Stats: 3,152,933 members, 7,817,725 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 06:00 PM

Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 (26027 Views)

PDP kicks, calls for a rerun as INEC declares Buhari winner / PDP Kicks As FG Cautions US Against Granting Atiku Visa Now / PDP kicks as PLASIEC declares APC winner of Plateau LG polls (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Skepticus: 9:03am On Feb 13, 2018
Lagos PDP is the most confused among all states where PDP is represented.

They have been so emasculated that they'll grab at straws to attain relevance.

This isn't opposition but glaring stupidity.

And for those trying to make ethnic colourations out of this by mentioning other tribes, you are more stupid than Lagos PDP

24 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by daywatcher: 9:03am On Feb 13, 2018
debolayinka:
I think they should rather require any Nigerian language and not necessarily Yoruba only.

Lagos is YORUBAland and Nigeria is a FEDERATION

28 Likes

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Swiftboy(m): 9:06am On Feb 13, 2018
Laudable move! wink

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by omolola15(m): 9:07am On Feb 13, 2018
AishaBuhari:
And if other regions should follow suit, Afonjas will start shouting marginalization - They take actions without proper reasoning angry

SE started it first.
And we all know which tribe shouts marginalization the most. So don’t even start this morning.

36 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Gkay1(m): 9:07am On Feb 13, 2018
na craze dey worry all dis people
Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by resurgentxtian4: 9:08am On Feb 13, 2018
Useless PDP party that wants to pander to igbo wishes. We want igbos to do their worst. Lagos is our state and we yorubas can do whatever we want with our state laws.

If you don’t want the law, you can always opt for federal schools or you leave Lagos entirely.

We shall see if our state is a “no man’s land” as igbos are fond of saying.

29 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Adekdammy: 9:08am On Feb 13, 2018
PDP lagos branch, is this how to play opposition? No wonder you guys have never ruled lagos.

26 Likes

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by holysina(m): 9:12am On Feb 13, 2018
toodark:
lagos is yoruba area....period...they can speak yoruba if they want in their area....doesnt matter what igbos say...

igbos like to make too much noise...other tribes are not complaining....nobody send igbos....
Lagos State PDP house of assembly not anambra house of assembly. Read the article again and tell me why you are attacking igbos

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Caseless: 9:13am On Feb 13, 2018
LaudableXX:
The PDP guy is a hopeless joker. angry He did not complain when toll gate charges were increased. Now he is wailing about the introduction of Yoruba language, as a criteria for admission into state-owned schools. Why didn't his party PDP make noise when Anambra and Imo passed similar laws, to make Igbo compulsory in primary and secondary schools within their region? Or when Igbo language was incorporated into General Studies courses in state-owned tertiary institutions in Anambra? Yeye man!
that the igbo did it doesn't make it right.

He's a PDP member in Lagos, what happened in the east should concern the people there.

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by discusant: 9:13am On Feb 13, 2018
Odingo1:

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2018/02/lagos-pdp-kicks-enforcement-yoruba-language/

Wow. Lagos is a multi ethnic city; does not belong to Yoruba alone. How can a state governor defy Nigeria's constitution to implement this sort of Law?

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by holysina(m): 9:15am On Feb 13, 2018
resurgentxtian4:
Useless PDP party that wants to pander to igbo wishes. We want igbos to do their worst. Lagos is our state and we yorubas can do whatever we want with our state laws.

If you don’t want the law, you can always opt for federal schools or you leave Lagos entirely.

We shall see if our state is a “no man’s land” as igbos are fond of saying.
Bros I read that article twice and I didn't see where it's written that igbos are against the law but rather Lagos State PDP. Why are you making the whole thing about igbos

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by resurgentxtian4: 9:15am On Feb 13, 2018
My children shall be raised as conscious Yoruba children and they shall be proficient in the language of their father. I would instill it in their minds that Lagos has been and will always be the heritage of Yorubas.

In fact, I would extract daily briefings from them on what igbo kids in their schools are saying or doing so as to quickly correct any presumption that igbos are indigenous to yorubaland in them.

We have begged igbos to go home and develop the east for almost 20 years but they won’t listen but rather seek to struggle for relevance in our land. Na by force?

Akin Ambode is a genius and he hasn’t put a foot wrong with dealing with the Igbo problem we have in Lagos. For this reason, he has my sure vote for the 2019 elections.

