Stats: 3,154,008 members, 7,821,535 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 02:33 PM

Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria (12253 Views)

Obasanjo Writes Letter To Sanusi: Your Dethronement As Emir Is Good And Bad / Lamido Sanusi's Dethronement As Emir And Exile (Video) / Sanusi Lamido Arrested, Exiled To Nasarawa After Dethronement As Emir Of Kano (2) (3) (4)

Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by GeneralTopic: 12:47pm On Mar 10, 2020
Ever since Sanusi Lamido Sanusi was ousted as the emir of Kano, by the Kano State Government, I have been reading comments in here like...

"they can never try this with (Inserts the name of one compound chief from a remote village)"

"the government will never attempt to uninstall (inserts the name of a family chief)"

Bla Bla Bla...

See, there is Royalty and there is Royalty. There are momentous levels to this game that goes beyond our 50 kobo sentiments...

The aura and charisma a traditional stool oozes, together with its historical progression and significance is how it will be treated...

Apart from these SS3 boys below:

Ooni of Ife
Oba of Benin (this particular one is nobody's mate)
Sultan of Sokoto

Your traditional ruler is at the mercy of the state government. The government will install and uninstall him like a mobile app and nothing will happen�... It is a very bitter pill to swallow. I know that. But let's resist the urge to argue about "realism" and "idealism" today... On this discourse, please ignore what is ideal and rather talk about what is obtainable.

Written by: Teddy Benson

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by kryptochats: 12:50pm On Mar 10, 2020
apart from sultan, others are gods, fight them make the gods come after you

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by CharleyBright(m): 12:51pm On Mar 10, 2020
GeneralTopic:
Ever since Sanusi Lamido Sanusi was ousted as the emir of Kano, by the Kano State Government, I have been reading comments in here like...

"they can never try this with (Inserts the name of one compound chief from a remote village)"

"the government will never attempt to uninstall (inserts the name of a family chief)"

Bla Bla Bla...

See, there is Royalty and there is Royalty. There are momentous levels to this game that goes beyond our 50 kobo sentiments...

The aura and charisma a traditional stool oozes, together with its historical progression and significance is how it will be treated...

Ooni of Ife
Sultan of Sokoto

Your traditional ruler is at the mercy of the state government. The government will install and uninstall him like a mobile app and nothing will happen�... It is a very bitter pill to swallow. I know that. But let's resist the urge to argue about "realism" and "idealism" today... On this discourse, please ignore what is ideal and rather talk about what is obtainable.

What do you know small boy?
Didnt Sani Abacha remove a Sultan of Sokoto?
U werent born then i guess.

Just to let you know, things have changed. This is not precolonial era. Traditional rulers are now puppets on a string. They are no more powerful as they were before, they can be removed at anytime if they dont play ball... and they know it.
By the way, who pays their bill?

93 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Generalissimo75(m): 12:54pm On Mar 10, 2020
GeneralTopic:

Bla Bla Bla...

Ooni of Ife
Sultan of Sokoto

Hmmm..... Ever heard of Alaafin Of Oyo?

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by kestolove95(m): 1:19pm On Mar 10, 2020
Sultan of sokoto my foot, where were u wen dasuki father was dethrone by abacha? Guy go learn history

58 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by mrvitalis(m): 1:21pm On Mar 10, 2020
Generalissimo75:

Hmmm..... Ever heard of Alaafin Of Oyo?
He has been dethroned in 1955 relax

21 Likes 1 Share

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Beosten(m): 1:26pm On Mar 10, 2020
No king is untouchable, but fighting Ooni, Alaafin and Oba of Bini will attract serious retributions on the governors.

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Blue3k(m): 1:31pm On Mar 10, 2020
OP go read your civics and history textbook. You should know traditional institutions are subordinate to state governments. These traditional institutions cant collect taxes without the state government.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Goke7: 1:33pm On Mar 10, 2020
You have said it all, traditional rulers no matter the level of jazz are like mobile apps that can be installed and uninstalled

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by ziegurf(m): 1:39pm On Mar 10, 2020
....omo iyaa I hail oooo

if you know....you know

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by BlackfireX: 1:42pm On Mar 10, 2020
Come and see chest beating...

Ooni of Ife

Oba of Benin

Sultan of sokoto ..

Walahi na children full here

15 Likes

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by famouscargo4u: 1:45pm On Mar 10, 2020
mrvitalis:

He has been dethroned in 1955 relax

He was dethroned by Awolowo but what happened thereafter? Awolowo died a very shameful death and Bode Thomas his right hand man barked till he died.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by ogmask: 1:52pm On Mar 10, 2020
For me, the Oba of Benin is the only king among the ones mentioned that can not be replaced until he dies.
Yes, the political authority can unseat a traditional ruler according to our constitution but that authority can not
appoint just anybody to ascent the throne in Benin.
Dethroning the Oba of Benin is like totally eradicating the Benin Royal stool. Even the British with their almighty
colonial powers couldnt replace Ovoravwen. Onyaregbulem, ones military administrator, had issue with Oba Eradiauwa an we
all know how that ended.

