Stats: 3,327,150 members, 8,429,526 topics. Date: Friday, 19 June 2026 at 05:12 AM

Skepticus's Posts

Nairaland ForumSkepticus's ProfileSkepticus's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 (of 119 pages)

AgricultureRe: This Is The Snake Killing My Chickens & Tampering With Their Eggs In My Poultry by Skepticus: 3:24pm On Jan 14, 2020
ibietela2:
IT'S NOT BLACK MAMBA
I thought I was the only one to have corrected that stubborn donkey you quoted.

E still dey argue me.

His case is hopeless. Leave him to his ignorance
AgricultureRe: This Is The Snake Killing My Chickens & Tampering With Their Eggs In My Poultry by Skepticus: 3:15pm On Jan 14, 2020
sharpwriter:
You and one other person got it right. It's a spitting cobra.

I been dey laugh at comments since, cos every black snake to most nairalanders is a black mamba cheesy
And once you correct them, dem go start to talk nonsense.

Dem use am swear for dem say every black snake na mamba? grin
AgricultureRe: This Is The Snake Killing My Chickens & Tampering With Their Eggs In My Poultry by Skepticus: 3:13pm On Jan 14, 2020
Ebenezar2020:
you need sense. maybe black mamba isn't found in the potor potor landlocked land of bia'fraud.
I'm a zoologist who is also more into wildlife and Eco tourism so I won't bother myself to argue with u.
That your zoology degree is fraudulent but I'm not surprised, though.

In this God forsaken hell hole you all call a country, it's not news that guys bribe lecturers and ladies sleep with them for you all, to get a pass mark.

The only annoying thing is that, with your staggering ignorance, you have more chance to be a governor or president than one who has earn the best grades honestly, by studying diligently and being open-minded to learn from others. It's sad. No offence intended.
AgricultureRe: This Is The Snake Killing My Chickens & Tampering With Their Eggs In My Poultry by Skepticus: 3:07pm On Jan 14, 2020
theDEVILisHERE:
Black mamba is found in Nigeria and all over subsaharan Africa

..natgeo not always correct
Dis one even say NatGeo is not correct! grin

Chain, who did this to Nigerians?

God will punish all our leaders over the years for dropping the standard of our education so low that our young people are thinking like drunkards in a beer parlour!
AgricultureRe: This Is The Snake Killing My Chickens & Tampering With Their Eggs In My Poultry by Skepticus: 3:04pm On Jan 14, 2020
Ebenezar2020:
Black mamba isn't found in Nigeria?
this justified what I earlier said cos that's why your life is still where it is today because you feel you know it all.
that's why your life isn't progressing angry
It is not found in Nigeria.

Always accept correction and be willing to learn, you bunch of ignoramuses.

No wonder you often chose primitive unintelligent minds as your leaders. Just look at Buhari.
AgricultureRe: This Is The Snake Killing My Chickens & Tampering With Their Eggs In My Poultry by Skepticus: 3:02pm On Jan 14, 2020
shilenji:
that's a black mamba, very potent venom which kill within 20mins, a drrop is enough to kill 20 fully grown adult men, it is expected since you have a poultry, you can't really prevent dem from coming but you can atleast get snake traps or plant a particulr leaf called taba leaf it wards dem off
Dumbo, that's not a black mamba.

That's a black-necked red bellied spitting cobra native to the sub-saharan region.

Dem use am swear for una on nairaland, say any black-coloured snake una see na mamba? grin

As a matter of fact, black mambas are not black but slivery-grey. They are called black because the inside of their mouth is glossy black.
PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 12:24pm On Jan 14, 2020
TheWalkingMind:
Because those zoologist you're talking about have been to the remote forest of every village in every state of this country, thus and so every country in the Africa continent?

These animals may exist here, or anywhere apart from where it's reported.
Why do you people always refuse to learn even when your ignorance is being corrected?

Yesterday, one dumbo repeated the same line you just mentioned yesterday when I corrected him that Black Mambas are not found in Western Africa and that not all black snakes found in Nigeria are black mambas.

