Stats: 3,162,134 members, 7,849,554 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 12:31 AM

REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech - Car Talk (38) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech (73203 Views)

Benz C300 Assessment & Review / Wrong Overtaking: Who Is At Fault? / Adewale Auto Care And Diagnosis (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (35) (36) (37) (38) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by susanc: 4:39am On Dec 13, 2022
Good morning sir. Please direct me on what to do please

GAZZUZZ:

Long road to recovery
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 8:19pm On Dec 13, 2022
susanc:
Good evening sir. Please i bought this Toyota Camry 2007 4 plug engine. to use for bolt. But i am not enjoying the car. This car does not drive well at all. It misfires and acts like it is been forced to move. After scanning it brought this code
P0016 crank cam position correlation
P0102 mass air flow circuit low
P0101 mass airflow sensor circuit range/performance
P0116 engine coolant temperature circuit range/ performance problem
P0113 intake air temperature circuit high input
P0172 system too rich

I recently bought the Bluetooth scanner I will attach some pictures. I don’t know if it will be of help.
Cc Gazzuzz
Ikenna351
Kingreign

there's alot of faults especially electrical that are definitely affecting the engine performance.
secondly due to waer and tear you might be experiencing low engine performance however to enjoy the car, you will need to fix the issues noted on the scan result.
there is a possibility the same electrical fault is the cause of the MAF codes and Air temperature code.
P0016 crank cam position correlation - this code is timing related. stretched chain, faulty VVT, faulty CAM/CRANK position sensor or wiring faults can trigger this fault. I also suspect that engine is old and possibly abused.

the above 3 codes are possibly related. you need a competent electrical expert to help diagnose and repair the faults

P0172 system too rich this might be as a result of the MAF codes.
where is your location?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by susanc: 8:57pm On Dec 13, 2022
I am in portharcourt. The car jumped timing very well. And the timing chain is very loose on the cam shaft. The mechanic says there is an adjuster that makes the timing chain firm, that it is spoilt. So hopefully tomoro when he is done, car should be fine

AutoMoTech:

there's alot of faults especially electrical that are definitely affecting the engine performance.
secondly due to waer and tear you might be experiencing low engine performance however to enjoy the car, you will need to fix the issues noted on the scan result.
there is a possibility the same electrical fault is the cause of the MAF codes and Air temperature code.
P0016 crank cam position correlation - this code is timing related. stretched chain, faulty VVT, faulty CAM/CRANK position sensor or wiring faults can trigger this fault. I also suspect that engine is old and possibly abused.

the above 3 codes are possibly related. you need a competent electrical expert to help diagnose and repair the faults

P0172 system too rich this might be as a result of the MAF codes.
where is your location?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 9:25pm On Dec 13, 2022
susanc:
I am in portharcourt. The car jumped timing very well. And the timing chain is very loose on the cam shaft. The mechanic says there is an adjuster that makes the timing chain firm, that it is spoilt. So hopefully tomoro when he is done, car should be fine

OK THAT'S GOOD. BUT HOW ABOUT THE MAF FAULTS?
THE TIMING RESET WILL SURELY HELP IMPROVE ENGINE PERFORMANCE HOWEVER THE MAF CODES WILL EVENTUALLY CAUSE A VERY HIGH FUEL CONSUMPTION.
KINDLY CONSIDER FIXING IT. IF NOT NOW LATER.

BEST REGARDS
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by susanc: 10:13am On Dec 15, 2022
Good morning sir, the timing has been set twice and it has jumped. They first changed the timing chain adjuster, it jumped timing. The guy had to loosen the side of the engine. To look at it. After everything he said it was ok. After driving it, it has jumped timing. It was scanned and has the previous
P0016
And a new code
P0011 camshaft position timing over advanced or system performance bank 1

AutoMoTech:

OK THAT'S GOOD. BUT HOW ABOUT THE MAF FAULTS?
THE TIMING RESET WILL SURELY HELP IMPROVE ENGINE PERFORMANCE HOWEVER THE MAF CODES WILL EVENTUALLY CAUSE A VERY HIGH FUEL CONSUMPTION.
KINDLY CONSIDER FIXING IT. IF NOT NOW LATER.