22 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by bjdon: 2:03pm On Mar 10, 2020
Please leave Oba of Benin and Oni of Ife out of these discussions. Those 2 are on a different level entirely from all the other traditional rulers in Nigeria

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Unbiased1: 2:06pm On Mar 10, 2020
f
Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by CSTR2: 2:08pm On Mar 10, 2020
The sultan of sokoto has been deposed before.

It's like this guy does not know history.

There are Kings like the dein of agbor and the asagba of asaba with more unshakeable royalty than these so called popular Kings.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by CSTR2: 2:09pm On Mar 10, 2020
bjdon:
Please leave Oba of Benin and Oni of Ife out of these discussions. Those 2 are on a different level entirely from all the other traditional rulers in Nigeria
They have two heads?

Or did their kingdoms trespass beyond to other Nigerian kingdoms in pre colonial times?

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by bjdon: 2:20pm On Mar 10, 2020
CSTR2:

They have two heads?

Or did their kingdoms trespass beyond to other Nigerian kingdoms in pre colonial times?

I am not responsible for your education or lack of.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by tofolo(m): 2:41pm On Mar 10, 2020
CharleyBright:

Just to let you know, things have changed. This is not precolonial era. Traditional rulers are now puppets on a string. They are no more powerful as they were before, they can be removed at anytime if they dont play ball... and they know it.

Don't mind him. he was not around then.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by seunmsg(m): 2:43pm On Mar 10, 2020
Rubbish. There is no untouchable king in Nigeria right now. Governors are actually the real Kings as far as states are concerned. Alaafin, Sultan and Oba of Benin have all been dethroned by government in the past without any problem. No king is bigger than the state governor. They all serve at the mercy of the state government.

21 Likes

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Donaldoni: 2:46pm On Mar 10, 2020
Olodo kids everywhere... embarassed

The Sultan of Sokoto was once dethroned, Dasuki to be precise.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by BeLookingIDIOT(m): 2:56pm On Mar 10, 2020
The Sultan of sokoto has been dethroned before; the alaafin of Oyo also.Even the oba of Benin can also be dethroned.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by iamDrRhymes(m): 3:12pm On Mar 10, 2020
[quote author=seunmsg post=87324519]Rubbish. There is no untouchable king in Nigeria right now. Governors are actually the real Kings as far as states are concerned. Alaafin, Sultan and Oba of Benin have all been dethroned by government in the past without any problem. No king is bigger than the state governor. They all serve at the mercy of the state government. [/quote)

Fact!

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by NaijirianKing: 3:29pm On Mar 10, 2020
Interesting.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by Relationshipmat(f): 3:37pm On Mar 10, 2020
Forget , Government pass juju

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by sapientia(m): 3:39pm On Mar 10, 2020
seunmsg:
Rubbish. There is no untouchable king in Nigeria right now. Governors are actually the real Kings as far as states are concerned. Alaafin, Sultan and Oba of Benin have all been dethroned by government in the past without any problem. No king is bigger than the state governor. They all serve at the mercy of the state government.

When was an Oba dethroned and another took over?

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by kode12: 3:47pm On Mar 10, 2020
GeneralTopic:

Bla Bla Bla...

Ooni of Ife
Sultan of Sokoto

I like where you are coming from, but kindly note that traditional rulers can be removed by the sitting governors of their states. And as a matter of fact, when Lucky Igbinedion held office c.2005 he too nearly removed the Oba of Benin from office, due to ruckus between the Oba and Nosakhare Igbinedion. The difference was the people of Bini kingdom fought against it and the Benin traditional stool being held in such high regard he had no choice but to back down.

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by CSTR2: 4:01pm On Mar 10, 2020
bjdon:

I am not responsible for your education or lack of.
Answer my question.

Did the ife kingdom tresspass to other kingdoms in Nigeria?

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by priestjay: 4:04pm On Mar 10, 2020
Same with Atta Igala. He can never be Dethrone

Re: Sanusi Lamido Dethronement: Three Untouchable Kings In Nigeria by imam07: 4:08pm On Mar 10, 2020
CharleyBright:

I don't know of others sha but repercussion go dey if govt touch oba of Benin and oni of ife. This our govt wey dey suppose dethrone dey dethrone king.

Lagos State PDP Chairman, Adedeji Doherty Resigns / Bruce Fien Says Kanu's Detention Violates International Law, To Petition UN / Jang Appoints Son, Others Special Advisers

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37