Stats: 3,158,350 members, 7,836,435 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 07:46 AM

Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return (27499 Views)

Petrol: Marketers Fault Subsidy Removal Process As Queues Return / Fuel Queues Return To Abuja, Others As Supply Dips / FG Implements Cooking Gas Imports Tax, Price Jumps By 100% (2) (3) (4)

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by Nazgul: 9:09am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

Is their a scarcity? No, just panic buying.
Unsubsidized importation is still valid.

And what makes you even think fuel will be cheaper if all refineries are working? it won’t reduce price below the 250 Naira/liter.

It’s right time to get subsidy off our back. Such funds can be channeled towards into other befitting economic courses.
And you believe a sitting Nigerian government when they tell you that they want to channel funds. Bro, they would loot the funds. This is Nigeria.

Jonathan removed fuel subsidy partially, what Happened to the funds, we started hearing subsidy scam.

Same happened under Buhari. Oil theft.

I can't trust any sitting government to keep their promise.

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by dfrost: 9:09am On May 30, 2023
Aklee4994:
it’s already been removed my the pass administration just that the new administration just announced it yesterday..removing it to move along with Buhari administration is best

Removing it is the best thing. A week or two to set up monitoring of stations that don't comply should be the best.

The current PMS has already been subsidised. Who's deceiving who?

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by lomprico(m): 9:10am On May 30, 2023
zinaunreal:

If they stop stealing our money there is no need to remove subsidy. Must the masses suffer for everything?

Why are our refineries not working in the first place?

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by ParrotGirls360(f): 9:10am On May 30, 2023
Me and you know that removal of fuel subsidy came With a funds looting agenda not the wellbeing of Nigerians. Which programs? Programs that they will announce on tv and later sit on the funds? Abegi.

Naija na scam

HacheNoire:
It’s a sacrifice we must all make. No going back!

The amount that has been siphoned through that program is enormous.

What should be on the table is the how funds will be channeled into programs and infrastructures that will cushion effect.

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by dfrost: 9:10am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire you are right on that but 250? That's way too cheap. By my olodo calculations, we are looking at about 550-700 price range.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by COMPAQ(m): 9:11am On May 30, 2023
tsdarkside:

i even think if all refineries were workin at full capacity it would still not be enough....
and dont forget surroundin countries that depend on the nigerian market....
their presidents were even at the commisionin of dangote refinery....

You are still thinking?

The owner of the refinery and everybody who knows anything about the sector tells you that Dngote refinery alone is able to meet Nigeria's production and export.

But you are here still thinking it won't be enough.

Then PH refinery is supposed to come on stream. Then Bua is building one in Akw Ibom, but yet you still think that it won't be enough?

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by HacheNoire: 9:12am On May 30, 2023
mikeapollo:

And how much is the minimum wage in Saudi Arabia? Do you use only half of your brain to think?

Because you not thinking!

Subsidy is not sustainable and a big financial burden on the government.

Proceeds from removal can be used to increase minimum wage, which is even a direct investment into the workforce. Not just some few people reaping off the nation in the name of subsidy.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by DBlackCeazer(m): 9:12am On May 30, 2023
Power should be sorted first before subsidy removal, My business runs on fuel as there's barely power on the Sangotedo/Abijo axis.

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by HacheNoire: 9:13am On May 30, 2023
dfrost:
HacheNoire you are right on that but 250? That's way too cheap. By my olodo calculations, we are looking at about 550-700 price range.

It can go as high that. But over years, the market will become competitive and prices will drop.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by HacheNoire: 9:14am On May 30, 2023
ParrotGirls360:

Me and you know that removal of fuel subsidy came With a funds looting agenda not the wellbeing of Nigerians. Which programs? Programs that they will announce on tv and later sit on the funds? Abegi.

Naija na scam

True! I cannot attest for any politician.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by COMPAQ(m): 9:15am On May 30, 2023
dfrost:

Indeed, going by the price of diesel. In most countries I've been to, diesel has like a 10 to 20% premium over petrol. So if diesel is now N630, fully deregulated petrol would be circa N550.

If Dangote refinery comes on steam, maybe due to economies of scale and not needing to pay for shipping, we might get N500

I'm the picture below taken in Texas a few days ago, the red is petrol and the green is diesel. The diesel is $3.22

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by dfrost: 9:16am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

It can go as high that. But over years, the market will become competitive and prices will drop.

I don't expect a healthy competition. Our refineries aren't working. Don't know the plans we have for them.

I think metro lines should flood states now to regulate transportation, because government can't regulate the pump prices.

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by HacheNoire: 9:16am On May 30, 2023
Nazgul:

And you believe a sitting Nigerian when they tell you that they want to channel funds. Bro, they would loot the funds. This is Nigeria.

Jonathan removed fuel subsidy partially, what Happened to the funds, we started hearing subsidy scam.

Same happened under Buhari. Oil theft.

I can't trust any sitting government to keep their promise.

At some point, you are right. I did not put that into consideration.

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by dfrost: 9:17am On May 30, 2023
COMPAQ:

Indeed, going by the price of diesel. In most countries I've been to, diesel has like a 10 to 20% premium over petrol. So if diesel is now N630, fully deregulated petrol would be circa N550.

