Stats: 3,153,705 members, 7,820,461 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 03:22 PM

All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight - Culture (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight (35978 Views)

ILE IFE ' Olojo Festival 2017' - Pictures / Igbo Language Teaching Centres In Ile-Ife, Osun State Launched / Ooni Ogunwusi Observing Eld Prayers In Ile-Ife (2) (3) (4)

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by kesprime(m): 6:13pm On Aug 01, 2015
Y
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Anuoluwapo3054(m): 6:17pm On Aug 01, 2015
The gods are dead, But JESUS CHRIST is alive. This barbaric acts should have been swept and by the coming of Modern Religion.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Idiataqueen(f): 6:20pm On Aug 01, 2015
Oro! Ha abeg if u are lady living in ife if u love ursef pls stay indoor,na God save me d day i experience dis oro at iroko ibadan 2012.All glory to Jesus i c dem face to face i dont know maybe they did not c me or wa,t my leg did not tell to run before i pick race enter inside d hut.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Pierocash(m): 6:20pm On Aug 01, 2015
olillywales:
Many women in the ancient town of Ile-Ife remained indoors on Saturday as the annual Oro festival entered its second day.

Although a palace source denied that the festival had something to do with the reported death of the Ooni of Ife, Oba Okunade Sijuwade, the women believed otherwise.

On Wednesday, Nigerian newspapers reported the death of the king. The news was vehemently denied by the traditional council of the ancient town.

The commencement of Oro festival on Friday night, which is to last for seven days, further fueled speculations and anxiety about the monarch’s demise.

Oro is a deity worshipped across Yoruba land, which forbids women from going out at night during the period of the festival.

Although women were only forbidden to go out at night during the traditional festival, some women told NAN that it was better to be on the safe side by staying indoors during the period than to be caught and probably used as sacrifice.

Mrs Rebecca Olaide, a market woman, said she would remain indoors to avoid any unexpected circumstance.

Olaide said she had asked her eldest son to help her to manage her business until the festival was over.

Another woman, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said she had restricted her movement because of the Oro festival.

She said the Oro festival might not be unconnected with the reported demise of the monarch.

Another lfe resident who simply identified herself as Sade, said she had decided to remain within her vicinity to avoid any unexpected happening.

She said “although women were asked not to go out only at night, I decided not go out during the day too until the festival is over.’’

However, palace source said the Oro was an annual festival in the town to appease the gods to ward off evil and usher in an era of prosperity.

The source said people in Ile-Ife usually celebrate Oro festival and other traditional festivals like Olojo, Orunmila, Edi, Oranmiyan, Esu, Obatala among others annually.

He said the celebration of Oro festival had nothing to do with the controversial news about the demise of the Ooni.

“The Oro festival does not have anything to do with the reported death of the royal father.

“It is a annual festival in the town which normally holds for seven days and it is taboo for young and old females to go out during the period.

“During this period, traditionalists will perform necessary rituals that will make the town more peaceful,’’ he said.

The source, who maintained that the monarch was still alive, said the closure of markets for businesses and ringing of special bell were the two major significant signs to indicate an Ooni had joined his ancestors.

Meanwhile, NAN learnt that the traditional festival coincided with the funeral of the head of hunters in the ancient town called Balogun in the cradle of Yoruba race.

http://www.metronaija.com/2015/08/all-ile-ife-women-restricted-indoors.html

cc: lalasticlala ishilove
Yoluba and backwardness.the Southwest and mumuism.anyway, sipping my burukutu.off to d farm for some fresh kunu

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Anuoluwapo3054(m): 6:21pm On Aug 01, 2015
INTROVERT:
Good for them grin
I trust introvert, With Jesus on her side she fit go out if na that town she dey, and nothing go happen to her.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by victorazy(m): 6:26pm On Aug 01, 2015
INTROVERT:
Good for them grin

Good for them my sister.
White ppl are there advancing in technology black man is here na-agba Oro undecided wept for africa.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by cococandy(f): 6:28pm On Aug 01, 2015
We still have a long way to go.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by adexsimply(m): 6:31pm On Aug 01, 2015
PPAngel:

Rather than condemn this useless diabolical and criminal tradition you are here spreading it.

