Stats: 3,152,211 members, 7,815,228 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 09:21 AM

Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism (471 Views)

Ibrahim Babangida Laughing At Mamman Vatsa's Wedding In The 60s (photo) / Video Of Dino Melaye, Hushpuppi And Timi Frank Laughing At A Party In Dubai / Punch Cartoon About Ekiti Governorship Election 2018 (2) (3) (4)

Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism by chizgold80: 12:55am On Dec 12, 2019
"As a symbolic demonstration of our protest against autocracy and military-style repression, PUNCH (all our print newspapers, THE PUNCH, Saturday PUNCH, Sunday PUNCH, PUNCH Sports Extra, and digital platforms, most especially Punchng.com) will henceforth prefix Buhari's name with his rank as a military dictator in the 80s, Major General, and refer to his administration as a regime, until they purge themselves of their insufferable contempt for the rule of law" (The Punch Organization)

Really? So, of all the punishments Punch could inflict upon Buhari, it chose "Yo Momma"-type attack? As in 'Yo momma is so fat, I took a picture of her last Christmas and it is still printing'. Or, 'Yo momma is so dumb, when y'all were driving to Disneyland, she saw a sign that said Disneyland Left, and she got mad and went home'.

So, Nigeria, like Rome, is burning and all Emperor Punch could do to salvage the situation was punish Buhari by addressing him by his hard-earned title? Really? So, Buhari should cry home to his momma because Punch has called him a Major General, and has called his administration a regime? Really?While at it, why not we start calling Aso Rock Dodan Barracks? Why are we still calling the Vice President Yemi Osinbajo? Why not we start calling him Brigadier General Tunde Idiagbon? Oh, it's Christmas, but why not we start calling it Yuletide?

I think Punch needs to be investigated. I suspect that Buhari bribed Punch to do what it did. How much did Punch receive from Buhari to want to revert to Buhari's coveted military title of Major General? You have a man who seems to be failing at what he is currently doing - being a president - and you are about to throw him a lifeline by addressing him with a coveted title? Does Punch not know that, all over the world, the military institution is regarded and respected way higher than the political institution? Politics is the scummiest profession in the world. And you want to untie Buhari from the scum of politics and restore him to the highly coveted rank of a military General? What do Ademola Osinubi and his editorial board smoke at Punch?

Symbolic demonstration of your protest? Really? What part of Nigeria's problems under the Buhari government is symbolic? How do you bring a pillow to a gunfight? The country is going through some real raw deal, and your arsenal of war against the man at the helm is a symbolic re-glorification? And you are supposed to be Punch? Naaaa, c'mon, Ademola, you should be smarter than that. Punch should be stronger than that. Grow some spunk and quit the 'yo momma' journalism. If Punch is really Punch, then, it should punch, not punt.

READ MORE: https://ikengachronicles.com/laughing-at-punch-and-its-yo-momma-journalism/

Re: Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism by Amazingman(m): 1:52am On Dec 12, 2019
Na wa ooo
Re: Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism by Npfn: 2:02am On Dec 12, 2019
Resident znb
Re: Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism by maynation(f): 4:36am On Dec 12, 2019
I admire your writing prowess.
But the 'major general' tag is a reminder of his true personality. The wicked dictator and his unrepentant anti-democratic person. The mean totalitarian and the tyrannical animal he truly is.
The acknowledgement of this title is obviously an insult.

Re: Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism by CharlotteFlair: 5:40am On Dec 12, 2019
The punch Punch Media threw at the lifeless Sudanese was a brutal upper-cut.

There was a presidential directive as to how to address buhari in 2018, that's why the presidency is in sifia pains.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/headlines/259979-president-buhari-addressed-henceforth-nigerian-govt.html&ved=2ahUKEwikwa-npK_mAhWwyIUKHdtJC2gQFjAOegQIBxAB&usg=AOvVaw29X9DhrATaGLNnQE5Tp_p2
Re: Laughing At Punch And Its ‘yo Momma’ Journalism by Hedonisco: 5:53am On Dec 12, 2019
maynation:
I admire your writing prowess.
But the 'major general' tag is a reminder of his true personality. The wicked dictator and his unrepentant anti-democratic person. The mean totalitarian and the tyrannical animal he truly his.
The acknowledgement of this title is obviously an insult.

It would have been better to describe him as a dictator or tyrant.. Rather than Major General. "Nigerian dictator, Mohammadu Buhari, bla bla bla".

But still, the Punch was courageous enough to make a bold move. Let's hope that the others follow suit.

Abe's Men As Wike's Commissioner Nominees: Eze Demands Public Apology From Abe / Supreme Court Affirms Seyi Makinde Election / Islamic State In Nigeria 'beheads Christian Hostages' - Bbc News, 27/12/19

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 17