Stats: 3,158,814 members, 7,837,929 topics. Date: Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 12:45 PM

Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu - Politics (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu (66884 Views)

Deregulation: Brace For N750/litre Petrol When Subsidy Is Removed, Stakeholders / Peter Obi: Fuel Subsidy Is Organized Crime / Buhari Is Right; Fuel Subsidy Is A Fraud. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by yemi1504: 3:43pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:

He should have just shut up today

Abi. But unfortunately, he has a problem of a running mouth, not a good attribute for good governance.

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Basicend: 3:43pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:
Starting off on a very bad note as usual...he hasn't even resumed to put in place things that would prevent speculation and rush buying

He needs to recover the al.oat 300m dollars he spent on the election. . Una never learn. .

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by mightycrownnyme: 3:44pm On May 29, 2023
I am 100% sure that this man called President BAT will bring smileS to the faces of Nigerian masses

Asiwaju gbogbo NIGERIA
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by yemi1504: 3:46pm On May 29, 2023
Electorate:

Do you zombies realize the removal of fuel subsidy means fuel will be more expensive and scarce? How is that a great decision? No problem, na una go still cry come nairaland when hardship begin wire una like buhari regime, shebi una no wan get sense.

You dey mind them?
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by nairalanda1(m): 3:46pm On May 29, 2023
lavylilly:
This is what the previous regime wanted to do-remove the corrupt subsidy so that marketers will determine the price, but these hypocrites sabotage all the efforts with the Ojota Carnivals, Occupy/Save Nigeria protest. Today they're implementing the same policy.

NNPC have not produce any petroleum product for long while out refineries have been comatose with heavy Turn around maintenance(TAM), staff salaries & other over head costs being paid.All in a brazen act of corruption. Why is the APC this wicked?760 NNPC

Because if they do not remove the subsidy, our debt will increase, and our ability to fund government projects and salaries would also be impeded.

Yes, tinubu is a hypocrite. A big hypocrite. And he was wrong to have opposed subsidy removal in 2012. It shows that he was a true evil machiavellian politican.

But at the moment, we cannot sustain the subsidy anymore. If you were listening during the campaign , Tinubu, Obi and Atiku all said subsidy must go. Obi even called subsidy demonic self. No matter how hypocritical Tinubu is, at the end, it is either subsidy goes, or we would be paying for fuel at IMF HQ at their terms. You won't want that.

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by nairalanda1(m): 3:49pm On May 29, 2023
jackcanfield:

Congratulations to the new CinC , i HOPE you disappoint us by meeting our expectations beyond our imagination, me I am happy no one is expecting much from you, like the days of your predecessor , were the expectation was much ......

Someone should be kind to give us the full speech ..biko

You would soon realize we are actually subsidizing some countries..

That's what many Nigerians don't know...subsidy meant we were subsidsing a large section of the West African subregion in fuel.
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Fiscus105(m): 3:49pm On May 29, 2023
JagabanBorgu:

Did u hear the speech he made about the subsidy?
He said there is no provision for subsidy in the current budget.

Comment from neophyte.

........As if as a sitting president he don't have power to extend it to the day he wants

U guy should learn how reason like a wise.

Sycophants are reason why Nigeria is where it's today.
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by yemi1504: 3:49pm On May 29, 2023
benjaminlawson:

That is the problem with so called Nigeria leaders, they make policy pronouncement without deep taught and adequate planning. At the end, the masses whose mandate they stand will suffer. Do you know how much is the litre of NGO or kerosene in the market after the removal of subsidy, how many household are using kerosene today, I don't know why some elected leaders will be do arrogant to make a pronouncements that your protest will not make me stop subsidy remover, even before sworn in as president. I will wait for what will be the consequences on the masses, before further comments.

