Stats: 3,153,555 members, 7,819,997 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 08:05 AM

You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele - Sports (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele (30906 Views)

The President Of CONMEBOL Honors Lionel Messi With The ‘Baton Of Football’ / Juventus May Explore Possibility Of Pairing Messi With Ronaldo / Lionel Messi With His Wife And Sons In Cute Family Photos (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by distinctguy: 3:25pm On Dec 06, 2018
naposium:
Why Nigerians think like this..... I watched Pele documentary... It's hard for you to break into national team cos there is a lot of gladiators that's one and 2 playing world cup that time when you have teams like Italy and Germany no be beans..... Pele is respected worldwide right from the 70s 80s and till now..... Much accolades for him... This is a Messi that played against team Nigeria under 20 and yet we are being ribbed for them to lift that trophy

That documentary is a trash then!
Gladiators are in every country before you can break into the national team.

Only 16 countries compete for world cup then

Only Italy was the strong team, as winner of 2 world cups. Uruguay and Germany only had 1 cups each. World cup wasn't that a strong competition back then, just like Falcons winning women African nations cup
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by peterd53(m): 3:25pm On Dec 06, 2018
odizeey:
na e you no sabi wetyn dem do messi 2006 for corner area

See urself.... u no even know d person weh give an d injury. FYI it was del horno
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by distinctguy: 3:27pm On Dec 06, 2018
SmartMindsFx:
We have 2 dimensions in the world of soccer.

1) National Team Dimension
2) Club Dimension

In the case of National Team, Pele was superb while Messi beats him hands down when it boils down to club level.

At least this man should accord some respect to Messi if not for anything, but for the fact that he broke a record even him (Pele) couldnt smell in his playing days.

You think sey e easy to win 3 straight WB and 5 in total?
Sentiment apart, Pele was good but I think Messi is better.

For him to have compared Messi to someone who used drugs in his playing days, I think old age is starting to affect Mr Pele.
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by juiceeyy(m): 3:27pm On Dec 06, 2018
HenryInno1:
Messi Won't Reply
His Family members won't
But If Its Ronaldo
Even his ancestors will start Talking Rubbish
Messi The Greatest Of all Times
Humble and Quiet lad
i dont think pele made such a foolish comments,,do believe everything u read..
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by Awoo88: 3:28pm On Dec 06, 2018
The fact that no body is mentioning Ronaldo in this conversation will tell anybody with sense that Messi is the highest any football player will go this generation. He is a reference. Just like Mayweather in boxing.
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by odizeey(m): 3:29pm On Dec 06, 2018
peterd53:

See urself.... u no even know d person weh give an d injury. FYI it was del horno
watch d highlight two men get am down.
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by gurunlocker: 3:37pm On Dec 06, 2018
Foodforthought:

Go check Pele's height before u comment. Typical Messi fan

I know his height man! Was Pele a main team playmaker like Messi? What was his strong foot? What position does he play when he was playing?

Counter my points!

And you must be a Ronaldo fan, the self acclaimed best player of the last 20 years grin grin grin
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by odizeey(m): 3:38pm On Dec 06, 2018
distinctguy:

That documentary is a trash then!
Gladiators are in every country before you can break into the national team.

Only 16 countries compete for world cup then

Only Italy was the strong team, as winner of 2 world cups. Uruguay and Germany only had 1 cups each. World cup wasn't that a strong competition back then, just like Falcons winning women African nations cup
in any world cup how many favourites are there.
For 16 teams to compete tells a lot that it was even competitive to qualify for
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by SEGLIZ: 3:39pm On Dec 06, 2018
........ this is long over due. during the days of the legend they were no FIFA property, they had no protection on the pitch of play, no rules like we have today.
Pele and his like play the game when it was crude compare to a refined game we have here today. the modern age football is nothing compare to then. introduction of var, hightech designed balls and many others.
LEGEND are made over time not while in service, we don't need to make an over hyped lengend out of this guy's they are good but unlike men that came up with over a hundred skill the boys we have are utilizing.
Give it to the LIVING LEGENGS.

