Stats: 3,153,016 members, 7,818,008 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 03:41 AM

What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? - Food (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? (40225 Views)

What Food Do You Consider Overhyped In Terms Of Taste? (picture) / What Food Can You Eat Everyday And Not Get Tired? / What Food Is Forbidden In Your Culture? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Ishilove: 5:29pm On Apr 14, 2020
Hemanwel:
Ibu onye Ukwuani ebe? Umutu , Obiaruku, ogume, Abbi?

I am from Abbi, though!
Okwelle? Ellovie? Umia?
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Ishilove: 5:30pm On Apr 14, 2020
BBWLOVER:
this one that will never prosper
Who or what will never prosper?
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by yungchop: 5:32pm On Apr 14, 2020
I'm a yoruba but I don't think there's anything you can't eat. But, I only eat cow and sheep meats and it MUST BE FRIED.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by tpia: 5:33pm On Apr 14, 2020
jubrilELsudan:
KUKUNASE OF A MARRIED WOMAN.

I've reported this person, mod kindly remove the post, it's so annoying.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by tchidi066(f): 5:33pm On Apr 14, 2020
I'm from Aguata in Anambra state, here we don't kill and eat pythons, it's a taboo
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Nobody: 5:35pm On Apr 14, 2020
Mistaicey2288:

Ok Sir. I hear you ooo

LOL. ..

Might wanna try them roaches some day though.

I hear they're "tasty" sad If fried...
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Jasongucci: 5:35pm On Apr 14, 2020
I have never eaten three leaf (ona). Its forbidden in some parts of owerre.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Biodigesterexpa(m): 5:36pm On Apr 14, 2020
snails and cocoa yam
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Kemimarch16(f): 5:37pm On Apr 14, 2020
Rabbit(ondo),but have eating it before and it doesn't have side effect on me
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by tpiar: 5:37pm On Apr 14, 2020
Jasongucci:
I have never eaten three leaf (ona). Its forbidden in some parts of owerre.

It's bitter, so you're not missing anything. Besides, probably it might have some physical effect on you or something (like allergies), you never know.

tpiar:

That's bitter yam, very tasty.

I'm not from your place, so I can eat it. smiley You shouldn't, though.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dioscorea_dumetorum

https://www.webmd.com/vitamins/ai/ingredientmono-1221/bitter-yam

Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Jasongucci: 5:37pm On Apr 14, 2020
I have never tasted three leaf yam aka ona. It's forbidden in some parts of owerre where I come from.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Sunky200: 5:37pm On Apr 14, 2020
Yorùbá don't eat igun/vulture
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by BoiGrammz: 5:38pm On Apr 14, 2020
tchidi066:
I'm from Aguata in Anambra state, here we don't kill and eat pythons, it's a taboo
will the python not eat somebody? grin
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by tchidi066(f): 5:40pm On Apr 14, 2020
BoiGrammz:
will the python not eat somebody? grin
It doesnt harm the indigenes
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by BoiGrammz: 5:44pm On Apr 14, 2020
tchidi066:

It doesnt harm the indigenes
like how will it know whether you're an indigene or not? grin so in short, if I am not an indigene and I come across a python, I'm free to kill it right? angry
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by foyeks2001(f): 5:44pm On Apr 14, 2020
Pierced:
Dogs.
Are you from Otan-Ayegbaju in Osun State Cos we too don't eat dogs.
I heard once someone from there eats dog, the person will start barking like a dog till he/she dies.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by ehirosplusbiz(m): 5:49pm On Apr 14, 2020
Rice
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by justifyme(m): 5:50pm On Apr 14, 2020
Briller:

Lol. Abeg where you want see the lion? I think we too don't eat lion cause it's our reincarnate.
lol baba I don't know, that's our belief, and we re meant to believe lion can't hurt us when we come in contact with it
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Hemanwel(m): 5:50pm On Apr 14, 2020
Ishilove:

Abbi
wow! See my sister o! Lol.

But I dey 'cancel' snail anyhow o! No time to check time!

