Stats: 3,154,997 members, 7,825,087 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 May 2024 at 06:16 AM

Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup (17334 Views)

Jonathan To Reward Eagles For World Cup Ticket / Jonathan Congratulates The Eagles For Defeating Mali / Jonathan Thanks Eagles For “Masterly And Superlative Performance” (2) (3) (4)

Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Codedrock(m): 7:12am On Dec 20, 2013
[img]http://3.bp..com/-L5Lku9oaplY/UrPT2f55FXI/AAAAAAAAz6U/6itWg8BYQ0g/s1600/maradona.jpg[/img]
ARGENTINE soccer legend, Diego Armando Maradona has written off Nigeria and other group opponents and tipped Albiceleste to defeat the Super Eagles in their Group F match on June 25 in Porto allegre and go on to win the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Argentina, Nigeria, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Iran have been drawn in Group F, with the Lionel Messi-captained side hugely tipped to secure the top spot in what observers see as a relatively easy group, when compared with others.

In their three previous confrontations with Argentina at the World Cup, the Eagles ended on the losing side and despite a resurgence in the attacking play of the African champions, Maradona, insisted that the current South American giants have enough firepower to see off all their prospective opponents in Brazil.

Speaking in an interview with TyC Sports in Argentina, Maradona said “I do not see any team in group F beating us. We are too strong for them. We are going to win our third World Cup. It is going to happen again in Brazil. Argentina will be champions of the world, but they are going to have to fight against the ‘morochos’ [Brazil]. They are very tough.. The success of 1986 will be repeated and it will be in Brazil.”

Taking a look at the other top teams that can give Argentina a good run for their money, Maradona said “Germany and Holland are in good shape, Italy not so much and Spain are getting bored of their own tactics. They go forward and forward, but cannot convert.”

Meanwhile, in order to get the team in top shape for the World Cup, football officials in Argentina confirmed last night that Argentina will play a friendly match against Slovenia on June 1, which is expected to be the team’s last match before their first Group match against Bosnia-Herze
govina.

click to see Lmao: braless Ghanaian girl’s Brea.sts Pulls Out Off Cloth as she Danced at a Muslim Marriage Ceremony[pic&vid]

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2013/12/maradona-writes-eagles/
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Nobody: 7:13am On Dec 20, 2013
He should go and sit down, useless manager

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Burger01(m): 7:27am On Dec 20, 2013
^^^

He should go and DIE jare.

sad

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Nobody: 7:29am On Dec 20, 2013
You n your big mouth!
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Hardheolar(m): 7:40am On Dec 20, 2013
Lets watch out.
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Codedrock(m): 8:19am On Dec 20, 2013
Titiluvly: You n your big mouth!
EXACTLY.........
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by bizibrain(m): 8:25am On Dec 20, 2013
He should go and die if Nigeria Top group F

Foolish man talking as if he know it all.

Despite messi nd his coach being a strong pillar of argentina team, dey didnt talk dis crap.
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by omar22(m): 8:26am On Dec 20, 2013
Boy!!!

Someone speaks and all of you lot blows a blood vessel

I guess that's the reaction they wanted.
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Dannylux: 9:18am On Dec 20, 2013
Hmm.. just like always. Brag and lose..

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Codedrock(m): 10:18am On Dec 20, 2013
Dannylux: Hmm.. just like always. Brag and lose..
he isn't worth a coach
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Nobody: 10:51am On Dec 20, 2013
Codedrock: [img]http://3.bp..com/-L5Lku9oaplY/UrPT2f55FXI/AAAAAAAAz6U/6itWg8BYQ0g/s1600/maradona.jpg[/img]
ARGENTINE soccer legend, Diego Armando Maradona has written off Nigeria and other group opponents and tipped Albiceleste to defeat the Super Eagles in their Group F match on June 25 in Porto allegre and go on to win the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.
Argentina, Nigeria, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Iran have been drawn in Group F, with the Lionel Messi-captained side hugely tipped to secure the top spot in what observers see as a relatively easy group, when compared with others.
In their three previous confrontations with Argentina at the World Cup, the Eagles ended on the losing side and despite a resurgence in the attacking play of the African champions, Maradona, insisted that the current South American giants have enough firepower to see off all their prospective opponents in Brazil.
Speaking in an interview with TyC Sports in Argentina, Maradona said “I do not see any team in group F beating us. We are too strong for them. We are going to win our third World Cup. It is going to happen again in Brazil. Argentina will be champions of the world, but they are going to have to fight against the ‘morochos’ [Brazil]. They are very tough.. The success of 1986 will be repeated and it will be in Brazil.”
Taking a look at the other top teams that can give Argentina a good run for their money, Maradona said “Germany and Holland are in good shape, Italy not so much and Spain are getting bored of their own tactics. They go forward and forward, but cannot convert.”
Meanwhile, in order to get the team in top shape for the World Cup, football officials in Argentina confirmed last night that Argentina will play a friendly match against Slovenia on June 1, which is expected to be the team’s last match before their first Group match against Bosnia-Herzegovina.

