₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 1,881,684 members, 3,803,787 topics. Date: Wednesday, 20 September 2017 at 07:24 PM

Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog (3230 Views)

Here To Engage Theist God Especially Kingebukasblog / 3 Things Jesus Never Said / Dealing With Misconceptions : 10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation (1) (2) (3) (4)

(0) (1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by eddycolo(m): 3:08pm On May 11, 2015
This is the original write up by KingEbukasBlog under review.
http://www.nairaland.com/2305535/dealing-misconceptions-10-things-bible


I can't help but noticed the misconceptions about biblical creation in the write up of KingEbukasBlog titled "Dealing With Misconceptions : 10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" on the religion section of nairaland. Naturally, I would have just minded my business and not write a review about it. But I couldn't, simply because am allergic to nonsense, especially when it comes to religion. Infact, after reading through some of your points, it made me giggle and I gave out a short, spasmodic laugh to the point My friend looked at me and thought I was going mad.

I am simply going to point out some areas I find particularly disturbing in your write up, and probable suggest or admonish you to view it from a different perspective. I want to make it clear that Am not writing this review to tell you that you are wrong (which you definitely are), but that we might all learn from each other and not jump to conclusions where you have no clue.

In your write up titled "Dealing With Misconceptions : 10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" you listed 10 misconceptions about creation as written in the bible which you thought needed added interpretations.

Your 10 points are;

1.The beginning was 6,000 years ago
2.The earth was created 6,000 years ago
3.Light and darkness were created in day 1 as seen in Genesis 1:54.
4.The sun , moon and stars were created on day 4.
5.Animals , birds ,man were first created on day 5 and 6
6.Vegetation came forth for the first time in day 3 .
7.The earth was created 6,000 years ago
8.That Adam was the first man God created.
9.That the universe , earth are a product of evolution.
10. Man is a product of evolution - from lower life forms , to cave men
The Bible says God created man perfect and intelligent

First, I will like to point out that the title of your write up is a bit misleading because your write up is a mixture of what the bible actually never said about creation (point 1' 2, 9 and 10. Point 7 is same as point 1) and what the bible actually said about creation (point 3, 4, 5, 6 and cool. From what I understood about your write up, you found the latter to be incoherent and thereby decided to give an interpretations base on your understand.

Lets start from your first two points. Am going to address your point 1, 2 & 7. together since they are almost the same.

1.The beginning was 6,000 years ago.
2.The earth was created 6,000 years ago.
7.The earth was created 6,000 years ago

On this points you quoted genesis 1:1 "in the beginning God created the heavens and the earth". And you went ahead to state that the above verse has always been misunderstood. And that the original creation of the universe was actually billions of years ago.

Well, the only people that actually believe the universe to be billions of years old are mostly evolutionists. I know there is a great controversy over the age of the universe which has been a subject of constant debate among creationists and evolutionists. For creationists, the universe was created about 6-7 thousand years ago. Whilst for evolutionists, the universe was created about 16-20 billion years ago.

The question now is, how did the two set of bodies arrived at these dates?
For the creationists, they believed in a literally six days creation as written in bible. So from the time Adam was created the bible gave the age Adam lived before he gave birth to cain and abel and later Seth. The bible gave how old Adam was before he died. The bible also gave the age Seth lived before he gave birth to Enos and the age of Seth before he (Seth ) died. Same goes for Cainan, mahalaleel and the rest down the line. If one add up all the genealogy from Adam to the time of Noah (of the flood ) you end up getting 4 thousand years. If you add to this present time you will get 6-7 thousand years for the age of the universe. This is how creationists ended up believing the universe was created 6-7 thousand years ago.

For the evolutionists, how did they come up with 16- 20 billion years?
Well, I don't want to go into much details because a detailed explanation is more than the scope of this review. The most important thing to note is that evolutionists claimed they were able to measure how long light takes to reach earth from the furthest galaxies located at the edge of the universe. Given the known speed of light, their calculations came up to 16-20 billion years for the age of the universe.

So it can be established that who ever believes in 6-7 thousand years for the age of the earth is a creationist. And 16-20 billion years for the age of the earth is an evolutionist. We also have people that are hybrids (thats my naming). They believe some of boths sets of ideas. Just like KingEbukasBlog.