30 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by shekauvsbuhari: 9:16am On Feb 13, 2018
ODVanguard:
The Op and the PDP are wasting their time. Igbos themselves pioneered this move in the SE long before Lagos did and we didn't hear kpim. Those that want to be exempted should stop making noise and just simply opt for Lagos federal unis instead. It is not by force to attend Lagos state owned schools.

www.thenationonlineng.net/obiano-makes-igbo-language-compulsory/, www. biatimes.com/2016/03/07/nigeria-igbo-language-now-compulsory-in-igbo-schools-governor-rochas-okorocha/, www.vanguardngr.com/2013/12/university-make-igbo-language-compulsory-course-students
what was done in Anambra was making study of igbo compulsory, not making it a condition for admission.

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by resurgentxtian4: 9:18am On Feb 13, 2018
holysina:

Bros I read that article twice and I didn't see where it's written that igbos are against the law but rather Lagos State PDP. Why are you making the whole thing about igbos

Can’t you see they have been wailing about the law since yesterday? They brought this on other ethnic groups in Lagos as they often call Lagos a “no man’s land”. They think they are dealing with fools on politics section but we are no pushovers, we relay vital information to our governments on the excesses of igbos to our leaders and I am happy steps are now being taken to cut igbos to size. This is just the beginning.

27 Likes

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by xnsandrxns: 9:18am On Feb 13, 2018
Fvck PDP
That's why they will never rule Lagos

I love the Yoruba revolution Gov Ambode is leading in Lagos State
No time to argue with anybody
Just make the rules and let whoever is hot jump into the lagoon

25 Likes

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by AnodaIT(m): 9:18am On Feb 13, 2018
Anambra is not a no man's land like Lagos
If Oyo state did it, no problem

ODVanguard:
The Op and the PDP are wasting their time. Igbos themselves pioneered this move in the SE long before Lagos did and we didn't hear kpim. Those that want to be exempted should stop making noise and just simply opt for Lagos federal unis instead. It is not by force to attend Lagos state owned schools.

www.thenationonlineng.net/obiano-makes-igbo-language-compulsory/, www. biatimes.com/2016/03/07/nigeria-igbo-language-now-compulsory-in-igbo-schools-governor-rochas-okorocha/, www.vanguardngr.com/2013/12/university-make-igbo-language-compulsory-course-students

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Alajiki(m): 9:19am On Feb 13, 2018
ClumsyFlimsy:
Nice one

What nonsense

is Lagos not part of Nigeria again

If they allow this rubbish bill; very soon other states will follow suit

If Yorubas are feeling insecured about Lagos; let them push for referendum so we can all agree they own Lagos. If not for now Lagos belong to every fucking Nigerian and even Fulani and aboki niger - rians grin

This bill is an insult to all other tribes FFS

This is why Nigeria will hardpy progess

Few are patriotic whereas almost everybody is tribalistlc and care only about their tribe.

I have come to realize almost every Yoruba sees Lagos as their one and only birthright ; forgetting that Lagos is collective work of every tribe especially Niger Delta money

in fact Nigeria must remain as one

Ummm...Lagos belongs to all Nigerians? How convenient! The way PH, Imo, Anambra, and the entire red mud republic belong to all Nigerians. Akindindinrin!

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Himmler: 9:20am On Feb 13, 2018
OneCorner:

Igbotic brain is very easy to toy with cool
See your life? You have been going around threads pretending to be an Igbo man while making annoying and outrageous comments just to introduce bitter tribal attacks against Igbos. I always knew that there was no way u were Igbo. Igbo's ain't that stupid to be making the kinds of useless comments you were making. Now you have exposed yourself with this post. Just another rabble rousing, ethnic bigotry initiating, immature dunderhead!!!

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Belafonte(m): 9:20am On Feb 13, 2018
PDP is an anti-Lagos, anti-Yoruba party, they have proven this time and again. Jimi Agbaje's antics in the last gubernatorial elections are not so easily forgotten. We Lagosians must resist PDP at every turn otherwise we stand the risk of losing our heritage for ever.

32 Likes

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Super1212: 9:23am On Feb 13, 2018
Na PDP mumu pass.. Ambode don't mind them, Yourba tiwantiwa

15 Likes

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Belafonte(m): 9:23am On Feb 13, 2018
discusant:

Wow. Lagos is a multi ethnic city; does not belong to Yoruba alone. How can a state governor defy Nigeria's constitution to implement this sort of Law?

