Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,151,630 members, 7,813,087 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 06:46 AM

Men And Their Families - Family - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Men And Their Families (1190 Views)

Why Are Dead People Not Leaving Their Families When They Died? / Can't We Just Get Married Without Involving Families? / The Truth About Nigerian Men And Their Foreign Wives (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Men And Their Families by cennific(f): 2:32pm On Aug 13, 2007
Why do men put their family before their wives? I am new to all of this and all I get from the women around me is: he will change. One proudly told me it took her hubby 9 years to change. I am close to my siblings but I keep my boundaries clear. Sweetheart on the other hand will dole out our savings to his family members at the smallest whine and forget that I have been feeding us for months just so we can change the stupid jalopy he currently drives. honestly its not fair and I do now understand why women (my mom in particular) hide their finances from men. Of course I can't tell him about it because he already feels I am against his family (as if that were possible). So, what do I say or do to make him understand that this is a very wrong way to start a marriage? Has anyone out there done something that actually worked to change this pattern? I am truly open to suggestions.
Re: Men And Their Families by Njoy1(f): 7:59pm On Aug 13, 2007
Sit him down and talk to him , let him know how you feel about him helping out his own family. In marriage one has to compromise.
Re: Men And Their Families by simplyme3(f): 8:50pm On Aug 13, 2007
is this money from a genaral purse or from you? If he has been used to helping his family before meeting u and before the marriage, it will speak no good if u make him stop doing that, moreso u don't want the family to label u a bad wife because he stopped fending for his family.