Stats: 3,150,899 members, 7,810,452 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 09:17 AM

Travelling To Canada Part 11 - Travel (393) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Travelling To Canada Part 11 (909061 Views)

Peace Mass Bus Travelling To Abuja Involved In Fatal Accident,Many Dead(photos) / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 / Travelling To Canada Part 10 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (390) (391) (392) (393) (394) (395) (396) ... (405) (Go Down)

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by elampiro(m): 10:25pm On Feb 20, 2017
I am new here. I want to ask about the fees. Does one has to pay fees before leaving Nigeria? I see some schools having fees as high as $32k for post graduate program. That is about N13M, not including other expenses.

Is there anyone who can recommend a cheap school for someone with first degree in Accounting who wants to read masters in Canada. The candidate has been working for many years. If there is a school that wouldn't require GMAT, it's better.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by ARCHITECTs(m): 10:30pm On Feb 20, 2017
olatuns2016:
Big congrats....
Interesting ur sop must b great....
I will like how u conect UC n intented course ...
great one...

quote author=ARCHITECTs post=53898981]

@olatuns2016, You must be very strategic about it but here is the catch and you have to be truthful to yourself and be blunt.
Write about your background about UG (not just passion), your practical experience about it, what you have done in your home country to widen your knowledge either certifications or online training (provide evidences), write about how your future employer prefer foreign trained employees and swift promotion at your workplace upon obtaining foreign training , write about employment prospects and its demand in Nigeria, be patriotic to your country (never say negative things about your country despite it's obvious), write about how your skills and knowledge can be transferred to others upon your return, why PGC and not masters, why canada and how beneficial is your intended program socially and economically to your country. Make your SOP interesting to read cos they read tonnes of SOP daily.With all these, you have already made the VO work simpler and you will be smiling at your TRV.
Lastly, send your SOP to TRV doctors/gurus for review .... and pls take corrections and revise it daily either early in morning or late at night till you are convinced to submit your application.
Never rush SOP writing cos it takes weeks.
NB: If a third party cannot be convinced reading your SOP without asking you questions, then I doubt if you can convince the VO.
Many tanx.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Eraytee: 10:32pm On Feb 20, 2017
Austinpee4:
Just a piece of advise for guys previously refused for insufficient fund to paid tuition and support yourself.

If you intend to pay your tuition(part or full), great idea.
If you intend to transfer the cash (naira) into your account, endeavour to use a CURRENT account in your name. Saw a GCMS note sometime ago and the VO major concern was that huge funds were transfered to PA's SAVINGS account and he/he was worried PA can remove the money at once to pay for tuition because of the limit of transactions placed on NAIRA savings account.

They obviously know all the banking regulations, be smart too.They know FORM A or any convertible currency transactions will be in a current account.

Anywhere, his visa was approved today. What did he do differently? Transferred equivalent of his tuition + $CAD 10,000 to his current account ONLY!

#If you really need to know the main reason for a visa refusal, get your GCMS file. It's an eye opener!

Pls the bolded is not true, during my 1st app i paid 14100CAD from my UBA savings account via formA. This i can testify to. Pls once u r not running a student account u can actually pay a huge amount. D money was ova 2.3M den wen USD was still 190 per $

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 10:41pm On Feb 20, 2017
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Olargee: 10:55pm On Feb 20, 2017
Not quite, know someone who was denied after 6 months.
michV:
Congrats and i once said it that VOs always approve for this program if every other things are equal,enjoy your TRV while you gradually plan ahead
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 11:00pm On Feb 20, 2017
Olargee:
Not quite, know someone who was denied after 6 months.
i said too ''every other things being equal''.did you read that too bro?
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Alexissanchezz: 11:04pm On Feb 20, 2017
ARCHITECTs:
TO GOD BE THE GLORY.....PGC TRV Approved
I have come to say a big THANK YOU to everybody on this thread especially FolaRoyal, MichV, Osemigho, Penitential, ArcAyo, Mikymiko, Thesoj and everyone that drop one form of information or the other.
I am a silent follower of this thread, I have never asked any question because I believe someone has already asked such question, all I just did was that I read this thread from Part 5 and I made "Google"" my best friend. My day is never complete without NairaLand even after submission.