Yorubas sha
of course. You'd rather prefer the white man's "tradtions", won't you? undecided

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Bollove: 6:33pm On Aug 01, 2015
olapluto:
Any woman found outside after 9pm today will probably be used for rituals. That is an unfortunate tradition in Ife. If you have a relative on a journey and passing through IFE tonight, please advise them not to branch or have a stop over.
This shitty tradition should stop in dis dispensation... what is the economic benefit of Oro

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Nobody: 6:35pm On Aug 01, 2015
Bollove:
This shitty tradition should stop in dis dispensation... what is the economic benefit of Oro
what is the economic benefit of the white smoke when a new pope is elected

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Nobody: 6:36pm On Aug 01, 2015
INTROVERT:
Good for them grin

Anyway, today is Saturday. Let me assume you are less busy thus having time to make FTC. Dont try this on Monday and every other working day again, else i ram on you big time. You're not the only jobless person in naija. Millions are jobless but they do not so obviously show it like yours.
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by illiad: 6:37pm On Aug 01, 2015
Talk of backwardness

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by bukatyne(f): 6:39pm On Aug 01, 2015
KIRIJI:
what is unfortunate about it? Yoruba tradition dictates that when the Oro procession is ongoing, strangers, women, and non-initiates remain indoors. Is that a tough call?

As cosmopolitan as Ikeja, the capital of Lagos state is, when the late Olu of Ikeja Oba Rauf Matemi Amore died, wasnt the Oro procession observed? When the late Ayangbure of Ikorodu died was the Eleuku Diety not brought out in broad day light? Please give me a break.

@ bold, why the emphasis on women? Since strangers and non-initiates are not safe?

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by bukatyne(f): 6:42pm On Aug 01, 2015
chesterlee:
This is very wrong and violates women right...

I condemn this archaic practice

If it affects everyone apart from initiates, I do not think it violates women's rights.

Besides, I heard that the initiates are naked during the rituals.
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by funkybully(f): 6:43pm On Aug 01, 2015
Very sophisticated backward people, wonder why oyedepo, adeboye and bakare could not change their jujuistic way of life.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by tall2ce(m): 6:44pm On Aug 01, 2015
am currently serving in this town mehn
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by JayJustus(m): 6:48pm On Aug 01, 2015
in 2015

*I laugh in Marathi*

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Whobedatte(m): 6:50pm On Aug 01, 2015
Idiataqueen:
Oro! Ha abeg if u are lady living in ife if u love ursef pls stay indoor,na God save me d day i experience dis oro at iroko ibadan 2012.All glory to Jesus i c dem face to face i dont know maybe they did not c me or wa,t my leg did not tell to run before i pick race enter inside d hut.
LOL. You do an Usain bolt cry
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by omotoyossi(m): 6:52pm On Aug 01, 2015
PPAngel:

Rather than condemn this useless diabolical and criminal tradition you are here spreading it.

Yorubas sha
did he spread it..Y do u av 2 involve tribe in this agaib 4 Gods sake..cnt u see ez tryin 2 help by sayin females shudnt go here or there..omo na wa o
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by 9jatatafo(m): 6:56pm On Aug 01, 2015
Bad market for married women that play away matches this oro period.
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by mediachirps(m): 6:58pm On Aug 01, 2015
Retard African tradition. When modern countries are busy with their lab and new discoveries.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Idiataqueen(f): 6:58pm On Aug 01, 2015
Whobedatte:
LOL. You do an Usain bolt cry
he my broda is not funny o we were six, four boys two gals then o,i dont know may they see us or not or they think we were all boys becos it was around 1am,am still thanking GOD for dat,assuming i was taken it wont be funny o.
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Humblebloke(m): 7:01pm On Aug 01, 2015
Religious bigots are here already

If their pastors or alfas told them to stay indoor,fast and pray to prevent *death*.....that's fine by them

You practice the white and arabian culture.....sold to you during the slavery era and you despise the people who try to keep their culture alive.....undecided