From what I understood from point 1 & 2 and subsequently point 7. You did not only believe the world to be billions of years old, you also believe that genesis 1:1 & 1:2 were referencing two time periods. And the first period you called pre adamic age in which you believe were populated by pre adamic men. In other words, there were actual men (not angels), with flesh and blood that lived on earth before Adam. The second time period which you said was the time of creation of Adam. You remember I told you I giggled why reading some of the points? This is the point that made me giggle. Now, lets both go through the verses that has led you to believe this. Genesis 1:1 & 1:2 gave limited information on the creation. In genesis 1:1 it says: "In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth" in verse 2 "Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters." And the waters which is mentioned here on which the spirit of the lord hovered, you believe it is water from the previous creation or world that was destroyed by God. My question is, what evidence or revlation do you have to show that that water on which the spirit of God hovered was from the previous world. Or are you mistaking the destruction of earth during the time of Noah's flood to be the supposedly destruction of the earth in your pre Adamic age? Noah's flood was 4 thousand years ago. Water from which earth was created from was 6-7 thousand years ago. Both waters (creation and Noah's water) are same water. I can actaully see clearly where you got confused. In 2 peters 3:5-7 you quoted to support your pre Adamic destruction of earth by water. I honestly believe you misplaced that quotation. See below.

2 Peter 3:5-7
Verse 5, "But they deliberately forget that long ago by God’s word the heavens came into being and the earth was formed out of water and by water", verse 6, "By these waters also the world of that time was deluged and destroyed". Verse 7, "By the same word the present heavens and earth are reserved for fire, being kept for the day of judgment and destruction of the ungodly"

I want to point out since it is not obvious to you that verse 5' is just reiterating the biblical creation account of Genesis. The first book try to make us understand that the earth was formed "out of the water". Remember that God commanded the water to gether in one location and let dry land appear. God called the dry land "earth" and the gathering together of the waters He called seas.

whilst verse 5 was referencing the only biblical account of creation, verse 6 was referencing the Noah's flood. When the earth was destroyed with water. This is clearly intuitive. If you can't see it. That means you must have missed your sunday school class on the day Noah's was taught. In that case I would suggest you do you research (google search should do ) on this very chapter to find what these verses are referring to.

I will discuss your point 3 & 4 together since they are almost the same.

3.Light and darkness were created in day 1 as seen in Genesis 1:5
4.The sun , moon and stars were created on day 4.

In the first chapter of the book of Genesis 1:3, on the first day, God created light when He said let there be light. Then later on in verse 14 of Genesis 1, "God said let there be light in the firmament of the heaven to divide the day from the night; and let them be for signs, for seasons, and for days and for years". In verse 15, "And let them be for lights in the firmament of the heaven to give light upon the earth and it was so". This happened on the 4th day.

From the above passage, intuitively no one would need further interpretations that that verse is referring to our sun.

So the confusion comes in after this verse, because light was being created in day one and day four. Which to you is incoherent and you subsequently rejected the day four created light in favour of day one. And claimed that " The functionalities of the sun and moon on earth were restored on day 1"
What you failed to understand is that the sun was not created until day four. From my understanding, in as much as light was created on day one, in day four a light "source" was created "for earth" which is the sun. And without this sun, there will be darkness on earth 24/7. So despite light has already been created in day one, God had to created a special light for earth. The sun. It is as a result of this light that the earth has its day, night, year, and season.

To understand this separate events, I sometimes think of the light in day one as a blue print for a building and light in day four as an actual building (guided by the blue print) on a particular location. Or you can think of it as the day earth was created (clay: day one) and the day man was created from earth (clay: day six). Man is clay moulded into shape by God. Now, Because man is made from clay (earth) are you going to argue man was made on day one?

On your next point (point 5)

5.Animals , birds ,man were first created on day 5 and 6

According to you "Some were created during the pre-adamic age but were destroyed by the first universal flood (Lucifer's flood)" I was wondering where you got this idea from. There is no where in the bible that made reference to pre adamic age. the bible passage Isaiah 14:12-14 you quoted to support you pre adamic age was referencing the kingdom of Babylon. And Babylon is not pre adamic age.

Your point 6 and the conclusion is literally a joke.
Your point 7' I have already addressed above.
Your point 8, you quoted some bible passages which I have a already demonstrated that your interpretations is misplaced.
I have not issues with you point 9 & 10.

