Stats: 3,162,773 members, 7,851,636 topics. Date: Thursday, 06 June 2024 at 02:17 AM

No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes - Politics (21) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes (44603 Views)

Every Nation Is Entitled To Have Laws To Protect Indigenous Peoples - Omokri / No Man's Land! : Lagos Here We Come! (pics) / Mamman Amadu Asks Lawmakers To Make Laws To Regulate Birth Rate In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) ... (27) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by SugarGirl44(f): 11:58pm On Jun 07, 2023
JOemmy:

Definitely they don't even know what they're putting their hands into the nigerian constitution is even greater than any lagos by law.

Una eye don enter Lagos abi? Hehehe.
Keep crying, you’ll soon be sent back to your cave.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by SugarGirl44(f): 12:10am On Jun 08, 2023
Sltp:
Lagos is a Yoruba land? Does this mean all Yoruba people are indigenes of Lagos? Why not specify the tribes of Lagos indigenes? It shows that they're only targeting the minority from non Yoruba ethnic groups while the Yoruba from 5 neighboring states take over the state. This is not from the Lagos indigenes, this is a law to make all Yoruba Lagos indigenes and it's not good for the real indigenes

Hehehe, and you nonentity clown is now the spokesperson for the real indegenes?
Who is your father??

Okan yin o ni bale, eyin omo eran lasanlasan, na our matter go kill una laslas.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by SugarGirl44(f): 12:12am On Jun 08, 2023
LagosFirstSon:
I hope you're Lagos indigine and not typing from Oyo state ? 😂 😂

At least Oyo is a part of SW and they’re our blood.
What’s ipig’s business all the way from the cursed land of biafra?

And stop using this emoji, we know you’re actually crying, no dey disguise.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by JOemmy(m): 12:16am On Jun 08, 2023
SugarGirl44:

Una eye don enter Lagos abi? Hehehe.
Keep crying, you’ll soon be sent back to your cave.

Ur lagos is just a creation of the nigerian state it doesn't have any natural resources even all the states in the south east have natural resources so why will any reasonable non indigen loose anything if he is driven out of ur lagos? If not for the useless unitary 1999 constitution nigeria operates that steals the natural resources of the ss and se to develop ur lagos and other parasite nigerian states what will the people of the ss/se be looking for in ur lagos?

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Jeffy1206(m): 12:23am On Jun 08, 2023
Christistruth03:

Is this in the Constitution?
no it's in your nose 😒
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Jeffy1206(m): 12:24am On Jun 08, 2023
samz77:
Mr SABP senior advocate of the Biafran people. Una Sabi law very Wella. Siddon there dey yarn rubbish
you see your mumu eh, e no get part two 😒.
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by goslowgoslow(m): 12:25am On Jun 08, 2023
nnamdi640:
I have told you the criminality you want to embark on and in no time you and your people will lick your wounds.
Why did you edited the last part of my comment? Now with that who is the criminal me or you? Bloody leaches go call Kano no mans land let me see if you will see tomorrow. A criminal calling his host a criminal! Na small lesson una learn during the elections the big one is coming. Can I go to Nnewi to try the rubbish you all try on Yoruba land? But you want to dominate people on their land because they welcome you and sold their land for you to survive. Very vile tribe! We are ready for you people this time around.
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Jeffy1206(m): 12:27am On Jun 08, 2023
Librason:

Who told you it will run against the constitution? just calm down first.
such laws are discriminatory in nature. If you talk customs of the people is different... Legitimising it will not go down well with the ground norm!

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by goslowgoslow(m): 12:28am On Jun 08, 2023
JohnnA1:
Na we Yoruba cause am na, forming ''sophistication'' and ''accomodating''; THAT COMES TO AN END!
YORUBALAND MUST BE SECURED AT ALL COSTS, I mean what heritage will we give to our children in the future?? undecided
Honestly you are right! But thank God that we have learnt some lessons and our eyes are now opened.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by fredoooooo: 12:28am On Jun 08, 2023
maintenant:
But you are not a Lagos indegene...

As narrow-minded and hateful you people are, dont rush to make laws that will end up haunting you in the near future....

Power is not permanent...
This remind me of Aguiyi ironsi and the unitary system he brought because of greed .. it haunt his people today and forever
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by goslowgoslow(m): 12:28am On Jun 08, 2023
Jeffy1206:
such laws are discriminatory in nature. If you talk customs of the people is different... Legitimising it will not go down well with the ground norm!
Go to court!

