Stats: 3,152,446 members, 7,816,028 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 11:57 PM

Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns (1566 Views)

Amaechi Denies Spending N82m On Dinner For Soyinka, Dares Wike To Go To Court / Iweala Replies Oshiomhole, El-rufai; Denies Spending Oil Money Without Approval / Jonathan Demands N2trn Election Funds Refund, Audit (2) (3) (4)

Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by lalasticlala(m): 8:18pm On Apr 19, 2015
The Presidency has denied that it spent N2 trillion on April 19 election according to a media report not Vanguard.

The Presidency through Reuben Abati, Special Adviser to the President Media and Publicity, made this statement on Sunady.

The statement read thus

The front-page story of the Sunday Punch of April 19 alleging that the Presidency spent a whopping N2 trillion on the 2015 General elections, and that a Committee of Five has been set up by President Jonathan to conduct an audit on how the funds were disbursed by party members and state officials is mischievous, false and embarrassing.
The President has not set up any committee as alleged in that story. It is also not true that the Presidency and the Peoples Democratic Party used state funds, or spent N2 trillion during the campaigns. The innuendoes are wrong-headed; the motives behind the story are suspicious.

The story alleges, for example, that the Presidency spent N2trillion on elections and embarked on a money-sharing spree to party members, support groups and state officials. The authors of the story and their self-appointed megaphones further insinuate that public funds were deployed in this regard. Their allegation of a theft of public funds is extremely malicious.

How much is the budget of the Federal Government of Nigeria? The annual budget of the Federal Government is a little over N4 trillion. The story is practically suggesting that half of the federal budget was spent on elections. This kind of reckless insinuation is meant to incite the public and instigate national crisis.

With FAAC having to do everything possible every month to ensure disbursements and with the Federal Government heavily committed to the war against terror in the North East, where is the alleged N2 trillion from the Federal purse? President Jonathan and the People’s Democratic Party conducted the 2015 elections in strict accordance with the rule of law. The suggestion of any unlawful conduct cannot be sustained under any circumstances.

President Jonathan has done his best to protect and strengthen democracy and promote peace. He justly deserves all the accolades that he has received from both Nigerians and the international community for this. Certain persons and interest groups may not be happy that his profile has further risen and that his legacy is assured; but they do their country gross disservice when they act so unpatriotically.

Anyone who is engaged in imposing a crisis on the country by any means is not being fair to Nigeria. We can only appeal to the public to be wary of such reckless tactics now on display, which form the substance of an odd, malicious campaign after the elections.

We are particularly worried that since the March 28 and April 11 elections, some persons have continued to work very hard to diminish the Jonathan Presidency. They need to be reminded that the time for politics is over; it is now time to focus on the in-coming government, with emphasis on national development and moving the country forward.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/04/jonathan-denies-spending-n2trn-on-april-elections-campaigns/

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by jmoore(m): 8:19pm On Apr 19, 2015
You know some folks are gullible, especially when they are not good in mathematics. They hardly make use of common sense.

2 Trillion Naira is 10billion dollars. Quack journalists who don't know their numerals.

"The 2012 US presidential race was the most expensive in history, as President Obama and Republican rival Mitt Romney topped $2 billion in combined fundraising, the final campaign tallies show."

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Nobody: 8:19pm On Apr 19, 2015
There is an element of truth in every rumour. Even if its not upto 2trillions, just admit that you spent more than neccesary. Most especially ur wife. She put smiles in many pple face during her campaigns. They collected the money and voted her out without thinking twice.

From May 29th upwards is a season of RETRIBUTION.

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Nobody: 8:20pm On Apr 19, 2015
Odikwa very serious...

Why the hell am I even working when I can easily join this band of politicians and cart away billions. This is so unfair.
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by tizz04(m): 8:20pm On Apr 19, 2015
Wow...oga jona talk tru jare u no de situation room again grin
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Nobody: 8:21pm On Apr 19, 2015
shocked shocked shocked Haba! This people should be careful with the way they toy with figures!
Amu not ready to die of HBP! grin grin grin
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Firefire(m): 8:22pm On Apr 19, 2015
Judgment day will be terrible for some liars on earth.

Many lies to sell newspaper and support their financials.

Posterity shall judge you all.

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by gregg2: 8:23pm On Apr 19, 2015
I heard reliably that APC pays PUNCH Managing Director 20m naira every month for himself and his writers to share
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by ozoigbondu: 8:24pm On Apr 19, 2015
Any sensible Nigerian should have known it was a white lie.My state spent less than 2 trillion in seven years and yet somebody wants me to beleive that GEJ spent a massive 20 trillion to bankroll a campaign that lasted for less than six months.

To all those liars from that satanic cult remember that liars go to hell.

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by kayode27: 8:25pm On Apr 19, 2015
I'm not surprised.

Lies & APC are like bread & butter.

APC - dangerous & wicked lies.
PDP - Dumb lies.

Also if buhari is not corrupt;
1. He should open up on who and what organizations funded his campaign since he has about 150 cows.
2. How he intends to pay back the loan he secured for purchasing his APC presidential form.

Same for GEJ.

All are the same. Thieves.
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by stronger: 8:26pm On Apr 19, 2015
LOL!! Of course Abati will deny it na.

All these nairaland TANoids can't believe N2 trillion was spent because they gave them N150 per post!

