Stats: 3,193,938 members, 7,952,778 topics. Date: Thursday, 19 September 2024 at 12:17 AM

Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- - Programming (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Programming / Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- (10328 Views)

Programming Challenge For Beginners N20000 / Facebook Programming Challenge Question / Mini Web Application Coding Challenge For Programmers (2) (3) (4)

Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by Ajibel(m): 6:20pm On Jul 17, 2014
mubarak23: am still a dummy in wed development,i could have apply but i yet to reach a beginner stage

Ahh bro, me I still dey for date development I never wan wed embarassed

Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by spikesC(m): 6:23pm On Jul 17, 2014
Ajibel: Op bro, Im want to parcitipate buh Im want to use HTML, LESS & BRYTHON instead of HTML, CSS, JAVASCRIPT. Im I qualify

errrmm, no. beginners only tongue
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by Ajibel(m): 6:27pm On Jul 17, 2014
spikesC:

errrmm, no. beginners only tongue

Na wa oo. This 20k no go pass like that. I go create another moniker tongue
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by mayorlism1: 7:12pm On Jul 17, 2014
Name: ADEWUMI MAYOWA SUNDAY
Sex: MALE
Challenge: DESIGNER
Language: CSS & HTML
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by mayorlism1: 8:52pm On Jul 17, 2014
will I register again cos i dnt include javascript in my submission
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by spikesC(m): 9:04pm On Jul 17, 2014
mayorlism1: will I register again cos i dnt include javascript in my submission

u can always modify ur post. but it doesnt matter
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by Nobody: 9:33pm On Jul 17, 2014
Can I contest using c# please?

Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by lumet: 9:37pm On Jul 17, 2014
Name: Ayanwale Emmanuel
Sex: Male
Challenge: Designer
Language(s): HTML, CSS, JavaScript
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by bamoza(m): 9:56pm On Jul 17, 2014
Name: Idowu Abimbola
Language: HTML, CSS, JAVA SCRIPT
Challenge : design
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by sisqology(m): 10:32pm On Jul 17, 2014
iamDemigod: Can I contest using c# please?

you mean asp.net / MVC?? if yes, why not? but if windows form; no.
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by danvery2k6(m): 10:33pm On Jul 17, 2014
Name: Daniel Verem
Challenge: Development
Language: Java
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by danvery2k6(m): 10:35pm On Jul 17, 2014
sisqology:

So can I use Swing or must it be web?
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by DonToyBss(m): 11:41pm On Jul 17, 2014
Name: AbdulRahmon Toyeeb
Language:Html, Css, EcmaScript
Challenge:Design
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by asalimpo(m): 12:22am On Jul 18, 2014
sisqology: [size=14pt]Competition Two[/size]

Please note all, you can only register for one competition and for one language. For you that chose PHP/Python, you have to pick one. Then for designers; you pick the three (HTML, CSS, JavaScript)

All qualified registered competitors will be mentioned in this post(will be edited later) **we know how to make you qualified**

Also Note that the deadline for registration for this competition is 18/7/2014.

The deadline for submission of the final project is 2/8/2014. 12:00PM.

On how to submit the project, I will have to post the tutorials again, looks like the images here are broken and for now, I have to get back on track, so stay tuned for the tutorials.

Development/Programming

Required Language(s): PHP/ASP.NET/Java/Python/Ruby on Rails

We will be basically developing a tax calculator application. Here is how it should work;

Every person in the country can register, then login and have their account(of course!), every registered user can calculate how much they are due to pay the government at the end of every month. The calculation will work like this;

Mr John Doe(a registered user on your app) can see how much he is due to pay by clicking on "calculate tax", the application prompts John Doe to enter the number of electronic appliances he has(maximum of 15). If John Doe has entered this, he will then be prompted to add
the wattage of all the appliances, let's say appliance 1: 1000W, appliance 2: 3000W and so on.......I'm sure you know you don't need the "W", for every voltage value, 10% of the particular appliance voltage value is taken; for appliance 1: 10% * 1000W, for appliance 2: 10% * 3000W and so on...add the results together, lets say appliance one calculated result is 100 and appliance 2 is 300 (300 + 100), then add it to 5% of the total salary John Doe receives as salary.

The total result is the amount John Doe will be paying as tax by month ending. Remember we don't care about designing.