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Nobody: 12:31am On Jun 08, 2023
Librason:

Are you saying the red Indians are not exposed today, not enlightened, not educated in today's world.? or are not in politics,,? even those who are still in tune with their primitive culture and who isolate themselves from western ways of life, they still give them their respect , recognition and space and they are not run over.
Which zero and fake love? those who even protect dogs and give other animals their right.

The red indians (native americans) are not indigenes, a quick google search will show you who the real indigenes were.

I’m not going to deny that new measures have been put in place for the cultural appropriators, but it’s all optics at this point and they don’t mind doing it because the people they (the law makers) are doing it for have their blood in them. They provided nothing but anguish for the real indigenes.
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by IjebuWarrior: 12:31am On Jun 08, 2023
nnamdi640:
Law wey no go carry water. You can't sell your land to someone else and still want to claim ownership. Hope the court will do the needful when you try any rubbish. What am seeing is people that want to shoot their own selves, this will make other states to target your own people.

Okoro werey, go and jump inside lagoon, abeg. grin
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by luluman: 12:35am On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:
I'm certain this is unconstitutional. But we shall indeed see.
You want to start another futile move.
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Librason: 1:02am On Jun 08, 2023
Jagungidi:

The red indians (native americans) are not indigenes, a quick google search will show you who the real indigenes were.

I’m not going to deny that new measures have been put in place for the cultural appropriators, but it’s all optics at this point and they don’t mind doing it because the people they (the law makers) are doing it for have their blood in them. They provided nothing but anguish for the real indigenes.

If native Americans/ red Indians are not the aborigines of America , can you just tell me since you know.
Atleast let me know what IAM going to object or argue about.
You can't tell me red Indians are not indigenes of America and choose not to tell me who the indigenes are?
You are talking as if we are in 16th century , a lot of modification to laws and special considerations for the indigenes have been achieved.
Do you know there are special laws known as tribal laws to protect the indigenes in America? If you don't know you can read it up.
There are federal laws and their tribal laws for the indigenes.
The aborigines have attained great heights in their various field of endeavours, politics, music (in Grammy there are special several categories for recognition of red Indians for instance), Sports, Medicine, Education name it.
You are talking as if someone is holding them and they are not part of the nitty gritty of American life, they are the ones who are even asking beyond the basic/average recognition now because they realize that they are the true sons of the soil, the aborigines.
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Librason: 1:35am On Jun 08, 2023
Jeffy1206:

Defacto, indigenes do enjoy some privileges in their different states compared to settlers as we speak. I don't think this will be different eventhough a lil bit of step up is what they want to do now , somewhat like iPhone 6 to iPhone 7, and everybody will know their place.
As we speak, are there more Igbos in Lagos government Secretariat or any other civil services compared to Yoruba people, eventhough there are qualified and unemployed Igbos in Lagos (even though if it's by population proportionate allocation) and on a flip side are there more Yorubas in government Secretariat in awka or in other civil services , this little and other inequalities do occur everywhere.

Lagos is just being talked about most because it welcomes everybody, people troop here per second and everything she does becomes headline.
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Nobody: 1:52am On Jun 08, 2023
Librason:

If native Americans/ red Indians are not the aborigines of America , can you just tell me since you know.
Atleast let me know what IAM going to object or argue about.
You can't tell me red Indians are not indigenes of America and choose not to tell me who the indigenes are?
You are talking as if we are in 16th century , a lot of modification to laws and special considerations for the indigenes have been achieved.
Do you know there are special laws known as tribal laws to protect the indigenes in America? If you don't know you can read it up.
There are federal laws and their tribal laws for the indigenes.
The aborigines have attained great heights in their various field of endeavours, politics, music (in Grammy there are special several categories for recognition of red Indians for instance), Sports, Medicine, Education name it.
You are talking as if someone is holding them and they are not part of the nitty gritty of American life, they are the ones who are even asking beyond the basic/average recognition now because they realize that they are the true sons of the soil, the aborigines.

Bro, the history is hidden for a reason. This is what real indigenes of Florida and parts of California looked like.

