Stats: 3,325,099 members, 8,420,334 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 04:45 PM

POTUSUK's Posts

Nairaland ForumPOTUSUK's ProfilePOTUSUK's Posts

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)

TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 11:49pm On Sep 19, 2020
Hey ladies and gents — anyone has accomodation to share in Calgary? I’m looking to rent one ASAP please let me know.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 11:39pm On Sep 13, 2020
yes so, slow but steady ....
SlowlybtSurely:
Congrats on your landing!
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 9:26pm On Sep 13, 2020
Thanks everyone for what you do. Arrived Canada yesterday and in self isolation now. It was a smooth but long flight.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 5:50pm On Aug 29, 2020
hey guys, any oil and gas groups (WhatsApp or telegram?); I wouldn't mind going one oo...please let me know!
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 5:45pm On Aug 29, 2020
replied to you again. Let me know what you need please.

einsteino:
Hello, please I have replied.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 5:44pm On Aug 29, 2020
Yep, surely.
jjohndoe83:
Leaving from Nigeria?
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 5:06pm On Aug 29, 2020
Hey oohunt,

Thank you so much for your robust response; arrival tips and how to be healthy. Very wise words!. I see you're now very much settled down now. Best wishes!

I read your response going back to Canada, oh girl, was it a pleasant experience? mine is quite sorted as I booked via emirates (although they've had to move the flight as per Naija's postponement of into flights resumption).

I'd just head to Toronto, since i'm isolating. Afterwards, I'd decide on where to move on to next as I navigate the job market --looking for survival and professional jobs. (Please I need tips on this, a lot! man gas wack!)

I am right now navigating how to get a negative COVID-19 PCR Test Certificate. (anyone who has undergone this process might please give guidelines on how to get one)

I see in the ArriveCAN app, there is an option for "if you're staying with family or friends" --so, that means I could stay with other people in a house, I guess. (?!) My best bet right now is to look for an airbnb to rent out for 14 days or so for the purpose of isolation. I've heard somewhere that some airbnb's don't want to accept people isolating / quarantining, but I gotta keep trying.

oohunt:
Hello. Which carrier is bringing you to Canada? Hope it is a reliable one to avoid my kind of experience.

You can book a connecting flight from Toronto to your destination. When we arrived 3 weeks ago, we took Air Canada from Toronto to Calgary. We had to wear our masks. All travelers do. Do a google search on arriving Canada, there is an online form you have to fill. Or you can download the ArriveCAN app and fill out your travel information and quarantine plan there. You have to do this 48 hours before your trip. We were given the same form on the plane when we landed. They will ask for it before you leave the airport.

You needed to be able to provide the details: address/accommodation, phone number, how to get groceries, etc. It is one of the conditions as you are not encouraged to have physical contact with ANYONE while you are on quarantine. We had our friends help us rent an apartment before we arrived. They helped us find a place, then we signed the lease electronically and made advance payment. Our friends would also shop for us and leave it by the door, we have not even seen them till now, even though our quarantine is over, lol. You are going to receive calls everyday from Alberta Health (I think) to ensure you are abiding by the rules. They will ask you questions like: if you live with someone who did not travel with you, do you have visitors, do you have a balcony where you can get fresh air, how you get your groceries etc.

The whole aim is to minimize the spread of the virus. You also have to monitor the news. After we arrived, there was news about flights that landed in Canada that had covid-19 cases. Thankfully ours was not one of them. (Link: https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/another-group-of-international-flights-land-in-canada-with-covid-19-patients-1.5067157)

Boost your immunity by taking Vitamin C, Vitamin D and Zinc. I did this for the whole family. Then use your hand sanitizer often, use disinfecting wipes where you need to and always, always wear your mask. I brought more than one set of mask for the family, thankfully we needed it because out 24 hour journey turned to almost 48 hours.

Safe journey. You can ask me more questions here if you need to.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 11:29pm On Aug 26, 2020
einsteino:
For Engineering professionals in Canada, you may wish to join the Nigerian Engineers in Canada group. It is a place where Nigerian Engineering professionals rub minds about their existing career or plans to restart their profession in Canada.

If interested, kindly send a pm. Thanks
I have just sent you a PM. Please acknowledge as I’m very keen to join in.
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 10:58pm On Aug 26, 2020
John Doe, how far na? We need to yarn! I’m landing on the 4th hopefully; how is prep and all coming ?

jjohndoe83:
You take style wicked o. cheesy Anyways, me I'm landing in Calgary on 3rd September and I want to be your friend. Can I send a PM?
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 10:40pm On Aug 26, 2020
I’m due to arrive first week of September and Calgary is my ideal destination an an oil and gas professional... but most flights destination is to Toronto. So I’m thinking Toronto atm.