Culled from:
http://www./wc-brazil-2014-maradona-writes-off-the-s.xhtml

gringringrin
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 11:38am On Dec 20, 2013
In the words of NFF and Keshi "Anyone can say anything, we will know who's the better team on the field of play". Belgium has one of the easiest groups, but we haven't heard anything from their camp. Brazil is sure to top their group, but nobody talk anything, yet Maradona and that mumu Bosnian coach just dey yeye themselves up and down, counting their eggs before they hatch. SMH

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by andyibu3(m): 2:12pm On Dec 20, 2013
Maradona needs to be written-off. Na who even give the crackhead microphone to dey yarn dust.

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by calibet(m): 2:13pm On Dec 20, 2013
no problem say what you like, cos my country aim higher, you are talking of beating us in group stage, while we are talking of beating anybody at the finals to win the 2014 world cup for the first time.

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Prowizy2(m): 2:15pm On Dec 20, 2013
Maradona is right

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by seangy4konji: 2:15pm On Dec 20, 2013
Go and die...Oju e lo ma she wa ri ni gba ti aban gbe trophy lo le...Not awon omo ti ama shi lo le in olamides voice.

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by LMAyedun(m): 2:15pm On Dec 20, 2013
He should park well jare!
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by damibravo(m): 2:15pm On Dec 20, 2013
who cares about is opinion....

isokuso oshi....

i no dey read such news sef... sad
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Olarewajub: 2:16pm On Dec 20, 2013
Lets wait and see.
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Polio: 2:16pm On Dec 20, 2013
Boneda: He should go and sit down, useless manager

Dont be bitter... He has given a fair assessment and i agree with him.... We have no fu...cking chance!

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Polio: 2:18pm On Dec 20, 2013
bizibrain: He should go and die if Nigeria Top group F

Foolish man talking as if he know it all.

Despite messi nd his coach being a strong pillar of argentina team, dey didnt talk dis crap.

What nonsense are you talking about?!

Bigging up the chances of his country ... what is wrong with that?

I suggest you big up your country and worry about what other nationals are saying about theirs...

On another front, he his talking real talk ... Nigeria have no fuc..king chance of topping the group!

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Nobody: 2:18pm On Dec 20, 2013
Talk is free
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Richy4(m): 2:19pm On Dec 20, 2013
what did you expect him to say? that he has written off his country. he was just saying what his people expected from him.

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by jmoore(m): 2:19pm On Dec 20, 2013
He should place $1million bet against Nigeria.

Speaking in an interview with TyC Sports in Argentina, Maradona said “I do not see any team in group F beating us.
Draw in all their matches is possible. 3 points for Argentina after three games.

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by 360command: 2:20pm On Dec 20, 2013
I see argentina crashing out like Spain during the france 98 worldcup. This will happen in brazil 2014.

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by megacity: 2:23pm On Dec 20, 2013
they said the man used to smoke something

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Nobody: 2:24pm On Dec 20, 2013
IMHO, Dis shud motivate d eagles.
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by samistry(m): 2:24pm On Dec 20, 2013
He shld go and die in cocaine
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by emalek86(m): 2:26pm On Dec 20, 2013
in oshiomole voice go and die

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by Danhumprey: 2:30pm On Dec 20, 2013
I guess he is just making mouth. He forgot that football is not Mathematics.
Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by skyscraperTM(m): 2:30pm On Dec 20, 2013
Shebi he was there when the golden eaglets won the world cup... The old man should just chillax and see what'll happen.

Re: Maradona Writes-off The Super Eagles For 2014 World Cup by osewanu(m): 2:30pm On Dec 20, 2013
Exactly what they said at italia 90 before getting a rude shock from cameroun. These guys have a short memory sha!

Super Eagles Striker, Taiwo Awoniyi Makes Bundesliga Team Of The Week / Fernando Torres Announces Retirement / AFCON 2021: Ivory Coast Vs Sierra Leone (2 - 2) On 16th January 2022