The United States paid bounty hunters (any white with a gun) $12 for every male scalp and $6 for women ones, they paid a little change for children’s scalp or the ones that were alive got fed to alligators.

https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/nov/15/new-england-once-hunted-and-humans-for-money-were-descendents-of-the-survivors

^^ you would have to dive deep into research journals, newspaper articles published during those times to get the full gist because attempts have been made and continued to be made to hide these unfortunate events and true identities of the people involved.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by nnamdi640: 2:14am On Jun 08, 2023
goslowgoslow:

Why did you edited the last part of my comment? Now with that who is the criminal me or you? Bloody leaches go call Kano no mans land let me see if you will see tomorrow. A criminal calling his host a criminal! Na small lesson una learn during the elections the big one is coming. Can I go to Nnewi to try the rubbish you all try on Yoruba land? But you want to dominate people on their land because they welcome you and sold their land for you to survive. Very vile tribe! We are ready for you people this time around.
You guys foolishness will put you on bad side soon. We already know that you don't have land to sell again, all you want to do is to forcefully collect from the ones you sold out and all this excuses you are giving that somebody said this or that concising Lagos is just a tactics. Criminality and propaganda is the DNA used to classify people that act in the way you guys are acting. Dullard thinks they can use senseless tactics to collect back what they already sold off.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Jeffy1206(m): 4:39am On Jun 08, 2023
Librason:

Defacto, indigenes do enjoy some privileges in their different states compared to settlers as we speak. I don't think this will be different eventhough a lil bit of step up is what they want to do now , somewhat like iPhone 6 to iPhone 7, and everybody will know their place.
As we speak, are there more Igbos in Lagos government Secretariat or any other civil services compared to Yoruba people, eventhough there are qualified and unemployed Igbos in Lagos (even though if it's by population proportionate allocation) and on a flip side are there more Yorubas in government Secretariat in awka or in other civil services , this little and other inequalities do occur everywhere.

Lagos is just being talked about most because it welcomes everybody, people troop here per second and everything she does becomes headline.
Oga! You don't have to make it a law before favouring the indigenes of a particular place... Make it law a law, it will run contrary to the provisions of the Constitution. N.B I'm from Benue State. Stop using everybody to be igbo when they oppose obnoxious policies from your tribe. 😡😕😕 In Benue, we have 3 major speaking tribes amongst others and you want them to make law and say... Employ 30 indigenes across the state and the rest 2 spots to any other tribes in Benue. How does this sound to you? Anyways, it won't see the light of day...

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Jeffy1206(m): 4:45am On Jun 08, 2023
goslowgoslow:

Go to court!
for the record, I don't live in Lagos. That slum of an area threatened with water or flood every year? The way you people dey over rate this una lagos sha de baffle me 🤣🤣. Come Abuja and live beta life 😜😜😜. Good roads, cheap food, no over inflated House rents, 🤔🤔 plenty things to mention... I'm just hoping that your agberos from Lagos no go come drag Abuja for us o. 😏😕

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Touchypro(m): 5:28am On Jun 08, 2023
Tommydare:
Funny guy. Saying Dubai is a city...who doesn't know that? So as Indians has many investments in dubai...na dem get Dubai? Abi na dem be indigenes? Or do you think there won't be preferential treatment?

So what exactly are you talking about? That someone from Sharjah will go to Dubai and be treated with a different law because he's from Sharjah in the same UAE? Is Lagos not part of Nigeria anymore? Indians are not from UAE they are immigrants, they would need passport to go to Dubai but in this case Igbos are Nigerians so they have the right that every Nigerian have.

Now there's a question that you didn't answer, what are the things in Lagos that you want only Yorubas to enjoy that other tribes shouldn't enjoy? I want to know those things. If you tell me I will honestly help you campaign for it on Twitter. I just want to know these things that an average Yoruba man should enjoy in Lagos that shouldn't be available for other tribes

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by ginggerxy: 5:31am On Jun 08, 2023
NzogbuNzogbu:
nnamdi why are you crying in advance when you have the population and own all the land in Lagos

Relax
You can not have your cake and eat it .
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by ginggerxy: 5:40am On Jun 08, 2023
goslowgoslow:

You people Sha want to bring Lagos to it's kneels

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by Tommydare(m): 6:10am On Jun 08, 2023
Don't worry. U will understand anytime u wan buy property in lagos.
Touchypro:

So what exactly are you talking about? That someone from Sharjah will go to Dubai and be treated with a different law because he's from Sharjah in the same UAE? Is Lagos not part of Nigeria anymore? Indians are not from UAE they are immigrants, they would need passport to go to Dubai but in this case Igbos are Nigerians so they have the right that every Nigerian have.

Now there's a question that you didn't answer, what are the things in Lagos that you want only Yorubas to enjoy that other tribes shouldn't enjoy? I want to know those things. If you tell me I will honestly help you campaign for it on Twitter. I just want to know these things that an average Yoruba man should enjoy in Lagos that shouldn't be available for other tribes

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by ImperialYoruba: 6:53am On Jun 08, 2023
Start renaming streets. All street named after Ibo, change it. There is no constitution protecting naming of streets.