BEST REGARDS
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 4:05pm On Dec 15, 2022
susanc:
Good morning sir, the timing has been set twice and it has jumped. They first changed the timing chain adjuster, it jumped timing. The guy had to loosen the side of the engine. To look at it. After everything he said it was ok. After driving it, it has jumped timing. It was scanned and has the previous
P0016
And a new code
P0011 camshaft position timing over advanced or system performance bank 1

Has he considered changing the timing chain?
There is definitely something causing the chain to jump constantly.
Until that is resolved, that code will keep coming back and you will experience low engine performance.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by susanc: 4:53pm On Dec 15, 2022
Good evening sir. They just discovered this evening that the chain rail damper, according to dem is bad. The adjuster mouth is always sliding off the damper because the plastic fence like stuff on the damper, that is meant to hold the adjuster mouth hostage is broken. I hope this solves the issue. Will check dem tomorrow

AutoMoTech:

Has he considered changing the timing chain?
There is definitely something causing the chain to jump constantly.
Until that is resolved, that code will keep coming back and you will experience low engine performance.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 9:05pm On Dec 15, 2022
susanc:
Good evening sir. They just discovered this evening that the chain rail damper, according to dem is bad. The adjuster mouth is always sliding off the damper because the plastic fence like stuff on the damper, that is meant to hold the adjuster mouth hostage is broken. I hope this solves the issue. Will check dem tomorrow

hopefully it should.
i just hope they dont keep making you spend money sha without fixing the problem
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by TINKU01(f): 11:01pm On Dec 16, 2022
GAZZUZZ:

Long road to recovery

Hello sir, I will like to bring my car to your workshop for maintenance, my engine used to be silent but has recently increased sound, it is normal to some but I am not comfortable with it and also, the speedometer has stopped working. How can I reach you sir?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Allem(m): 8:00am On Dec 18, 2022
My es300 is killing me with fuel consumption. Does 7.8mpg in city.
Scanned and got the following codes
P0016
P0018
P0031
P0051
P0057.
Pls help.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 8:47am On Dec 18, 2022
Allem:
My es300 is killing me with fuel consumption. Does 7.8mpg in city.
Scanned and got the following codes
P0016
P0018
P0031
P0051
P0057.
Pls help.
What's the repair history?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Allem(m): 1:28pm On Dec 18, 2022
Head gasket changed since then fuel no sweet again, but can moves very ok.
jceesquare:

What's the repair history?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 1:33pm On Dec 18, 2022
Allem:
Head gasket changed since then fuel no sweet again, but can moves very ok.
Your timing might be off a bit or something wrong with your valve train (Camshaft sprocket, oil control valve for your variable timing and a host or other issues)
You'll need to reset the timing or inspect components around it.
Where is your location?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Allem(m): 2:43pm On Dec 18, 2022
Warri, Delta state.
jceesquare:

Your timing might be off a bit or something wrong with your valve train (Camshaft sprocket, oil control valve for your variable timing and a host or other issues)
You'll need to reset the timing or inspect components around it.
Where is your location?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 6:14pm On Dec 18, 2022
Allem:
Warri, Delta state.
Ask your mechanic to go over his work and inspect the valve train.
If he welded your variable cam gear, then you'll need to replace or manage with the fuel consumption and it's long time effect on your engine.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Allem(m): 6:26pm On Dec 18, 2022
Ok. Thanks alot
jceesquare:

If he welded your variable cam gear, then you'll need to replace or manage with the fuel consumption and it's long time effect on your engine.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Lekan239(m): 4:41am On Dec 29, 2022
Hello mechanical gurus in the ous. I got this code after scanning my honda civic FD2 yesterday. It's toks just one month used. I don't notice any problem while driving, the engine check light came on and I scan

Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Allem(m): 8:12am On Jan 02, 2023
Happy new year all. And to you boss
My mechanic change the variable can gear cause it was stiff and also corrected the timing and code was gone. But yesterday I did another scan after driving for over 100miles and got P0022
My mpg for the 100miles was 17.2mpg.
I believe the mpg is still too high.
jceesquare:

Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 9:13am On Jan 02, 2023
Allem:
Happy new year all. And to you boss
My mechanic change the variable can gear cause it was stiff and also corrected the timing and code was gone. But yesterday I did another scan after driving for over 100miles and got P0022
My mpg for the 100miles was 17.2mpg.
I believe the mpg is still too high.
Happy New year.
Good to know he fixed the initial issue, but sad to know he left you with another.

Ask him to check your oil control valve socket and the wires. If they're fine then he should try actuate it with a 12V battery to know if it works. Change the oil control valve if bad, or reconnect socket if not properly fixed.

