Stats: 3,150,640 members, 7,809,400 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 08:56 AM

NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta - Poems For Review (14) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Poems For Review / NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta (23206 Views)

NPC End Of The Year Thanksgiving Cypher. / NCPC Season 2: Weno & TheScrypt Emerge Winners Of The Renga Fiesta.... / The Roast: An NPC Initiative. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by llaykorn: 4:42pm On Nov 13, 2015
Smartlife:

Pair me with someone else for contestant 28... The guy is no where to be found

kagari:

My partner is a ghost but i think i can cover for him though

No, kagari, you can't. You have to be re-paired. I'll search your partner up and send him a message, but for now, you have been re-paired with Smartlife.

Contestants 28: Smartlife & kagari

Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by kagari: 6:01pm On Nov 13, 2015
llaykorn:

No, kagari, you can't. You have to be re-paired. I'll search your partner up and send him a message, but for now, you have been re-paired with Smartlife.

Contestants 28: Smartlife & kagari
Smartlife hola at me, my number is on my profile, whatsapp onl, i cant access pms
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Smartlife(m): 6:18pm On Nov 13, 2015
kagari:

Smartlife hola at me, my number is on my profile, whatsapp onl, i cant access pms

I can't see any number.... Add me on WhatsApp 08139088832
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by acesoul(m): 6:26pm On Nov 13, 2015
ZYZZA:
The sun fads behind the cold cloud, and
the star already washed away.
The earth breathing out it soft wind on us.
The birds run for cover as the sky turns grey
The kids are out in joy singing, "it here again",
Smiles and the dance of the crops welcomes the rain

zyzza were you they na..lets write our poem o
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by ZYZZA: 7:07pm On Nov 13, 2015
acesoul:

brother ,sorry o how is it going to be na are you on what app
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by ZYZZA: 7:15pm On Nov 13, 2015
acesoul:

my guy acesoul sorry I Don show, are you on whatapp
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by ZYZZA: 7:27pm On Nov 13, 2015
acesoul:
Beyond the smile is the excitement of the spirit

Beyond the laughter is the joy in the soul

Beyond the calmness of the body is the settlement of the mind

it goes beyond the celebration, it is the jubilation for freedom

it goes beyond the eating, it is the feeding of the spirit

it goes beyond a day, it is forever.
check my profile my number is there halla me let start
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by acesoul(m): 8:07pm On Nov 13, 2015
ZYZZA:
check my profile my number is there halla me let start
am out of subscription o...add me on Fb Adeniran Pelumi Abraham and lets chat
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by acesoul(m): 8:16pm On Nov 13, 2015
ZYZZA:
my guy acesoul sorry I Don show, are you on whatapp
boss am temporarily outta whatsapp o. you can reach me via email or facebook orebramz@gmail.com or via FB: Adeniran pelumi Abraham
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by texanomaly(f): 8:47pm On Nov 13, 2015
Can all participants please tag the judges when you submit so it will be easier to find your poem for judging? Thanks smiley
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Threedots(m): 8:58pm On Nov 13, 2015
texanomaly:
Can all participants please tag the judges when you submit so it will be easier to find your poem for judging? Thanks smiley

please how can i tag a judge and should i just open a thread for the poem or post here?
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by ZYZZA: 9:08pm On Nov 13, 2015
acesoul:

boss am temporarily outta whatsapp o. you can reach me via email or facebook orebramz@gmail.com or via FB: Adeniran pelumi Abraham
just sent you a mail
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by kagari: 9:49pm On Nov 13, 2015
texanomaly:
Are you a jugde, i wanna post ours now
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by ibnzubair(m): 10:05pm On Nov 13, 2015
IBNZUBAIR

There is this future we all expected
A dream that has kept us all excited
A past we believed, that never was
For as it had always been, we had no cause
Now we see a future that isn’t to be
Eyes open or closed that we won’t see
We rather told our hearts it will come
That the future was sure, and it was for some
Those opportune to rule like kings
They are those who fly over with wings
Who deceives us that we are on the path
But live on our wealth and grow so fat
O youths of today when will you arise
And tell yourselves “enough of the cries”
It’s time to fight for that which is right
Let on our torches, and not wait for the light
The light the deceivers have promised for long

DONJOWEBS

No! We won't tarry and wary
In this quest for our conquest
So let us embrace this race
To fight this gloom and doom of evening men
A doom that has built a room over our boom
Let us disunite our weaknesses
And unite in our strength of collective belief
Belief bonded and forged
In a furnace of brotherhood and nationhood
Let’s stand together and defeat the wrong
And to this I can proudly say
The future is here and has come to stay

ANALYSIS

This poem is generally about Nigeria... Past present and the likely future. We all believe in a great past that never existed, we kept whining in the present about our condition instead of standing up for ourselves and we hope the future brings better without working towards that...

