Stats: 3,151,442 members, 7,812,325 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 11:40 AM

General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 - Travel (552) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 (1357450 Views)

General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 / General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 / General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 4 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (549) (550) (551) (552) (553) (554) (555) ... (779) (Go Down)

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by BrTune: 2:54pm On Aug 28, 2020
Can you explain further please?
I cant seem to schedule a date on their website, it keeps saying no available dates, when I get to the visa priority stage.
Snakedoctor1:

You sure can schedule an interview date, however tentative
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Snakedoctor1: 3:12pm On Aug 28, 2020
BrTune:
I cant seem to schedule a date on their website, it keeps saying no available dates, when I get to the visa priority stage.
Oh, I do not know about that. Maybe it'd a later development . I got a date when I scheduled in June this year
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by BrTune: 3:38pm On Aug 28, 2020
Ok. do you mind giving me an idea,of the date you got when you reserved a slot in June?
I want to estimate how far into the year all available slots have been booked.
Snakedoctor1:

Oh, I do not know about that. Maybe it'd a later development . I got a date when I scheduled in June this year
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Nobody: 8:07pm On Aug 28, 2020
Friedpotato:
What's the cheapest way to ship a 3.3lb package (10"1 tablet) from US to Nigeria?
if you’re in Houston just ask around or NJ, they have local shopping people that charge like $7 per pound for shipping
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Snakedoctor1: 9:00pm On Aug 28, 2020
BrTune:
Ok. do you mind giving me an idea,of the date you got when you reserved a slot in June?
I want to estimate how far into the year all available slots have been booked.
November
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Lifeisforliving: 10:21pm On Aug 28, 2020
BrTune:

Which of the consulate did you apply in Lagos or abuja
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by BrTune: 10:29pm On Aug 28, 2020
Lagos, Why?

Lifeisforliving:

Which of the consulate did you apply in Lagos or abuja
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by BrTune: 10:29pm On Aug 28, 2020
OMG!!! This is not good...
Snakedoctor1:

November
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Jidebambam: 3:01am On Aug 29, 2020
Hi everybody,
I recently joined this forum as advised by a friend. I am particularly interested in the USA visa thread. i recently secured an admission with the New York Film Academy with a $5000 assistance for 6 semesters. I am admitted for fall but I can only take classes online for this fall. I have a lot of questions as classes resume next week. Should I take fall classes online or defer till next year? What are the chances of securing a visa next semester if I take classes online for the fall semester. All input will be highly appreciated. Thank you all in advance!
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Lifeisforliving: 9:13am On Aug 29, 2020
BrTune:
OMG!!! This is not good...

More Dates will be available once thhey reopen for spring 2021
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by BrTune: 9:56am On Aug 29, 2020
Hopefully, any idea if Abuja currently has open slots?
Lifeisforliving:

More Dates will be available once thhey reopen for spring 2021
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by BrTune: 10:00am On Aug 29, 2020
Harvard is currently going online for the fall session, and Nigerians going there will not be allowed into the USA, until December since all classes are online, so ur decision to take all courses online in the fall, will not affect you negatively.
Jidebambam:
Hi everybody,
I recently joined this forum as advised by a friend. I am particularly interested in the USA visa thread. i recently secured an admission with the New York Film Academy with a $5000 assistance for 6 semesters. I am admitted for fall but I can only take classes online for this fall. I have a lot of questions as classes resume next week. Should I take fall classes online or defer till next year? What are the chances of securing a visa next semester if I take classes online for the fall semester. All input will be highly appreciated. Thank you all in advance!

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by solastar2: 10:06am On Aug 29, 2020
BrTune:
Hopefully, any idea if Abuja currently has open slots?

The last time I checked, I saw 5th November in Abuja but I have never seen any available date in Lagos since may that I have started checking.

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Alistervibes: 12:25pm On Aug 29, 2020
fairheart:

Bro, we did not have an argument or fight; you did not offend me at all. It was just a slight misunderstanding, and I later realized what I missed. So there's no need to be sorry.
The bold sentence above is something a man that is cultivating and preparing himself for future leadership would do. It's called humility and reverence. And only great people exude it! I am also learning it, so you're doing the right thing. As long as I have free time, I'll not stop coming and contributing on this thread.
God bless you! smiley

Sir @fairheart i will like to communicate with you. I have pm you

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by calculator123(m): 2:41pm On Aug 29, 2020
horlahsunbo225:

I've paid for express since June 2 na story I dey hear till now...that's why I've not register for GRE
Which passport office?
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by horlahsunbo225(m): 7:29pm On Aug 29, 2020
calculator123:

Which passport office?
Ibadan
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by chinasajudith92: 1:20pm On Aug 30, 2020
fairheart:

DM will be better, and I will be able to answer your questions to the best of my understanding.