In conclusion, I would say you are victim of evolutionary and atheistic manipulation. They are trying to make the biblical interpretations of creations fit into an evolutionary perspective. I will advise you to look for alternative explanation of everything you are researching and use you intuitions to come to a logical conclusions. If you intend to talk about most or some of the points I made here in disagreement to yours, I will be willing to. Thanks and God bless.
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 5:52pm On May 11, 2015
As a logical thinking proud atheist,I thought I was the only one who laughed helplessly skimming through his misconceptions post,dude ended up posting crap,attesting to the fact that ignorance is a cure for nothing in his misconception post,just another indoctrinated and delude christian showing off his stylish skill of summarizing fairytales.

1 Like

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 6:37pm On May 11, 2015
bro , I read this with smiles and frowns and ill surely get back to this . I hope you ready to defend this ?
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 7:18pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
As a[b] logical thinking proud atheist[/b],I thought I was the only one who laughed helplessly skimming through his misconceptions post,dude ended up posting crap,attesting to the fact that ignorance is a cure for nothing in his misconception post,just another indoctrinated and delude christian showing off his stylish skill of summarizing fairytales.

Here you go , well deserved cool... A trophy for being a...

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 7:35pm On May 11, 2015
Before I start you 're saying...
→ The sun , moon , earth are not billions of years old ?
→ That it took God six thousand years to create ?
→ The creation story may not be taken as literal
→ I support evolutionists ?
→ Elucidate this
To understand this separate events, I sometimes think of the light in day one as a blue print for a building and light in day four as an actual building (guided by the blue print) on a particular location. Or you can think of it as the day earth was created (clay: day one) and the day man was created from earth (clay: day six). Man is clay moulded into shape by God. Now, Because man is made from clay (earth) are you going to argue man was made on day one?
→In point six , vegetation can't be part of the pre-adamic age?
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 7:43pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


Here you go , well deserved cool... A trophy for being a...
Not necessary,No props for being atheist just the respect for not joining in the gullible mass appeal!

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 7:47pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
Not necessary,No props for being atheist just the respect for not joining in the gullible mass appeal!

Gullible? How? Art thou an evolutionist? cry
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 7:56pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


Gullible? How? Art thou an evolutionist? cry
matter of fact I'm still evolving in the evolution phase but I'm in the specie of the human race and expected to complete the phase with death,I suppose you believe in creation and thinking to live a life after life Right?

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 8:04pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
matter of fact I'm still evolving in the evolution phase but I'm in the specie of the human race and expected to complete the phase with death,I suppose you believe in creation and thinking to live a life after life Right?

Yup , sounds irrational but true . Have you read accounts of NDEs?
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 8:08pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


Yup , sounds irrational but true . Have you read accounts of NDEs?

According to the philosopher Rene Descates,he said "I think therefore I am" so if you thought intelligently that your afterlife is irrational why are you still staying delude?

1 Like

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 8:27pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
According to the philosopher Rene Descates,he said "I think therefore I am" so if you thought intelligently that your afterlife is irrational why are you still staying delude?

You know how mango tastes right?
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 8:31pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


You know how mango tastes right?
That doesn't answer my question,Answer my question child of god and don't tryna punk out with mango taste

1 Like

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 8:37pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
That doesn't answer my question,Answer my question child of god and don't tryna punk out with mango taste

Its easy ... personal experience .You cant know the taste of something without given it a try
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 8:56pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


Its easy ... personal experience .You cant know the taste of something without given it a try
that's the same reason you staying delude,indoctrination since birth is what you so used to and having to wade off the illusion is hard,like you resisting change of the mindset,mind state and psychological illusion effect(pie) that's the pie religion is feeding you with.

1 Like

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 9:01pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
that's the same reason you staying delude,indoctrination since birth is what you so used to and having to wade off the illusion is hard,like you resisting change of the mindset,mind state and psychological illusion effect(pie) that's the pie religion is feeding you with.

your opinion (which doesn't count) . I better stay 'deluded' after all its no one's business . One needs to be a Christian not a religious person
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 9:19pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


your opinion (which doesn't count) . I better stay 'deluded' after all its no one's business . One needs to be a Christian not a religious person
And this is exactly how they talk when they don't want their illusion destroyed.
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 9:23pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
And this is exactly how they talk when they don't want their illusion destroyed.