If Dangote refinery comes on steam, maybe due to economies of scale and not needing to pay for shipping, we might get N500

Exactly. Your head is well-oiled. But factor in our selfish side, and add another 100 to it 🤣😝
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by Truthshscrazy: 9:18am On May 30, 2023
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by happney65: 9:19am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

What should be on the table is the how funds will be channeled into programs and infrastructures that will cushion effect.

Diesel an keresone that have been removed,abeg wetin them use the funds for there do?

Wetin?

Btw,I thought subsidy was a scam or something before now?so why is it now no longer a scam?

E fe laa

Dey play.. grin

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by BABAawoo47: 9:19am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

but why are marketers supporting this ? It's like they will profit one way or the other
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by dfrost: 9:21am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

At some point, you are right. I did not put that into consideration.

Baba dey calm down. Years of mistrust has caused a lot of paranoid behavior from Nigerians.

Some of us hold this mulla, some no deybeven see to chop for breakfast not to talk of a whole day.

I don't put down any argument any one brings forward. E no easy. Nigerians don see shege over the years.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by millionboi2: 9:21am On May 30, 2023
Psady:
Any policy meant for the good of the masses is a welcome idea, if we like let's keep suffering ourselves by inflating the prices of goods and commodities for our selfish interest.This new government is here to work,before a new elected official will implement a policy on assumption of office,it's crystal clear he has a clear study of the good impacts on the nation.lets not be confused by these naysayers,they will keep painting it so bad to undermean this new government but we know their plan, their wailing has only been geared up .
President Tinubu is here to serve us all,and we will see the good results in no later .
you done start,dat is what you said during buhari,later later,na later we go chop.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by sirchim(m): 9:21am On May 30, 2023
Zionmdde:

And how many times has this kind of thing passed?

Subsidy removal without dangote refinery or any national refinery producing is disastrous

Anyway I heard that apc supporters will still be buying at 189. Just come with ur brooms.
I dey tell you 🤣
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by 9gerian: 9:21am On May 30, 2023
I guess the problem is will Dangote enter the market at the subsidized price, and who pays the differential when there is no subsidy in the budget?

Those are the hard questions I think.

Zionmdde:

And how many times has this kind of thing passed?

Subsidy removal without dangote refinery or any national refinery producing is disastrous

Anyway I heard that apc supporters will still be buying at 189. Just come with ur brooms.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by juman(m): 9:22am On May 30, 2023
Removal of subsidy is the best decision in decades in this country.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by crismark(m): 9:22am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

Price per liter in Saudi Arabia is $0.62/liter. Are we paying that much in Nigeria? That’s what subsidy has been cushioning.

It’s time we step up!
You smoke loud?

Does the dollar have the same value with naira and saudi riyals

Quit smoking bro
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by Scarcity234: 9:23am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

Really?
What of the amount that has been siphoned through other means that has no direct benefit to the Masses?

Why discard a product because of a correctable defect ?

So the can't manage it?
The corruption can't be stopped?
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by juman(m): 9:23am On May 30, 2023
The fuel prices will level down soon.
As everyone can bring in his fuel and sell.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by kmaster007: 9:23am On May 30, 2023
Ur bro dey work deir
eliyke:
Refinery wey Neva ready wey buhari run go commission,my brother wey dey wrk Dere say,e no sure say dat thing go even wrk dis year
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by HacheNoire: 9:23am On May 30, 2023
crismark:

You smoke loud?

Does the dollar have the same value with naira and saudi riyals

Quit smoking bro

Smh…..

Someone like you asked that question, refer to my response.
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by OgunkeelAllMod: 9:23am On May 30, 2023
jagaBandit in Aboki voice,is in Fawa! grin una bgo go wii
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by Charisma01: 9:23am On May 30, 2023
HacheNoire:

Price per liter in Saudi Arabia is $0.62/liter. Are we paying that much in Nigeria? That’s what subsidy has been cushioning.

It’s time we step up!

Why do u people always compare oir prices to other countries own?
So because saudis pay $0.62 for their own we should pay $2?
When we say aedc is hiking price, you'll say our electricity tarriff is the lowest in the world. Don't you even feel sorry for yourself if you dont feel sorry for other Nigerians?

Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by nwajesus12(m): 9:24am On May 30, 2023
DaTruths:
IPOB Zombidiots will suffer, fuel will sell above 500 naira per liter.

And Tinubu will provide sectional subsidy for We Yorubas, we won't buy it beyond 170 per liter.
if foolish is a person
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by callmevirus(m): 9:24am On May 30, 2023
Please I won't let ignorance kill me

What is removal of subsidy?

Is there any advantage on removal of fuel subsidy?

Please I need someone to enlighten me
Re: Petrol Price Jumps To ₦‎350/ltr As Queues Return by Tonyblessed(m): 9:24am On May 30, 2023
Do apc supporters buy at a cheaper price? If not. their suffering has just started times 100.

Fuel Scarcity Strike Organised To Sabotage My Govt –jonathan / Senate’s Crisis Over Amaechi Deepens - The Nation / Crude Oil Discovered In Borno State....... FG

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40