Will send you a PM.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Nobody: 5:50pm On Apr 14, 2020
We don't have any taboo food items in our culture�
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by oweniwe(m): 5:51pm On Apr 14, 2020
Ishilove:
Snails. Ukwuani land.

I've never eaten snails, will never knowingly eat them. If one unknowingly eats them, you're supposed to induce vomiting. If you can't, you're to go for ceremonial cleansing.

Are you more Ukwuani than me?

I don chop snail tire... Though not in village... But outside

I've eaten tortoise sef... Tastes like chicken

E remain dog... Though widely available, but i don't want to eat it
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by emmyN(m): 5:51pm On Apr 14, 2020
Ishilove:
Snails. Ukwuani land.

I've never eaten snails, will never knowingly eat them. If one unknowingly eats them, you're supposed to induce vomiting. If you can't, you're to go for ceremonial cleansing.

Ishilove, are you a traditionalist?
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Pierced(f): 5:51pm On Apr 14, 2020
foyeks2001:

Are you from Otan-Ayegbaju in Osun State Cos we too don't eat dogs.
I heard once someone from there eats dog, the person will start barking like a dog till he/she dies.

Noooo.....from Enugu state. According to what I heard...... anybody that eats dog will develop rashes in his tongue and lips.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Mistaicey2288: 5:52pm On Apr 14, 2020
mansakhalifa:

LOL. ..

Might wanna try them roaches some day though.

I hear they're "tasty" sad If fried...

Lol okay may God help you with that ooo cheesy
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Nobody: 5:53pm On Apr 14, 2020
Mistaicey2288:

Lol okay may God help you with that ooo cheesy

Don't worry...

I hear some species are pretty safe for the gob.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by foyeks2001(f): 5:54pm On Apr 14, 2020
Pierced:

Noooo.....from Enugu state. According to what I heard...... anybody that eats dog will develop rashes in his tongue and lips.
Wow!This is so surprising. In my place the person barks till he/she dies.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by nkemdi89(f): 5:54pm On Apr 14, 2020
Ishilove:
Snails. Ukwuani land.

Same with my place in ukwuani, snail and crocodile.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Onego(f): 5:58pm On Apr 14, 2020
That was then o, am an ukwuani Lady,my siblings eat it but I don't
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by Dtruthspeaker: 6:00pm On Apr 14, 2020
buygala:
Chopping another man's wife is a taboo in my village ...''chopping" as in ''fvcking"....

But i understand that in some parts of Benue State, men give out their wives and daughters as Kola to visitors shocked...as in if you are spending the night in his house, he can delegate one of his wives or daughters to keep you in satisfactory coital company overnight....

Point is....one man's meat is another man's poison cool

Modified

I have been getting some mentions telling me the Benue tradition I stated above isn't true...sad

Up till tomorrow, adultery is not prohibited among the Tivi tribe in Benue State..there, you cannot be convicted for knacking someone's wife...

If you think I am lying, please find and read the cases of Apiko V Ikogi and Tofi v Uba, the latter having been decided by the Nigerian Court of Appeal..

For ease of reference, here are the cases' Court citations:

Tofi v Uba (1987) 3 NWLR PT.62 P.723 PARA A-H

APIKO UNOGWU V GABRIEL IKOGI-APPEAL NO. OHC/19A/2008

My man, Tofi Una did not truly ground the legitimacy of this Tiv belief. It was not decided on the merits per se
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by LordNicvuitton(m): 6:01pm On Apr 14, 2020
tchidi066:

Hi Tchidi, where in Aguata are you from? I'm from Igbo-Big and you're a sister. cute dp btw & please, do reply my e-mail.
Re: What Food Items Are Taboo In Your Traditional Nigerian Culture? by afribabe: 6:03pm On Apr 14, 2020
Ishilove:
Snails. Ukwuani land.

what if one eats it unknowingly and still not aware of it what will happen??

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply)

Hardship: 5 Cheap Soups You Can Cook With N1000 In Nigeria / See This Fire Wood Cooking Stove Invented By A Nigerian / Yoruba Name For Mint Leaf.