The aim is the youth, they are the group most affected by this chaotic situation so it is left to them to decide what they want.

cc texanomaly
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by texanomaly(f): 11:00pm On Nov 13, 2015
kagari:

Are you a jugde, i wanna post ours now

Yes I am a judge. Please tag me.
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by texanomaly(f): 11:02pm On Nov 13, 2015
Threedots:

please how can i tag a judge and should i just open a thread for the poem or post here?

Just mention us at the end. Thanks
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Nobody: 11:19pm On Nov 13, 2015
Mehn, I read poems in there. Those guys are doing great.

Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by llaykorn: 5:21am On Nov 14, 2015
ibnzubair:
IBNZUBAIR

There is this future we all expected
A dream that has kept us all excited
A past we believed, that never was
For as it had always been, we had no cause
Now we see a future that isn’t to be
Eyes open or closed that we won’t see
We rather told our hearts it will come
That the future was sure, and it was for some
Those opportune to rule like kings
They are those who fly over with wings
Who deceives us that we are on the path
But live on our wealth and grow so fat
O youths of today when will you arise
And tell yourselves “enough of the cries”
It’s time to fight for that which is right
Let on our torches, and not wait for the light
The light the deceivers have promised for long

DONJOWEBS

No! We won't tarry and wary
In this quest for our conquest
So let us embrace this race
To fight this gloom and doom of evening men
A doom that has built a room over our boom
Let us disunite our weaknesses
And unite in our strength of collective belief
Belief bonded and forged
In a furnace of brotherhood and nationhood
Let’s stand together and defeat the wrong
And to this I can proudly say
The future is here and has come to stay

ANALYSIS

This poem is generally about Nigeria... Past present and the likely future. We all believe in a great past that never existed, we kept whining in the present about our condition instead of standing up for ourselves and we hope the future brings better without working towards that...

The aim is the youth, they are the group most affected by this chaotic situation so it is left to them to decide what they want.

cc texanomaly

Please post it on this thread:

www.nairaland.com/2722154/npcc-competition-2-renga-fiesta

Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Nobody: 10:16am On Nov 14, 2015
WE DARE TO HOPE

I still can’t forget the pain
Ever fresh like the day’s rain
The only gleeful grain
Is that no pain, no gain.(divinepen)

Yes, pain is more gain than pain,
We have been through the mud stain,
Swam the sharks’ infested water,
Still standing erect, doing better.(rainiscoming)

Still wondering what this is
The pain that comes with this ease
I wish to go apart
Yet, it seems I’m destined to play the part.(divinepen)

Yes, we all must first suffer,
Sandpaper? My hands are rougher
Escape? Not an option,
I must play my part in this great nation.(rainiscoming)

Like an obsessed fanatic
I kept the faith in Naija fantastic
Despite the hues and cries
This green and white must rise.(divinepen)

I once lost hope, I must confess,
Naija flag defiled, dumped in mess
I saw the stars and stripes and in delight,
I ask, why are my parents not white?(rainiscoming)

Then I read of the wild, wild west
When for the whites all was not at rest
For they had once gone through the pain
That seemed to hold us like chain.(divinepen)

The welts on our back,
Is it a crime to be black?
The sweats on our brow,
Are we doomed to bow?(rainiscoming)

For mirrors and gin
Brothers sold kith and kin
I thought it was long past
But they still hunt for the slavery path.(divinepen)

A path strewn with tears and bones,
Slavery was never gone, it exists as clones
Independence brought water and soap,
Grapes and goats while they held the rope. (rainiscoming)

They cut the freedom cake and ate
While stewing in the broth of hate
We shall really celebrate
If only our hearts we can remediate.(divinepen)