After that, next reversal is redistricting and rezoning of Ibo clusters. Use Municipal edicts to remap into commercial and residential districts, then create buffers for ecological rehabilitation areas. Use overlay of tax laws to enforce the changes. Constitution grants freedom of movement, not settlement or take over of indigeneous properties. Occupying and controlling an entire space is a occupation, quite contrary to the liberty ceeded by constitution to Nigerians.

Start with these two before next election. After these are implemented let me know. I'll give hint for next reversals to tackle. There are twenty reversals can be implemented right away, none of which has any legal variable.

By time we get to reversal number 6 nobody go tell Ibo that Lagos is a hostile and unaccomodating city to live in.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by ImperialYoruba: 7:19am On Jun 08, 2023
Touchypro:

Constitution of Nigeria has never given anyone absolute right. The constitution gives relative rights.

In order words, it recognizes that conditions are not uniform as you go from one section of Nigeria to another. Therefore what is obtainable in East is not so in West. There are conditions and aspects of social norms which are standard and a default in West, but is foreign and strange in East.

When an Easterner is present in West he is allowed to also live and enjoy in these peculiarities of social life in West RELATIVE TO building a better and more progressive and evolving society.

The constitution is thus paraphrased "We so so so people, IN ORDER TO BUILD A BETTER SOCIETY hereby commit ourselves...blah blah blah.....

If your living in West denies the rights of others for progressive existense, the constitution gives them a supreme right over you, and limits your privilege while you are physically present in West.

Infact, Lagos State Govt inherited some colonial laws (because it was the only colony in Nigeria) which if it wanted could be exercised to forcibly remove delinquent Ibos from the State.

Ogbeni, dont make me raise some eye openers on this forum and start a movement for the repatriation of Ibos. There are loop holes in the constitution of Nigeria that Lagos State govt can use to flush you out. There is a reason they have not been used. Siddon jeje and be calm. Stop poking your hosts in the eye. You hear me?

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by KORLAR(m): 7:25am On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:

Neither of the proposed laws has neither indicated a restriction of movement nor refusal of entry/exit or expulsion.
So, which part is unconstitutional?
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by KORLAR(m): 7:29am On Jun 08, 2023
slawomir:
Damnnn niggar

Funny people
In this twenty first century

Na im people dey come up with this kind ancient and primitive ideas

If we should even discuss the real owner of lagos

The Binis own lagos

Please if you don't know your history don't quote me

Meet any of your elderly ones and ask them or rather walk into any of your monarch Palace and seek for knowledge

Even in so called developed climes there are laws to protect the interests of indigenes. Talk less of a state where foreigners claim is a no man’s land.

Since Binis own Lagos, let them stop the law from being promulgated.

Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by slivertongue: 7:30am On Jun 08, 2023
budaatum:

This jargon started when in response to the crisis in a particular state in the North Central Fashola called for the removal of indigenes in the constitution for citizenship. Some hailed him but when someone said removing the indigenes - settler dichotomy will make that state a no man's land, he replied that if you were born or have stayed a decade a place you should be accorded the right of an indigene. So when someone said then Lagos is a no man's land, he got angry and fired back thus the reversal of his earlier position.
It will have multiplier effects. Others will make laws to protect their land &resources.
Re: No-Man’s Land: Lagos To Make Laws To Protect Indigenes by allcomage: 7:32am On Jun 08, 2023
ImperialYoruba:
Start renaming streets. All street named after Ibo, change it. There is no constitution protecting naming of streets.

After that, next reversal is redistricting and rezoning of Ibo clusters. Use Municipal edicts to remap into commercial and residential districts, then create buffers for ecological rehabilitation areas. Use overlay of tax laws to enforce the changes. Constitution grants freedom of movement, not settlement or take over of indigeneous properties. Occupying and controlling an entire space is a occupation, quite contrary to the liberty ceeded by constitution to Nigerians.

Start with these two before next election. After these are implemented let me know. I'll give hint for next reversals to tackle. There are twenty reversals can be implemented right away, none of which has any legal variable.

By time we get to reversal number 6 nobody go tell Ibo that Lagos is a hostile and unaccomodating city to live in.
Abeg, are the laws only for Igbo or Nigerians of all ethnicities living in lagos?

(1) (2) (3) ... (18) (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) ... (27) (Reply)

Presidential Primary: Dollar Rain As Saraki, Atiku, Tambuwal Divide PDP Leaders / Academic Documents Written By Goodluck Jonathan In 1985, At UniPort / Bamidele Akpan In The Midst Of PDP Members

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 91