Abi. That is the effect of coming in to government based on people's primordial tribal and religious sentiments. Because such people know no matter how bad they perform, they will be voted in again anyways.
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by crackhouse(m): 3:49pm On May 29, 2023
Initial gra gra. He can't remove it. Even buhari said it's a scam and at the end what happened?
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by RelevantSolutio(f): 3:49pm On May 29, 2023
domDva:
A good start.

One thing that Buhari lacked was decisive willpower …with all the military background, there was no decisive decision he could make. Osibanjo was even better as acting president

The very decisive Military Buhari died a very long time ago.

He was replaced by a dommy with the help of The UK.

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Stanislause94: 3:49pm On May 29, 2023
Flangelo12:

So it shouldn't be removed?
why should it be? What has he put in place to neutralize it?
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Chucks13: 3:49pm On May 29, 2023
JagabanBorgu:

We told u that u all will resórt to this after elections.

Oga pls no time for plenty talk, obi will do likewise because subsidy is like holding a man by his balls and still want him to run.

Let subsidy go and let's us rest abeg.........
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by klevotino: 3:50pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:
Starting off on a very bad note as usual...he hasn't even resumed to put in place things that would prevent speculation and rush buying
Buhari ended tenure with N77trn debt, rising inflation, low economic growth – Civic group, BudgIT 2023.

“Food inflation has continued to rise despite over N800 billion spent by the CBN on the Anchor Borrowers’ Program (ABP), which has been touted to have repayment challenges.

“Unemployment rose from 10.4 percent in 2015 to 33.4 percent in 2020 under President Buhari’s watch as the clumsy exchange rate management, with a wide difference between the official and parallel market rates, made it difficult for businesses to thrive.

“Buhari also prevaricated on the subsidy removal, which his administration spent at least N10 trillion to service.

“While Buhari’s government planned to have the subsidy removed as the price of crude rose, it failed to act and continued a wasteful venture that only required firm commitment to implement.

“Also, Nigeria’s oil production slipped below one million barrels per day at a time when oil economies skyrocketed to an unprecedented fortune.

“The attendant effect is that the non-oil share of public revenues grew rapidly from 44.6 percent in 2015 to 59.4 percent in 2022.

“However, Nigeria’s spending was untargeted as several BudgIT analysis continued to show that the Nigerian budget performed below par, with agencies spending public funds without the mandate to do so, foreclosing any chances of fiscal consolidation.”
https://www.tracknews.ng/business/buhari-ended-tenure-with-n77trn-debt-rising-inflation-low-economic-growth-civic-group-budgit/amp/
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by gidjah(m): 3:50pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:
yea yea!!very bad precedence he's about to set for him self ,na begining of bad news and bad luck be that o!THOUGH D REMOVAL WOULD BE A MUST BUT TIMING MATTERS.I STILL would want to know why all our refineries ain't working at
min 70percent capacity,why do we have sabotage In this sector and no president has ever been able to take care of that mess ?
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by 43Ronin: 3:51pm On May 29, 2023
domDva:
A good start.

One thing that Buhari lacked was decisive willpower …with all the military background, there was no decisive decision he could make. Osibanjo was even better as acting president
buhari has always been a gasbag and a weakling. in his first tenure it was idiagbon that was feared and dreaded. in fact IBB had to wait for idiagbon to go to Hajj so as to pursue buhari from office.
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Gajagojo: 3:53pm On May 29, 2023
yemi1504:

Abi. Still maintain Atiku would have been a better President as he is not used to making such knee-jerk reactions like APC, the usurper and their anti-people policies which is why I hate their party.
Knee jerk ?
Not sure what your definition of knee jerk is
Something they all said they will do whilst campaigning?

