IronGalaxy: Lol, if they are so diverse why are we bombarded with the same sounding musicans on Trace, ChannelO, etc?, why is that when your artists try to do something different end up doing Afrobeats again ? Your rappers end up singing bro! In SA it's different, AKA sold gold, Kwesta sold platinum, So did Nasty C. Our Gospel artists make crazy numbers, Our soul musicians too.
I told you already most of our genres are for internal consumption
we have everything even amapiano/house search for niniola on YouTube
patoranking sings dancehall pasuma sings fuji hip hop- tekno, Falz r n b -darey(once made a hit with Soweto choir)
is essence by Wizkid and terms afrobeat?
you guys group too much stuff as afrobeats that's the problem only burnaboy,Davido,yemi Alade etc sing afrobeats
IronGalaxy: In Nigeria you are stuck with Afrobeat. Imagine if you were listening to that 24 hours a day! South African radio can play a mapiano track from Kabza, a rap track from Nasty or A-Reece, a soul number from Zonke, a rock track from The Parlotones etc , all within an hour
you don't know how diverse our genres are you don't stop guessing afrobeats is just the one the world knows
TMKsouth: I remember telling Jace and XhosaNstra years back that I would witness Nigerians paying djs in Joburg to play afrobeats. And then we would be bombarded with "autotune" for an hour or so and then return back to House and afro pop.
I'm proud of SA though, we dance to our own beat over here (amapiano right now) - and not follow afrobeats like sheep as the rest of Africa is doing.
IronGalaxy: Exactly. hence I say vocally we are unmatched. Where are Nigerian versions of Lira, Thandiswa Mazwai, Zonke, Unathi, Siphokazi etc? We are just bombarded with the samey type of artist that want to clone Wizkid and Davido. Where I concede that Nigerians got the game on lock though is that their artists think like businessmen, that's why Nigerian music is where is at right now
you don't know what you are saying
unlike me you're not focusing on the truth you just bringing up rubbish
IronGalaxy: Nigeria doesn't have the best Deejays since there's no dance music culture (I'm not talking about Shaku Shaku) I mean proper Deejays of Dance Music (House, Electro, Trance etc). It's no mistake we are regarded the world capital of house music. Same with our Hip Hop, we have been rapping since the 70's, There's an actual Hip Hop culture in SA (B-Boying, Graffiti, Cyphers, Skating) etc, the b-boying from Cape Town is probably the best in Africa. our rappers are unmatched as well since yours end up singing. Vocally again, we are unmatched, just listen to our gospel musicians...Is there anyone who's surpassed the legendary Miriam Makeba? why do you think The Soweto Gospel Choir has won the Grammy so many times?
mostly copied stuff that's why nigeria will always be on top the world has had enough of nigga rap,b boying electo etc all of that already have big guys in the US especially
there's no dance music culture? stop guessing go on YouTube
TMKsouth: Thats why u can't trust Wikipedia. They need to update it. Ladysmith Black Mambazo has 9 Grammy's by now (see pics). That's why I said over a dozen singing Grammy's in total for SA.
I think I've proven my point that SA is a singing powerhouse. You owe me an apology for comparing us to Benin
I still maintain my statement
Benin Republic is better than you at singing
Angelique Kidjo is beninese
Grammys don't matter in music
Fela Kuti never won one
and it's a group so they gave all nine of them not like it's nine different songs
TMKsouth: 1. And Cher's 'Believe' is not computer voice effect? It is.
2. There's a reason SA has 39 Grammy Awards (over a dozen for singing), we can sing! Our choral music, accapela and opera are rated among the best in the world. All u have in Nigeria is the vibe, and not the voice - hence the over reliance on autotune.
List of South African Grammy Award winners and nominees
TMKsouth: That's coz it really irritates me. Remember SA is a singing nation and have been labelled as having very beautiful voices. So autotune (computer voice) is just an assault on our senses.
vankelvin: I don't think so. Ghanaians do understand Nigerian pidgin well well. Nigerians rather have some level of difficulty understanding Ghanaian pidgin because ours is a mixture of English and the various local languages
lol then what is ours? just English? are you kidding? ghanian pidgin is plain compared to Lagos pidgin not to talk of Warri pidgin ghanians would say "no p" Nigeria would say "no wahala" "no yawa" no palaver"
now which is closer to English?
like I said Nigerian pidgin is no longer in the status of a pidgin it's a Creole now like Jamaican patios
TMKsouth: My former SA colleague was a huge fan of Asa back around 2010. I think that was the height of her success. She's a Tracy Chapman type, isn't she?
Zooposki: Seems a lot of Yoruba people on this forum are starting to lose their sense of reasoning. Very soon all of you will form your own terror group like IPOB and Fulani Herdsmen. Good luck with that.
Zooposki: Believe them to your own detriment. That’s how they shackled you like animals the first time using the curse of Ham to perpetrate their evil, and shipped you across the ocean to work for free on their plantation. Very soon, there will be a repeat.
They will say you are a primate and a Homo Naledi and enslave and work you for free. Shey they have a lot of Planet ape movies showing all the time now. Lol.
if you forget your own people sold Africans into slavery the Europeans didn't venture into the interiors of Africa
if they say you are a primate don't you have mouth to say yours?
HornyTave: Ogiamen means lord of water. Sure, the Bini and Ife romance cant be written off. it will be against history to write it off. same way you cant write off the relationship of the Esan and Bini ( though both they fight for who stubborn pass - Lol ) This thing is very simple, Oranmiyan started the Oba dynasty, when he came from Ife, he met a well structured. state with chiefs, nobles and Kings. also He's the first Oba and 37th Ogiso. in Edo culture, kings are not made, they are born. if he like, make he London, the son of his sons will one day come back and be come king.
1.Oranmiyan didn't met savages in Igodomigodo, how did he become king without a fight? 2. Oranmiyan renamed Bini to Ile'Ibinu, what's the meaning of this word in Yoruba? 3. You don't know the history of a place than the king and indigene ( Oba affirmed the Oranmiyan Obaship Dynasty ) 4. When you decide to enjoy history, you'll understand Africans weren't savages before the white men came
exactly bro check out link in my signature for correct African history by a black American