Does it do you any good if one becomes an atheist?
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 9:28pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


Does it do you any good if one becomes an atheist?
debatable in the context of destroying your religious indoctrination since child birth

1 Like

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 9:35pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
debatable in the context of destroying your religious indoctrination since child birth


1.Did I tell you I was a christian from my childhood ? Such muddled thought !

2.Do you have proof there is no God? undecided .
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 9:40pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:



1.Did I tell you I was a christian from my childhood ? Such muddled thought !

2.Do you have proof there is no God? undecided .
my bad? Okay you was a learned indoctrinated Christian and yes,the only proof for the existence of god is in figment of imagination you christians have of him.

1 Like

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by davien(m): 9:50pm On May 11, 2015
Eddycolo you are wrong in that,the age of the universe is established from astronomy to be 13.8 billion years(ranges to 14) and there is no name attributed to the people that hold this view because it's a scientific proposition...

It's creationists that invented the word "evolutionist" to compound anything they don't agree with(ranging from biology, to geology, to astronomy) ..

Plus the scientific method used to determine that age isn't about how far light bounced off things(although it's part of it) because the visible universe is close to 46 billion light years in radius I.e the radius we can see stuff in the universe...compared to a 13.8 billion year age.
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 9:53pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
my bad? Okay you was a learned indoctrinated Christian and yes,the only proof for the existence of god is in figment of imagination you christians have of him.

Nope , I was a christian since I was a boy . Had the right christian books ,communed with fellow christians etc . I was joking , you need to stop making assumptions about christians and what we believe in . I see no reason why I should be an atheist though.

So tell me , apart from the 'validity' of God's existence what made you an atheist
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 9:57pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


Nope , I was a christian since I was a boy . Had the right christian books ,communed with fellow christians etc . I was joking , you need to stop making assumptions about christians and what we believe in . I see no reason why I should be an atheist though.

So tell me , apart from the 'validity' of God's existence what made you an atheist
Don't tryna act friendly I wanna be your worst nightmare,bashing you and your imaginary friend called god.
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 10:10pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
Don't tryna act friendly I wanna be your worst nightmare,bashing you and your imaginary friend called god.

Romans 12:18 (ISV)
18 If possible, so far as it depends on you, live in peace with all people.

You still didnt answer my questions cool

Lmao at ''I wanna be your worst nightmare,bashing you and your imaginary friend" , you want to see cool memes huh

You cant prove to me my "imaginary friend" does not exist .

When you are thru with goofing around and maturity beckons ...

I'll surely have the last laugh though
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 10:14pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


Romans 12:18 (ISV)


You still didnt answer my questions cool

Lmao at ''I wanna be your worst nightmare,bashing you and your imaginary friend" , you want to see cool memes huh

You cant prove to me my "imaginary friend" does not exist . I'll surely have the last laugh though

I'm glad you also called him an imaginary friend,that should explain it.

1 Like

Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 10:15pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
I'm glad you also called him an imaginary friend,that should explain it.

in quote?
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 10:17pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


in quote?
unquote
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 10:22pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
I'm glad you also called him an imaginary friend,that should explain it.
you aint heading anywhere with this . Im here to straighten out things with eddycolo .


Anyways , there's no excuse on that day . Be wise
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 10:24pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
unquote

ok then prove its a figment of my imagination
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 10:25pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:
you aint heading anywhere with this . Im here to straighten out things with eddycolo .


Anyways , there's no excuse on that day . Be wise
Don't punk out,straighten things out with me too,its like I know the dept of your ignorance for me to be unwise to you.
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by aaronson(m): 10:29pm On May 11, 2015
KingEbukasBlog:


ok then prove its a figment of my imagination
The burden of your imaginary friend existence lies on christians,it would be illogical for a proud atheist like me to tell why you have that figment of imagination but what I can only do is to make you think out loud for yourself!
Re: Review Of The "10 Things The Bible Never Said About Creation" By Kingebukasblog by KingEbukasBlog(m): 10:30pm On May 11, 2015
aaronson:
Don't punk out,straighten things out with me too,its like I know the dept of your ignorance for me to be unwise to you.

If you dodging my questions is a way of straightening things out with me ... grin grin

1 Like

(0) (1) (Reply)

Where In Nigeria Can One Find Yoga, Buddhism, Hinduism, New Age, And Such. / Another Trouble Brews At Christ Embassy, Abuja High Courts At Alert / Please Catholics, Avoid These Arguments

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2017 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 246
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.