From the top of the food chain,
Down to the dregs of the drain,
The addicts, the perverts, the thieves
Get to choose who become the Chiefs. (rainiscoming)

The pain and the ache rise
As men ruled with hearts of ice
Oh, but for a moment of rarity
So that the oppressed can keep sanity.(divinepen)

For hope and change, we pray again and again,
Praying the vultures to be born again!
A good welfare and a decent job,
Will convert even a lynch mob. (rainiscoming)

For Nigeria of our dream we dare to hope
Believing we will be delivered from the hell hole
Through faith, integrity and hard work
Nigerians shall surely rock (divinepen)

ANALYSIS
The poem opened with the illustration of the hope Nigerians have despite the daily pain unleashed on them by the harsh economic environment.This poem reviews the challenges of Nigeria from the period of slave trade when "for mirrors and gin,
brothers sold kith and kin" to the present moment when forces of oppression still " held the rope" . Despite abundance of resources, the country is plagued by bad leadership since addicts and perverts are those who select leaders. The independence of 1960 did not translate to real freedom because people "cut the freedom cake and ate while stewing in the broth of hate". The truth of this manifested when few years after independence, the nation went to war with itself.
The poem emphasizes the fact that Nigerians must remediate the ills of the heart for the country to be truly free. People become a "lynch mob "because of societal deprivations which if remedied by leaders can reduce crimes. Despite all the analysed challenges, the poem closed with a ring of hope that with prayers, "faith, integrity and hard work ,Nigerians shall surely rock".

cc:texanomaly

Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by texanomaly(f): 3:40pm On Nov 14, 2015
^^^ Did you post this on the submission thread? @ devinepen
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by adeagbo101(m): 11:16pm On Nov 14, 2015
kagari:

I think iam gonna cover for my partner adeagbo101, just seeing these mentions though. I hope iam permitted to? Thank you, hey whoever i quoted, sorry, just had to pass out my mind. Ok iam out
i'm here man. Never knew i was picked. Sorry man can we get down to work?
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by desmondDessi(m): 11:20pm On Nov 14, 2015
Mehn
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Nobody: 10:22pm On Nov 16, 2015
Is this competition dead ?
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by israelboy1(m): 11:37pm On Nov 16, 2015
TheAgba:
Is this competition dead ?

i guess the judges are still on it...........keep calm.........bro
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Nobody: 4:34am On Nov 17, 2015
israelboy1:

i guess the judges are still on it...........keep calm.........bro

I hope so bro . because everything should have been made known on Monday and not any other day . Wrong ?
Good morning
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Nobody: 6:24am On Nov 17, 2015
Our judges will score the submitted pieces on the Saturday and Sunday, the 14th and 15th of November. The 7 pairs of poets who move on to the next stage will on Monday, the 16th of November be awarded another 5 days to work together and bring their rengas to our judges' table by the end of Friday, the 20th of November. The winning pair of poets will be announced on Sunday, the 22nd of November.

It appears that the judges are one day behind schedule. undecided
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Nobody: 6:28am On Nov 17, 2015
Gr8Adedayo:
Our judges will score the submitted pieces on the Saturday and Sunday, the 14th and 15th of November. The 7 pairs of poets who move on to the next stage will on Monday, the 16th of November be awarded another 5 days to work together and bring their rengas to our judges' table by the end of Friday, the 20th of November. The winning pair of poets will be announced on Sunday, the 22nd of November.

It appears that the judges are one day behind schedule. undecided

Where is Ilaykorn ?
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Nobody: 8:26am On Nov 17, 2015
TheAgba:

Where is Ilaykorn ?
he's working hard I guess. Let's be calm.
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by llaykorn: 7:59am On Nov 18, 2015
TheAgba:

Where is Ilaykorn ?

Gr8Adedayo:
he's working hard I guess. Let's be calm.

Thanks, Gr8Adebayo. One of the judges ran into some unforeseen circumstances which we were lately informed about so we had to delegate just this morning. They will be posted by the end of today, and the qualifying pairs of poets announced. Thanks for your patience, poets.

Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by Stoical: 3:32pm On Nov 18, 2015
Hmmm, I missed out on the submission, as I went off this page for a while and my pair xoxoxoxoxox haven't contacted me either. However, I love poems and I may just read along, as I can't compete again. Cheers
Cc : llaykorn
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by desmondDessi(m): 10:59pm On Nov 18, 2015
llaykorn:
Scores For The First Round Of The NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition:

Contestants 2: emaculate99 & funlord

Judge 1: 93
Judge 2: 84
Judge 3: 93
Accumulative Total: 270

Contestants 3: Jigsawkillah & Imanuelle

Judge 1: 94
Judge 2: 83
Judge 3: 93

Contestants 4: LadyF & 69MissedCalls

Judge 1: 91
Judge 2: 75
Judge 3: 83
Accumulative Total: 249

Contestants 5: rainiscoming & divinepen

Judge 1: 98
Judge 3: 91
Accumulative Total: 273

Contestants 7: babyfaceafrica & barcaboi.

Judge 1: 90
Judge 2: 79
Judge 3: 85
Accumulative Total: 254

Contestants 8: slidewaxie & uncjay

Accumulative Total: 272

Contestants 9: obiZEAL & Cosmasel

Judge 1: 97
Judge 2: 81
Judge 3: 89
Accumulative Total: 267

Contestants 11: Emyemyberry & alexdidi

Judge 1: 95
Judge 2: 82
Judge 2: 89
Accumulative Total: 266

Contestants 15: Divepen1 & Gr8Adedayo

Judge 3: 90

Contestants 22: Ibnzubair & Donjowebs

Judge 1: 90
Judge 2: 73
Judge 3: 82
Accumulative Total: 246

Contestants 28: Smartlife & Kagari:

Judge 1: 92
Judge 3: 88
Accumulative Total: 264

Contestants 30: PopeExplicit and Oyetunder

Judge 2: 87
Accumulative Total: 269

Contestants 34: trailblaiza & generaliy07

Judge 1: 95
Judge 3: 87
Accumulative Total: 261

Contestants 36: Tuminibody & dchiefpriest

Accumulative Total: 260

Contestants 45: Vantee20 & tkush

Judge 1: 96
Judge 2: 78
Accumulative Total: 261

Contestants 46: Oracle009 & Kraftykc

Accumulative Total: 264

Contestants 49: SHIZZY7 & Drabeey

Accumulative Total: 263

Contestants 50: threedots & Chuksab

Judge 2: 89
Accumulative Total: 272

Contestants 53: Larryfly & IGITee

Accumulative Total: 269

Contestants 55: april4mee & israelboy1

Judge 3: 74
Accumulative Total: 248

Contestants 56 : TheAgba & Speeder

Judge 2: 86

Contestants 57: Orjhong & Wisdomkosi

Judge 2: 85
Accumulative Total: 267

Contestants 63: pureIvory & spidey77

Judge 2: 82

Contestants 64: desmondDessi & beejayodus

Accumulative Total: 266

Contestants 65: Weno & TheSCRYPT

Judge 2: 88
Accumulative Total: 273

Hmmmm so who and who qualified?
Re: NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta by llaykorn: 11:12pm On Nov 18, 2015
desmondDessi:

Hmmmm so who and who qualified?

Making It To The Next Round Are:

Contestants 5: rainiscoming & divinepen with 273 points..

Contestants 65: Weno & TheSCRYPT with 273 points...

Contestants 8: slidewaxie & uncjay with 272 points...

Contestants 50: threedots & Chuksab with 272 points...

Contestants 2: emaculate99 & funlord with 270 points...

Contestants 3: Jigsawkillah & Imanuelle with 270 points..

Contestants 15: Divepen1 & Gr8Adedayo with 270 points..

Contestants 56 : TheAgba & Speeder with 270 points...

Contestants 63: pureIvory & spidey77 with 270 points...

Congratulations poets....

Your next deadline is 11:59pm, on the 24th of November.

Remember that your poems will be judged by these criteria:

i. Compliance To Renga Rules (50 marks)

ii. Grammatical Accuracy (20 marks)

iii. Poetic Devices (20 marks)

iv. Organization/Structure (10 marks)

& Goodluck....

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (Reply)

Rhymes / The Last Monkey In Idanre / What If I Am A Black Woman?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56