Applied via Paper route
Programme - PGC Construction Project Management / Fanshawe College, London, ON
Session - Fall 2017
UG - Architecture

Submitted on - Dec 22, 2016 (Linked online on same day)
Medical passed - Jan 16, 2017 (Upfront E-medical)
Approval mail - Feb 17, 2017
Duration - Less than 2 months (56 days)
SOP - Took me a month to write a well convincing SOP (Proofread by FolaRoyal)
Yet to pick up my passport ( I submitted my passport with the application)
Will post my docs when I pick up my PP.

Dedicating my TRV to God, MikyMiko, Osemigho, Penitential for their immense contribution and every TRV hopeful

I didn't write sop ... But where did they ask us to write one oh God
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Alexissanchezz: 11:05pm On Feb 20, 2017
adesal120:

which university and course
Not going to university yet it's a secondary school grade 12
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Alexissanchezz: 11:14pm On Feb 20, 2017
ARCHITECTs:

@olatuns2016, You must be very strategic about it but here is the catch and you have to be truthful to yourself and be blunt.
Write about your background about UG (not just passion), your practical experience about it, what you have done in your home country to widen your knowledge either certifications or online training (provide evidences), write about how your future employer prefer foreign trained employees and swift promotion at your workplace upon obtaining foreign training , write about employment prospects and its demand in Nigeria, be patriotic to your country (never say negative things about your country despite it's obvious), write about how your skills and knowledge can be transferred to others upon your return, why PGC and not masters, why canada and how beneficial is your intended program socially and economically to your country. Make your SOP interesting to read cos they read tonnes of SOP daily.With all these, you have already made the VO work simpler and you will be smiling at your TRV.
Lastly, send your SOP to TRV doctors/gurus for review .... and pls take corrections and revise it daily either early in morning or late at night till you are convinced to submit your application.
NB: If a third party cannot be convinced reading your SOP without asking you questions, then I doubt if you can convince the VO.
Many tanx.

I am applying to go to secondary school in Canada I'm like 16 do I need to write SOP
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 11:15pm On Feb 20, 2017
He was right

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Austinpee4: 11:16pm On Feb 20, 2017
Eraytee:

Pls the bolded is not true, during my 1st app i paid 14100CAD from my UBA savings account via formA. This i can testify to. Pls once u r not running a student account u can actually pay a huge amount. D money was ova 2.3M den wen USD was still 190 per $
Well, while yours was transferred successfully through a savings account during the period you did it, the may have been a recent unsucessfull forex transactions recorded through a savings account or that most applicants submitting SOA showing tuition transfer used a CURRENT account as evidence to show fund was transfered.

So it also could be the NAIRA savings and current account disparities and limitation plus the prevailing forex policies is well known to the embassy which could have made the VO reviewing that particular application raise such concerns.

So using your own case may not sufficiently rule out any possibility to that and neither can my inference be completely true. My judgement was based on the GCMS file i read and the outcome when he ONLY changed funds from savings to current without doing anything else which is safe to ADVISE for a look out because that VO appeared too smart and a next reviewing VO could take a cue from him/her. The reason was clearly pointed out in his GCMS file. Another VO on the other hand may see it differently notwithstanding any limiting circumstance.

Please, could you elaborated further @bold statement. It isn't quite clear.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 11:29pm On Feb 20, 2017
Eraytee:

bro i may concur with you. for example with FIRSTBANK,they have different categories of savings account and of which FIRST-KID/FIRST-INSTANT in that category of savings account is a low risk account and has limited small amount to withdraw and i guess if you use such account for an applicant during visa application for tuition purpose as being discussed by the poster,a careful and smart VO would detect and question such
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Ziggarrr: 11:29pm On Feb 20, 2017
Osemigho:
Ladies and gentlemen I need help.

Should car and property documents be submitted as original and or certified copy? My Papa been say both o.

Price of certifying copies

Who has contact for police clearance certificate? Duration before getting it? Price?

Ijebu mode fully activated. Thanks.

I submitted just photocopies of both, I don't think you should submit car documents if they are not used for commercial purpose. Sponsor is into transport and logistics, so I had to submit documents of his heavy duty vehicles. Everything na photocopy o.

