Stats: 3,158,236 members, 7,836,137 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 09:23 PM

Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly (16801 Views)

Rivers: One Assembly, Two Speakers, Multiple Battlefronts / Tension In Nasarawa As 2 Speakers Emerge From State Assembly / Two Edo Assembly Speakers Emerge (2) (3) (4)

Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by berniceunice: 3:35pm On Jun 20, 2019
Ebullience:
Bauchi State House of Assembly is currently in disarray as members have elected two Speakers in separate elections.

Eleven out of the 31 elected members of the Assembly sat as early as 7:00 am and elected Abubakar Suleiman as the Speaker of the House.

Suleiman is a member representing Ningi Central Constituency and a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Danlami Kawule a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) representing Zungur/Galambi was also elected as the Deputy Speaker by the same group of lawmakers.

The situation took a twist as 18 members of House held a parallel election in front of the Assembly complex around 11:00 am.

The members stood in front of the statue of the Mace symbol and elected Kawuwa Damina as the Speaker of the House.

Damina is a former Speaker in the 8th house of Assembly and a member of the APC. He was returned in the parallel election through a voice vote.

More to follow…

https://www.channelstv.com/2019/06/20/breaking-confusion-in-bauchi-assembly-as-two-speakers-emerge/

Statue replace mace�

Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by linearity: 3:43pm On Jun 20, 2019
Anyone have more insight into this?

Were the 18 outside locked or came late? If they were inside, it is obvious that they would have defeated the first election.

2-3rd is needed in the Senate to form a quorum, so, if 31 is the the total member count; and they are using the same quorum permutations ( most Nigeria legislative body do); then both elections are null and void....it’s an exercise in futility.
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by muykem: 3:45pm On Jun 20, 2019
ChristianNorth:
Arrest the other 18 for treason and charge them to court.
You are supporting illegality because it favour your party. Who is in control of Security agents that will make the arrest? The governor is digging his own grave this early and some of you are clapping.

Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by ChristianNorth: 3:47pm On Jun 20, 2019
muykem:
You are supporting illegality because it favour your party. Who is in control of Security agents that will make the arrest? The governor is digging his own grave this early and some of you are clapping.
What do you understand by illegality, yoruba moslem

Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by Nobody: 3:48pm On Jun 20, 2019
Oh thank God we have handed over statue govt to Bauchi state. Imo State is finally free
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by Nobody: 3:49pm On Jun 20, 2019
muykem:
Will you keep kwaeti
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by muykem: 3:49pm On Jun 20, 2019
linearity:

Were the 18 outside locked or came late? If they were inside, it is obvious that they would have defeated the first election.

2-3rd is needed in the Senate to form a quorum, so, if 31 is the the total member count; and they are using the same quorum permutations ( most Nigeria legislative body do); then both elections are null and void....it’s an exercise in futility.
Why can't you read it again for good comprehension without bias mind. The inauguration was scheduled for 10am but your fraudulent lawbreaker went there 6am as in characters of PDP.

Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by moorevic(m): 3:57pm On Jun 20, 2019
Majority carries the vote, 11 voted for Apc and 18 voted for Pdp. the majority has it

Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by celeiyke: 4:00pm On Jun 20, 2019
senatordave1:

Dont mind the deranged fellow

U can't elect a speaker without the mace.
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by celeiyke: 4:00pm On Jun 20, 2019
moorevic:
Majority carries the vote, 11 voted for Apc and 18 voted for Pdp. the majority has it

tongue tongue
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by linearity: 4:00pm On Jun 20, 2019
muykem:
Why can't you read it again for good comprehension without bias mind. The inauguration was scheduled for 10am but your fraudulent lawbreaker went there 6am as in characters of PDP.

I didn’t click on the external link, only saw what was posted here and there is no inauguration time there, only that the first election took place at 7am and the other at 11am.

No worries, my comprehension abilities are intact....though I question yours, because it was not the PDP, but the APC ‘lawbreakers’ that went there by 6am, you can read it again.
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by muykem: 4:08pm On Jun 20, 2019
ChristianNorth:

What do you understand by illegality, yoruba moslem
Let wait and see who will be finally arrested. Please note that Yoruba are one irrespective of religion and I am a proud Christian and hard follower of our lord jesus christ.

Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by ChristianNorth: 4:32pm On Jun 20, 2019
muykem:
Let wait and see who will be finally arrested. Please note that Yoruba are one irrespective of religion and I am a proud Christian and hard follower of our lord jesus christ.
Oyatz can you tell this ignorant Christian that your were once denied an accommodation by your yoruba moslem FRIEND because you are a yoruba Christian.

Muykem, better go and read the open letter Egbe Omo Oduduwa (Awolowo's political group) wrote to yoruba moslems asking them to take a definite stand for either their yoruba heritage or islamic religion.

Yorubas Christians are one, but not their moslems.

Be Guided!
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by MKULTRA: 4:34pm On Jun 20, 2019
They like stereo assembly grin
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by Peacecoy19: 6:42pm On Jun 20, 2019
linearity:

I didn’t click on the external link, only saw what was posted here and there is no inauguration time there, only that the first election took place at 7am and the other at 11am.

No worries, my comprehension abilities are intact....though I question yours, because it was not the PDP, but the APC ‘lawbreakers’ that went there by 6am, you can read it again.
The group of seven membersis pro government The group of eighteen members is core APC .APC has absolute majority in BAUCHI assembly.I am from there
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by OGHENAOGIE(m): 8:06pm On Jun 20, 2019
Jmk9292:
The executive should allow the legislature do their thing..... They keep imposing and wanting to impose rubber stamps..
if Buhari can favor some persons for nass leaders why should governors not do same too...
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by OGHENAOGIE(m): 8:09pm On Jun 20, 2019
linearity:

wrong it's 1/3 that's needed to form quorum na una go de shout party supremacy and una no sabi anything...the ist speaker is legitimate...the second is not...they should have gone to court...11 out of 31 members form quorum to sit and elect speaker
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by OGHENAOGIE(m): 8:14pm On Jun 20, 2019
in saner climes a dominanted apc house should not worry a pdp led governor of bauchi but we play crude politics of bitterness and the likes...same way some fools were protesting appointment of senate president...nonsense
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by muykem: 8:32pm On Jun 20, 2019
ChristianNorth:

Oyatz can you tell this ignorant Christian that your were once denied an accommodation by your yoruba moslem FRIEND because you are a yoruba Christian.

Muykem, better go and read the open letter Egbe Omo Oduduwa (Awolowo's political group) wrote to yoruba moslems asking them to take a definite stand for either their yoruba heritage or islamic religion.

Be Guided!
You can only try but your seed of discord is dead on arrival.
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by Nobody: 5:45am On Jun 21, 2019
Hope the statue-speaker and co will be standing in front of statue to hold sessions ... grin grin grin
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by oyatz(m): 8:09pm On Jun 21, 2019
You don't know much about the Yorubas. The World view of the Yorubas is pluralistic, hence divergent views are not only accommodated,they are celebrated.

However, like any situations,most follow Gussian distributions with few outliners (the people we call extremists in religions).

Yorubas welcome and participate in different Political parties, worship different deities and practice different religions without disturbing one and another.

In Yorubaland, most extended families is actually mixed with Christians, Muslims and traditionalists Members. I also have blood relatives who are Muslims. The Adeleke family are also mixed too.

My Muslim friend did NOT deny me accomodation (re read my post carefully). There are many Yoruba Muslims who have impacted positively on my life.

ChristianNorth:

Be Guided!
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by Alejobs: 8:05pm On Jul 26, 2019
We are the change the world is waiting for....
Re: Two Speakers Emerge In Bauchi Assembly by Onuoha1234(m): 8:01pm On Dec 11, 2023
Let the battle continue to finish so we can elect fresh EDUCATED 'CETIZENS,

80 Per Cent Of Security Energies Channelled Against Igbo — Intersociety Alleges / Okonjo-Iweala Tops Financial Times’ 25 Most Influential Women Of 2021 (Full List / Senator Kola Balogun Resigns From PDP