Atiku said he will remove it in his first hundred days
https://punchng.com/ill-remove-fuel-subsidy-cut-off-beneficiaries-obi/
https://www.thecable.ng/its-just-a-fraud-atiku-vows-to-remove-petrol-subsidy-if-elected-president/amp
https://businessday.ng/politics/article/atiku-vows-to-stop-petrol-subsidy-in-first-100-days/

It is clear you don't understand the issues or what is happening
Buhari effectively removed subsidy by budgeting for it till AJune any new government that wants subsidy has to put in place a supplementary budget.
The problem is They have to BORROW that money. The money is not sitting in any account waiting to be appropriated

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Nkwazemakennyj(m): 3:54pm On May 29, 2023
Sorry to say, this is a bad start. An increase in fuel has been a great challenge to Nigerians. Stating the fact that, the problem of power hasn't been addressed to aid job opportunities for both company owners and small business owners.
The fuel subsidy is never a medium to make the rich richer or the poor poorer, I just feel the fuel subsidy remover is just a medium to make things more difficult to the less privilege who won't be able to have access to fuel to go about their daily business due to the cost of the fuel.
This subsidy remover will also help in the skyrocket of commodity prices. Making life expensive for the poor masses.
I feel Nigeria is not yet ready to embrace fuel subsidy remover, the president should first look at ways to solve other pressing challenges of the country before planning for the subsidy remover.

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by gidjah(m): 3:54pm On May 29, 2023
femisplash:
Did you even listen to him at all?. He said Buhari did not make a fresh provision for subsidy, such that subsidy ends by june, therefore subsidy has officially ended with the last administration.
okay ,more like the last administration set him on a booby trap right ??I now got that. He has lots of work to do, because I do not see NLC consenting to this ,neither would the average poor Nigerian .By the time we test this on a laboratory scale for two weeks , "we go no say after 6,no be only 7dey",!plenty other figures follow .

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by yemi1504: 3:54pm On May 29, 2023
mmsen:

Stupid/dishonest people get stupid/dishonest leaders.

You can say that again!
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by egopersonified(f): 3:55pm On May 29, 2023
There is nothing wrong with subsidizing a good or service. It's the corruption around it that makes it a burden on government. Every country in the world subsidizes health care, education, agriculture, technologies, industries or others. No be only Nigerian government dey pay subsidy.
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by gidjah(m): 3:56pm On May 29, 2023
sonature1:
If Bola Tinubu totally removes the PMS subsidy, that move will worsen the hardship of Nigerians.
my dear , people need to braze up, the past administration came in to destroy the little progress this nation had under past leaders,very Corrupt and bad management practices coupled with over splashing of the pubic sector with illetrate ABOKIs. Check out the economic team of this administration..can it be compared with that of OBJ ??
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by yemi1504: 3:57pm On May 29, 2023
Gajagojo:

Knee jerk ?
Not sure what your definition of knee jerk is
Something they all said they will do whilst campaigning?

Atiku said he will remove it in his first hundred days
https://punchng.com/ill-remove-fuel-subsidy-cut-off-beneficiaries-obi/
https://www.thecable.ng/its-just-a-fraud-atiku-vows-to-remove-petrol-subsidy-if-elected-president/amp
https://businessday.ng/politics/article/atiku-vows-to-stop-petrol-subsidy-in-first-100-days/

It is clear you don't understand the issues or what is happening
Buhari effectively removed subsidy by budgeting for it till AJune any new government that wants subsidy has to put in place a supplementary budget.
The problem is They have to BORROW that money. The money is not sitting in any account waiting to be appropriated

Atiku didn't say he will remove it immediately unlike your usurper there that removed it immediately. Removing it immediately is worlds different from removing it in 100 days as the statement that you said Atiku made. That is the knee-jerk reaction I was talking about. He has a runny mouth and also makes knee-jerk reactions, these are bad attributes of governance and portend a bad omen for his government. I rest my case.

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by nairalanda1(m): 3:58pm On May 29, 2023
egopersonified:
There is nothing wrong with subsidizing a good or service. It's the corruption around it that makes it a burden on government. Every country in the world subsidizes health care, education, agriculture, technologies, industries or others. No be only Nigerian government dey pay subsidy.