When you get to police headquarters in alagbon, as u dey enter policemen go dey ask u wetin u dey find, just tell them you are looking for Mr. Samuel in forensic department. Them go direct you to the office, just tell anybody u see there that u want police clearance. It should be around 2-5k depending on how u negotiate.
All the best bro.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Marvelous3: 11:37pm On Feb 20, 2017
skylar2020:
@osemigho,MichV,yemdogg,folaroyal,wealth360 and others

please i saw this as the decision for my hubby's application at the university of regina "Hold file for next dept intake". Pls any idea about it.
pls house, has anyone experienced this with u of R and pls does it means he would be considered for winter 2018. thnks in advance

Means the deadline date for application hasn't ended so they haven't reviewed his file... they commence application review immediately after the deadline date
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Ziggarrr: 11:38pm On Feb 20, 2017
skylar2020:
@osemigho,MichV,yemdogg,folaroyal,wealth360 and others

please i saw this as the decision for my hubby's application at the university of regina "Hold file for next dept intake". Pls any idea about it.
pls house, has anyone experienced this with u of R and pls does it means he would be considered for winter 2018. thnks in advance
I guess he applied for fall 2017, it shows that the graduate school of Regina is still processing applications for spring/summer 2017 intake so they are holding your Hubby's file for the next intake which should be September 2017....don't worry it will soon change to 'processing'
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Newman1010: 11:51pm On Feb 20, 2017
Austinpee4:
Just a piece of advise for guys previously refused for insufficient fund to paid tuition and support yourself.

If you intend to pay your tuition(part or full), great idea.
If you intend to transfer the cash (naira) into your account, endeavour to use a CURRENT account in your name. Saw a GCMS note sometime ago and the VO major concern was that huge funds were transfered to PA's SAVINGS account and he/he was worried PA can remove the money at once to pay for tuition because of the limit of transactions placed on NAIRA savings account.

They obviously know all the banking regulations, be smart too.They know FORM A or any convertible currency transactions will be in a current account.

Anywhere, his visa was approved today. What did he do differently? Transferred equivalent of his tuition + $CAD 10,000 to his current account ONLY!

#If you really need to know the main reason for a visa refusal, get your GCMS file. It's an eye opener!

@ Austinpee4, Please how long did it take to reapply after the transfer of funds to his current account?
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Newman1010: 12:04am On Feb 21, 2017
Please House, i need help with the following questions:

Is it safe to use "Blood Sister" as sponsor? She has transferred equivalent of tuition + 10k CAD to my brothers account. Her husband is the actual sponsor but the credit came from her account.

Will it be best to use her as Sponsor or should he state that the sponsor is his in-law?

If its okay to state her, do we need any back up document?

After the transfer to his account, how long before he applies?

Must he pay part of the fees? I would have preferred to pay but the school is suggesting that we use FLYWIRE. This process means getting funds from aboki. The rate is mad. We would have preferred Form A.

Thanks Fam @justwise, thesoj, MichV, Eraytee etc i need help
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 12:06am On Feb 21, 2017
Alexissanchezz:
Not going to university yet it's a secondary school grade 12
okay
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Austinpee4: 12:10am On Feb 21, 2017
Newman1010:

@ Austinpee4, Please how long did it take to reapply after the transfer of funds to his current account?
2weeks after he got his GCMS file. Also note, the money was transferred between his accounts and reflected his name in the transaction coupled with good 6months transaction history on the account. It wasn't an isolated current account.I guess that counted too.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Bamz(m): 12:18am On Feb 21, 2017
Osemigho:

At 25, she is ripe for marriage. Invite her to come and read with us.

No harm intended. Just believe she's grown enough for you stop "babysitting" her. Thanks.

shocked shocked shocked
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by matic12: 12:46am On Feb 21, 2017
Alexissanchezz:

I didn't write sop ... But where did they ask us to write one oh God
send me your phone number... I will whatsapp you
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Nobody: 1:10am On Feb 21, 2017
ARCHITECTs:

@ Folaroyal: Using this opportunity to thank you for the prompt response to my mail on that Monday morning and the kind words of encouragement. I am very grateful boss.
Intake is Fall (September 2017)
I will first relax in US then en-route Canny afterwards.
check your email for show****501@yahoo.com to recall my SOP.
Yeah i sure remember... You had a good one... I was initially scared until i read your sop... Almost like a love letter a VO cant reject.. All thanks to God!!
Hnnmm... I feel yu.. US to canny...excellent!!
Keep in touch.
Regards.

Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Theolar247(m): 2:05am On Feb 21, 2017
ARCHITECTs:

Many tanx.

Big congratulations to you Bro.
Go and prosper.
Anyone willing to help review of my SOP?
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Mizbaby(f): 2:57am On Feb 21, 2017
Hi everyone, pls does anyone know if UBA mastercard still works for international transactions. I've been trying to use mine without success.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by olatuns2016: 3:49am On Feb 21, 2017
God bless bro...

Congrats once again
Wish u all d best.
This is helpful

ARCHITECTs:

Many tanx.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Osemigho: 3:56am On Feb 21, 2017
elampiro:
I am new here. I want to ask about the fees. Does one has to pay fees before leaving Nigeria? I see some schools having fees as high as $32k for post graduate program. That is about N13M, not including other expenses.

Is there anyone who can recommend a cheap school for someone with first degree in Accounting who wants to read masters in Canada. The candidate has been working for many years. If there is a school that wouldn't require GMAT, it's better.

Check if there is funding and it's level, plus if you qualify. Accounting is usually professional masters with no funding. but there are schools that offer MA Accounting with funding. Please Google them.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Osemigho: 4:00am On Feb 21, 2017
Ziggarrr:
I submitted just photocopies of both, I don't think you should submit car documents if they are not used for commercial purpose. Sponsor is into transport and logistics, so I had to submit documents of his heavy duty vehicles. Everything na photocopy o.
When you get to police headquarters in alagbon, as u dey enter policemen go dey ask u wetin u dey find, just tell them you are looking for Mr. Samuel in forensic department. Them go direct you to the office, just tell anybody u see there that u want police clearance. It should be around 2-5k depending on how u negotiate.
All the best bro.

Small unregistered car hire business. Any need to certify the copy?
Thanks.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by teddybear20: 4:12am On Feb 21, 2017
hello people, I'm finally in Canada, Calgary to be precise. though my school is University of Prince Edward island, anyone new here? Friends around Calgary so we could meet up? send me a mail. thanks y'all .
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by elampiro(m): 6:06am On Feb 21, 2017
Osemigho:

Check if there is funding and it's level, plus if you qualify. Accounting is usually professional masters with no funding. but there are schools that offer MA Accounting with funding. Please Google them.

Thank you. It doesn't have to be masters in Accounting. I will take Economics or related field. I have 2.1 from my B. SC. I did microecomics and macroeconomics in 200L with very good grades in them. So if there is a school to suggest for me, I will appreciate.

However I will still go ahead to google as you suggested.
Re: Travelling To Canada Part 11 by Eraytee: 7:11am On Feb 21, 2017
Newman1010:
Please House, i need help with the following questions:

Is it safe to use "Blood Sister" as sponsor? She has transferred equivalent of tuition + 10k CAD to my brothers account. Her husband is the actual sponsor but the credit came from her account.

Will it be best to use her as Sponsor or should he state that the sponsor is his in-law?

If its okay to state her, do we need any back up document?

After the transfer to his account, how long before he applies?

Must he pay part of the fees? I would have preferred to pay but the school is suggesting that we use FLYWIRE. This process means getting funds from aboki. The rate is mad. We would have preferred Form A.

Thanks Fam @justwise, thesoj, MichV, Eraytee etc i need help

From my own point of view use ur sister as sponsor since the money is coming from her account. All u need is to provide sponsorship letter, affidavit of sponsor, property docs if she has one, SOA and any other documents that can support her sponsorship in terms of finances. If dere is CAC doc include all. Her birth certificate too showing her name b4 she got married would proof ur relationship with her.

As per ur payment, that fly wire I don't really know much about it, am conversant with Form-A. The gurus should profer any suggestions they have as regards that.

(1) (2) (3) ... (390) (391) (392) (393) (394) (395) (396) ... (405)

General German Visa Enquiries Part 3 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 / DV 2013 Winners Meet Here

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 80