Stats: 3,152,133 members, 7,814,957 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 01:57 AM

Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen - Sports (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen (45923 Views)

Mikel Obi Becomes Tianjin Teda’s Captain & Given No 10 Jersey / Mikel Obi Reacts To Buhari's Wife In Kitchen Comment With This Photo / Nigerian-born Anthony Joshua Becomes British Heavyweight Boxing Champion(pics) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Revolva(m): 2:00pm On Jan 18, 2015
Let's clap hands for mikel
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by searay(m): 2:00pm On Jan 18, 2015
Thank God, he is no longer playing for Nigeria
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by ogene007: 2:00pm On Jan 18, 2015
Benfaco:

what are you saying sir?
Don't worry, the GEJ haters took an overdose of the APC brainwashing poison, that is why they are sick with hatred for GEJ.I guess they will being going on self imposed exile after GEJ is declared winner of the feb. 14 elections.

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Nobody: 2:03pm On Jan 18, 2015
onosprince:
Goodnews...

Meanwhile cheasea fans only, add me on bbm to join cfc group...2B63996A
dem dea share money there?
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by MrTolulope(m): 2:04pm On Jan 18, 2015
uhmmm... so make we no vote for feb14
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Chubhie: 2:06pm On Jan 18, 2015
A dream come true for him. He waited patiently for this. Enjoy your success.
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by festusfeezy(m): 2:07pm On Jan 18, 2015
so therefore, meaning he cannot play for nija again haa. Wow, well congrats to him
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Nobody: 2:10pm On Jan 18, 2015
MuguliciousMUGU:
He should change his name to
mikel edward walter, thats a british name

congratz...
Come on! We know that's a British name. You destroyed your comment with that inclusion
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by boolet: 2:11pm On Jan 18, 2015
Now that he's achieved this feat, he may now choose to leave Chelsea.
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by pappilo(m): 2:11pm On Jan 18, 2015
Billyonaire:
I hope he understands the implications and the Tax Burden associated with getting that passport. It is not a thing of joy, but of sober reflection.

You like to chat like you know what you are talking about but the reality is you are clueless.

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by aguizm(m): 2:14pm On Jan 18, 2015
MuguliciousMUGU:

congratz...

Hahahahahahha

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by aguizm(m): 2:17pm On Jan 18, 2015
searay:
Thank God, he is no longer playing for Nigeria

Ogbeni your own daftness dey beyond deliverance because na HELL MADE.

Please no qoute me because...

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by marvelyole(m): 2:18pm On Jan 18, 2015
Nice 1 mi guy
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Cmanforall: 2:18pm On Jan 18, 2015
MuguliciousMUGU:

congratz...
I think he should change his name to MIKEL HEARTS or MIKEL PALACE.... Its a more british translation of his nigerian name.... smiley

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by jdbrasco(m): 2:19pm On Jan 18, 2015
bogolobango:
@obibankz GEJ NA IGBO

man get a life pls sometimes i wonder how u guys are going to maintain una so called biafra when u dont really know which particular tribe or ethnique group u belong to

Delta igbo
calabar igbo
ilorin igbo

Very soon u guys will claim lagos igbo

Am sick and tired of dis shiit

jst as there are yorubas in benin rep, Gahna etc. It dosnt mean u dnt knw ur root because of political creations. Y are so disturbed abt it? Uuuh

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Nobody: 2:20pm On Jan 18, 2015
gen2briz:

That na minus one for us in Nigeria.

Anyway congrats to him.

No, bro. It's called dual citizenship. He's not less a Nigerian.
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by komek(m): 2:32pm On Jan 18, 2015
The leaders of our country have so fu;'cked our system that when someone gets the British passport, we congratulate him and merry with him. This is so funny. Like someone said he should try and change his name to Mikel Walter.

I am not a sadist pls, but just thinking about what our leadership both past and present have done to this great country.

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by khattab008: 2:33pm On Jan 18, 2015
CaptainOjemba:
(Cos you will need something from nigeria some day but you will be denied of your dual citizenship.) That's when he ventures into politics, people with dual citizenship are forbidden when it comes to politics.

By Law?
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by killuminati(m): 2:33pm On Jan 18, 2015
What of beer-frat
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by diasporaman(m): 2:35pm On Jan 18, 2015
I am anxiously waiting for my Pakistani citizenship.
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Uchizzy(m): 2:37pm On Jan 18, 2015
God bless...!+
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Nobody: 2:42pm On Jan 18, 2015
Welcome to the club. cool

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by TheAdvocate(m): 2:43pm On Jan 18, 2015
It is legal in Nigeria to hold dual citizenship (also referred to as dual-nationality). This policy was approved in the early 1990's by IBB. By this act, Mikel didn't lose his Nigerian citizenship. Infact he has an added advantage now.

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by pauldehero(m): 2:44pm On Jan 18, 2015
mikel big guy.. Cngrts bro

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Mubbyleey(m): 2:53pm On Jan 18, 2015
LOl
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by tonychristopher: 2:54pm On Jan 18, 2015
[quote author=spiritfada post=29897963][/quote]

This is a smart Igbo dude ...
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Nobody: 2:57pm On Jan 18, 2015
khattab008:

By Law?
yes boss
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by spenca: 3:00pm On Jan 18, 2015
Na why he no gree go play football, de there de warm bench
Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by tlops(m): 3:01pm On Jan 18, 2015
The only people beefing this news are the ones who have never left Nigeria. They think every other country is experiencing the kind of life our politician have conditioned us to.

Congrats to Mikel! for starters he doesn't need to worry about his permit again in the UK and the EU. He can travel to about 192 different countries without queuing/praying for visa. His kinds whether born by Nigerian woman or Russian will be British. They will not need to go queue at the embassy too. They get to grow a society where things work, questions are asked from the right authorities.

He is no less a Nigerian as he was before and I am sure he will always play for Nigeria if called upon.

Re: Mikel Obi Becomes British Citizen by Lilimax(f): 3:02pm On Jan 18, 2015
ANAMBRA11:
re you from neni?
Neni is Anaocha L.G capital. I'm from Anaocha; Nri to be precise smiley

Juventus Players Arrive Cardiff For UCL Final (Photos) / ‘Ewure Oshi’ - Anthony Joshua To Iphone 8 Owners ‘asking Him For Favors’ / Leicester City Owner, Srivaddhanaprabha's Helicopter Crashes, Bursts Into Flames

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 20