They also pay a higher tax rate than Nigeria for the funding for subsides.
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by cardoctor(m): 3:58pm On May 29, 2023
Welcome to our new government
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by yemi1504: 3:58pm On May 29, 2023
Nkwazemakennyj:
Sorry to say, this is a bad start. An increase in fuel has been a great challenge to Nigerians. Stating the fact that, the problem of power hasn't been addressed to aid job opportunities for both company owners and small business owners.
The fuel subsidy is never a medium to make the rich richer or the poor poorer, I just feel the fuel subsidy remover is just a medium to make things more difficult to the less privilege who won't be able to have access to fuel to go about their daily business due to the cost of the fuel.
This subsidy remover will also help in the skyrocket of commodity prices. Making life expensive for the poor masses.
I feel Nigeria is not yet ready to embrace fuel subsidy remover, the president should first look at ways to solve other pressing challenges of the country before planning for the subsidy remover.

You can say that again!
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by ufuosman(m): 3:59pm On May 29, 2023
NgeneUkwenu:
Make I quickly go buy fuel now..
U need to buy full tanker 😂😂😂😂
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by nairalanda1(m): 4:00pm On May 29, 2023
yemi1504:

Atiku didn't say he will remove it immediately unlike your usurper there that removed it immediately. Removing it immediately is worlds different from removing it in 100 days as the statement that you said Atiku made. That is the knee-jerk reaction I was talking about. He has a runny mouth and also makes knee-jerk reactions, these are bad attributes of governance and portend a bad omen for his government. I rest my case.

Oga, Atiku or Obi would have removed subsidy the minute they took office.

Subsidy is no longer sustainable.

Tinubu and Buhari made a big mistake in opposing subsidy removal in 2012.

At some point, we have to face the truth. The truth is, unless we are ready to pay more in taxes, subsidy has to go. Or you want the new government to finance it by borrowing again?
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Gajagojo: 4:01pm On May 29, 2023
yemi1504:

So your issue is it should remain 100 days more?
Then it would no longer be knee jerk?
Peter Obi said he would remove it on his first day
You lack understanding
The subsidy is budgeted for .
TILL END OF JUNE

so Tinubu is stopping it after 30 days
Atiku never said he will remove it on day 100
It is not removed today.
He is just not going to make a supplementary budget to renew it when the current budget runs out next month
What difference does 100 days make?

Your claim about knee jerk makes no sense

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by Ellasure: 4:01pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:

no matter the kind of rush to buy, the solution is continuous availability of pms at the filling stations. market suppliers and government agencies responsible should be ready to saturate the market stations till russians in Nigeria stop rushing.

always rushing to nowhere. Tinubu is supposed to know what should be done.
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by juman(m): 4:03pm On May 29, 2023
Gone forever.

He started on a right footing.

Just imagine if it was removed since 2015.
There would have been lot of money to build infrastructure.

Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by SalamRushdie: 4:03pm On May 29, 2023
Ellasure:

no matter the kind of rush to buy, the solution is continuous availability of pms at the filling stations. market suppliers and government agencies responsible should be ready to saturate the market stations till russians in Nigeria stop rushing.

always rushing to nowhere. Tinubu is supposed to know what should be done.

Did Buhari import enough petrol before handing over ? Today was not the day to make such statement, he shoy have resumed fully and evaluated the whole supply line before talking
Re: Fuel Subsidy Is Gone - President Bola Tinubu by nairalanda1(m): 4:04pm On May 29, 2023
juman:
Gone forever.

He started on a right footing.

Just imagine if it was removed since 2015.
There would have been lot of money to build infrastructure.

Since 2012 even...since 1993 self.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply)

Oluremi Tinubu Steps Into First Lady’s Office / Throwback Photos Of Buhari And Buba Galadima At Galadima's Daughter Graduation / Aisha Buhari Jets Out To Dubai For Delivery Of Daughter, Zahra, As Agitation Con

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78