Rules

1. Try to handle exceptions, some users may enter negative values or zero(0)
2. Users registration should be firstname, lastname, sex, salary, occupation(you can just provide about 10 random occupations as options)
3. Make sure all error messages to users are properly written, don't scare your users.
4. Document your readme properly, teach a dummy like me how to run your project. You may assume I don't know how to run it at all.
5. Your repository name this time should be "nairaland contest 2"
6. Use a nice Naira sign in your app.

Grading Stats:

Code Neatness: 15%
Naming Convetions: 15%
Code Indentation Consistency: 15%
Rules Adhering: 15%
Official Rules(by language) Adhering: 10%
Project Features: 10%
Extra features as mentioned in competition: 5%
Unbroken Code and Links: 10%
Successful Check in with good readme: 5%

First Person to do the last check in: 10% (we add this to you total achieved point)
Second Person to do the last check in: 5% (we add this to you total achieved point)

Kindly sign in here if you want to give this a go; !

Like this

Name: John Doe
Language(s): English, Mathematics

You can submit the way you submitted season 1 project and invite the same emails. You can check season 1 here

Cheers

question marks
How dyu detect overqualified coders/designers masquerading as beginners?
How dyu determine the authenticity of a submitted entry.
Sombody cudve paid som1 else to do the job 4 him?

Nice job. May you reap multiple times wat uve/are giving out. In time and money and resources.
This is noble indeed.
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by bot101(m): 12:35am On Jul 18, 2014
name: okafor ikenna
sex:male
language:html, css, javascript.
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by jidez007: 5:52am On Jul 18, 2014
Name: Olajide Afeez
Sex: MALE
Challenge: DEVELOPMENT/PROGRAMMING
Language: PHP
Framework: Laravel
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by Nobody: 9:23am On Jul 18, 2014
It's windows form I want to use! Why is window forms not allowed
sisqology:

Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by dhtml(m): 10:34am On Jul 18, 2014
DonToyBss: Name: AbdulRahmon Toyeeb
EcmaScript?
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by spikesC(m): 10:38am On Jul 18, 2014
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by mayorlism1: 12:08pm On Jul 18, 2014
name: Mayowa Sunday
sex:male
competition :designer
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by tidea: 2:29pm On Jul 18, 2014
name: solarin kemi.
sex: female.
competition:design.

Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by sisqology(m): 3:19pm On Jul 18, 2014
DonToyBss: Name: AbdulRahmon Toyeeb

ECMA
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by sisqology(m): 3:19pm On Jul 18, 2014
asalimpo:

question marks
How dyu detect overqualified coders/designers masquerading as beginners?
How dyu determine the authenticity of a submitted entry.
Sombody cudve paid som1 else to do the job 4 him?

Nice job. May you reap multiple times wat uve/are giving out. In time and money and resources.
This is noble indeed.

Just wait and see how some people are disqualified!
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by sisqology(m): 3:20pm On Jul 18, 2014
danvery2k6:
So can I use Swing or must it be web?

Yes o, must be web. Let's wait and see, we will try to bring something up for other developers smiley
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by sisqology(m): 3:21pm On Jul 18, 2014
iamDemigod: It's windows form I want to use! Why is window forms not allowed

It is not allowed sir, maybe next season
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by Babadee30(m): 4:04pm On Jul 18, 2014
name ::: temidayo temitope
sex :::: male
language ::::: python
challenge :: programming/development
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by dyweb(m): 9:49pm On Jul 18, 2014
name: Babalola Adedoyin.
sex: male.
competition:development.
language:php.
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by sisqology(m): 10:21pm On Jul 18, 2014
12:00am and any post after that will not be taken ooooo
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by timothykola(m): 10:27pm On Jul 18, 2014
Name: Timothy Olalekan Kola
Challenge: Design
Languages: Html / Css / Javascript
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by Dlastofmykind(m): 11:33am On Jul 19, 2014
@ sisqology.... the naira sign that should be involved in d developer's project, will it be a favicon or what?
Moreso, concerning the users registration, can any extra field such as city, phone number etc be added?
THANKS!
Re: Programming Challenge For Beginners Competition Two N20000 -SEASON 2- by sisqology(m): 12:01pm On Jul 19, 2014
Dlastofmykind: @ sisqology.... the naira sign that should be involved in d developer's project, will it be a favicon or what?
Moreso, concerning the users registration, can any extra field such as city, phone number etc be added?
THANKS!

No, for example, if you check OLX, you will see a naira sign in front of the amount, and even comma(,) between three digits such as N1,000,000

How To Become A Successful Programmer? / Code Lagos Out-of-school Program Batch-5 To Begin Class On Monday / Ludo Game Algorithm Wanted For AI Project

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32