GamalNasser assertion that Tarsiers are not found in West Africa is correct. It's backed by years of research documented since the times European biologists began studying animals in details from the 1700s.

If you don't know a thing and someone gives an hint, try to read up more on it. You'll become knowledgeable.

Ignorance and our refusal to learn is the reason why Nigeria is in such mess because those who don't know are leading, those who know are shut down by the ignorant masses who exalt these foolish leaders. Just look at Buhari!
PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 12:16pm On Jan 14, 2020
IAMPhoenix007:
[color=#006600][/color]

yeah are you right "mort". I wonder why people are calling them Bushbabies. They are mouse lemurs
They are not mouse lemurs. These are galagos

Lemurs are restricted to the islands in Madagascar.

However, lemurs are believed to be descended from Mainland African Bush babies.
PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 12:14pm On Jan 14, 2020
mayormick:
You may be right cause I am just knowing galagos through you now, but I feel they are meerkat cause someone commented they kill snakes for fun and searching about galagos? I don't see them killing snakes for fun and moreover they looked almost the same though, seems is difficult to differentiate between the two,(meerkat and galagos) with their images. Thanks anyway
Mongooses are the ones notorious for killing snakes. Meerkats do too but occasionally. Well, Galagos are frugivores (fruit eaters), eat lives and sometimes, insects.

Pictures 1 and 2 are meerkats. Notice the size of the head and eyes and compare with pictures 3 and 4 which are that of a lesser Galagos.

PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 11:47am On Jan 14, 2020
eherbal:
I think its a meer cat
Those are not meerkats.

That is a Galagos (Bush Baby). Meerkats don't have head as large as those in the photos and eyes are very small.

This is coming from a lifelong fan of meerkats.

Presently watching Meerkat Manor Season 3
PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 11:46am On Jan 14, 2020
K00da:
The only animal that kill snake for a living is mongoose. Others are scared of snakes but might approach snake if they are hungry e.g eagle
Meerkats do also, though occasionally. They are also in mongoose family and share typical mongoose traits of being naturally immune to venoms of certain snakes. Their blood vessels is built in a way that doesn't facilitate the spread of venom in the blood stream.

By the way, the animal up there is a Galagos, also, known as Bush baby, the big head and extremely large eyes gave it away. Mongooses and Meerkats don't have head that big and large eyes.

The Bush baby is also in the same family with lemurs (restricted only to Madagascar and is believed to have descended from Bush babies), Loris, the Potto or softly softly (Pottos are much slower).
PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 11:42am On Jan 14, 2020
i8sins:
what's up with this kind of animal that people are catching these days? !
The rapid expansion and increase in population of the human specie has led to further encroachment on wild life for food and shelter.

This is putting so much strain and stress on animal species that you wouldn't normally see in the open as they are hustling for food and shelter within limited spaces. The harmattan and frequent bush burning has reduced their access to food, so they are coming out to get it.

Galagos are generally shy animals
PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 11:37am On Jan 14, 2020
mrbillz:
Not so sure, but with it’s bulgy eyes and long tail. Looks more like a “galago”. I stand to be corrected
You are right. It is.
PetsRe: My Kids Caught These Little Animals That Fell Down From A Tree (Photos) by Skepticus: 11:36am On Jan 14, 2020
mayormick:
They are called meerkat, "Meerkats, being wild animals, make poor pets". Read they can be aggressive especially towards guest but will scent - mark their owner and their territory. All this from google bro
Those are not meerkats.

That is a Galagos (Bush Baby). Meerkats don't have head as large as those in the photos and eyes are very small.

This is coming from a lifelong fan of meerkats.

Presently watching Meerkat Manor Season 3
BusinessRe: Court Seals Shoprite In Umuahia Over Loan Default (photos) by Skepticus: 10:02pm On Jan 13, 2020

If you have never had a business in abia state and you think of opening one, you better keep your money ooo.

The spirit of indebtedness is spreading everywhere from the government house.

Even Shoprite all the way from South Africa isn't spared grin

Abians, how una dey take cope? No doubt, Nigerian politicians are useless but the Governors who have ruled Abia State since 1999 seem to be operating on a super-special level of uselessness.