Guys dey cash out beta money TAnoids dey here dey collect change. . grin grin grin grin grin grin grin

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Nobody: 8:26pm On Apr 19, 2015
shocked shocked shocked hey!
Tell your reliable source to tell his reliable source that he should link me to a direct reliable source where i can get such money. grin grin grin
gregg2:
I heard reliably that APC pays PUNCH Managing Director 20m naira every month
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Nobody: 8:27pm On Apr 19, 2015
Whether the story is true or false....you don't expect them to actually acknowledge the fact that they spent that much smiley if you catch your husband with his pants down with another woman the first thing you hear is 'ITS NOT WHAT YOU THINK' lmao cheesy....so who do we trust now? grin
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Trailblazer1(m): 8:29pm On Apr 19, 2015
N2tr undecided

Reaction of an APC supporter: its true, he spent N2tr for campaign. GEJ is a thief and Buhari must put him into prison.

Reaction of a PDP supporter: lie mohammed and his cohorts are at it again, displaying their stock in trade -peddling lies

Reaction of a TRAILBLAZER: GEJ might have spent huge sums of money campaigning and so did buhari or perhaps APC. But the difference is that GEJ is the man bearing the purse and therefore must spend higher but definitely not the purported N2tr .

Where do you stand?
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by WisdomFlakes: 8:29pm On Apr 19, 2015
So how much did the Jonathan campaign really spend and where did those funds come from? Yimu. Who is Abati tryna fool?
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by stronger: 8:29pm On Apr 19, 2015
gregg2:
I heard reliably that APC pays PUNCH Managing Director 20m naira every month for himself and his writers to share

Okay was this before or after PUNCH published Fayose's GMB death wish?
CLOWNS!!! When PUNCH published that advert, did you call them APC?

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by ObiOkpor(m): 8:30pm On Apr 19, 2015
Why him no go deny am naw. If na u nko?

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Owoloku1: 8:30pm On Apr 19, 2015
But with all the money they shared..I'm sure they spent more than that

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by WisdomFlakes: 8:31pm On Apr 19, 2015
stronger:

you dey mind Dem?
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Trailblazer1(m): 8:32pm On Apr 19, 2015
STPEACE:
There is an element of truth in every rumour. Even if its not upto 2trillions, just admit that you spent more than neccesary. Most especially ur wife. She put smiles in many pple face during her campaigns. They collected the money and voted her out without thinking twice.

From May 29th upwards is a season of RETRIBUTION.
I heard that you are an armed robber and a kidnapper lipsrsealed lipsrsealed lipsrsealed
Though I didn't believe it. But remember that there's always an element of truth in every rumour undecided undecided undecided

What is good for the geese is good for the gander

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Goddex: 8:32pm On Apr 19, 2015
[size=15pt]GEJ is too linient with the media. FIB doesn't mean opposition media outfits should cook up lies at will to damage the president's personality.

Nigerians are so gullible. GEJ should shut down PUNCH and arrest the writer of that story to come tell Nigerians whether he was the treasurer of the so-called 2 trillion campaign fund
[/size]
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Nobody: 8:32pm On Apr 19, 2015
Jonathan sef...
Anyway, President-elect would do the needful... grin
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by kay1one2(m): 8:32pm On Apr 19, 2015
Punch has no credibility! !!
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by usbcable(m): 8:34pm On Apr 19, 2015
but 2 Trillion seems kinda prolly exaggerated.
but in Nigeria anything is possible
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by stronger: 8:34pm On Apr 19, 2015
WisdomFlakes:

you dey mind Dem?

They are clowns na. . na TANoid I pity pass. GEJ share beta money. Their ogas dey give dem change. . LOOOLLL!!
Even FFK's girlfriend sef cash out with brand new RANGE ROVER!! cool cool

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Goddex: 8:35pm On Apr 19, 2015
stronger:

[size=14pt]
If you do not know PUNCH is an APC newspaper then you should have your brains checked

PUNCH has no credibility
[/size]

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by iamok: 8:35pm On Apr 19, 2015
There is no need to deny. What he can say is that it is either not up to N2tr or that it is more than that. GEJ paved way for many to 'steal' because they are 'goats'. He left yam where there are goats and definitely they must chop the yam.
If N2tr have been invested in power sector, much improvement would have happened.

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by Godisnear(m): 8:36pm On Apr 19, 2015
na wah o, GEJ still creating committee even in this last minute, the guy no dey taya?

Meanwhile lair Mohammed is at work again, indirectly.
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by WisdomFlakes: 8:37pm On Apr 19, 2015
kay1one2:
Punch has no credibility! !!

Ok, so exactly how much did Jonathan spend on his campaign and where did the money come from? I mean all the dollars he bribed ppl with? Give us the real scoop?
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by WisdomFlakes: 8:39pm On Apr 19, 2015
stronger:

They are clowns na. . na TANoid I pity pass. GEJ share beta money. Their ogas dey give dem change. . LOOOLLL!!
Even FFK's girlfriend sef cash out with brand new RANGE ROVER!! cool cool

Yes o, chasis o, not Tokunbo grin Shege Jonathan cheesy. I personally know of two Nollywood actor GEJ supporters who bought two chasis Ford Escapes during that campaign period.

Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by stronger: 8:41pm On Apr 19, 2015
Goddex:

[size=14pt]
If you do not know PUNCH is an APC newspaper then you should have your brains checked

PUNCH has no credibility
[/size]

Awwwww. . your delusions are impressive. I asked a question, answer it. It's not by increasing your font and "bolding" it.

Were they APC when they published the Fayose death wish? (Answer in less than 50 words; 30 marks tongue tongue)
Re: Jonathan Denies Spending N2trn On April Elections, Campaigns by kay1one2(m): 8:42pm On Apr 19, 2015
WisdomFlakes:

Ok, so exactly how much did Jonathan spend on his campaign and where did the money come from? I mean all the dollars he bribed ppl with? Give us the real scoop?

70 billion. .. would you take that figure?

#throwback Olusegun Obasanjo After Prison Release / QED / Buhari Returns 2.8 Bn NNPC Money Missing Since 1977

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38