Stats: 3,195,292 members, 7,957,748 topics. Date: Tuesday, 24 September 2024 at 07:03 PM

Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals (3236 Views)

Funds Looted From Nigeria In Last 5 Years Can Service 3 Annual Budgets – EFCC / 2016 Budgets By States In Nigeria.................check Your States Own. / Aregbesola Budgets 18.6 Billion Naira For His Office - Omokri (2) (3) (4)

Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by DonColz1(m): 1:19am On Dec 24, 2013
The Presidency will next year spend N34.5m on two wild animals for the State House Zoo and car trackers for presidential ground fleet as well as utility vehicles.
Out of the sum, N14.5m was set aside in the 2014 budget as the cost of the two animals whose names were not given and N20m for the trackers.
Extra N2m is expected to be expended on two fleet tracking base stations.
These are contained in the details of the Appropriation bill presented by President Goodluck Jonathan through the Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, to the National Assembly last week.
Also contained in the plan is the sum of N50m for the improvement of electrical installations inside the old Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.
Apart from the amount earmarked for the animals, N8m is budgeted for the upgrading and maintenance of the State House zoo. The renovation of the horses’ stables/paddock for the zoo will gulp N15m.
About N5m will also be spent on the purchase of wildlife capture equipment.
The N50m was appropriated at a time work is already ongoing on new N2.2bn banquet hall approved for the Villa by the Federal Executive Council in November 2012.
The electrification project was however marked “ongoing” in the budget details to give an indication that work had already started and would be completed under the new budget.
Projects that will be carried out in the State House Medical Centre in the new year include the building and installation of oxygen/other gases generating plant at N70m; construction of VIP Wing -N1.3bn; completion of extension of Dental Wing, N50m; construction of central sterilising building,N50m and the provision of MRI building and mortuary conversion at the cost of N17.5m.
An X-ray machine will be purchased at a cost of N35m; mammography machine, N60m; embalming machine, N1.65m and hydraulic post-mortem table,N4m.
The purchase of sports kits for the State House Sports Club will gulp N4. 2m.
The remodeling of the new Vice-President’s Guest House at 1, Yakubu Gowon, Crescent, Asokoro will gulp N215m; completion and rehabilitation of security quarters at Mpape Artillery and Asokoro, N30m; rehabilitation of Presidential/ministerial chalet at Airport, Abuja, N10m; and the rehabilitation of medical centre’s service quarters, N50m.
http://www.punchng.com/news/villa-zoo-jonathan-budgets-millions-of-naira-for-animals/
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by DonColz1(m): 1:42am On Dec 24, 2013
Later Jonathan would say that Nigeria has no money.
But see the way he is wasting the money.
The medical doctors are on strike, instead of him to pay them the money so that people would stop dying, he is trying to save the animals, is animals more important than human beings

Like this post if you think that Jonathan is a confused person

15 Likes

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by tybank: 2:18am On Dec 24, 2013
One of the animals must surely be an hippopotamus.

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Ikengawo: 2:18am On Dec 24, 2013
great move! a culture of respect and preservation of wildlife and our environment will help nigeria learn that their country means more than just politics and tribes.

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Ikengawo: 2:19am On Dec 24, 2013
tybank: One of the animals must sure be hippopotamus.

grammatical disaster..

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by tybank: 2:31am On Dec 24, 2013
Ikengawo:

grammatical disaster..
Typographical error,that's what it's called...shame on you
I guess u are the second animal,I will definitely check on you when I visit Aso rock next year.

20 Likes

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Brimmie(m): 2:34am On Dec 24, 2013
Na there dem wan dey breed new attack dogs? undecided

Make dem come pack those wey full NL sha!

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by tybank: 3:04am On Dec 24, 2013
Ikengawo: great move! a culture of respect and preservation of wildlife and our environment will help nigeria learn that their country means more than just politics and tribes.
Rubbish*Rubbish

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Ikengawo: 3:25am On Dec 24, 2013
tybank:
Typographical error,that's what it's called...shame on you
I guess u are the second animal,I will definitely check on you when I visit Aso rock next year.

Your GRAMMAR was trash, so it's a GRAMMATICAL disaster.

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by agbameta: 3:46am On Dec 24, 2013
So, na inside zoo den keep the 2 bingos and attack dogs Abati and okupe.

At least oponuchukwu is a good pet master and he takes good care oh his bingos..

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Danhumprey: 4:57am On Dec 24, 2013
tybank: One of the animals must surely be an hippopotamus.
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Danhumprey: 4:58am On Dec 24, 2013
What a wasteful government! undecided

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Ngwakwe: 5:04am On Dec 24, 2013
Danhumprey: What a wasteful government! undecided

Not so fast, even the Obamas' dog Bo costs the taxpayer thousands of dollars - his handler is reportedly paid over $100,000 a year.

www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2210323/Obama-family-costs-taxpayers-1-4BILLION-year.html

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by ISpiksDaTroof: 5:11am On Dec 24, 2013
Ikengawo: great move! a culture of respect and preservation of wildlife and our environment will help nigeria learn that their country means more than just politics and tribes.