If all works fine then you might have issues with oil flow to the valve.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Allem(m): 9:35am On Jan 02, 2023
Ok boss. I will do just as you have said. But don't you think 17.2mpg is still not good enough for combined city/high of 100miles?
jceesquare:

Happy New year.
Good to know he fixed the initial issue, but sad to know he left you with another.

Ask him to check your oil control valve socket and the wires. If they're fine then he should try actuate it with a 12V battery to know if it works. Change the oil control valve if bad, or reconnect socket if not properly fixed.

If all works fine then you might have issues with oil flow to the valve.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 10:25pm On Jan 02, 2023
Allem:
Ok boss. I will do just as you have said. But don't you think 17.2mpg is still not good enough for combined city/high of 100miles?
Several factors could affect your fuel economy (assuming your engine is in perfect condition).
Low tyre pressure, binding breaks, wrong tyre size and type, occupants and loads in the boot, drive terrain (hills, stop and go traffic, and a host of other conditions), unnecessary modifications that would affect aerodynamics, and most importantly your driving style (hard acceleration, hard breaking, and not coasting when necessary)

Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 9:56pm On Jan 14
jceesquare:

Several factors could affect your fuel economy (assuming your engine is in perfect condition).
Low tyre pressure, binding breaks, wrong tyre size and type, occupants and loads in the boot, drive terrain (hills, stop and go traffic, and a host of other conditions), unnecessary modifications that would affect aerodynamics, and most importantly your driving style (hard acceleration, hard breaking, and not coasting when necessary)
Omo thank you for holding forth o my guy... damn see as cobweb don full everywhere.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 10:00pm On Jan 14
HAPPY NEW YEAR OOOOOOOO MY PEOPLE!!!
It truly has been a very long while but I am back now.
if you have any issues with your vehicles you can kindly drop them here let's help with a guide to solving it.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 2:11am On Jan 16
Where have you been?
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 8:53pm On Jan 16
jceesquare:
Where have you been?
my guy... na hustle jare.

i kukuma dey enter NL wella. but i rarely comment due to the very negative nature of peoples comment.
decided to ignore all that and revive the thread.

we suppose connect off NL o... zero seven zero 62222 nine nine eight
make we connect via whatsapp
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 6:57am On Jan 17
AutoMoTech:

my guy... na hustle jare.

i kukuma dey enter NL wella. but i rarely comment due to the very negative nature of peoples comment.
decided to ignore all that and revive the thread.

we suppose connect off NL o... zero seven zero 62222 nine nine eight
make we connect via whatsapp
We do talk and even in one WhatsApp group but I guess you no know.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 8:48am On Jan 17
jceesquare:

We do talk and even in one WhatsApp group but I guess you no know.

Are you serious?

Hehehe make I save your number

Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 6:05pm On Jan 17
AutoMoTech:

Are you serious?

Hehehe make I save your number
Make I shock you more.
We're friends on Facebook too grin
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by AutoMoTech(m): 4:11pm On Jan 18
jceesquare:

Make I shock you more.
We're friends on Facebook too grin

haaaaaaaaaaa e don finish. grin grin grin
rotf I swear I still never unravel who you be ooo

Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by Ikefesolomon199(m): 1:19pm On May 22
[color=#006600][/color]Please my Car (Lexus ES330 2005) is having an issue, I was driving yesterday evening I noticed my Exhaust is bringing out white smoke and the smoke is smelling fuel, also the engine is shaking, my mechanic said i will have to change the brainbox, because it's only 3 plugs working out of the 6 plugs and now the Check engine light is blinking.
Re: REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech by jceesquare(m): 7:06am On May 28
Ikefesolomon199:
[color=#006600][/color]Please my Car (Lexus ES330 2005) is having an issue, I was driving yesterday evening I noticed my Exhaust is bringing out white smoke and the smoke is smelling fuel, also the engine is shaking, my mechanic said i will have to change the brainbox, because it's only 3 plugs working out of the 6 plugs and now the Check engine light is blinking.
You have stuck open injectors that's permanently dumping fuel into the combustion chamber instead of pulsing them and that's one of the reasons why you have a blinking check light.
1st you need to run a scan to know which of the injector(s) is faculty, then trace the circuit before concluding on the ECU.

(1) (2) (3) ... (35) (36) (37) (38) (Reply)

Guys Buy Car For Their Friend After Getting Tired Of Picking Him Up With Theirs / Rolls Royce Owner, Who Lives In A Rented Flat In FESTAC / Nairaland Auto Show- With Pictures.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57