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by odizeey(m): 3:41pm On Dec 06, 2018
SEGLIZ:
........ this is long over due. during the days of the legend they were no FIFA property, they had no protection on the pitch of play, no rules like we have today.
Pele and his like play the game when it was crude compare to a refined game we have here today. the modern age football is nothing compare to then. introduction of var, hightech designed balls and many others.
LEGEND are made over time not while in service, we don't need to make an over hyped lengend out of this guy's they are good but unlike men that came up with over a hundred skill the boys we have are utilizing.
Give it to the LIVING LEGENGS.
these guys came with skills bro. You are spot on. You say you be legend u no get any signature skill. Nothing to leave for the boys.

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by SEGLIZ: 3:43pm On Dec 06, 2018
kumakunta:
That left leg has scored more goals than pele at this same stage of pele’s career. What Pelé does with his head, chest, dick , abdomen and shoulder Messi does with just his left leg.

I know if you bring up Ronaldo who does all what pele listed , he pele would still find a way to discredit him.

Pele resigned at an early age due to permanent injury put that in consideration.
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by Gbelex(m): 3:48pm On Dec 06, 2018
All dis legends go just open their mouth and yarn dust! Na so dis same Pele tok say Neymar is better than CR7,what exactly is wrong with Mr Pele? Is he on dope?

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by Remii(m): 3:54pm On Dec 06, 2018
pele by far, he is the youngest man to have played in the final of world cup, the only man with 3 world cup medals. When he visited Nigeria in 1978 in the match btw Fluminense FC and Nigeria 11, that guy dribled everyone on the pitch, he took the ball from one end to the other and back without anyone been able to tackle him.

In 1967, the Nigerian Civil War had a 48-hour ceasefire to watch Pelé play an exhibition game in Lagos. http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m1608/is_2_22/ai_n16071178/

Maradona is great, no doubt, but man pass man, he did not win World cup 86 alone, infact in the final match, Buruchaga scored the winning goals.
Messi did not even do much in international football.
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by vezycash(m): 4:01pm On Dec 06, 2018
Let's say person A was worth 10 million dollars in 1900. Person B is worth 100 million dollars today. Who's richer?

If you chose B, you're wrong. $10,000,000 in 1900 dollars is worth $298,885,775.91 in 2017 when adjusted for inflation.

So before questioning Old man Pele's sanity, you got to revalue his accomplishments fairly. What type of:
Grass did they use
Ball did they use
Type of food
Did they have performance enhancement drugs or drinks? Note alcohol was considered doping at the time
What shoes were used
Did they have friction-less wear or were they playing with khaki
How fast could humanity run?
Could people record themselves and watch to correct mistakes?
How many awards / events did they have then
How much was at stake? There's a difference between dying for $100 and $30 million
How was health care then compared to now

Only when you have asked these and more can you say Pele's high on cheap argentine weed.

Btw - if Messi was born in pele time, he'd have DIED. Modern medicine & steroids is what allowed him to live, add height and strengthen his bones.

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by LIVEBYTRUTH: 4:06pm On Dec 06, 2018
Bloooody:
As much as I respect the great Pele.
You're a fool for what you just said.
If we were to put you and Messi in the field with both of you at a young age I can bet seun mother's life that messi will destroy you without "messi"

If there is any one destroyed is you, how many cups has mercy won for Argentina? with all his magic left foot it is either you're a kid or you don't know football with the zombies that clicked like to your trash. World cup is the utmost goal for any player, participation never gives trophies, but winning gives trophies. Pele remains the best thing that ever happened to the world of football. Watch out how Messi's name would vanish when he retires from active football, but Pele's name goes with football. Don't argue with sentiment ok.

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by distinctguy: 4:12pm On Dec 06, 2018
odizeey:
in any world cup how many favourites are there.
For 16 teams to compete tells a lot that it was even competitive to qualify for

Heheheee

They don't play the tedious qualifiers of nowadays back then���

The lesser teams u play against, the lesser the competitiveness of ANY competition.