Ok, now repeat this and keep a straight face when doing so.

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by ISpiksDaTroof: 5:12am On Dec 24, 2013
Ngwakwe:

Not so fast, even the Obamas' dog Bo costs the taxpayer thousands of dollars - his handler is reportedly paid over $100,000 a year.

www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2210323/Obama-family-costs-taxpayers-1-4BILLION-year.html
Compare the U.S economy and the American society to that of Nigeria.

14 Likes

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Ikengawo: 5:51am On Dec 24, 2013
The National Zoological Park, commonly known as the National Zoo, is one of the oldest zoos in the United States, and as part of the Smithsonian Institution, does not charge admission
Address: 3001 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20008
Opened: 1889
Area: 163 acres (66 ha)
Hours: Monday 10:00 am – 6:00 pm - See all
Phone: (202) 633-4888
Notable animals: Francois (since 2010), Tai Shan (since 2005), More
Exhibits: Great Cats, Reptile Discovery Center, Great Ape House, More

US Federal Zoo^ in case you didn't know that governments build zoos.
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Kingsley1000(m): 6:10am On Dec 24, 2013
Dis country sef...Our government couldn't comfortably manage humans na animals dem wan import*just dey look*
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by egift(m): 6:17am On Dec 24, 2013
Now the Zoologist of a President is practicing his profession. Come 2015, we will kick him out so he can be reporting to Discovery Channel from the jungle of Bayelsa grin

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by agbameta: 6:17am On Dec 24, 2013
Ikengawo:
Address: 3001 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC 20008
Opened: 1889
Area: 163 acres (66 ha)
Hours: Monday 10:00 am – 6:00 pm - See all
Phone: (202) 633-4888
Notable animals: Francois (since 2010), Tai Shan (since 2005), More
Exhibits: Great Cats, Reptile Discovery Center, Great Ape House, More

US Federal Zoo^ in case you didn't know that governments build zoos.

Ngwakwe:

1. Quoting the most powerful and richest country in the world against your country where millions of your people live on less than a dollar a day sounds dumb, thoughtless, mindless, clueless and reetarded.

2. Quoting the most powerful and richest country in the world against your country where the joker you call president refused to spend 1 kobo on your 2nd Niger bridge, but budgets millions for animals and their upkeep sounds dumb, thoughtless, mindless, clueless and reetarded. Maybe some animals are more important than you and your people.

3. In fact, you 2 are dumb, thoughtless, mindless, clueless and reetarded.

14 Likes

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Nobody: 6:31am On Dec 24, 2013
Oh well thank God he didn't budget billions for it. I was expecting to see billions of naira for state zoo but I was disappointed. He is a Zoologist so he deserves to have a Zoo. A medical doctor without a stethoscope is not fit to be called a medical doctor. grin grin

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Garrithe1st: 6:31am On Dec 24, 2013
agbameta: 1. Quoting the most powerful and richest country in the world against your country where millions of your people live on less than a dollar a day sounds dumb, thoughtless, mindless, clueless and reetarded.

2. Quoting the most powerful and richest country in the world against your country where the joker you call president refused to spend 1 kobo on your 2nd Niger bridge, but budgets millions for animals and their upkeep sounds dumb, thoughtless, mindless, clueless and reetarded. Maybe some animals are more important than you and your people.

angry angry angry

Niger bridge makes me cry –Kalu

Few weeks to Yuletide, former Abia State governor, Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu is disturbed that respite may yet come as travellers continue to use the lone Niger Bridge in Onitsha. Kalu said: “I am really emotional about this. I feel the pains of millions of Nigerians from the South-East to the North-Central,f rom Ikot Ekpene to Opobo. Going home in December is worse than spending 48 hours in Kirikiri Maximum Prisons.”

The former governor, who plied that route in 2012 bewailed the slow take-off facing the second bridge while condemning past administrations for using it as part of the ‘dividends’ of the Civil War.

“Yes, we are now talking of the Second Bridge 43 years after the war. In the American State of Maryland, there is a city called Sandy Point with the William Lane Jnr. Memorial Bridge. The first one was built in 1952. When congestion set in, a second Bridge came up in 1973. That is government in action.

Work on the Niger Bridge began in 1964 by French contractors Dumez. It took five million pounds to complete it in December 1965. The same year as Bendorf Bridge on the Rhine, Germany and the same month as Oosterscheldebrug that links Flushing to Rotterdam in the Netherlands.