What do you think? Do you think it’s a good idea?

Any similar quarantine options available in Toronto?

For those that just arrived Canada; how did you show quarantine plans? How did you get to your destination? I would imagine I’d have to drive myself to keep away from others. No? How to you show plans for medicals and groceries as stipulated by IRCC. All suggestions are welcome please.

Is there a WhatsApp group of oil and gas professionals to join in Calgary or Toronto or wherever? I would have to start job hunting soon enough.

Any other suggestions on how to make my landing smooth and quarantine easy would be appreciated.

1mole1:
Are you in need of a place to quarantine in *Calgary* when you land for just 2 weeks? If yes, Living Christ Evangelical Mission has a solution to this. Mail Pastor Jumoke via jumokeolatunde@yahoo.co.uk to book your stay in advance *for free*
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 11:54pm On Jul 20, 2020
Canny19_ or anyone else who has useful info -- Pls, so I'm due for Canada next week and would like to run some questions by you:
1. how did you charter a flight to Canada ?
2. is there an existing group (WhatsApp /facebook) of immigrants I can join? -- both for flight purposes and information sharing?
3. how did you go about booking for your isolation home? airbnb or what?
4.how did you arrange for grocery shopping and medicals too etc?

Please do let me know. Cheers

Canny19:
H'abroad through the eyes of a village boy. (Landing Gist)

PPR landed in January and for an unknown reason I decided to wait till April before traveling. Little did I know that China had other plans for me. Covid broke out and the government decided to shut her airports 2 weeks before my japa date. I wasn't too bothered cos I thought it was going to last for a month but one month became two then three. After realizing that the government's intention is to fail me one last time, I decided to join different evacuation flight groups. The first one I joined was that of 2500 dolls Immediately, I knew that flight wasn't meant for me or else POF will laccident. I chilled hoping fares will get cheaper. Truly, it became cheaper but still expensive for a broke ass dude like me. Then finally I was able to reroute my ticket to Cotonou, Paid extra money and Also paid overland airlines to take my group members to cotonou. That was how I left my father's land like a fugitive going to seek asylum in Canada my home country.

As a village boy that I am, I was more interested in experiencing my first plane experience when others just wanted to get to Canada. I had vowed to take as many pictures as possible but my battery failed me at a time.

Overland plane was small with little leg space. Before I could settle in to start taking pictures the pilot announced we were landing in 5 minutes. Shoo... 150k flight ended in 20 minutes, I must collect my change from those people.

Cotonou's airport was small and looked like a lagos luxury bus park. No efizzy, no international Airport feeling no wifi. At the ET counter we got a shocker of our lives, our land luggage must be checked in and must not exceed 7kg and our backpack must only have laptop in it, the language barrier also dealt with us cos the officers were French-speaking who were trying to communicate in English.
My backpack and hand luggage weighed a total of 16kg, I reqkized4 I was going to pay for the extra weight when they started weighing our hand luggage and backpack. I offloaded everything in one of my checked in bags and paid 60 usd for it. Some families paid upto 700 dolls just for their extra luggage... E be things o

We boarded and the plane was quite full, I sat at the last row by the aisle close to the kitchen. It seems they knew how much I like to eat before putting me there. I ensured nothing passed me by..... From water to juice to wine to beer to coffee. I had planned to eat everything that passed me by which I did, I kept Flagyl in my pocket incase my village people decided to use food to get me.

The flight to Addis Ababa was uneventful, no in-flight entertainment, no wifi just food and pretty hostesses. I kept looking out of the window trying to catch a glimpse of the scenery, it got to a time the man at the window seat asked me if I would like to exchange seats with him, I declined cos I didn't want to miss out on anything shared by the hostesses.

Touch down Addis Ababa and cold greeted me. I had my jacket in my bag but decided to form hard guy hard guy,my hardness became soft when a lady who clearly saw me shivering had to ask me why I was suffering myself. I thought I could withstand anything but my body failed me.

We wandered around the airport for a while before we got lodged in a 5 star Ethiopian airline hotel cos the next flight was 22 hours away.

The skylight hotel is indeed 5 star, it war my favorite part of the whole journey. I got my key card and went straight to my room. I opened the door and 2 king sized bed were looking at me... Shuuu... Me wey dey sleep for 3 and a half bunk bed go come sleep for two beds....This is indeed the H'abroad life. Trust ur boy na, I made sure I slept on the two beds at the same time.... I scattered myself everywhere. The weather was still cold even indoors, I took a warm bath and got under the duvet.

