Stats: 3,156,843 members, 7,831,732 topics. Date: Saturday, 18 May 2024 at 04:37 AM

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 - Travel (150) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 (683373 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (147) (148) (149) (150) (151) (152) (153) ... (402) (Go Down)

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by DareFadi(f): 4:29pm On Jun 17, 2016
Pelaiye2703:
Hello guys,

I am not too happy but am sure all is well. I've been searching endlessly for schools that offer Masters Degree for HND students but all to no avail. I never realize how unfortunate HND certificate is compared to B.sc until now. I've been on this thread for a while, reading transcripts, suggestions, opinions etc. I thought i would have the same privilege to share my success stories like the rest. Its just so sad i can't visualize the dream coming true. I'm sorry am not being pessimistic, that's just how i feel right now. Congrats Ratchy, texrem etc.
Love this thread anyways....

It very competitive out there so i feel you, even those with BSC still get rejection . Its not easy but dont be discourage .......

Maybe you can apply for a PGD program(outside of the US) first before a masters. Or target one of those countries that have free tuition like Germany or Nordic and do a PGD first ....... UK do accept HND but UK so expensive and you wont gain anything back in what you put it, so UK for now is not worth it. Maybe their immigration policy will change if they leave EU . Make we dey see .

Also have you had WES evaluate your transcript , because if WES grades it as BSC equivalent then you can go back to this email and ask to review your case based on WES evaluation. However that is speculation on my part that WES will equate BSC and HND as equal . I dont know for sure but explore that option

Best of luck........never give up if you want something . If there is life there is a way . .......

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Pelaiye2703(m): 4:35pm On Jun 17, 2016
DareFadi:

It very competitive out there so i feel you, even those with BSC still get rejection . Its not easy but dont be discourage .......

Maybe you can apply for a PGD program(outside of the US) first before a masters. Or target one of those countries that have free tuition like Germany or Nordic and do a PGD first ....... UK do accept HND but UK so expensive and you wont gain anything back in what you put it, so UK for now is not worth it. Maybe their immigration policy will change if they leave EU . Make we dey see .

Also have you had WES evaluate your transcript , because if WES grades it as BSC equivalent then you can go back to this email and ask to review your case based on WES evaluation. However that is speculation on my part that WES will equate BSC and HND as equal . I dont know for sure but explore that option

Best of luck........never give up if you want something . If there is life there is a way . .......
Thank you so much i will look into that.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 4:52pm On Jun 17, 2016
MY GOD IS TOO FAITHFUL!!! My F1 visa was approved this morning 9am batch at Abuja embassy after being denied last month. The favour I experienced today was just unbelievable.

Thanks Mekurexx, Imperiouxx, DareFadi, rogerdavid, dickoflife, meekandholy, don4ye and youngmoney416 for your advice and encouragement after the denial last month.

Special thanks to PLAUSES (man with a big heart), MEVISBLEEK and DELLAPI2 for your care and support.

Transcript coming up.

13 Likes

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by DareFadi(f): 5:00pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:
MY GOD IS TOO FAITHFUL!!! My F1 visa was approved this morning 9am batch at Abuja embassy after being denied last ing up.

Such great news...congrats and all the best . I remember d first time

I am waiting to hear abt the sponsor issue of last time . Did u change sponsor or did u get a letter from the bank or was it not even mentioned at all

Details is only extra for aproko gbeborun ears like mine. U got it this time THE REST THEY SAY IS HISTORY

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by mevisbleek: 5:01pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:
MY GOD IS TOO FAITHFUL!!! My F1 visa was approved this morning 9am batch at Abuja embassy after being denied last month. The favour I experienced today was just unbelievable.

Thanks Mekurexx, Imperiouxx, DareFadi, rogerdavid, dickoflife, meekandholy, don4ye and youngmoney416 for your advice and encouragement after the denial last month.

Special thanks to PLAUSES (man with a big heart), MEVISBLEEK and DELLAPI2 for your care and support.

Transcript coming up.

Good Morning Dr. Kimora,

I am so happy for you.

Congratulations.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by OluDare01(m): 5:12pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:

Transcript coming up.
Woow!
Victory at last.
Congrats Dr.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:19pm On Jun 17, 2016
Here's my APPROVAL transcript grin
I was getting so nervous when I went in. Had to keep stirring up my faith and reminding God of His words to me. Finally called to window 7.