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by distinctguy: 4:19pm On Dec 06, 2018
SEGLIZ:

Pele resigned at an early age due to permanent injury put that in consideration.

Pele was with the national team from 1957 to 1971!!!

And you call that duration early age resignation??

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by sunkieisland(m): 4:19pm On Dec 06, 2018
Bloooody:
As much as I respect the great Pele.
You're a fool for what you just said.
If we were to put you and Messi in the field with both of you at a young age I can bet seun mother's life that messi will destroy you without "messi"

Dapada

I might not be a Messi fan but comparing young Pele and Messi is disrespectful and pointless.

I respect Messi because I'm a lover of good football but leave stats and look at results only.

How does a person who hasn't won a world cup compare to one who has three.

I suggest that you watch the movie about Pele to indeed understand how great he was and how could have been if he to have played in this era of Football

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by chronnister(m): 4:25pm On Dec 06, 2018
Cedarwealth:
I have seen the video clips of these top legends, Messi would have outclassed all of them even in their time. That is the problem Ronaldo has, if he had played in a different time than Messi, he would comfortably sit on the top tier with the legends. But for Messi that is causing people to overlook some of the great things he has been doing. Messi is the god of soccer, and i bet you someday the champions league will be renamed after him, "LIONEL MESSI LEAGUE OF CHAMPIONS".
mumu even now, Ronaldo shines. I agree with you about the legends though, those ones wey there football be like oshi
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by anonymous1759(m): 4:27pm On Dec 06, 2018
good4love:
Its and insult and total disregard to prolificacy by comparing pele with messi... Pele ply his trade in numerous clubs.. Let messi try his luck in another club and division... How can u stay in barcelona(from birth). For almost 60 yrs and say u are world best

Lie Lie pele played for only Santos..

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by 0monnak0da: 4:29pm On Dec 06, 2018
There is one fundamental difference between the two eras

Now You often get a red card for tackle from behind.

Then referee did not even blow his whistle.

So when a striker these days runs through an entire field and no one touches him he looks like a superstar.

The defenders are TRAINED not to touch him

THEN the defenders were trained to HACK him down like a tree
No way any player would run regularly through 6 players in those days without being cut down and then the referees did nothing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8GdiMW4BL8

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by distinctguy: 4:34pm On Dec 06, 2018
Remii:
pele by far, he is the youngest man to have played in the final of world cup, the only man with 3 world cup medals. When he visited Nigeria in 1978 in the match btw Fluminense FC and Nigeria 11, that guy dribled everyone on the pitch, he took the ball from one end to the other and back without anyone been able to tackle him.

In 1967, the Nigerian Civil War had a 48-hour ceasefire to watch Pelé play an exhibition game in Lagos. http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m1608/is_2_22/ai_n16071178/

Maradona is great, no doubt, but man pass man, he did not win World cup 86 alone, infact in the final match, Buruchaga scored the winning goals.
Messi did not even do much in international football.

But Messi has scored 65 goals for Argentina from 2005 when he joined the senior team.

Legend Pele score 77 goals from 1957-1971 for Brazil national team!!!
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by cr7lomo: 4:47pm On Dec 06, 2018
Awoo88:
The fact that no body is mentioning Ronaldo in this conversation will tell anybody with sense that Messi is the highest any football player will go this generation. He is a reference. Just like Mayweather in boxing.

That is because cr7 fans are not as reckless and biased as messi fans
Messi fans are illogical and biased
How can you compare a player that wo n three world cups with someone that has spent his whole carrier in one thing called barcelona
Messi has only one trophies with one team
Let him at least win a trophy with argentina at least copa america
Ronaldo has won major trophies with every team he has ever played for including the euros with portugal

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by GeniusDavid(m): 4:48pm On Dec 06, 2018
This fraud played against guys that trained twice a week and did coke at night.

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by distinctguy: 4:56pm On Dec 06, 2018
0monnak0da:
There is one fundamental difference between the two eras

Now You often get a red card for tackle from behind.