To be continued
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 7:51pm On Jul 04, 2020
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 8:49pm On Jul 02, 2020
still doesn't work.

damilola1978:
Remove all the spaces when you put the link in your url
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 7:43pm On Jul 02, 2020
Do you mean the numbers?

damilola1978:
its whatsapp link, edit the brackets away
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 3:56pm On Jul 02, 2020
Is this a WhatsApp link or what? Not going through!

koolx213:
Forwarded Message
Special invitation!

We are inviting you to join the platform that is facilitating evacuation flights from Nigeria to Canada and back to Nigeria via Abuja, Lagos and Toronto.

Tentatively, Azman Airline agreed to use their news Airbus for the evacuation and we are facilitating all the necessary permits with the following government agencies; Canada Ministry of Transportation, Ministry of Immigration, Global Affair, and Nigeria Presidential Task Force of covid 19 with the help of few members of parliament in Canada.

The tentative date to depart Nigeria is 15th of July. Flight is only for Canadian Citizens, PR holders and Student visa before March 15, 2020.
This is a direct flight, the airline will notify us of the cost in few days and payment goes directly to the the airline.

Please join the platform for via this link for update

https:///IExMuntP6LF6jLtSNmrthH

NOTE: YOU ARE NOT PAYING TO A PRIVATE ACCOUNT OR AGENT. WHEN THE TIME COMES, YOU PAY DIRECTLY TO THE AIRLINE IN LAGOS OR ABUJA.

Thank You!
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 3:55pm On Jul 02, 2020
[quote author=damilola1978 post=91297191][/quote]Is this a WhatsApp link or what? Not going through!
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 3:54pm On Jul 02, 2020
Oh really? They weren’t allowed to land? I thought we heard two weeks ago that they actually landed! Are we talking about the same air peace flight that air lifted peeps through Lomé, Adis Ababa, Dublin and Edmonton?
TravelRe: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by POTUSUK: 8:27am On Jun 25, 2020
DeeLeye:
I wonder what those of us who couldn’t make it into the group will do.. please anyone with info should share. We need to get outta here
Exactly o. And I’m sure we’re plenty on this forum. Why can’t we arrange a chartered flight too— or create our WhatsApp forum— with anyone who knows their way around chartering planes.

More so, if we could make the Canadian government send a plane to pick COPR’s from Nigeria; that will be way cool. They did that for India COPR’s not long ago.

Let’s deliberate folks. Time is running out! We don’t know when FAAN will be done with their audio protocols info sharing .
TravelRe: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by POTUSUK: 7:41pm On Nov 10, 2019
[quote author=Silversurfer1 post=83896272][/quote]Oshe! This is clarity! Thanks so much @Silversurfer1
TravelRe: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 9 by POTUSUK:
Hello good people of this forum—

Please I need answers to the following questions:
1. Do we have to be a professional Engineer in other to get Engineering jobs in Canada?
2. If yes; is it generic for a Petroleum Engineer?
3. Can my being a member of Engineers Australia be directly transferred to Engineers Canada? Is this the same as been a professional Engineer?
4. Are there dedicated sites or forums on here for Petroleum Engineers looking for jobs in Canada?
5. My COPR city of destination is Edmonton. Does that mean I have to land at Edmonton and not say Calgary for example?
6. Which cities in Canada have the best prospects for a petroleum engineering job?

Thank you so much for your best efforts to respond and I wish everyone on here the best of luck!
TravelRe: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 8 by POTUSUK: 1:21am On Sep 06, 2019
Thanks @torkwase1 and congratulations-- yea, i guess i'd just wait this one out. Good luck to everyone else!
Torkwase1:
If the case analyst write something like "Review Required" for any of the info you provided- funds, education, work, medicals etc, then there could be a problem.
Otherwise, you just have to keep waiting, and exercise that patience a little longer. It's also a good thing if there's no problem, at least you don't have to worry about possible rejection of your application.
TravelRe: Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program - Connect Here Part 8 by POTUSUK: 5:51am On Sep 05, 2019
Hi team;

What exactly should I be looking for in a GCMS note? I ask because I ordered for one and on scheming through; everything seems to be in order.

To make matters worse; I contacted them saying it’s been more than 6 months I submitted my application but haven’t heard back (my background check is still pending; medicals passed; no interview). They responded saying: it just takes time for some people but document is in place.