Please can I dm you too??

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by ridlaw(m): 3:51pm On Aug 30, 2020
Differ your admission till your program is back in class !!! Don’t take classes online when you don’t have a visa. That’s enough reason to deny your application. The VO may think if you can take classes online then why do you need to get a visa.
Jidebambam:
Hi everybody,

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Jidebambam: 8:11pm On Aug 30, 2020
The program is Master's in film production. I was thinking any reasonable VO should realize there has to be hands-on involved in a program like thsi. I'm just afraid I'll lose the $5000 per semester assistance if I defer.

ridlaw:
Differ your admission till your program is back in class !!! Don’t take classes online when you don’t have a visa. That’s enough reason to deny your application. The VO will think if you can take classes online then why do you need to get a visa.
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by alexohams2000(m): 12:57am On Aug 31, 2020
I disagree with you sir. It in fact, is best to begin now if his school is going in person next session.

ridlaw:
Differ your admission till your program is back in class !!! Don’t take classes online when you don’t have a visa. That’s enough reason to deny your application. The VO will think if you can take classes online then why do you need to get a visa.
Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by alexohams2000(m): 1:05am On Aug 31, 2020
Hey, I disagree with you, completely. On a good day, there are courses schools won't allow you take completely online. This whole online shit is basically because of this pandemic and as soon as it subsides reasonably, schools are gonna implement those restrictions again making it impossible to take "commonly in person classes" online. My school for example is trying the first two weeks of class online, for some courses. After two weeks, they probably will make adjustments. Also, international students have the option to take classes online/from any location just for this semester, from Spring, classes will take a normal shape, hopefully. So, if your classes next session are meant to be completely in person and you have all things in place, no VO will refuse to give you visa, except you really mess up at your interview. I rather see beginning online now as an advantage, except your school is still gonna have the option to take classes online next session in which case the VO will probably wonder why you still want a visa for a course you can take online. My suggestion, if your school is completely going in person next session, begin the course right away. It's to your advantage. But if your school is remaining online or is still gonna have the option for online, then, reconsider beginning now, based on your long term plans.

Jidebambam:
Hi everybody,

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Matinho: 1:51am On Aug 31, 2020
Its just so sad that the Visa officers treat people with no esteem or regard on these interview. And when you compare with people in other parts of the world, they dont get these unfair treatment.These students have worked hard to gain admissions and want an education to better themselves but achieving their dreams lies in the hands of one person who may or may not give them a fair hearing at a 45 seconds interview. Every country has its shortcomings and just because there are many bad eggs from naija doesnt mean there are no genuine students going to study and hoping to make an impact in the world Goodluck to the guy going to the film academy, hopefully one day we go see you for the next black panther movie and you will make naija proud. These unnecessary inequitable treatment to prospective naija students to USA too will pass someday.

alexohams2000:

Hey, I disagree with you, completely. On a good day, there are courses schools won't allow you take completely online. This whole online shit is basically because of this pandemic and as soon as it subsides reasonably, schools are gonna implement those restrictions again making it impossible to take "commonly in person classes" online. My school for example is trying the first two weeks of class online, for some courses. After two weeks, they probably will make adjustments. Also, international students have the option to take classes online/from any location just for this semester, from Spring, classes will take a normal shape, hopefully. So, if your classes next session are meant to be completely in person and you have all things in place, no VO will refuse to give you visa, except you really mess up at your interview. I rather see beginning online now as an advantage, except your school is still gonna have the option to take classes online next session in which case the VO will probably wonder why you still want a visa for a course you can take online. My suggestion, if your school is completely going in person next session, begin the course right away. It's to your advantage. But if your school is remaining online or is still gonna have the option for online, then, reconsider beginning now, based on your long term plans.

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by pompeiimagnus: 3:57am On Aug 31, 2020
Matinho:
Its just so sad that the Visa officers treat people with no esteem or regard on these interview. These unnecessary inequitable treatment to prospective naija students to USA too will pass someday.

Nobody treats us unfairly. These people are paid to do their jobs, so don't blame them. Get into a good program, make sure your finances are in great shape, prove your genuineness at the interview, and get your visa. What's so difficult about it??