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by IYANGBALI: 7:03pm On Aug 01, 2015
When they are inside,men will not allow them to rest and 30% will come out with loaded tummies grin

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Sanguine77(m): 7:04pm On Aug 01, 2015
All the time, women are at the receiving end of culture. Gender inequality is real but its not our fault cos its a man's world.
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by condralbede(m): 7:07pm On Aug 01, 2015
Damn!!at this era

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Nobody: 7:08pm On Aug 01, 2015
INTROVERT:
Good for them grin
how are you always the first to comment on every Front Page topic?
Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by OrlandoOwoh(m): 7:08pm On Aug 01, 2015
Enuwa, Iremo, Moore and Arubid will be dangerous areas to be at this period.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by espn(m): 7:10pm On Aug 01, 2015
olillywales:
Many women in the ancient town of Ile-Ife remained indoors on Saturday as the annual Oro festival entered its second day.

Although a palace source denied that the festival had something to do with the reported death of the Ooni of Ife, Oba Okunade Sijuwade, the women believed otherwise.

On Wednesday, Nigerian newspapers reported the death of the king. The news was vehemently denied by the traditional council of the ancient town.

The commencement of Oro festival on Friday night, which is to last for seven days, further fueled speculations and anxiety about the monarch’s demise.

Oro is a deity worshipped across Yoruba land, which forbids women from going out at night during the period of the festival.

Although women were only forbidden to go out at night during the traditional festival, some women told NAN that it was better to be on the safe side by staying indoors during the period than to be caught and probably used as sacrifice.

Mrs Rebecca Olaide, a market woman, said she would remain indoors to avoid any unexpected circumstance.

Olaide said she had asked her eldest son to help her to manage her business until the festival was over.

Another woman, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said she had restricted her movement because of the Oro festival.

She said the Oro festival might not be unconnected with the reported demise of the monarch.

Another lfe resident who simply identified herself as Sade, said she had decided to remain within her vicinity to avoid any unexpected happening.

She said “although women were asked not to go out only at night, I decided not go out during the day too until the festival is over.’’

However, palace source said the Oro was an annual festival in the town to appease the gods to ward off evil and usher in an era of prosperity.

The source said people in Ile-Ife usually celebrate Oro festival and other traditional festivals like Olojo, Orunmila, Edi, Oranmiyan, Esu, Obatala among others annually.

He said the celebration of Oro festival had nothing to do with the controversial news about the demise of the Ooni.

“The Oro festival does not have anything to do with the reported death of the royal father.

“It is a annual festival in the town which normally holds for seven days and it is taboo for young and old females to go out during the period.

“During this period, traditionalists will perform necessary rituals that will make the town more peaceful,’’ he said.

The source, who maintained that the monarch was still alive, said the closure of markets for businesses and ringing of special bell were the two major significant signs to indicate an Ooni had joined his ancestors.

Meanwhile, NAN learnt that the traditional festival coincided with the funeral of the head of hunters in the ancient town called Balogun in the cradle of Yoruba race.

http://www.metronaija.com/2015/08/all-ile-ife-women-restricted-indoors.html

cc: lalasticlala ishilove
Balogun is not the head of hunters..OLU--ODE is the head of hunters while Balogun is a WARLORD.

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by Bollove: 7:26pm On Aug 01, 2015
saxywale:

what is the economic benefit of the white smoke when a new pope is elected
All those shits ain't making sense .. After all, Pope ain't saying no woman should come out

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by ewizard1: 7:52pm On Aug 01, 2015
isese lagba!!!

Re: All Ile-ife Women Restricted Indoors Tonight by saintgoogle(m): 7:54pm On Aug 01, 2015
olapluto:
Any woman found outside after 9pm today will probably be used for rituals. That is an unfortunate tradition in Ife. If you have a relative on a journey and passing through IFE tonight, please advise them not to branch or have a stop over.
You are wrong buddy you made it look like anyone found outside will be killed
Any non initiate woman that sees the ORO will be barren if she hasn't bore any child but if she has children she would never have anymore
That's traditional menopause

Photos From 2021 Osun Osogbo Festival / Ijebu: Jebusites? What A Myth! / Igbo Writing

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46