acknowledged field of expertise. People should look into WHY they divested. If Exxon Mobil can't do it, who can? What other EVIDENCE do you want me to look at? The truth is in the data, go check out the foreign investment inflow data for Nigeria. It's a simple thing!

I PERSONALLY know MANY people who have each invested HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of US dollars in all sorts of ventures in Nigeria since the early 1990's, from farming to fishery to IT to agro processing to real estate, the VAST MAJORITY lost almost all their money, including ME, yes, I did it too.

Where is this money in Nigeria biko nu? shocked Please people let us rest.....Nigeria is a Communist country and communist countries don't prosper.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by AlphaTaikun: 1:12pm On Nov 25, 2022
tshtsh:

True that... The tech-savvy Indians dominate the upper echelons in those institutions.

Re: Lonely Part Of Canada No One Bothers To Tell by Treadway: 1:46pm On Nov 25, 2022
IbeOkehie:

Maybe he did or he didn't, my own contention is simple - the assertion that it's easier for a Nigerian to become a dollar millionaire in Nigeria than in the US/UK/Canada is still wrong. It's easy to pick this or that person or situation, I prefer to look at the data and where there's strong arguments on a particular facet of an issue, I go to broad measures.

There's no way at all that his assertion is true. The budget of the Federal Government of Nigeria has been running around $21 billion for the past 5 years, Nigerians abroad remit anywhere from $10 to 25 billion every year through official channels. [i]Nigerians abroad are the ones keeping Nigeria afloat, [/i]not crude oil. When you think about broad measures like this, you realize how POOR Nigerians are as a whole. I could go on and on with all kinds of data, so you have to understand why it's hard to convince me that it's easier to make money in Nigeria than the West.

How many foreign investors have pulled out of Nigeria in the past decade? Even Exxon Mobil, a major energy company, has pulled out of the Nigeria retail fuel market, yes they did and I bet you many Nigerians don't know this.

https://www.ogj.com/general-interest/article/17250725/exxonmobil-sells-nigerian-retail-business

Think about it, Exxon Mobil pulling out of a major crude oil & natural gas producing country like Nigeria. They like to make money but apparently, for some reason, they find it hard to do in Nigeria. People should look into WHY they divested. What other EVIDENCE do you want me to look at? The truth is in the data, go check out the foreign investment inflow data for Nigeria. It's a simple thing!

I PERSONALLY know MANY people who have invested HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of US dollars in all sorts of ventures in Nigeria since the early 1990's, from farming to fishery to IT to agro processing to real estate, the VAST MAJORITY lost almost all their money, including ME, yes, I did it too.

Where is this money in Nigeria biko nu? shocked Please people let us rest.....Nigeria is a Communist country and communist countries don't prosper.
Nigerians abroad are NOT the ones keeping Nigeria afloat. If an unenlightened person said this, I could look past it. Will be happy to dive I have kuma dived in cool

Then again, I might as well just state the FACT I want to state. Diaspora remittance of 20billie is a measly 4% of the GDP at over 500billion. India diaspora remittance that I shared on this thread, or another about a month ago is about 5% of their GDP but you don't hear the Indians saying that is what is keeping the economy afloat, cos hey how can 4 or 5% keep something afloat?? The news you read that makes you guys throw around that figure all the time, you didn't read it in-depth. What that article showed/said is that diaspora remittance is a major source of FOREx to the country, and it stops there! Saying that is what is keeping the economy is not grounded on anything. Also, I have said this earlier too, that when the time comes and we read the report of the capital flight in dollars that the japa movement is fuelling, it will far exceed 20billion. So as the billions have come in to the families that need them, the billions have also gone out on top japa. Estimate how much it takes to run student visa parol in UK for a family of 3 in USD and tell me what that accrues to when you do for Nigerians that have thronged UK in the last one year. Let's not even talk Canada or US or Australia or everywhere else ppll are running too, just UK, then you will see that this 20billie noise is just noise.

(1) (2) (3) ... (16) (17) (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) ... (24) (Reply)

Tourists Worldwide Flock To See This Strange Ice Volcano In Kazakhstan (Photos) / How Anambra Is Closing Borders With Neighboring States (Photos) / Asaba And Benin City: Which Is More Beautiful? (pictures)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 148