“The Second Bridge will not cost as much as Istanbul’s Bosporus, the link between Europe and Asia. It cannot be as long as Europe’s longest, the 19,822 feet Oland Island Bridge in Sweden. I just pray this job gets started in 2014 as promised,” Kalu stated.

The former governor called on the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) to deploy a deputy corps marshal to the Asaba end of the Bridge beginning from December 10.

“I overheard one family talking of travelling by rail through the North to avoid the bedlam. Another is considering the road route through Okene-Lokoja from Lagos. And these are families who live in Ijesha-tedo. The kids cannot understand why there are three long bridges between Lagos Island and the Mainland while their parents do Christmas arithmetic with the Niger Bridge,” Kalu said.

http://sunnewsonline.com/new/national/niger-bridge-makes-cry-kalu/
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by c0llynz02: 6:36am On Dec 24, 2013
agbameta: So, na inside zoo den keep the 2 bingos and attack dogs Abati and okupe.

At least oponuchukwu is a good pet master and he takes good care oh his bingos..
They might just hire you as the chief zoo photographer.
It is better than running around taking pictures of Fashola posing with white men.
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Nobody: 6:43am On Dec 24, 2013
The kids cannot understand why there
are three long bridges between Lagos
Island and the Mainland while their
parents do Christmas arithmetic with
the Niger Bridge,” Kalu said.

SMFDH!! embarassed embarassed

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by MrKnowitall: 6:51am On Dec 24, 2013
Ngwakwe:

The United States and Nigeria are not in the same league. It is an insult to Obama to compare what he does to Jonathan.

The U.S gov does plenty for it's citizens .

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Nobody: 6:59am On Dec 24, 2013
DonColz1: Later Jonathan would say that Nigeria has no money.
But see the way he is wasting the money.
The medical doctors are on strike, instead of him to pay them the money so that people would stop dying, he is trying to save the animals, is animals more important than human beings

Like this post if you think that Jonathan is a confused person
i know you don't know anything about this. That zoo has existed since abuja was created. FYI: that's the only standard zoo in nigeria but it's still not up to standard for international zoos
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Tuntheycr7: 7:17am On Dec 24, 2013
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Ngwakwe: 7:25am On Dec 24, 2013
Can you tell me one thing GEJ have done that escaped your criticism and backlash?

I would have taken you serious to debate the merits and demerits of the provision under discussion, the significance and it's worldwide acceptability.

However, its obvious your cynicism and that of your boss frustrated sycophants wouldn't allowed for intelligent deliberations hence my desire to set you aside as a reprobate and not dignify you with further response.

agbameta:
1. Quoting the most powerful and richest country in the world against your country where millions of your people live on less than a dollar a day sounds dumb, thoughtless, mindless, clueless and reetarded.

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Tuntheycr7: 7:30am On Dec 24, 2013
Ngwakwe:

Like seriously
And when did America and Naija start competitions ?
So upon all the issues wey de ground na make Jonah de use public fund to buy animals with such huge amount ?
Am sure he wana buy whales, cos there's a kind of correlation btw Jonah and fishes
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by donphilopus: 7:30am On Dec 24, 2013
I'm no longer surprised! If he could purchase the 11th presidential aircraft with N1.2B or so, when ASUP and NMA are on strike; what's now animals' budget to him??
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Ngwakwe: 7:35am On Dec 24, 2013
You mean Obama Government runs the US States or what?

Does it mean you expect GEJ to be sleeping on the mat while Obama occupies two beds at a time?

People should stop being ridiculous, try to be fair never like anarchist.

Mr Knowitall:

The United States and Nigeria are not in the same league. It is an insult to Obama to compare what he does to Jonathan.

The U.S gov does plenty for it's citizens .

Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by Waspy(m): 7:47am On Dec 24, 2013
This is a welcomed development. Ateke Tom's lions shouldn't be looking dapper than the national hippo. One day na one day oo, Oga Retardeen
Re: Villa Zoo: Jonathan Budgets Millions Of Naira For Animals by agbameta: 7:57am On Dec 24, 2013
Ngwakwe: Can you tell me one thing GEJ have done that escaped your criticism and backlash?

I would have taken you serious to debate the merits and demerits of the provision under discussion, the significance and it's worldwide acceptability.

However, its obvious your cynicism and that of your boss frustrated sycophants wouldn't allowed for intelligent deliberations hence my desire to set you aside as a reprobate and not dignify you with further response.

You should know by now that your usual redundant and irrelevant nonsense doesn't fly with me and I don't entertain your meandering trash so go peddle that absurd rubbish to your regular costumers.

Fayose Makes Guinness Book Of Records / Abormination; Son Impregnates His Own Mum In Asaba Nigeria / Buhari Planned Genocide Against The Yorubas

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55