Lagos is a dominantly Yoruba state any other tribes , apart from the Egun, are here as visitors. Visitors

25 Likes

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by jaymichael(m): 9:25am On Feb 13, 2018
ClumsyFlimsy:
Nice one

What nonsense

is Lagos not part of Nigeria again

If they allow this rubbish bill; very soon other states will follow suit

If Yorubas are feeling insecured about Lagos; let them push for referendum so we can all agree they own Lagos. If not for now Lagos belong to every fucking Nigerian and even Fulani and aboki niger - rians grin

This bill is an insult to all other tribes FFS

This is why Nigeria will hardpy progess

Few are patriotic whereas almost everybody is tribalistlc and care only about their tribe.

I have come to realize almost every Yoruba sees Lagos as their one and only birthright ; forgetting that Lagos is collective work of every tribe especially Niger Delta money

in fact Nigeria must remain as one
What "rubbish" did you just post here? Why don't you go lobby the government of both Anambra and Imo state to reverse similar laws they passed? Which Niger delta money built Lagos? is it different from the Niger Delta money that built Imo, Anambra, Eboyin, Enugu and Abia states? Don't those states collect "Niger Delta" money too? Does Lagos state collect more than it's own share of the allocation due it? Have this at the v
back of your ignorant mind that Lagos state contributes far more than the allocation it receives monthly. The law stays, if you are pained, go to court.

30 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Absuchat(m): 9:25am On Feb 13, 2018
toodark:
lagos is yoruba area....period...they can speak yoruba if they want in their area....doesnt matter what igbos say...

igbos like to make too much noise...other tribes are not complaining....nobody send igbos....

Point of correction, Lagos used to be a Yoruba area, however, it's now an Igbo- Yoruba area.

Having said that, I will like to tell you authoritatively that the bill can only work out if and only if igbo language is also made a prerequisite for gaining admission into universities in Lagos alongside the overhyped Yoruba language.

Igbos have come to stay in Lagos QED.

#operationsubdueanddominate.

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Lumig: 9:29am On Feb 13, 2018
Odingo1:

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2018/02/lagos-pdp-kicks-enforcement-yoruba-language/
Bullshit!!! Some people just say rubbish so that others will not accuse them of being too quiet. All state government should adopt this before our heritage [language] goes into EXTINCTION

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by Bonjelomo: 9:31am On Feb 13, 2018
asdfg
Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by CoolextPhoenix(m): 9:31am On Feb 13, 2018
LaudableXX:
The PDP guy is a hopeless joker. angry He did not complain when toll gate charges were increased. Now he is wailing about the introduction of Yoruba language, as a criteria for admission into state-owned schools. Why didn't his party PDP make noise when Anambra and Imo passed similar laws, to make Igbo compulsory in primary and secondary schools within their region? Or when Igbo language was incorporated into General Studies courses in state-owned tertiary institutions in Anambra? Yeye man!

you ended up making no sensible or reasonable point,, Anambra or IMO making Igbo language compulsory for secondary sch had nothing to do with getting admitted into any institution in these states,,,Igbo language was and is not compulsory in Waec or any other examination to qualify u for admission into any tertiary institution with these States

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by jaymichael(m): 9:31am On Feb 13, 2018
AishaBuhari:
And if other regions should follow suit, Afonjas will start shouting marginalization - They take actions without proper reasoning angry
We know the people that cry marginalization, those are the FLAT HEAD CANNIBALS from the barren mud region. Your Osu Governors started it. Why didn't you cry when similar laws were passed in Imo and Anambra states. Any criminal minded Osu that is sorrowful about the law can go commit suicide in multiple ways.

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lagos PDP Kicks Against Yoruba Language Preservation And Promotion Law 2018 by resurgentxtian4: 9:31am On Feb 13, 2018
irepnaija4eva:

Your very stupid...
Is Gani an Igbo man?
Had any Igbo group condemned or castigate the proposed law?

Grow up.

We know how these things work. Igbos are the main opposition to anything yoruba in Lagos. We shall see where that shall get them.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (11) (Reply)

PDP Officially Zones Presidency To North / Disquiet As Lagos VIS Head Is Removed / Nigerian Refugees Reject Jonathan-Branded Relief Items

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49