Then referee did not even blow his whistle.

So when a striker these days runs through an entire field and no one touches him he looks like a superstar.

The defenders are TRAINED not to touch him

THEN the defenders were trained to HACK him down like a tree
No way any player would run regularly through 6 players in those days without being cut down and then the referees did nothing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8GdiMW4BL8

Neymar probably learn some of his theatrical falling skills from this Pele videos!!! grin grin
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by cr7lomo: 5:00pm On Dec 06, 2018
LIVEBYTRUTH:

If there is any one destroyed is you, how many cups has mercy won for Argentina? with all his magic left foot it is either you're a kid or you don't know football with the zombies that clicked like to your trash. World cup is the utmost goal for any player, participation never gives trophies, but winning gives trophies. Pele remains the best thing that ever happened to the world of football. Watch out how Messi's name would vanish when he retires from active football, but Pele's name goes with football. Don't argue with sentiment ok.

Thank you very much
Messi is nothing but a barcelona legend
He will only be remembered by barca fans
He is no different from alfredo di stefano real madrid legend
Alfredo de stefano was also argentine but he never won anything with argentina
and that is why the argentines don't regard him
The argentines don't even regard messi because he has never won anything for them
And some barca fans here will say with their mouth that messi is the greatest of all time
What a joke
Ronaldo is is one of the most respected players in real madrid manchester united and the greatest portuguese player of all time
Most fans of manchester united real madrid and portugal see him as the greatest player of all time
Unlike mercy that only barcelona fans value
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by rapheal5(m): 5:02pm On Dec 06, 2018
That idiot that posted shit up there need serious flogging Cuz cr7 get more goal than Messi
Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by Holymann(m): 5:03pm On Dec 06, 2018

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by zudozz: 5:07pm On Dec 06, 2018
stanliwise:
you dont know history bro. U talk like this because you hear of messi everyday. Many fine player has crossed the game of football and messi is one of them. Messi could be among 10 legends of football. I don't thought but you will be mistaken if you think people like maradona, pele couldn't match him you might be wrong because this player has a god-status when it comes to football.

Pele won 3 wcs when 8 countries only participated, when keepers were allowed to catch back pass with their hands. Messi is the GOAT..ps there is no room for comparison!

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by 0monnak0da: 5:17pm On Dec 06, 2018
zudozz:

Pele won 3 wcs when 8 countries only participated, when keepers were allowed to catch back pass with their hands. Messi is the GOAT..ps there is no room for comparison!
Goal keepers were allowed to catch back pass

did that help or hinder Pele's record?
Does allowing back pass help a striker

You need a check in logic ?

8 countries played the World Cup

Are you alright

It is better for you to say nothing because you have nothing to contribute

Re: You Can’t Compare Messi With Me, Says Pele by 0monnak0da: 5:21pm On Dec 06, 2018
Holymann:

He Scored 1000+ because: there was no offside rule in his days, street competition, military man(when goals as a military officer are removed, his tally comes down to -750), won three world cups when 8 teams participated, most performance enhancing drugs weren't banned by fifa.
IF MESSI, CR7, RONALDO played in pele's era, they'd have 2000+ goals
There was no offside? Why not be silent.

The offside rule was MORE STRINGENT in his days

THEN if you were on the same line as the last player you were off side .

You had to be closer to your own goal post than the last player

That only changed in 1990

Clearly you are young but even then the internet is there do not just concoct rubbish after fufu overdose and start vomiting

The offside rule from 1925 was that two players must be in front of you.( This usually means goalkeeper and another player but goalkeeper could be on the other side it does not have to be goalkeeper)

From 1990 that changed to 1 player in front and one player on the SAME LINE

so previously the striker must OVERTAKE the last defender
Now they only have to be on the same line

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

U.S Men's Basketball Coach Greg Popovich Reats To 90-87 Loss To Nigeria / Why We Sacked Stephen Keshi- NFF / Kenneth Omeruo Celebrates Chioma, His Wife's Birthday By Sharing Loved Up Photos

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 73