Me: Good morning sir
VO: Good morning. Can I have your passport and I-20 (handed them over). I can see you are going to Emory university. What will you be studying?
Me: I will be doing a Masters in Public health with a major in International health.
VO: That's a very good school for that course.
Me: Yes it is
VO: I see you're already a doctor.
Me: I am
VO: Did you take the GRE?
Me: Yes I did
VO: Can I see your scores? (handed it to him) Wow. You have impressive scores, congratulations.
Me: Thank you sir
VO: And I can see you applied to some top schools here
Me: Yes. I want a very good education
VO: (laughs) So what made you choose Emory?
Me: During the course of my research, I discovered that Emory has the best global health department in the country. The SPH is involved in a lot of projects that are making waves worldwide. The research interests of the school are targeted mainly towards Infectious diseases control and this is an area I am particularly interested in.
VO: (cuts in) Who will be paying for your studies?
Me: My parents are my sponsors.
VO: What do they do?
Me: They run a company that is involved in handling building contracts and real estate management. They also own a hotel in PH.
VO: Ok. How many rooms are in the hotel
Me: It contains 35 rooms
VO was typing, typing, typing while I was praying in my heart.. lol
VO: OK. Everything seems to be in order. I will be granting your visa. Pick up your passport.... Make sure you travel before your start date... You will need to carry your I-20....
Me: (nodding like agama) Thank you sir. Thank you sir. Thank you sir (collected my white paper)

No documents asked upon all my preparation. No mention of previous interview.

ALL GLORY BE TO GOD, MY HEAVENLY FATHER WHO LOOKS OUT FOR ME ALWAYS. HALLELUYAH.

18 Likes

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:21pm On Jun 17, 2016
DareFadi:

Such great news...congrats and all the best . I remember d first time

I am waiting to hear abt the sponsor issue of last time . Did u change sponsor or did u get a letter from the bank or was it not even mentioned at all

Details is only extra for aproko gbeborun ears like mine. U got it this time THE REST THEY SAY IS HISTORY

Thanks dear. It wasn't even mentioned at all. Was so shocked.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:26pm On Jun 17, 2016
mevisbleek:

Good Morning Dr. Kimora,

I am so happy for you.

Congratulations.

Thank you so much. I'm grateful for your help and support.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:27pm On Jun 17, 2016
OluDare01:

Woow!
Victory at last.
Congrats Dr.

Thanks boss

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by DareFadi(f): 5:28pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:

Thanks dear. It wasn't even mentioned at all. Was so shocked.

Hehehe go read my response that time..Told ya. U can never predict. All the best .

Emory is a good school (i know several alumni ) allthough u have to plan how u balance that with USMLE so u match wink..i
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by lionlee216(m): 5:33pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW, how did the VO know that you also applied to some schools because when filling my ds 160, I didn't see such information where we should put the other schools we applied to
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Nobody: 5:33pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:
I was getting so nervous when I went in. Had to keep stirring up my faith and reminding God of His words to me. Finally called to window 7.

VO: Good morning. Can I have your passport and I-20 (handed them over). I can see you are going to Emory university. What will you be studying?
Me: I will be doing a Masters in Public health with a major in International health.
VO: Can I see your scores? (handed it to him) Wow. You have impressive scores, congratulations.
Me: During the course of my research, I discovered that Emory has the best global health department in the country. The SPH is involved in a lot of projects that are making waves worldwide. The research interests of the school are targeted mainly towards Infectious diseases control and this is an area I am particularly interested in.
Me: They run a company that is involved in handling building contracts and real estate management. They also own a hotel in PH.
VO: OK. Everything seems to be in order. I will be granting your visa. Pick up your passport.... Make sure you travel before your start date... You will need to carry your I-20....
Me: (nodding like agama) Thank you sir. Thank you sir. Thank you sir (collected my white paper)

ALL GLORY BE TO GOD, MY HEAVENLY FATHER WHO LOOKS OUT FOR ME ALWAYS. HALLELUYAH.
Congrats....

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:35pm On Jun 17, 2016
DareFadi:

Hehehe go read my response that time..Told ya. U can never predict. All the best .

Emory is a good school although u have to plan how u balance that with USMLE so u match wink

Yes you said it o. Thanks again.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by lionlee216(m): 5:35pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:

Thank you so much. I'm grateful for your help and support.
Congrats sir!

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:36pm On Jun 17, 2016
lionlee216:
KimoraW, how did the VO know that you also applied to some schools because when filling my ds 160, I didn't see such information where we should put the other schools we applied to

He saw it on the GRE result sheet I handed to him.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:37pm On Jun 17, 2016
OJCITY22:

Congrats....

