Stats: 3,150,853 members, 7,810,280 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 05:04 AM

Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) - Car Talk (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) (4431 Views)

What Type Of Engine Oil Do You Use In Your Car And How Much Is It? / Photo: Which Would Be Your Pick For Use On Nigerian Roads? / Getting A Driver's Licence In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by chucky234(m): 4:19pm On Oct 18, 2014
lomomike:

No brother, I will have to disagree with you on this. 1st generation rx300 was the 1st true luxury CUV and the highest selling luxury CUV in North America. It was on this many manufacturers started to dole out CUVs which would compete with RX. Till date none have hit that sweet spot. Guess what, even Merc ML still looks at the RX's annual sales figure with envy.

The price one pays for an RX either brand new or used, is based on sterling build quality, awesome comfortable non sporty cruise, luxury etc. May I inform you some models of RX300 '97 MY had the nakimishi sound system and Navigation system, HID and genuine leather sitting surface, auto dimming mirrors etc which I know was a novelty then and merc couldn't offer them.

The MDX is bigger, yes, its sportier yes, but is it a market pace setter?
NO!

Guess what, 2006, RX introduced 400h which was instant hit in N. American markets. Americans and Canadians aren't stupid, infact Americans would gladly embrace fords, chrysler etc but the reality of better cars available made them have a rethink. Same thing is happening to Nigerians.

By the way, oga how you dey? grin
RX best selling CUV yes, better car than the MDX, capital NO.
Acura MDX is the second best selling CUV behind the RX but has always been the better car since its launch in 2001.
You can check the head-to-head comparisons of both since 2001, MDX is a show stopper anyday,anywhere and anytime.
My oga I dey fine jare, hustling for Lag no easy. How your side na?
Acura MDX is way underrated in Naija bro.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by Nobody: 5:12pm On Oct 18, 2014
chucky234:
RX best selling CUV yes, better car than the MDX, capital NO.
Acura MDX is the second best selling CUV behind the RX but has always been the better car since its launch in 2001.
You can check the head-to-head comparisons of both since 2001, MDX is a show stopper anyday,anywhere and anytime.
My oga I dey fine jare, hustling for Lag no easy. How your side na?
Acura MDX is way underrated in Naija bro.

I prefer the O8 MY MDX its struts are tuned in Nurburgring tracks.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by chucky234(m): 5:29pm On Oct 18, 2014
lomomike:

I prefer the O8 MY MDX its struts are tuned in Nurburgring tracks.
If money is no problem I'll gladly pay for the redesigned 2014 MDX without blinking an eyelid.

Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by Nobody: 5:41pm On Oct 18, 2014
chucky234:
If money is no problem I'll gladly pay for the redesigned 2014 MDX without blinking an eyelid.

I get that feelings too when I see a very good product but its MRSP is way high.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by chucky234(m): 5:59pm On Oct 18, 2014
lomomike:

I get that feelings too when I see a very good product but its MRSP is way high.
If you know the market price then MRSP, sticker price or invoice price is not much of a problem.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by Nobody: 6:05pm On Oct 18, 2014
chucky234:
If you know the market price then MRSP, sticker price or invoice price is not much of a problem.

But then logistics of bringing in such 'wife' will not be easy initially. One needs a flat bed truck to push it to warf. Containerize it, and push to. W.A via Grimaldi. Na there wahala go start. 2014 tear rubber motor go enta customs eyes dem go just manufacture wan kain useless bureaucratic bottle neck and high price of custom clearing fee slap for man pikkin head.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by chucky234(m): 6:14pm On Oct 18, 2014
lomomike:

But then logistics of bringing in such 'wife' will not be easy initially. One needs a flat bed truck to push it to warf. Containerize it, and push to. W.A via Grimaldi. Na there wahala go start. 2014 tear rubber motor go enta customs eyes dem go just manufacture wan kain useless bureaucratic bottle neck and high price of custom clearing fee slap for man pikkin head.
Bros e go better to wait till 2016 then buy am as toks, custom wahala with tear nylon current car no be here ooo.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by oluwaseunla(m): 7:06pm On Oct 18, 2014
oweniwe:
SisiJenni, if u fancy Toyota highlander, go for the 2nd Generation 2007-2013.....

Cos i cant imagine anyone in his/her right sense spending 2m on a 1st generation highlander.

Lexus RX is also good. The first time i got into a RX, I was awed at the cosy, neat, and plush interior. The owner drives it daily through floods and sandy roads (typical niger-delta village roads). So it should meet your off road/rugged parameter

In Nigeria of right now, she can't get a second generation highlander for 2.5 mil, at least not a clean titled toks. She'll probably be able to get a stripped down base model for 3mil if she's lucky. She'll pay more for the sports or limited editions.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by Nobody: 7:06pm On Oct 18, 2014
chucky234:
Bros e go better to wait till 2016 then buy am as toks, custom wahala with tear nylon current car no be here ooo.

True yarn.
Re: Advice On Getting A Car For Use In Nigeria (mainly Lagos) by Nobody: 7:07pm On Oct 18, 2014
SisiJenni:
Hello All,
Please I need to get a car - an SUV, preferably. My budget is N2M - N2.5M. I would like advice on suitable options. I'm a new driver so automatic drive only. I don't want a very big car (i.e a 5 seater is preferred). The car needs not be feminine-looking; it could be rugged. Also, I would like advice on what to look out for when purchasing a car (I assume my budget excludes new cars). I know mileage is important, but what is the maximum value I should accept? Any useful suggestions would be appreciated.

OP, any choice yet?

I Want To Be A Mechanic / Car For SALE ( LOCATION ABUJA) / What Should One Do When There Is A Recall On An Imported Used Vehicle?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23