Dem suppose carry the 3 of them and burn them with fuel in broad day light.
FamilyRe: Why Do Good Girls Always Regret by Skepticus: 5:20pm On Jan 13, 2020
Kelechi009:
Quick question: Why do good girls always have a feeling of regret when things don't work out for them?

You would hear statements like:

- Bad girls get the best husbands
- All my friends were doing Runs in school, i kept myself. God look at me now, they are all married.

- This good girl thing doesn't pay abeg.
- After every thing no job, i should have dated that Yahoo guy that was toasting me.

lalasticlala
Mynd44 OAM4J dominique.
Because they were never "good" in the first place.

They are only pretending to be and when life in all of its honesty, slaps them with cold reality, they begin to project their own weaknesses, insecurity or plain fate into others.
PoliticsRe: Buhari Signs 2019 Finance Bill Into Law, VAT Now 7.5% by Skepticus: 1:28pm On Jan 13, 2020

Mumus dey complain.

The 7.5% VAT was already being deducted since December 2019.

If u know, u know!
CrimeRe: Thief Set Ablaze In Korina, Benue State By Angry Youths (Graphic Photos) by Skepticus: 1:27pm On Jan 13, 2020
mbahdi:
All these nairalanders are all hypocrites
If you ever fall into the hands of these guys,u will even pray worst should be done to them.
If truelly he's a robber.he deserves this.
And those shouting our politicians.
Did any politician came to your house to Robb u?there worked for the positions there are today.if u work yours.you also will embezzle like them.
We only condemn corruption if we are not benefiting from it or we are not d one doing it.
#kill them all.any child wey say him mama or d community no go sleep that child also no go sleep.
I tire ooo.

I was always against jungle justice and asking people to attack politicians till some idiots attack me and inflict machete cuts on me, trying to kill me just because they wan collect my laptop. I was lucky to have escaped but with scars on my body.

The question I kept asking was that why would you want to kill me and inflict injuries on me after getting what you want and I didn't even resist? Why you go wan kill another guy man wey dey hustle like u?

Politicians wey be notorious thief dey steal my money but at least, e nor kill me, I dey wake up with hope say I go make am one day.

From that day, I vowed to participate in any jungle justice netted out to robbers especially the ones who attempt to kill or maim! Na me go buy fuel sef. It's that serious.
HealthRe: Does Anyone Know The Name Of This Snake? by Skepticus: 1:13pm On Jan 13, 2020
Tenshades:
If you haven't been with snake catchers before, go and sit down somewhere.

How many forests have you been to?
How many snakes do you know you dumb ass?

Don't just sit in ur bug ridden chair and type trash. Enter forests and come back here to tell us what you have seen.
Your brain is empty. Go back to your beer parlour and continue talking nonsense with your ignorant peers.
HealthRe: Does Anyone Know The Name Of This Snake? by Skepticus: 1:12pm On Jan 13, 2020
Safaxano:
My neighbor has an undeveloped plot and I’ve had to kill over 20 of this same type of snakes, cos they keep crawling into my compound.

I decided to take a good pix of the one I killed the other night, maybe someone will help identify if it’s poisonous.

NB. I’ve just paid to clear the plot.
OP, open its mouth (be careful though) and the position of its fangs (if it has) would tell you more.

Since you gave limited information, my suspicion points at the eastern rat snake or the west african forest cobra (which is highly venomous).

Either way, you have to be careful, eggs of these snakes hatch around this period, so, there is likely to be much serpentine activity. After the land has been cleared, make sure to fumigate and smoke every hole and other places you feel reptiles may be hiding or laying eggs.
HealthRe: Does Anyone Know The Name Of This Snake? by Skepticus: 1:02pm On Jan 13, 2020
felzylix:
For those of you shouting black mamba black mamba... Please be informed that black mamba didn't get it's name from it's skin colour but it's inside mouth which is wickedly black and glossy.
So, you can't tell if it's black mamba or not as there many black snakes out there that aren't mambas.
From my little knowledge of snakes, I can tell it's venomous given the shape of the head which is triangular.
Non- venormous snake have circular pupil while venormous have elliptical pupil which is obvious here.
My verdict:
Name: I don't know
Venom: 100% venomous.
I don't know why the majority of Nigerians who are on this forum call every snake on front page, Black Mambas. Despite being corrected severally, they keep mentioning black mambas.

