Stats: 3,153,475 members, 7,819,736 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 09:59 PM

Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers (19833 Views)

DSS Arrests Ibrahim Magu, EFCC Chairman / Buhari Considers Sack, Prosecution Of Ibrahim Magu / Video Showing Efcc’s Ibrahim Magu At APC Event An Error — Channels TV (2) (3) (4)

Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by made4naijamusic: 8:07am On Jun 01, 2018
Ibrahim Magu, the acting Chairman of EFCC has asked banks to provide a list of corrupt customers ahead of the 2019 general elections.

Magu urged compliance officers of banks in Nigeria to be more diligent in their responsibilities, as a way of tackling money laundering and other fraudulent practices in the sector. He said compliance officers in various banks in Nigeria must also take ownership of the fight against corruption, which he described as one of the problems bedeviling the banking industry.

Speaking during an interactive session with Association of Chief Compliance Officers of Banks in Nigeria, ACCOBIN, in Lagos on Thursday, May 31, 2018, Magu said: “We need to find a common ground to work together. You have a responsibility to fight corruption.

“The Commission is ready to partner with you to ensure a healthy economy. We are ready to assist the banks in recovering their debts, but compliance officers must ensure due diligence, especially when giving out loans to customers. I know you sometimes need to protect some of your customers. But it is sometimes better that you do without some of these people; otherwise, you will be seen as conspiring with them to steal public funds.”

He further charged banks’ compliance officers to always provide the Commission with necessary information to assist it in carrying out its responsibilities, adding that “We must work together to save this country. Most of the banks are sitting on water. In fact, some of these banks are almost collapsing.

“I know there are questions you can’t ask, particularly it involves some individuals, but if you give us information on such people, we will move in. If there are fundamental issues that can affect your banks, you can give us the information, especially as another general election approaches. I don’t want to be charging banks alongside suspected criminals because doing so can wreak havoc on the economy. It will even discourage investors from coming to the country.”

source : https://www.made4naija.com/2018/06/efcc-boss-ibrahim-magu-tells-banks-to-provide-list-of-corrupt-customers/

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Blakjewelry(m): 8:11am On Jun 01, 2018
He is not serious, the efcc should have a way of mining their own data

48 Likes

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by SamuelAnyawu(m): 8:13am On Jun 01, 2018
Banks to takeover the job of EFCC? grin

36 Likes

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Paperwhite(m): 8:31am On Jun 01, 2018
grin grin So banks willl now be the ones to be doing the financial intelligence gathering? This still shows that the EFCC is still clueless despite its propaganda antigraft war.

72 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by made4naijamusic: 10:29am On Jun 01, 2018
Cc Lalasticlala
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Speakdatruth: 12:04pm On Jun 01, 2018
How will bank know

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Tokziby: 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
Corrupt customers or Customers Suspected to be Corrupt angry angry angry

Na wah ooo, if u must do ur job well then u must place ur officers in the banks to work with them. You dont expected a banker that is paid less to name his benefactors. Na there una go sleep oooo, The glaring polithiefians u never finish 1/100th case na bank customers u dey chase, ur mumu no be here.

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by skubido(m): 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
Then don come ooooo.

Naija sha
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Omeokachie: 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
This Magu sef

Are banks now an investigative body or the courts to declare someone corrupt?

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by ThatHistoryGuy(m): 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by ayusco85(m): 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
What have you done to the corrupt politicians with enough evidence? Eye service EFCC boss

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by spartan50(m): 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
Them go sue nonsense for those banks head.. Let them try it first
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Nobody: 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
If he's talking to Nigerian commercial banks, he should stop wasting his saliva. Nigerian commercial banks are a physical embodiment of the saying that Nigeria is fantastically corrupt.

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Nobody: 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
Are you kidney me?
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by soldierboi16(m): 12:05pm On Jun 01, 2018
Banks must start collecting salary from EFcc now They've started doing there job for them

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Nobody: 12:06pm On Jun 01, 2018
Bank ceo and senior mgt shud top that list

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by countryfive: 12:06pm On Jun 01, 2018
magu acting like a saint
he should go and arrest that grass cutter
the if, amaechi, tinubu , then I'll take him serious

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by temitopepeter: 12:06pm On Jun 01, 2018
through bvn
Speakdatruth:
How will bank know
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by NORSIYK(m): 12:06pm On Jun 01, 2018
boo.hari wants to cripple the opposition, it will never work for him
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Platony(m): 12:06pm On Jun 01, 2018
Go an sit dan......
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by anytexy: 12:06pm On Jun 01, 2018
You say what,,,? You must be joking

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by loadedvibes: 12:06pm On Jun 01, 2018
This wan go hard
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by abdul6211: 12:07pm On Jun 01, 2018
Well done EFCC

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Egein(m): 12:07pm On Jun 01, 2018
This is tremendously stupid. How are banks supposed to know? Are they investigative entities?

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by younglleo: 12:07pm On Jun 01, 2018
y shud magu fly dey super eagles with dat expensive jet.. Magu didnt finish his piloting school. Our boys are in danger.. Up eagles
Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Bukybabe(f): 12:08pm On Jun 01, 2018
yeyerolling:
Bank ceo and senior mgt shud top that list

you are on point..Those bankers wey dem be thieves..and they do a lot of illegal deals..

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Firefire(m): 12:09pm On Jun 01, 2018
Orisirisi grin

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Nobody: 12:09pm On Jun 01, 2018
No one will give him any list

Re: Ibrahim Magu Tells Banks To Provide List Of Corrupt Customers by Nobody: 12:09pm On Jun 01, 2018
Bakayoko.
present his name now please.

grincheesy

Gov Bindow, Ribadu Reach Agreement Ahead Of 2019 Election / President Buhari Expresses Joy Over APC’s Majority Win In The Senate / DSS Arrests Abdulmajid DanbilkiKwamanda Who Threatened To Make Kano Ungovernable

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 92