Is this a normal trend? What to look for in a GCMS note that might hint an issue? Suggestions are welcomed on what to do in this instance.
TravelRe: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by POTUSUK: 6:52pm On Oct 12, 2018
Can Someone in the house answer this question biko oo

POTUSUK:
Please wanted to ask. Getting a Naija PCC from a third party site like e.g gateway.ng whats the downside to that?

I read online that getting a Naija PCC from a third party site like e.g gateway.ng has to be certified.
1. is this true?
2. If true, why?. How is the PCC obtained living in Nigeria different from that you obtain if its sent to you overseas?

3. Or is it the case that every PCC gotten is certified?

I await your responses. Gracias fam!
TravelRe: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 5 by POTUSUK: 7:36am On Oct 12, 2018
Please wanted to ask. Getting a Naija PCC from a third party site like e.g gateway.ng whats the downside to that?

I read online that getting a Naija PCC from a third party site like e.g gateway.ng has to be certified.
1. is this true?
2. If true, why?. How is the PCC obtained living in Nigeria different from that you obtain if its sent to you overseas?

3. Or is it the case that every PCC gotten is certified?

I await your responses. Gracias fam!
TravelRe: General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. by POTUSUK: 11:40am On Jan 17, 2017
Really, thats strange. Maybe naija play store doesnt have it. Weird!

OzyMigrant:
App is not on Play store bro
TravelRe: General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. by POTUSUK: 6:01am On Jan 17, 2017
Just use your google play store and install the app

Rett0:
Please can you post the link to the free download? I couldn't find the site. Thanks
TravelRe: General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. by POTUSUK: 6:53am On Jan 16, 2017
really, I use my app as it is. I just downloaded it though, Neve asked for a password. Are we talking about e2 pronounce app here?

OzyMigrant:
It cannot be accessed after installation unless you have a password.........usually your upgraded E2 account details.
TravelRe: General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. by POTUSUK: 2:20pm On Jan 15, 2017
e2 pronounce na app and can be downloaded for free na?... why pay?!

OzyMigrant:
mhen! to say those pronunciation apps go demoralize na understatement o, them don almost kill my spirit....imagine me nor fit pronounce "another" again, even after I don watch CNN taya.

Thanks for the hint bro, just finished watching E2 PTE describe image webinar.......it was an eye opener.

@Mamajaz, thanks for the input, like how much be the E2 pronunciation app?
TravelRe: General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. by POTUSUK: 2:18pm On Jan 15, 2017
Congrats once again bro. Pls what occupation and on what points did NSW nominate you?.

iceberg54:
For guys hoping to receive NSW nomination, looks like they've resumed for this year. Got their invitation yesterday, though I don't need it anymore.

All the best to everyone.
TravelRe: General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration. by POTUSUK: 1:41pm On Jan 07, 2017
TravelRe: Preparing For PTE? Get In Here by POTUSUK: 9:11am On Dec 29, 2016
okay...thanks for the great feedback

did you have to change your voice like Bnimz did?... or you just spoke clearly but not oyibo-ish?

mctowel01:
Sorry, you can't really rate the speaking. Just have a speaking template /strategy which you will use to answer the speaking questions. Ensure your recordings fit the tips required to effectively answer the questions.
You can use your earpiece, as far as the playback is clear. Changing headphones doesn't really influence preparations.
TravelRe: Preparing For PTE? Get In Here by POTUSUK: 6:23am On Dec 29, 2016
Yea...was able to download it. Thanks a bunch.

In the practice tests, how can one rate his scores. Like for speaking.... how would you know the computer can grab everything you've said. I just finished the speaking practise tests and didn't see scores.

Secondly, can i use my usual phone earpiece for the practise tests...or i have to go get a professional one like the pilots use?

mctowel01:
So, this is for those of us who are preparing for PTE as a medium to exchange information, preparatory materials and very important tips concerning writing the exam.
So let me start.. I know a lot of people have been looking for materials for PTE. I have uploaded it to a Dropbox account. You can download it from this link

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vrxfb23yh2jubz0/AACqQqja5SXpPfZkhvozNTyqa?dl=0

Edit.
If you download it successfully, please kindly indicate on this thread, so i ll be sure the link is still working.
Its a zip file of about 250mb.

. This thread is basically a PTE assistance thread and not for insults and banters. Those who have written the exam can come and share information and tips to we future test takers, especially those of us gunning for very high scores. Please help others by sending dropbox links to files not in this link.

1 2 3 4 (of 4 pages)