The idiots don't even know that Black Mambas are not found in Western Africa.
HealthRe: Does Anyone Know The Name Of This Snake? by Skepticus: 12:59pm On Jan 13, 2020
Tenshades:
Hahahahahaaha...are u fvcking kidding mehuh?? Black mamba isnt in West africa like seriouslyhuh Which book u read am fromhuh?

How many forest u don enterhuh

This is seriously hilarious. WTFhuh?

Is Nigeria not a west african country again??

Are u fvcking kidding mehuh
Black mambas have never been found in Western Africa, dumbo!

A lot of you on this forum hardly learn nor bother to learn and would hardly accept correction.

No wonder you are being ruled by equally stupid louts you call leaders.

Back to your topic, The black mambas are restricted only to Southern Africa and their closest relative in Western Africa is the green mamba. The identifying sign of a black mamba is the black colouring of its inner mouth and its very aggressive disposition. It's venom, though very potent isn't as deadly as that of the Cape Cobra.

However, there are many species of snakes (venomous and nonvenomous) that mimic the looks of these mambas

From the photos of the OP here, I'm guessing it's an eastern rat snake or the West African forest cobra.
RomanceRe: What Sort Of Simp Is This? by Skepticus: 7:21pm On Jan 12, 2020
Martinez39:
grin grin grin Women!

In the very short video below (which you have to watch till the very end to understand), we can see how being a simp and fool for love has led a man into a terrible position where he is being used and can be discarded without a sweat. cheesy Also, notice the woman's answers at the very end and see why you can't trust women just because you love her. Boys, watch this very short video and tell us the great foolish things you have done because you were in love, just simping, or being a white knight.

Ubunja, CAPSLOCKED, pansophist, AstroG, healthserve, JONNYSPUTE, emmaodet, lukui, HARDDON

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rksYbGA1QS8
I'm not surprised, seeing it that this embarrassing level of simping is coming from western world men.

Most of them (including the SJWs) are almost off the radar of decent masculinity.

Our boys here too are catching up very fast with their fellow manginas in the western world. I've read stories here, of university kids giving their tuition money to girlfriends for birthdays.
RomanceRe: What Sort Of Simp Is This? by Skepticus: 7:06pm On Jan 12, 2020
BetWinners:
Yes.I do use my refinement to attract them & fucck you for calling me a v@gina worshipper.Nigerian men have got to do better.I want them to do better & attain their full potentials.
P.S.I gave your post a "like" because I enjoy reading your posts on here
wink wink

No hard feelings. I just got it that your comment was based on the bolded part of clown's comment you quoted.

You could still have dropped your comment without quoting that clown. She started her comment, referring to members of the nairaland manosphere (red-pillers) as Incels

I took an offense from there thinking that you quoted the idiot to support everything she said.
RomanceRe: What Sort Of Simp Is This? by Skepticus: 5:50pm On Jan 12, 2020
BetWinners:
@Emboldened This is one of the qualities I love in women.The way they can be harsh with their words/statements while having a hint of truth in them.
You are very right.The majority of Nigerian males both young & old are unrefined.From the way they speak to the way they walk.Just the sight of them sometimes is a complete turn-off.If I were female,I would stay very far away from many of them
Bro, It's too early for this level of vagina worshipping! The ladies aren't any better.

By the way, for the fact that a high number of them are unrefined and just whipping cocks around, it's an advantage to you who is "refined".

Use it to great advantage!
CelebritiesRe: Linda Ikeji Got The Bouquet At Sandra's Wedding by Skepticus: 5:48pm On Jan 12, 2020
splashbaby:
You dey provoke ooo
Not really!