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by KimoraW: 5:37pm On Jun 17, 2016
lionlee216:

Congrats sir!

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Nobody: 5:43pm On Jun 17, 2016
Pelaiye2703:
Hello guys,

I am not too happy but am sure all is well. I've been searching endlessly for schools that offer Masters Degree for HND students but all to no avail. I never realize how unfortunate HND certificate is compared to B.sc until now. I've been on this thread for a while, reading transcripts, suggestions, opinions etc. I thought i would have the same privilege to share my success stories like the rest. Its just so sad i can't visualize the dream coming true. I'm sorry am not being pessimistic, that's just how i feel right now. Congrats Ratchy, texrem etc.
which program are you interested in?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Pelaiye2703(m): 5:56pm On Jun 17, 2016
slimmy2005:
which program are you interested in?
Urban and Regional Planning, City and Regional Planning or any environmental course aside Architecture...
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Nobody: 5:56pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:

Transcript coming up.
Thank God bro, I am so happy for you bro... that means I was not wrong at all that nothing specifically was wrong with your account statement i think it was just the laughing out loud..... parol.....
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by dicapino: 5:59pm On Jun 17, 2016
Congrats Dr. KimoraW and oluphy.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Ctemi(f): 6:12pm On Jun 17, 2016
Pelaiye2703:
Hello guys,

bro, brace up, what u need to do is to evaluate both ur OND&HND transcript by sending it to WES which will make it equate to bsc with that u can continue with ur application wen done with d evaluation. Don't loss hope keep trying there is alwaz light at the end tunnel.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by don4ye: 6:14pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:

Transcript coming up.

Oya let pop champagne ... Congrats

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by acadollar(m): 6:14pm On Jun 17, 2016
Pelaiye2703:
Hello guys,

Complete nuisance, my friend had HND and evaluated it with Evaluation agency b4 applying to schs, he never encountered any problem like dis. So evaluate urs asap

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Bussy123: 6:14pm On Jun 17, 2016
Hi Everyone,

My Visa was approved Wednesday morning and the whole interview was less than 2 mins. I was asked only 3 question. No document was asked.
I will post the transcript here later in the weekend, also the lesson learned from the start to the end. Hopefully someone would learn from it.

Thanks.

Thanks to gunther6, sirriddy for answering my questions and thanks to those that refused to answer.

Cheers

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Pelaiye2703(m): 6:16pm On Jun 17, 2016
Ctemi:

bro, brace up, what u need to do is to evaluate both ur OND&HND transcript by sending it to WES which will make it equate to bsc with that u can continue with ur application wen done with d evaluation. Don't loss hope keep trying there is alwaz light at the end tunnel.
Thanks for your words.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Pelaiye2703(m): 6:18pm On Jun 17, 2016
acadollar:

Complete nuisance, my friend had HND and evaluated it with Evaluation agency b4 applying to schs, he never encountered any problem like these.
Thank you for shedding more light on this...#appreciate
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Nobody: 6:19pm On Jun 17, 2016
PURE69:
Profojah, it's Darklight. I hail ooo.
King of Ohio.. I hail you boss. I have been extremely busy, couldn't get back to you on WhatsApp and I thought you have been busy also, didn't wanna disturb my Oga just like I did on Sunday.. I'm sorry sir.. Do holla anytime you're free.. Your head is profusely, maximally and copiously valid grin

Jchi9876. King of putyski.. Your boy loyal sir.. Pls waste more pages boss, Ojah gat your back grin.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by aadeyi: 6:19pm On Jun 17, 2016
Pelaiye2703:
Hello guys,

Question for you bro.
Did u evaluate your transcript?
If not, evaluate your transcript, make enquiry to any school of your choice by sending them your transcript and ask them what courses u will need to take for pre-masters.

Or better still, after evaluating your transcript, send it to your school of choice and apply for undergraduate as transfer student after which you can apply for msc. Talking from experience, u have a better chance of getting your visa.

If you go through that line, u stand a better chance of getting employment than someone who came in only for MSc.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by dellapi2: 6:21pm On Jun 17, 2016
Congrats Dr Mora!!!! So happy for you!
KimoraW:

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by don4ye: 6:22pm On Jun 17, 2016
KimoraW:

Who did this? GOD.. Congrats again

(1) (2) (3) ... (147) (148) (149) (150) (151) (152) (153) ... (402)

Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. / Giving Birth In Canada / General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84