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by pompeiimagnus: 4:07am On Aug 31, 2020
alexohams2000:
I disagree with you sir. It in fact, is best to begin now if his school is going in person next session.

There are no guarantees that in-person classes would resume by Spring. Most Professors and students even prefer the online classes, and many schools are already adapting to this hybrid system. COVID has shown that remote learning is very possible. The folks mainly affected are international students, due to our visa status and its inherent restrictions.

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Friedpotato: 4:24am On Aug 31, 2020
pompeiimagnus:

Nobody treats us unfairly. These people are paid to do their jobs, so don't blame them. Get into a good program, make sure your finances are in great shape, prove your genuineness at the interview, and get your visa. What's so difficult about it??
there's unfair treatment actually. A student from Nigeria with same stats with one from Europe is more likely to be denied if they answer same things to the V.O.

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Matinho: 4:28am On Aug 31, 2020
just leave the guy. He is definitely out of touch with reality.
Friedpotato:
there's unfair treatment actually. A student from Nigeria with same stats with one from Europe is more likely to be denied if they answer same things to the V.O.

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by Friedpotato: 4:32am On Aug 31, 2020
ridlaw:
You people will just come and make unnecessary generalizations and factless conclusions.

You can always tell the V.O that your school doesn't offer online classes for your course but that was 'only' made available for fall due to the Coronavirus and it won't be available by spring. The V.Os knows this. Like the case of Havard and other big schools.

Apart from that you can always Google why in person classes are better than online classes and tell them one.

Taking online classes has it benefits. it proves that you're financially bouyant to be able to have covered your tuition and you might most likely focus on school and not planning to use F1 as a devious means to run.

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by alexohams2000(m): 4:53am On Aug 31, 2020
True talk brother. The rest of the world don't get same treatment, and we all know why. In as much as we cry out for unfair treatment, we must as well call our brothers and sisters to order. Just look at what is happening in Dubai at the moment. we are the architect of our problems and we certainly need to blame ourselves for it. I came to US same year and in the same school with a guy from a certain African country. It was the Spring semester. One month into the Semester, nigga told me he was going back to his country. Despite my preaching this guy left after the Spring break and never came back. I was curious and asked him what the visa process was like in his country and from what he said, there are very few people applying for Visa and those who apply get it without stress. My point, na we do us! And then, our leaders have also sold us for plates of porridge. Nigeria is more popular for the wrong reasons and it keeps getting worse, sadly.

Matinho:
Its just so sad that the Visa officers treat people with no esteem or regard on these interview. And when you compare with people in other parts of the world, they dont get these unfair treatment.These students have worked hard to gain admissions and want an education to better themselves but achieving their dreams lies in the hands of one person who may or may not give them a fair hearing at a 45 seconds interview. Every country has its shortcomings and just because there are many bad eggs from naija doesnt mean there are no genuine students going to study and hoping to make an impact in the world Goodluck to the guy going to the film academy, hopefully one day we go see you for the next black panther movie and you will make naija proud. These unnecessary inequitable treatment to prospective naija students to USA too will pass someday.

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by alexohams2000(m): 5:02am On Aug 31, 2020
You absolutely have no idea, how people who had all you mentioned and more got turned back for zero reasons. I got a scholarship for someone in one of the Universities here, with accommodation, 4k annual allowance from school, and yes, a strong bank account. I was shocked when he called me to announce he was denied. I was still so optimistic, got his appointment fees paid again, and zoom, he was denied again. There is absolutely unfair treatment but truth is, it's as well deserving. Our brothers and sisters have messed up the system and we are paying for it.

pompeiimagnus:

Re: General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 15 by alexohams2000(m): 5:10am On Aug 31, 2020
If covid subsides, there is a guarantee sir. Ask your dean why classes can NEVER remain solely online and he/she will enlighten you what American education system entails and what is needed for certain programs to remain accredited. It is not about what students and teachers want, it is about the regulations of the individual accreditation boards. And to burst your bubbles, you're wrong when you said "Most Professors...", I would rather say, "very few Professors..."

pompeiimagnus:

There are no guarantees that in-person classes would resume by Spring. Most Professors and students even prefer the online classes, and many schools are already adapting to this hybrid system. COVID has shown that remote learning is very possible. The folks mainly affected are international students, due to our visa status and its inherent restrictions.

(1) (2) (3) ... (549) (550) (551) (552) (553) (554) (555) ... (779)

Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 10 / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedure? / Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56