But I dey always wonder wetin Nigerian men dey see in them.

Ohhh... I forgot, the men set, na nonsense!
CelebritiesRe: Linda Ikeji Got The Bouquet At Sandra's Wedding by Skepticus: 5:09pm On Jan 12, 2020

Look at them. Stupid Nigerian ladies.

Na wetin dia empty brains sabi be dat.

Marriage, sex, bags, clothes etc.
TravelRe: Nigerian Asylum Seeker ‘Spent 21 Years Sleeping On London Buses’ by Skepticus: 5:07pm On Jan 12, 2020
kingphilip:
Though it tarry, wait for it it will surely come. After 21 years, he has finally gotten a leave to remain

May 2020 bestow upon us those blessings that have eluded us for previous years
One thing a lot of people don't know is that achievement is subjective. The leave to remain might be what he wanted all along and he'll be satisfied.

That you can't sacrifice that much for something doesn't mean that others can't sacrifice their comfort and suffer much to achieve that.
SportsRe: The 10 Premier League Records Liverpool Could Break This Season by Skepticus:
Teebilion:
As much as people don't like city , They hold Seven of those Ten records , Manchester City a joy to watch in football
As in ehnnnn...

But most of these stupid English football team fans would never acknowledge Pep Guardiola's achievements (probably because of their hate for Barcelona's dominance in the late 2000's).

Manchester City having a dip in form this season (which is always inevitable), has had some of them claiming that he is bad at coaching.

A bad coach who has set standards that Liverpool is trying to reach?
PoliticsRe: Wedding Of Mahmud Nuhu Ribadu & Amina Aliyu Ismaila (Photos) by Skepticus: 3:39pm On Jan 11, 2020
Jgoldie:
They know themselves
Politicians are businessmen
At that wedding ,they already know who is gonna be president by 2023.

But the partisan politicians and tribalistic fools on this forum no go hear you.

By the way, a new meme is born! Hallelujah!!

Foreign AffairsRe: US Strike Targeting Mullah Nangyalay, Taliban Commander Causes Civilian Casualty by Skepticus: 10:06pm On Jan 10, 2020
Sommydisaster:
smiley

I REALLY DON'T KNOW THE ESSENCE OF ALL THESE POWER TUSSLE

IRAN SHOULD JUST ACT LOW AND LET PEACE REIGN

ACTING LOW DOESN'T MEAN YOU'VE LOST IT ALL

Meanwhile check out my signature and thread for beautiful offers on electronics
You should act low when I'm physically trying to eliminate you, ba?

No wonder, your brain is a disaster!
RomanceRe: Can A Woman Demand For Sex From Her Husband And How? by Skepticus: 4:29pm On Jan 10, 2020
ubunja:
that Shera is unstoppable. The word she created to describe women who chase men, "Pick Meisha", has just made it into the Urban Dictionary. She's making waves.

But don't worry, Shera's tricks and games only work if you want to use money to get women. That's why I'm strongly against using money. Even she herself has said it many times.

But that having been said, I need guys to watch her videos. I don't want an echo chamber. Guys must make time to understand the Gold Digger's game. But most of these vids will piss many guys off. But guys still need to listen.
The ego and often over-rational nature of guys won't make them want to listen and it is often the cause of them constantly loosing. I've been following Shera for about a year now and her tips on gold digging is top notch. There was this amazing tip I learnt from her and this tip is one which you had touched on, in your miseducations. It was about successful, high class gold-diggers being the masters of withholding sex, making men invest more in resources (cash and other material things) before letting it out. It was crazy as I always thought it was the opposite. Even, the female commenters (who are often your critics) were shocked that it actually worked.

Women stand to learn a lot from your miseducations a lot as they have a fair element of red-pilling by nurture. Forget the criticism and occasionally shit testing they try on you. It's part of their red-pilling nature. I've noticed that your vilest critics are men despite the fact that the miseducations were made to save them. Their ego, rationality won't make a lot of them have sense and that's why they always try to shout you down (which is ego-based).

In the end, they always learn albeit late.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 (of 119 pages)